Unspecified Adult Solid Tumor, Protocol SpecificPhase 1NCT00004076
PNU 166148 in Treating Patients With Metastatic Solid Tumors
A Phase 1 study testing mureletecan in people with Unspecified Adult Solid Tumor, Protocol Specific, run by University of Glasgow at 2 sites in United Kingdom.
Trial summary
RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy use different ways to stop tumor cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. PURPOSE: Phase I trial to study the effectiveness of PNU 166148 in treating patients who have metastatic solid tumors that have not responded to previous treatment. Read more about this study
- Who is it for?
- Ages 18 years and older
- Conditions the study is for
- Unspecified Adult Solid Tumor, Protocol Specific
- What is being tested?
- mureletecan
- How many people
- 30 participants
- Where
- 2 sitesUnited Kingdom
- Study dates
- Jun 1999to not given
- Phase
- Phase 1
- Are there results?
- None posted in the registry
Key requirements
Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.
- Ages 18 years and older
- All sexes
- No healthy volunteers
- Adult, Older adult
DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS: Histologically proven metastatic, refractory solid tumors for which no curative therapy exists No more than 2 prior chemotherapy regimens for metastatic disease No prior high dose chemotherapy regimen requiring bone marrow transplantation or peripheral blood stem cell transplantation No hematologic malignancies No brain or leptomeningeal disease
PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS: Age: 18 and over Performance status: Not specified Life expectancy: At least 12 weeks Hematopoietic: Absolute neutrophil count at least 2,000/mm3 Platelet count at least 100,000/mm3 Hepatic: Bilirubin normal (no greater than 1.5 times upper limit of normal (ULN) if liver metastases present) SGOT and SGPT normal (no greater than 5 times ULN if liver metastases present) Hepatitis B negative Renal: Creatinine less than 1.5 mg/dL EDTA clearance greater than 60 mL/min Other: Not pregnant or nursing Fertile patients must use effective contraception during and for 6 months after study No severe concurrent nonmalignant disease that would preclude protocol therapy HIV negative No AIDS related illness No mental incapacity
PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY: Biologic therapy: See Disease Characteristics At least 4 weeks since prior immunotherapy and recovered No concurrent biological response modifier therapy or immunotherapy No concurrent prophylactic growth factors Chemotherapy: See Disease Characteristics No prior camptothecins (e.g., irinotecan or topotecan) At least 4 weeks since other prior chemotherapy (6 weeks for nitrosoureas and mitomycin) and recovered No other concurrent chemotherapy Endocrine therapy: At least 4 weeks since prior hormonal therapy and recovered No concurrent corticosteroids used as anticancer therapy No other concurrent hormonal therapy Radiotherapy: No prior radiotherapy to greater than 25% of bone marrow At least 4 weeks since other prior radiotherapy and recovered No concurrent radiotherapy Surgery: Not specified Other: No concurrent investigational drug or participation in other clinical study
Trial locations and contacts
2 sites in 1 country.
United Kingdom2 sites
Aberdeen Royal Infirmary
Aberdeen, Scotland, AB25 2ZN
Beatson Oncology Centre
Glasgow, Scotland, G11 6NT
About this study
Official title: A Phase I Study to Evaluate MAG-CPT (PNU 166148) Given as One Single Intravenous Administration Every 4 Weeks in Patients With Advanced Solid Tumors
RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy use different ways to stop tumor cells from dividing so they stop growing or die.
PURPOSE: Phase I trial to study the effectiveness of PNU 166148 in treating patients who have metastatic solid tumors that have not responded to previous treatment.
Read the detailed description
OBJECTIVES: I. Determine the safety profile, maximum tolerated dose, and dose limiting toxicities of PNU 166148 in patients with metastatic, refractory solid tumors. II. Define a recommended dose of PNU 166148 for a Phase II study. III. Determine the pharmacokinetic profile and molecular weight distribution of PNU 166148 and the pharmacokinetic profile of free camptothecin in these patients. IV. Assess any evidence of antitumor activity in these patients treated with this regimen.
OUTLINE: This is a dose escalation, open label, multicenter study. Patients receive PNU 166148 IV over 30 minutes. Treatment repeats every 4 weeks for 3-6 courses in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity. Cohorts of 3-6 patients receive escalating doses of PNU 166148 until the maximum tolerated dose (MTD) is determined. The MTD is defined as the dose at which at least 2 of 3-6 patients experience dose limiting toxicity. Patients are followed for 30 days, and then monthly thereafter only for resolution of adverse events that occurred while on study and were attributable to study drug, unless another antitumor treatment is begun.
PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A maximum of 30 patients will be accrued for this study.
- Being tested
- mureletecan
- Keywords
- unspecified adult solid tumor, protocol specific
What participants receive
What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.
mureletecanDrug
Timeline
From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.
- First posted17 Jun 2004 (estimated)
- Study startJun 1999
Resources
- Official record on ClinicalTrials.govThe registry entry this page is built from, with its full change history.
- Other trials for Unspecified Adult Solid Tumor, Protocol SpecificStudies of the same condition, open and under way.
- What the trial phases meanHow a treatment moves from first tests in people to approval.
More details
For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.
Study design
- Study type
- Interventional
- Phase
- Phase 1
- Primary purpose
- Treatment
- Enrolment
- 30 participants (estimated)
Sponsor and investigators
- Lead sponsor
- University of Glasgow
- Sponsor type
- University, hospital or other
- Investigators
- Chris Twelves, MD, BMedSci, FRCP, Study chair, University of Glasgow
IDs, dates and publications
- ClinicalTrials.gov ID
- NCT00004076
- Sponsor's protocol ID
- CDR0000067285
- Other IDs
- CRC-BOC-98OMCP001, EU-99009, P-UPJOHN-98OMCP001
- Status last verified
- Nov 2000
- First submitted
- 10 Dec 1999
- Last updated
- 19 Dec 2013
- Results posted
- No
Study at a glance
From the registry record, last updated by the sponsor on 19 Dec 2013. Recruitment status is as the sponsor reported it: confirm with the study team.
- Official title
- A Phase I Study to Evaluate MAG-CPT (PNU 166148) Given as One Single Intravenous Administration Every 4 Weeks in Patients With Advanced Solid Tumors
- ClinicalTrials.gov ID
- NCT00004076
- Acronym / sponsor ID
- CDR0000067285
- Keywords
- unspecified adult solid tumor, protocol specific
- Phase
- Phase 1
- Study type
- Interventional
- Recruitment status
- Unknown status
- Enrolment
- 30 participants (estimated)
- Lead sponsor
- University of GlasgowUniversity, hospital or other
- Study start
- Jun 1999
- First posted
- 17 Jun 2004 (estimated)
- Results
- Not posted in the source record
Clinical summary
The research question as the sponsor registered it. This describes what the study plans to test, not what it found.
RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy use different ways to stop tumor cells from dividing so they stop growing or die.
PURPOSE: Phase I trial to study the effectiveness of PNU 166148 in treating patients who have metastatic solid tumors that have not responded to previous treatment.
Detailed description
OBJECTIVES: I. Determine the safety profile, maximum tolerated dose, and dose limiting toxicities of PNU 166148 in patients with metastatic, refractory solid tumors. II. Define a recommended dose of PNU 166148 for a Phase II study. III. Determine the pharmacokinetic profile and molecular weight distribution of PNU 166148 and the pharmacokinetic profile of free camptothecin in these patients. IV. Assess any evidence of antitumor activity in these patients treated with this regimen.
OUTLINE: This is a dose escalation, open label, multicenter study. Patients receive PNU 166148 IV over 30 minutes. Treatment repeats every 4 weeks for 3-6 courses in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity. Cohorts of 3-6 patients receive escalating doses of PNU 166148 until the maximum tolerated dose (MTD) is determined. The MTD is defined as the dose at which at least 2 of 3-6 patients experience dose limiting toxicity. Patients are followed for 30 days, and then monthly thereafter only for resolution of adverse events that occurred while on study and were attributable to study drug, unless another antitumor treatment is begun.
PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A maximum of 30 patients will be accrued for this study.
Study design
- Primary purpose
- Treatment
Who may qualify
- Ages
- 18 years and older
- Sex
- All
- Healthy volunteers
- Not accepted
- Age groups
- Adult, Older adult
Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening; this overview does not establish that a patient qualifies. Full inclusion and exclusion criteria.
Interventions
| Intervention | Type | Arms |
|---|---|---|
| mureletecan | Drug | – |
Primary outcome
Not reported in the source record.
Results and safety
Results are not available in the source record.
Research links
- Official record on ClinicalTrials.govLast updated by the sponsor 19 Dec 2013.
Related trials for Unspecified Adult Solid Tumor, Protocol Specific
Active, not recruitingPhase 1
RNR Inhibitor COH29 in Treating Patients With Solid Tumors That Are Refractory to Standard Therapy or For Which No Standard Therapy Exists
Unspecified Adult Solid Tumor, Protocol Specific
Active, not recruiting
Assessment Tool for Older Patients With Cancer
Cognitive/Functional Effects, Psychosocial Effects of Cancer and Its Treatment
Active, not recruiting
Copper Cu 64 Anti-CEA Monoclonal Antibody M5A PET in Diagnosing Patients With CEA Positive Cancer
Breast Cancer, Colon Cancer
Recruiting
Copenhagen Prospective Personalized Oncology (CoPPO)
Unspecified Adult Solid Tumor, Protocol Specific
Active, not recruiting
3'-Deoxy-3'-[18F] Fluorothymidine PET Imaging in Patients With Cancer
Brain and Central Nervous System Tumors, Chronic Myeloproliferative Disorders
Referral and contact
AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals. Contact the study team or a site listed below; they decide who can take part. This study is not recruiting at the moment.
Chris Twelves, MD, BMedSci, FRCP study chair
University of Glasgow
2 sites in 1 country: see every site and its status.
Questions about this trial
What is this clinical trial studying?
A Phase 1 study testing mureletecan in people with Unspecified Adult Solid Tumor, Protocol Specific, run by University of Glasgow at 2 sites in United Kingdom.
The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.
Who may be eligible to take part?
Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.
Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?
The record says: status not confirmed, as of the sponsor's last update on 19 Dec 2013. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.
Where is the study taking place?
The record lists 2 sites in United Kingdom. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.
What are the possible benefits and risks?
They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.
What does this phase mean?
Phase 1 studies test a treatment in a small group of people for the first time or in a new way, mainly to check safety and find the right dose.
Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.
Are results available for this study?
Results are not available in the source record.
How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?
The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.
Where can I read the original study information?
Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?
No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.
How often is this information updated?
AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 19 Dec 2013.