AzTrials
AzTrials

LymphomaPhase 2NCT00004039

Combination Chemotherapy Plus Interferon Alfa or Rituximab in Treating Patients With Stage III or Stage IV Lymphoma

A Phase 2 study testing recombinant interferon alfa, rituximab and cyclophosphamide in people with Lymphoma, run by Hoag Memorial Hospital Presbyterian at 1 site in United States.

Withdrawn

Withdrawn. The study stopped before anyone enrolled.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy use different ways to stop cancer cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. Combining interferon alfa or the monoclonal antibody rituximab with chemotherapy may kill more cancer cells. Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Any age
Conditions the study is for
Lymphoma
What is being tested?
recombinant interferon alfa, rituximab and cyclophosphamide
How many people
0 participants
Where
1 siteUnited States
Study dates
Jun 1998to Jan 2000
Phase
Phase 2
Are there results?
None posted in the registry

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages Any age
  • All sexes
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Child, Adult, Older adult

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS: Histologically confirmed high risk (stage III or IV) indolent or intermediate (stage II to IV) B-cell lymphoma Small cleaved cell lymphoma Waldenstrom's macroglobulinemia Follicular small cleaved cell or mixed cell Follicular large cell Diffuse Immunoblastic High risk is defined as: Increased LDH OR Increased beta-2-microglobulin OR B symptoms OR Bulky disease of greater than 7 cm in diameter OR Extranodal disease other than blood or bone marrow involvement OR Mantle zone histology At least 1 lymph node or visceral lesion at least 2 cm in diameter

PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS: Age: Not specified Performance status: ECOG 0-2 Life expectancy: Not specified Hematopoietic: Not specified Hepatic: Not specified Renal: Not specified Other: No active infection or other medical condition this is lifethreatening Not pregnant Fertile patients must use effective contraception

PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY: No prior therapy for lymphoma

Trial locations and contacts

1 site in 1 country.

United States1 site
  • Hoag Memorial Hospital Presbyterian

    Newport Beach, California, 92658

Other trials in United States

About this study

Official title: Phase II Trials of CHOP Chemotherapy and Interferon Alpha or Rituximab Anti-CD20 Monoclonal Antibody as Initial Treatment of Patients With Stage III and IV High-Risk Indolent B-Cell Lymphoma and Intermediate Grade B-Cell Lymphoma

RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy use different ways to stop cancer cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. Combining interferon alfa or the monoclonal antibody rituximab with chemotherapy may kill more cancer cells.

PURPOSE: Phase II trial to compare the effectiveness of combination chemotherapy plus interferon alfa or rituximab in treating patients who have high risk stage III or stage IV lymphoma.

Read the detailed description

OBJECTIVES: I. Determine the toxicity of cyclophosphamide, doxorubicin, vincristine, and prednisone (CHOP) with either interferon alfa or rituximab in patients with stage III or IV high risk indolent or intermediate B-cell lymphoma. II. Determine the objective tumor response rate and duration of response for these regimens in these patients. III. Determine the failure free survival and overall survival for these patients on these regimens. IV. Compare the response rate and survival rate of these patients on these regimens to similar patients treated in published studies. V. Compare the toxicities of these regimens in these patients. VI. Determine the quality of life of these patients on these regimens.

OUTLINE: This is a multicenter study. Patients are assigned to one of two treatment arms: Arm I: Patients receive rituximab IV on day 0, and cyclophosphamide IV, doxorubicin IV, and vincristine IV on day 1, followed by oral prednisone on days 1-5. Arm II: Patients receive interferon alfa subcutaneously on days 22-26, and cyclophosphamide IV, doxorubicin IV, and vincristine IV on day 1, followed by oral prednisone on days 1-5. Treatment repeat every 28 days for up to 8 courses in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity. Quality of life is assessed at baseline and prior to chemotherapy for each course. Patients are followed every 3 months for 2 years, every 6 months for 2 years, and then annually for up to 10 years.

PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 40-80 patients (20-40 per treatment arm) will be accrued for this study.

Conditions
Lymphoma
Being tested
recombinant interferon alfa, rituximab, cyclophosphamide, doxorubicin hydrochloride, prednisone
Keywords
Waldenstrom macroglobulinemia, stage II grade 3 follicular lymphoma, stage II adult diffuse small cleaved cell lymphoma, stage II adult diffuse mixed cell lymphoma, stage II adult diffuse large cell lymphoma, stage II adult immunoblastic large cell lymphoma, stage II adult Burkitt lymphoma, stage III grade 1 follicular lymphoma, stage III grade 2 follicular lymphoma, stage III grade 3 follicular lymphoma, stage III adult diffuse small cleaved cell lymphoma, stage III adult diffuse mixed cell lymphoma, stage III adult diffuse large cell lymphoma, stage III adult immunoblastic large cell lymphoma, stage III adult Burkitt lymphoma, stage IV grade 1 follicular lymphoma, stage IV grade 2 follicular lymphoma, stage IV grade 3 follicular lymphoma, stage IV adult diffuse small cleaved cell lymphoma, stage IV adult diffuse mixed cell lymphoma
Medical subject headings
Lymphoma, Waldenstrom Macroglobulinemia, Lymphoma, Follicular, Lymphoma, Non-Hodgkin, Lymphoma, Large B-Cell, Diffuse, Lymphoma, Large-Cell, Immunoblastic, Burkitt Lymphoma, Lymphoma, Mantle-Cell

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted5 Aug 2004 (estimated)
  2. Study startJun 1998
  3. Primary completionJan 2000
  4. Study completionJan 2000

Why it stopped: No patient accruals

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Interventional
Phase
Phase 2
Primary purpose
Treatment
Enrolment
0 participants (actual)
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT00004039
Sponsor's protocol ID
CDR0000066762
Other IDs
CBRG-9807, NCI-V98-1494
Status last verified
Aug 2015
First submitted
10 Dec 1999
Last updated
19 Aug 2015
Results posted
No
Data monitoring committee
No

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

A Phase 2 study testing recombinant interferon alfa, rituximab and cyclophosphamide in people with Lymphoma, run by Hoag Memorial Hospital Presbyterian at 1 site in United States.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: withdrawn, as of the sponsor's last update on 19 Aug 2015. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

Where is the study taking place?

The record lists 1 site in United States. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

What does this phase mean?

Phase 2 studies give the treatment to a larger group to see whether it has the intended effect and to keep checking safety.

Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.

Are results available for this study?

The study was withdrawn before enrolling participants, so there are no results.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

Where can I read the original study information?
Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 19 Aug 2015.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in