LymphomaPhase 2NCT00004169
Chemotherapy, Radiation Therapy, and Peripheral Stem Cell Transplantation in Treating Patients With Hodgkin's Disease
A Phase 2 study testing carboplatin, cyclophosphamide and etoposide in people with Lymphoma, run by Northwestern University at 1 site in United States.
Trial summary
RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy use different ways to stop cancer cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. Radiation therapy uses high-energy x-rays to damage cancer cells. Read more about this study
- Who is it for?
- Ages Up to 65 years
- Conditions the study is for
- Lymphoma
- What is being tested?
- carboplatin, cyclophosphamide and etoposide
- Type of treatment
- Surgery or procedure
- How many people
- Not given
- Where
- 1 siteUnited States
- Study dates
- Nov 1993to Jan 2007
- Phase
- Phase 2
- Are there results?
- None posted in the registry
Key requirements
Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.
- Ages Up to 65 years
- All sexes
- No healthy volunteers
- Child, Adult, Older adult
DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS: Histologically proven Hodgkin's disease Refractory to standard therapy OR Relapsed following initial complete remission Measurable or evaluable disease Hepatic involvement must be histologically proven to be considered sole area of measurable disease If referred following successful induction therapy, measurable or evaluable disease not required No CNS disease
PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS: Age: Physiologic 65 or under Performance status: ECOG 0-2 Life expectancy: At least 2 months Hematopoietic: Not specified Hepatic: Not specified Renal: Creatinine less than 1.5 mg/dL OR Creatinine clearance greater than 50 mL/min Cardiovascular: No active heart disease No congestive heart failure No myocardial infarction in the past 3 months No significant arrhythmia requiring medication Ejection fraction normal Pulmonary: No significant nonneoplastic pulmonary disease No chronic obstructive pulmonary disease Diffusing capacity at least 50% predicted OR FEV1 and/or FVC at least 75% predicted (unless due to Hodgkin's disease) Other: Not pregnant Negative pregnancy test No active serious medical condition that would preclude chemotherapy HIV negative No clinical evidence of AIDS
PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY: See Disease Characteristics
Trial locations and contacts
1 site in 1 country.
United States1 site
Robert H. Lurie Comprehensive Cancer Center, Northwestern University
Chicago, Illinois, 60611
About this study
Official title: High-Dose Chemoradiotherapy With Stem Cell Support in Patients With Relapsed or Refractory Hodgkin's Disease
RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy use different ways to stop cancer cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. Radiation therapy uses high-energy x-rays to damage cancer cells. Combining chemotherapy with peripheral stem cell transplantation may allow the doctor to give higher doses of chemotherapy drugs and kill more cancer cells.
PURPOSE: Phase II trial to study the effectiveness of chemotherapy, radiation therapy, and peripheral stem cell transplantation in treating patients who have recurrent or refractory Hodgkin's disease.
Read the detailed description
OBJECTIVES: I. Determine the toxicity and response to high dose chemotherapy and peripheral blood stem cell support in patients with recurrent or refractory Hodgkin's disease. II. Determine the maximum tolerated dose of etoposide when combined with carboplatin and cyclophosphamide in these patients.
OUTLINE: This is a dose escalation study of etoposide. Patients undergo total nodal radiotherapy twice a day on days -35 to -31, -28 to -24, and then radiotherapy boost once a day on days -21 to -17. Patients then receive etoposide IV continuously and carboplatin IV continuously on days -6 to -4 and cyclophosphamide IV over 2 hours on days -3 and -2. Autologous peripheral blood stem cells are infused on day 0. Patients who have received prior extensive radiation (at least 2000 cGy to any site) only receive chemotherapy and peripheral blood stem cell infusion. Cohorts of 4-8 patients receive escalating doses of etoposide until the maximum tolerated dose (MTD) is determined. The MTD is defined as the dose at which 1 of 4 or 2 of 8 patients experience dose limiting toxicity. Patients are followed every 1-3 months for 2 years, then every 3 months until death.
PROJECTED ACCRUAL: At least 4 patients will be accrued for this study.
- Conditions
- Lymphoma
- Being tested
- carboplatin, cyclophosphamide, etoposide, peripheral blood stem cell transplantation, radiation therapy
- Keywords
- recurrent adult Hodgkin lymphoma, recurrent/refractory childhood Hodgkin lymphoma
- Medical subject headings
- Lymphoma, Hodgkin Disease, Recurrence
What participants receive
What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.
carboplatinDrug
cyclophosphamideDrug
etoposideDrug
peripheral blood stem cell transplantationProcedure or surgery
radiation therapyRadiation
Timeline
From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.
- First posted26 Jul 2004 (estimated)
- Study startNov 1993
- Primary completionJan 2007
- Study completionJan 2007
Resources
- Official record on ClinicalTrials.govThe registry entry this page is built from, with its full change history.
- Other trials for LymphomaStudies of the same condition, open and under way.
- More trials run by Northwestern UniversityThe sponsor's other registered studies.
- What the trial phases meanHow a treatment moves from first tests in people to approval.
More details
For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.
Study design
- Study type
- Interventional
- Phase
- Phase 2
- Primary purpose
- Treatment
Sponsor and investigators
- Lead sponsor
- Northwestern University
- Sponsor type
- University, hospital or other
- Collaborators
- National Cancer Institute (NCI)
- Responsible party
- Sponsor
- Investigators
- Leo I. Gordon, MD, Study chair, Robert H. Lurie Cancer Center
IDs, dates and publications
- ClinicalTrials.gov ID
- NCT00004169
- Sponsor's protocol ID
- NU 93H2
- Other IDs
- NU-93H2, NCI-G99-1636
- Status last verified
- Jun 2012
- First submitted
- 10 Dec 1999
- Last updated
- 2 Jul 2012
- Results posted
- No
- Data monitoring committee
- Yes
Study at a glance
From the registry record, last updated by the sponsor on 2 Jul 2012. Recruitment status is as the sponsor reported it: confirm with the study team.
- Official title
- High-Dose Chemoradiotherapy With Stem Cell Support in Patients With Relapsed or Refractory Hodgkin's Disease
- ClinicalTrials.gov ID
- NCT00004169
- Acronym / sponsor ID
- NU 93H2
- Conditions
- Lymphoma
- Keywords
- recurrent adult Hodgkin lymphoma, recurrent/refractory childhood Hodgkin lymphoma
- Phase
- Phase 2
- Study type
- Interventional
- Recruitment status
- Completed
- Lead sponsor
- Northwestern UniversityUniversity, hospital or other
- Collaborators
- National Cancer Institute (NCI)
- Study start
- Nov 1993
- Primary completion
- Jan 2007 (actual)
- Study completion
- Jan 2007 (actual)
- First posted
- 26 Jul 2004 (estimated)
- Results
- Not posted in the source record
Clinical summary
The research question as the sponsor registered it. This describes what the study plans to test, not what it found.
RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy use different ways to stop cancer cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. Radiation therapy uses high-energy x-rays to damage cancer cells. Combining chemotherapy with peripheral stem cell transplantation may allow the doctor to give higher doses of chemotherapy drugs and kill more cancer cells.
PURPOSE: Phase II trial to study the effectiveness of chemotherapy, radiation therapy, and peripheral stem cell transplantation in treating patients who have recurrent or refractory Hodgkin's disease.
Detailed description
OBJECTIVES: I. Determine the toxicity and response to high dose chemotherapy and peripheral blood stem cell support in patients with recurrent or refractory Hodgkin's disease. II. Determine the maximum tolerated dose of etoposide when combined with carboplatin and cyclophosphamide in these patients.
OUTLINE: This is a dose escalation study of etoposide. Patients undergo total nodal radiotherapy twice a day on days -35 to -31, -28 to -24, and then radiotherapy boost once a day on days -21 to -17. Patients then receive etoposide IV continuously and carboplatin IV continuously on days -6 to -4 and cyclophosphamide IV over 2 hours on days -3 and -2. Autologous peripheral blood stem cells are infused on day 0. Patients who have received prior extensive radiation (at least 2000 cGy to any site) only receive chemotherapy and peripheral blood stem cell infusion. Cohorts of 4-8 patients receive escalating doses of etoposide until the maximum tolerated dose (MTD) is determined. The MTD is defined as the dose at which 1 of 4 or 2 of 8 patients experience dose limiting toxicity. Patients are followed every 1-3 months for 2 years, then every 3 months until death.
PROJECTED ACCRUAL: At least 4 patients will be accrued for this study.
Study design
- Primary purpose
- Treatment
Who may qualify
- Ages
- Up to 65 years
- Sex
- All
- Healthy volunteers
- Not accepted
- Age groups
- Child, Adult, Older adult
Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening; this overview does not establish that a patient qualifies. Full inclusion and exclusion criteria.
Interventions
| Intervention | Type | Arms |
|---|---|---|
| carboplatin | Drug | – |
| cyclophosphamide | Drug | – |
| etoposide | Drug | – |
| peripheral blood stem cell transplantation | Procedure or surgery | – |
| radiation therapy | Radiation | – |
Primary outcome
Not reported in the source record.
Results and safety
The study is completed, but results are not available in the source record. That does not mean the treatment did or did not work.
Research links
- Official record on ClinicalTrials.govLast updated by the sponsor 2 Jul 2012.
Related trials for Lymphoma
RecruitingPhase 2
Tafasitamab With Acalabrutinib and Venetoclax for the Treatment of Chronic Lymphocytic Leukemia/Small Lymphocytic Lymphoma
Chronic Lymphocytic Leukemia, Chronic Lymphocytic Leukemia/Small Lymphocytic Lymphoma
RecruitingPhase 2
Ibrutinib Combination Therapy in Transplant Ineligible Individuals With Newly Diagnosed Primary CNS Lymphoma
Non-hodgkin Lymphoma
RecruitingObservational study
Blood, Urine, and Tissue Collection for Cutaneous Lymphoma, Eczema, and Atopic Dermatitis Research
Cutaneous T-cell Lymphoma, Sezary Syndrome
Not yet recruitingPhase 1
Testing the Addition of an Anti-Cancer Drug, Glofitamab, to the Usual Chemotherapy Treatment (Alternating R-CHOP/R-DHAP) for Previously Untreated Mantle Cell Lymphoma
Ann Arbor Stage II Mantle Cell Lymphoma, Ann Arbor Stage III Mantle Cell Lymphoma
Active, not recruitingPhase 2
Brentuximab Vedotin and Combination Chemotherapy in Treating Patients With CD30-Positive Peripheral T-cell Lymphoma
Adult T-Cell Leukemia/Lymphoma, Anaplastic Large Cell Lymphoma, ALK-Negative
Referral and contact
AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals. Contact the study team or a site listed below; they decide who can take part. This study is not recruiting at the moment.
Leo I. Gordon, MD study chair
Robert H. Lurie Cancer Center
1 site in 1 country: see every site and its status.
Questions about this trial
What is this clinical trial studying?
A Phase 2 study testing carboplatin, cyclophosphamide and etoposide in people with Lymphoma, run by Northwestern University at 1 site in United States.
The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.
Who may be eligible to take part?
Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.
Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?
The record says: finished, as of the sponsor's last update on 2 Jul 2012. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.
Where is the study taking place?
The record lists 1 site in United States. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.
What are the possible benefits and risks?
They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.
What does this phase mean?
Phase 2 studies give the treatment to a larger group to see whether it has the intended effect and to keep checking safety.
Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.
Are results available for this study?
The study is completed, but results are not available in the source record. That does not mean the treatment did or did not work.
How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?
The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.
Where can I read the original study information?
Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?
No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.
How often is this information updated?
AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 2 Jul 2012.