AzTrials
AzTrials

Unspecified Adult Solid Tumor, Protocol SpecificPhase 1NCT00003891

Lurtotecan Liposome in Treating Patients With Advanced Solid Tumors

A Phase 1 study testing lurtotecan liposome in people with Unspecified Adult Solid Tumor, Protocol Specific, run by NCIC Clinical Trials Group at 2 sites in Canada.

Completed

Finished. The study has ended and is not enrolling. Results may be posted on the official record.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy use different ways to stop tumor cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. PURPOSE: Phase I trial to study the effectiveness of lurtotecan liposome in treating patients who have advanced solid tumors. Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Ages 18 to 120 years
What is being tested?
lurtotecan liposome
How many people
37 participants
Where
2 sitesCanada
Study dates
25 Feb 1999to 22 Sep 2008
Phase
Phase 1
Are there results?
None posted in the registry

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages 18 to 120 years
  • All sexes
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Adult, Older adult

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS: Histologically or cytologically confirmed advanced solid tumors that are unresponsive to existing therapy and for which no curative therapy exists Evidence of disease other than tumor marker elevation No untreated CNS metastases

PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS: Age: 18 and over Performance status: ECOG 0-2 Life expectancy: Not specified Hematopoietic: Granulocyte count at least 1,500/mm3 Platelet count at least 100,000/mm3 Hepatic: Bilirubin no greater than upper limit of normal (ULN) AST and ALT no greater than 2.5 times ULN (no greater than 5 times ULN for liver metastases) Renal: Creatinine no greater than upper limit of normal Cardiovascular: Not specified Pulmonary: Not specified Other: No prior malignancy within past 5 years except curatively treated basal or squamous cell skin cancer or carcinoma in situ of the cervix Not pregnant or nursing Fertile patients must use effective contraception No active or uncontrolled infection No other serious illness or medical condition No known hypersensitivity to systemic liposomal formulation or any drug chemically related to study drug

PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY: Biologic therapy: Not specified Chemotherapy: No greater than 3 prior chemotherapy regimens (adjuvant and metastatic) At least 3 weeks since prior adjuvant and metastatic chemotherapy (6 weeks for nitrosoureas or mitomycin and 4 weeks for carboplatin or other experimental anti cancer drugs) and recovered At least 1 year since prior high dose chemotherapy with bone marrow or stem cell support No other concurrent chemotherapy Endocrine therapy: Prior hormonal therapy allowed No concurrent hormonal therapy Radiotherapy: No prior radiotherapy to greater than 25% of bone marrow At least 4 weeks since prior radiotherapy, except for low dose myelosupressive radiotherapy, and recovered Concurrent palliative radiotherapy allowed Surgery: Not specified Other: At least 4 weeks since prior experimental drug or anticancer therapy No other concurrent investigational or anticancer therapy

Trial locations and contacts

2 sites in 1 country.

Canada2 sites
  • Cancer Care Ontario-Hamilton Regional Cancer Centre

    Hamilton, Ontario, L8V 5C2

  • BC Cancer Agency

    Vancouver, British Columbia, V5Z 4E6

Other trials in Canada

About this study

Official title: A Phase I Study of NX211 Given as an IV Infusion Days 1, 2 and 3 Every 3 Weeks in Patients With Solid Tumors

RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy use different ways to stop tumor cells from dividing so they stop growing or die.

PURPOSE: Phase I trial to study the effectiveness of lurtotecan liposome in treating patients who have advanced solid tumors.

Read the detailed description

OBJECTIVES: I. Determine the maximum tolerated dose (MTD) and the future dose of lurtotecan liposome in patients with advanced solid tumors. II. Assess the toxicity and pharmacokinetics of this treatment regimen in this patient population. III. Assess the response to this regimen by patients with measurable disease.

OUTLINE: This is a dose escalation, multicenter study. Patients receive lurtotecan liposome (NX211) IV over 30 minutes on days 1, 2, and 3. Courses are repeated every 3 weeks. Treatment continues for up to 6 courses in the absence of unacceptable toxicity or disease progression. The dose of NX211 is escalated in cohorts of 3-6 patients until the maximum tolerated dose (MTD) is determined. The MTD is defined as the dose preceding that at which 2 of 6 patients experience dose limiting toxicity. Patients are followed at 4 weeks and every 3 months for 1 year.

PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 20-25 patients will be accrued for this study within 12-15 months.

Being tested
lurtotecan liposome
Keywords
unspecified adult solid tumor, protocol specific

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

  • lurtotecan liposomeDrug

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted17 Jun 2004 (estimated)
  2. Study start25 Feb 1999
  3. Primary completion8 Jun 2001
  4. Study completion22 Sep 2008

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Interventional
Phase
Phase 1
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Not applicable
Intervention model
Single group
Masking
None (open label)
Enrolment
37 participants (actual)
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT00003891
Sponsor's protocol ID
I123
Other IDs
CAN-NCIC-IND123, NEXSTAR-110-02, CDR0000067060
Status last verified
Apr 2020
First submitted
2 Jun 2000
Last updated
9 Apr 2020
Results posted
No
Data monitoring committee
Yes
FDA-regulated drug
No
FDA-regulated device
No
Individual data sharing
No

Publications

  • Goetz AD, Hammond LA, Hao D, et al.: A phase I and pharmacokinetic (PK) study of NX211 (liposomal lurtotecan) administered weekly x 4 every 6 weeks in patients with advanced solid tumors. [Abstract] Proceedings of the American Society of Clinical Oncology 21: A-388, 2002.

  • Hamilton M, Wolf J, Demetri GD, et al.: Phase I pharmacokinetics of NX211 (liposomal lurtotecan) in patients with solid tumors. [Abstract] Proceedings of the American Society of Clinical Oncology 21: A-357, 2002.

  • Gelmon K, Hirte H, Fisher B, Walsh W, Ptaszynski M, Hamilton M, Onetto N, Eisenhauer E. A phase 1 study of OSI-211 given as an intravenous infusion days 1, 2, and 3 every three weeks in patients with solid cancers. Invest New Drugs. 2004 Aug;22(3):263-75. doi: 10.1023/B:DRUG.0000026252.86842.e2.

    PubMed 15122073

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

A Phase 1 study testing lurtotecan liposome in people with Unspecified Adult Solid Tumor, Protocol Specific, run by NCIC Clinical Trials Group at 2 sites in Canada.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Who may be eligible to take part?

Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: finished, as of the sponsor's last update on 9 Apr 2020. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

Where is the study taking place?

The record lists 2 sites in Canada. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

What does this phase mean?

Phase 1 studies test a treatment in a small group of people for the first time or in a new way, mainly to check safety and find the right dose.

Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.

Are results available for this study?

The study is completed, but results are not available in the source record. That does not mean the treatment did or did not work.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

Where can I read the original study information?

On the ClinicalTrials.gov record for NCT00003891, which also lists 3 linked publications.

Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 9 Apr 2020.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in