AzTrials
AzTrials

Lung CancerPhase 3NCT00004209

Combination Chemotherapy in Treating Patients With Stage IIIB or Stage IV Non-small Cell Lung Cancer

A Phase 3 study testing cisplatin, mitomycin C and vinblastine sulfate in people with Lung Cancer, run by Cancer Research UK at 2 sites in United Kingdom.

Unknown status

Status not confirmed. The sponsor has not verified this record for over two years, so it may be out of date.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy use different ways to stop tumor cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. Combining more than one drug may kill more tumor cells. It is not yet known whether three courses of combination chemotherapy are more effective than six courses of combination chemotherapy for… Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Ages 18 years and older
Conditions the study is for
Lung Cancer
What is being tested?
cisplatin, mitomycin C and vinblastine sulfate
How many people
Not given
Where
2 sitesUnited Kingdom
Study dates
May 1998to not given
Phase
Phase 3
Are there results?
None posted in the registry

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages 18 years and older
  • All sexes
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Adult, Older adult

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS: Histologically proven stage IIIB or IV non-small cell lung cancer that is not eligible for surgery or radical radiotherapy

PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS: Age: 18 and over Performance status: Zubrod-WHO 0-2 Life expectancy: Not specified Hematopoietic: Hemoglobin greater than 10 g/dL WBC greater than 3,000/mm3 Platelet count greater than 100,000/mm3 Hepatic: Liver function tests no greater than 2 times normal (unless due to metastatic disease) Renal: Creatinine clearance greater than 60 mL/min EDTA clearance greater than 60 mL/min Other: No serious, uncontrolled, concurrent medical illness

PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY: Biologic therapy: Not specified Chemotherapy: No prior conventional chemotherapy Endocrine therapy: Not specified Radiotherapy: See Disease Characteristics Surgery: See Disease Characteristics

Trial locations and contacts

2 sites in 1 country.

United Kingdom2 sites
  • Aberdeen Royal Infirmary

    Aberdeen, Scotland, AB25 2ZN

  • Royal Marsden NHS Trust

    London, England, SW3 6JJ

Other trials in United Kingdom

About this study

Official title: A Randomized Study of MVP 3 Versus 6 Cycles in Advanced Non-Small Cell Lung Cancer

RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy use different ways to stop tumor cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. Combining more than one drug may kill more tumor cells. It is not yet known whether three courses of combination chemotherapy are more effective than six courses of combination chemotherapy for non-small cell lung cancer.

PURPOSE: Randomized phase III trial to compare the effectiveness of three courses of combination chemotherapy with that of six courses of combination chemotherapy in treating patients who have stage IIIB or stage IV non-small cell lung cancer.

Read the detailed description

OBJECTIVES: I. Compare the duration of symptom control, time to disease progression, survival, and quality of life in patients with stage IIIB or IV non-small cell lung cancer treated with 3 versus 6 courses of mitomycin, vinblastine, and cisplatin.

OUTLINE: This is a randomized, multicenter study. Patients are stratified by stage of disease (stage IIIB vs IV). Patients are randomized to 1 of 2 treatment arms: Arm I: Patients receive cisplatin IV over 4 hours, mitomycin IV, and vinblastine IV on day 1. Treatment repeats every 3 weeks for 3 courses in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity. Mitomycin is not administered during course 3. Arm II: Patients receive chemotherapy as in arm I. Treatment repeats every 3 weeks for 6 courses in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity. Mitomycin is not administered during courses 3 and 5. Quality of life is assessed after completion of 3 courses of chemotherapy for patients in arm I and after completion of 4, 5, and 6 courses for those in arm II. Patients may receive radiotherapy beginning after completion of chemotherapy.

PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 310 patients will be accrued for this study.

Conditions
Lung Cancer
Being tested
cisplatin, mitomycin C, vinblastine sulfate
Keywords
stage IIIB non-small cell lung cancer, stage IV non-small cell lung cancer
Medical subject headings
Lung Neoplasms, Carcinoma, Non-Small-Cell Lung

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

  • cisplatinDrug

  • mitomycin CDrug

  • vinblastine sulfateDrug

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted16 Sep 2004 (estimated)
  2. Study startMay 1998

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Interventional
Phase
Phase 3
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Randomised
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT00004209
Sponsor's protocol ID
ICRF-95.240
Other IDs
CDR0000067457, EU-99017
Status last verified
Jun 2007
First submitted
21 Jan 2000
Last updated
7 Aug 2013
Results posted
No

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

A Phase 3 study testing cisplatin, mitomycin C and vinblastine sulfate in people with Lung Cancer, run by Cancer Research UK at 2 sites in United Kingdom.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Who may be eligible to take part?

Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: status not confirmed, as of the sponsor's last update on 7 Aug 2013. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

Where is the study taking place?

The record lists 2 sites in United Kingdom. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

What does this phase mean?

Phase 3 studies compare the treatment with the current standard treatment or a placebo in a large group, to confirm how well it works and watch for side effects.

Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.

Are results available for this study?

Results are not available in the source record.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

Where can I read the original study information?
Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 7 Aug 2013.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in