AzTrials
AzTrials

Melanoma (Skin)Phase 2NCT00004152

PET and CT Scans to Evaluate Patients With Stage III or Stage IV Melanoma

A Phase 2 study testing iodinated contrast dye, computed tomography and positron emission tomography in people with Melanoma (Skin), run by Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center at 1 site in United States.

Completed

Finished. The study has ended and is not enrolling. Results may be posted on the official record.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

RATIONALE: Diagnostic procedures may improve the ability to detect metastatic melanoma and to determine the extent of disease. PURPOSE: Phase II trial to evaluate the effectiveness of PET and CT scans to detect metastatic disease in patients who have stage III or stage IV melanoma. Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Ages 18 years and older
Conditions the study is for
Melanoma (Skin)
What is being tested?
iodinated contrast dye, computed tomography and positron emission tomography
Type of treatment
Surgery or procedure
How many people
Not given
Where
1 siteUnited States
Study dates
Feb 1999to Dec 2002
Phase
Phase 2
Are there results?
None posted in the registry

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages 18 years and older
  • All sexes
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Adult, Older adult

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS: Histologically proven melanoma considered for operative management with 1 of the following: Deep primary melanoma (greater than 4 mm, stage IIIA) Regional nodal disease (stage IIIB) Locally or regionally recurrent disease of an extremity considered for operative resection or isolated limb perfusion with curative intent Systemic disease considered for curative resection (stage IV)

PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS: Age: 18 and over Performance status: Not specified Life expectancy: Not specified Hematopoietic: Not specified Hepatic: Not specified Renal: Not specified Other: Not pregnant or nursing Fertile patients must use effective contraception Able to fast for 6 hours Able to lie still for positron emission tomography imaging No second malignancy except previously treated nonmelanomatous skin cancer or carcinoma in situ of the cervix No active infection No inflammatory disease (sarcoidosis or rheumatoid arthritis) No allergy to shellfish or contrast dye used for CT imaging

PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY: See Disease Characteristics

Trial locations and contacts

1 site in 1 country.

United States1 site
  • Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center

    New York, New York, 10021

Other trials in United States

About this study

Official title: A Pilot Study to Compare 18F-Fluorodeoxyglucose Positron Emission Tomography (PET) Scanning in Addition to CT Scanning With CT Scanning Alone in the Pre-Operative Evaluation of Patients With Stage III and IV Melanoma

RATIONALE: Diagnostic procedures may improve the ability to detect metastatic melanoma and to determine the extent of disease.

PURPOSE: Phase II trial to evaluate the effectiveness of PET and CT scans to detect metastatic disease in patients who have stage III or stage IV melanoma.

Read the detailed description

OBJECTIVES: I. Evaluate the sensitivity, specificity, and accuracy of fludeoxyglucose F 18 (FDG) positron emission tomography (PET) imaging in detecting metastatic disease in patients with stage III or IV melanoma considered for operative management based on the currently accepted diagnostic work up including CT imaging. II. Determine how often the clinical management of these patients is altered based on FDG PET imaging findings in addition to CT scan results.

OUTLINE: Patients are required to fast for a minimum of 6 hours prior to positron emission tomography (PET) imaging. Fludeoxyglucose F 18 (FDG) is administered IV over 15 minutes followed 50-60 minutes later by whole body PET imaging. Iodinated contrast dye is administered by IV injection and by mouth followed by CT imaging of the chest, abdomen, and pelvis within 2 weeks of PET imaging. Whole body FDG PET imaging and CT imaging of the chest, abdomen, and pelvis are repeated at 6 months. Initial positive PET or CT imaging results are verified based on surgical and/or biopsy findings or clinical follow-up.

PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 100 patients will be accrued for this study within 2.5 years.

Conditions
Melanoma (Skin)
Being tested
iodinated contrast dye, computed tomography, positron emission tomography, fludeoxyglucose F 18
Keywords
stage III melanoma, stage IV melanoma, recurrent melanoma
Medical subject headings
Melanoma

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted16 Feb 2004 (estimated)
  2. Study startFeb 1999
  3. Primary completionDec 2002

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Interventional
Phase
Phase 2
Primary purpose
Diagnosis
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT00004152
Sponsor's protocol ID
99-004
Other IDs
MSKCC-99004, NCI-G99-1619
Status last verified
Jan 2013
First submitted
10 Dec 1999
Last updated
16 Jan 2013
Results posted
No

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

A Phase 2 study testing iodinated contrast dye, computed tomography and positron emission tomography in people with Melanoma (Skin), run by Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center at 1 site in United States.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Who may be eligible to take part?

Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: finished, as of the sponsor's last update on 16 Jan 2013. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

Where is the study taking place?

The record lists 1 site in United States. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

What does this phase mean?

Phase 2 studies give the treatment to a larger group to see whether it has the intended effect and to keep checking safety.

Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.

Are results available for this study?

The study is completed, but results are not available in the source record. That does not mean the treatment did or did not work.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

Where can I read the original study information?
Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 16 Jan 2013.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in