AzTrials
AzTrials

Esophageal CancerPhase 2NCT00004127

Oxaliplatin Combined With Fluorouracil and Leucovorin in Treating Patients With Recurrent or Metastatic Cancer of the Esophagus or Stomach

A Phase 2 study testing FOLFOX regimen, fluorouracil and leucovorin calcium in people with Esophageal Cancer and Gastric Cancer, run by University of Chicago at 22 sites in 2 countries.

Completed

Finished. The study has ended and is not enrolling. Results may be posted on the official record.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy use different ways to stop tumor cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. Combining more than one drug may kill more tumor cells. PURPOSE: Phase II trial to study the effectiveness of combining oxaliplatin with fluorouracil and leucovorin in treating patients who have… Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Ages 18 years and older
Conditions the study is for
Esophageal Cancer, Gastric Cancer
What is being tested?
FOLFOX regimen, fluorouracil and leucovorin calcium
Type of treatment
Injection or infusion
Could I receive a placebo?
No, everyone receives an active treatment
How many people
35 participants
Where
22 sitesin 2 countries
Study dates
Feb 2000to Aug 2003
Phase
Phase 2
Are there results?
None posted in the registry

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages 18 years and older
  • All sexes
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Adult, Older adult

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS: Histologically or cytologically confirmed carcinoma of the esophagus or gastric cardia Stage IV or recurrent Bidimensionally measurable disease

PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS: Age: 18 and over Performance status: ECOG 0-2 OR Karnofsky 50-100% Life expectancy: Not specified Hematopoietic: WBC greater than 3,000/mm3 Absolute neutrophil count at least 1,500/mm3 Platelet count greater than 100,000/mm3 Hemoglobin greater than 10 g/dL Hepatic: Bilirubin normal SGOT less than 2 times upper limit of normal (ULN) Renal: BUN less than 1.5 times ULN Creatinine no greater than 1.5 mg/dL OR Creatinine clearance at least 50 mL/min Cardiovascular: No congestive heart failure No unstable angina pectoris No myocardial infarction within the past 6 months Other: Not pregnant or nursing Fertile patients must use effective contraception during and for 6 months after study No allergy to platinum compounds or antiemetics appropriate for study No uncontrolled concurrent illness No active infection No clinical evidence of peripheral neuropathy by physical exam or history

PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY: Biologic therapy: No concurrent colony-stimulating factors during the first course of study Chemotherapy: More than 4 weeks since prior chemotherapy No more than 1 prior chemotherapy regimen for carcinoma of the esophagus or gastric cardia No prior fluorouracil Endocrine therapy: Not specified Radiotherapy: At least 4 weeks since prior radiotherapy Surgery: Not specified Other: No other concurrent investigational agents No concurrent antiretroviral therapy in HIV-positive patients No other concurrent anticancer agents

Trial locations and contacts

22 sites in 2 countries.

22 sites in 2 countries

United States21 sites
  • University of Michigan Comprehensive Cancer Center

    Ann Arbor, Michigan, 48109-0752

  • Roswell Park Cancer Institute

    Buffalo, New York, 14263-0001

  • University of Illinois at Chicago

    Chicago, Illinois, 60612

  • University of Chicago Cancer Research Center

    Chicago, Illinois, 60637-1470

  • Louis A. Weiss Memorial Hospital

    Chicago, Illinois, 60640

  • Cleveland Clinic Taussig Cancer Center

    Cleveland, Ohio, 44195

  • Grant/Riverside Methodist Hospitals

    Columbus, Ohio, 43214

  • Cancer Care Specialists of Central Illinois, S.C.

    Decatur, Illinois, 62526

  • Evanston Northwestern Health Care

    Evanston, Illinois, 60201

  • Fort Wayne Medical Oncology and Hematology, Inc.

    Fort Wayne, Indiana, 46885-5099

  • Cancer Centers of the Carolinas

    Greenville, South Carolina, 29605

  • Ingalls Memorial Hospital

    Harvey, Illinois, 60426

  • Columbia LaGrange Memorial Hospital

    LaGrange, Illinois, 60525

  • Central Baptist Hospital

    Lexington, Kentucky, 40503

  • Loyola University Medical Center

    Maywood, Illinois, 60153

  • Yale Comprehensive Cancer Center

    New Haven, Connecticut, 06520-8028

  • Lutheran General Cancer Care Center

    Park Ridge, Illinois, 60068

  • Oncology/Hematology Associates of Central Illinois, P.C.

    Peoria, Illinois, 61602

  • Lakeland Medical Center - St. Joseph

    Saint Joseph, Michigan, 49085

  • Michiana Hematology/Oncology P.C.

    South Bend, Indiana, 46617

  • Central Illinois Hematology Oncology Center

    Springfield, Illinois, 62701

Other trials in United States

Puerto Rico1 site
  • University of Puerto Rico School of Medicine Medical Sciences Campus

    San Juan, 00936-5067

Other trials in Puerto Rico

About this study

Official title: A Phase II Study of Oxaliplatin in Combination With Fluorouracil and Leucovorin in Carcinoma of the Esophagus and Gastric Cardia

RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy use different ways to stop tumor cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. Combining more than one drug may kill more tumor cells.

PURPOSE: Phase II trial to study the effectiveness of combining oxaliplatin with fluorouracil and leucovorin in treating patients who have recurrent or metastatic cancer of the esophagus or stomach.

Read the detailed description

OBJECTIVES: I. Determine the response rate in patients with recurrent or metastatic carcinoma of the esophagus or gastric cardia receiving the combination of oxaliplatin, fluorouracil, and leucovorin calcium. II. Determine the duration of response and overall survival of this patient population receiving this regimen. III. Determine the toxicity, including neurotoxicity, of this regimen in this patient population.

OUTLINE: This is an open-label, multicenter study. Patients receive oxaliplatin IV over 2 hours on day 1, then leucovorin calcium IV over 2 hours with fluorouracil IV bolus, followed by fluorouracil IV over 22 hours on days 1 and 2. Treatment continues every 2 weeks for a minimum of 3 courses in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity. Patients with stable or responding disease receive at least 3 additional courses of therapy. Patients are followed for a minimum of 2 years or until death.

PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 12-37 patients will be accrued for this study over 18 months.

Being tested
FOLFOX regimen, fluorouracil, leucovorin calcium, oxaliplatin
Keywords
stage IV gastric cancer, recurrent gastric cancer, stage IV esophageal cancer, recurrent esophageal cancer, adenocarcinoma of the stomach, adenocarcinoma of the esophagus
Medical subject headings
Esophageal Neoplasms, Stomach Neoplasms, Adenocarcinoma Of Esophagus

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

Study groups in NCT00004127
Study groupRoleWhat they receive
Arm AExperimentalOxaliplatin (85 mg/m2, day 1 of every 14 day cycle), Leucovorin (500 mg/m2, day 1 and 2 of every 14 day cycle), Fluorouracil (Bolus of 400 mg/m2 followed by 22 hr continuous infusion of 600 mg/m2 on days 1 and 2 of every 14 day cycle)
Receives: Drug: FOLFOX regimen; Drug: fluorouracil; Drug: leucovorin calcium; Drug: oxaliplatin

What is being measured

The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.

  1. Clinical response rate

    Measured: 3 years

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted7 May 2003 (estimated)
  2. Study startFeb 2000
  3. Primary completionOct 2002
  4. Study completionAug 2003

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Interventional
Phase
Phase 2
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Not applicable
Intervention model
Single group
Masking
None (open label)
Enrolment
35 participants (actual)
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT00004127
Sponsor's protocol ID
10015
Other IDs
UCCRC-10015, NCI-T99-0010
Status last verified
Feb 2013
First submitted
10 Dec 1999
Last updated
11 Feb 2013
Results posted
No
Data monitoring committee
No

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

A Phase 2 study testing FOLFOX regimen, fluorouracil and leucovorin calcium in people with Esophageal Cancer and Gastric Cancer, run by University of Chicago at 22 sites in 2 countries.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Who may be eligible to take part?

Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: finished, as of the sponsor's last update on 11 Feb 2013. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

Where is the study taking place?

The record lists 22 sites in United States, Puerto Rico. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

What does this phase mean?

Phase 2 studies give the treatment to a larger group to see whether it has the intended effect and to keep checking safety.

Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.

Are results available for this study?

The study is completed, but results are not available in the source record. That does not mean the treatment did or did not work.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

What does the primary outcome measure?

Clinical response rate (time frame: 3 years). It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.

Where can I read the original study information?
Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 11 Feb 2013.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in