Brain and Central Nervous System TumorsPhase 3NCT00004259
Radiation Therapy Combined With Chemotherapy in Treating Patients With Anaplastic Astrocytoma or Mixed Gliomas
A Phase 3 study testing BCNU 80mg/m2, TMZ 200mg/m2 and radiation therapy in people with Brain and Central Nervous System Tumors, run by Radiation Therapy Oncology Group at 92 sites in United States.
Trial summary
RATIONALE: Radiation therapy uses high-energy x-rays to damage tumor cells. Drugs used in chemotherapy, such as temozolomide, carmustine, and lomustine, use different ways to stop tumor cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. Combining radiation therapy with chemotherapy may kill more tumor cells. Read more about this study
- Who is it for?
- Ages 18 to 120 years
- Conditions the study is for
- Brain and Central Nervous System Tumors
- What is being tested?
- BCNU 80mg/m2, TMZ 200mg/m2 and radiation therapy
- Type of treatment
- Pill or oral medicine, Injection or infusion, Surgery or procedure
- Could I receive a placebo?
- No, everyone receives an active treatment
- How many people
- 230 participants
- Where
- 92 sitesUnited States
- Study dates
- Jun 2000to 14 May 2018
- Phase
- Phase 3
- Are there results?
- Yes, posted in the registrySummary in the doctors' view
Key requirements
Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.
- Ages 18 to 120 years
- All sexes
- No healthy volunteers
- Adult, Older adult
DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS:
- Histologically proven unifocal anaplastic astrocytoma or mixed gliomas, including the following:
- Anaplastic astrocytoma
- Mixed oligodendroglial/astrocytic tumors
- Oligodendroglial component must be no greater than 25%
- No vascular proliferation and necrosis
- Increased cellularity, pleomorphism, and nuclear atypia allowed
- No tumor predominantly located in the posterior fossa (i.e., brainstem or cerebellum)
- Patients with prior biopsy proven low grade astrocytoma who now have anaplastic astrocytoma and have had no prior radiotherapy or chemotherapy also eligible
- Study therapy must begin within 6 weeks of diagnosis
- No spinal cord tumors, spinal drop metastases, or metastases to noncontiguous meninges
- Pathologic evidence of local meningeal infiltration by underlying tumor allowed
PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS:
Age:
- 18 and over
Performance status:
- Karnofsky 60-100%
Life expectancy:
- At least 1 year
Hematopoietic:
- Hemoglobin at least 10 g/dL
- Absolute neutrophil count at least 1,500/mm^3
- Platelet count at least 150,000/mm^3
Hepatic:
- Bilirubin less than 2 times upper limit of normal (ULN)
- Aspartate aminotransferase (AST) less than 2 times ULN
- Alkaline phosphatase less than 2 times ULN
Renal:
- Blood urea nitrogen no greater than 25 mg/dL
- Creatinine less than 1.5 times normal
Pulmonary:
- No pre-existing lung disease that, in the investigator's opinion, would preclude administration of carmustine or lomustine or completion of therapy
Other:
- No other major medical illness or psychiatric impairment that would preclude study compliance
- No other malignancy within the past 5 years except nonmelanomatous skin cancer or carcinoma in situ of the cervix
- No known hypersensitivity to 1 of the components of carmustine, lomustine, temozolomide, dacarbazine, or any other nitrosourea
- No active infection
- Not pregnant or nursing
- Negative pregnancy test
- Fertile patients must use effective contraception
PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY:
Biologic therapy:
- No prior biologic therapy
Chemotherapy:
- See Disease Characteristics
- No prior chemotherapy
Endocrine therapy:
- Not specified
Radiotherapy:
- See Disease Characteristics
- No prior radiotherapy to brain or head and neck
Surgery:
- Not specified
Other:
- No other concurrent anticancer treatment for anaplastic astrocytoma until a recurrence is detected
Trial locations and contacts
92 sites in 1 country.
92 sites in 1 country
United States92 sites
Akron City Hospital
Akron, Ohio, 44309-2090
McFarland Clinic, PC
Ames, Iowa, 50010
Theda Care Cancer Institute
Appleton, Wisconsin, 54911
Mission Hospitals - Memorial Campus
Asheville, North Carolina, 28801
Greenebaum Cancer Center at University of Maryland Medical Center
Baltimore, Maryland, 21201
CCOP - Montana Cancer Consortium
Billings, Montana, 59101
Deaconess Billings Clinic - Downtown
Billings, Montana, 59107-7000
St. Joseph Medical Center
Bloomington, Illinois, 61701
Lynn Regional Cancer Center at Boca Raton Community Hospital - Main Center
Boca Raton, Florida, 33486
Graham Hospital
Canton, Illinois, 61520
Memorial Hospital
Carthage, Illinois, 62321
Cancer Center of Kansas, PA - Chanute
Chanute, Kansas, 66720
Enloe Cancer Center at Enloe Medical Center
Chico, California, 95926
Charles M. Barrett Cancer Center at University Hospital
Cincinnati, Ohio, 45267
Case Comprehensive Cancer Center
Cleveland, Ohio, 44106
John B. Amos Cancer Center
Columbus, Georgia, 31904
Cancer Center of Kansas, PA - Dodge City
Dodge City, Kansas, 67801
CCOP - Duluth
Duluth, Minnesota, 55805
Cancer Center of Kansas, PA - El Dorado
El Dorado, Kansas, 67042
Eureka Community Hospital
Eureka, Illinois, 61530
North Bay Cancer Center
Fairfield, California, 94533
University of Florida Shands Cancer Center
Gainesville, Florida, 32610-0232
Galesburg Clinic
Galesburg, Illinois, 61401
Galesburg Cottage Hospital
Galesburg, Illinois, 61401
InterCommunity Cancer Center of Western Illinois
Galesburg, Illinois, 61401
St. Vincent Hospital Regional Cancer Center
Green Bay, Wisconsin, 54307-3508
Mason District Hospital
Havana, Illinois, 62644
Hopedale Medical Complex
Hopedale, Illinois, 61747
Baptist Cancer Institute - Jacksonville
Jacksonville, Florida, 32207
Florida Oncology Associates at Southside Cancer Center
Jacksonville, Florida, 32207
Baptist Medical Center South
Jacksonville, Florida, 32258
Integrated Community Oncology Network
Jacksonville Beach, Florida, 32250
West Michigan Cancer Center
Kalamazoo, Michigan, 49007-3731
Good Samaritan Cancer Center at Good Samaritan Hospital
Kearney, Nebraska, 68848-1990
Kewanee Hospital
Kewanee, Illinois, 61443
Cancer Center of Kansas, PA - Kingman
Kingman, Kansas, 67068
University Medical Center of Southern Nevada
Las Vegas, Nevada, 89102
CCOP - Nevada Cancer Research Foundation
Las Vegas, Nevada, 89106
Southwest Medical Center
Liberal, Kansas, 67901
McDonough District Hospital
Macomb, Illinois, 61455
Bay Area Cancer Care Center at Bay Area Medical Center
Marinette, Wisconsin, 54143
Fox Chase Virtua Health Cancer Program at Virtua Memorial Hospital Marlton
Marlton, New Jersey, 08053
Community Memorial Hospital Cancer Care Center
Menomonee Falls, Wisconsin, 53051
Mobile Infirmary Medical Center
Mobile, Alabama, 36652-2144
Cancer Center of Kansas, PA - Newton
Newton, Kansas, 67114
BroMenn Regional Medical Center
Normal, Illinois, 61761
Community Cancer Center
Normal, Illinois, 61761
Methodist Cancer Center at Methodist Hospital - Omaha
Omaha, Nebraska, 68114
Florida Oncology Associates
Orange Park, Florida, 32073
Community Hospital of Ottawa
Ottawa, Illinois, 61350
Oncology Hematology Associates of Central Illinois, PC - Ottawa
Ottawa, Illinois, 61350
Florida Cancer Center - Palatka
Palatka, Florida, 32177
Cancer Center of Kansas, PA - Parsons
Parsons, Kansas, 67357
Cancer Treatment Center at Pekin Hospital
Pekin, Illinois, 61554
Proctor Hospital
Peoria, Illinois, 61614
OSF St. Francis Medical Center
Peoria, Illinois, 61615-7827
CCOP - Illinois Oncology Research Association
Peoria, Illinois, 61615
Oncology Hematology Associates of Central Illinois, PC - Peoria
Peoria, Illinois, 61615
Methodist Medical Center of Illinois
Peoria, Illinois, 61636
Illinois Valley Community Hospital
Peru, Illinois, 61354
Kimmel Cancer Center at Thomas Jefferson University - Philadelphia
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, 19107-5541
Arizona Oncology Services Foundation
Phoenix, Arizona, 85013
Allegheny Cancer Center at Allegheny General Hospital
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, 15212
Cancer Center of Kansas, PA - Pratt
Pratt, Kansas, 67124
Perry Memorial Hospital
Princeton, Illinois, 61356
Rapid City Regional Hospital
Rapid City, South Dakota, 57701
Reading Hospital and Medical Center
Reading, Pennsylvania, 19612-6052
Lipson Cancer and Blood Center at Rochester General Hospital
Rochester, New York, 14621
Flagler Cancer Center
Saint Augustine, Florida, 32086
Cancer Research UK Medical Oncology Unit at Churchill Hospital & Weatherall Institute of Molecular Medicine - Oxford
Salem, Ohio, 44460
Cancer Center of Kansas, PA - Salina
Salina, Kansas, 67042
Latter Day Saints Hospital
Salt Lake City, Utah, 84143
Guthrie Cancer Center at Guthrie Clinic Sayre
Sayre, Pennsylvania, 18840
St. Margaret's Hospital
Spring Valley, Illinois, 61362
Valley Cancer Center
Spring Valley, Illinois, 61362
St. John's Regional Health Center
Springfield, Missouri, 65804
H. Lee Moffitt Cancer Center and Research Institute at University of South Florida
Tampa, Florida, 33612-9497
Cotton-O'Neil Cancer Center
Topeka, Kansas, 66604
Natalie Warren Bryant Cancer Center at St. Francis Hospital
Tulsa, Oklahoma, 74136
Solano Radiation Oncology Center
Vacaville, California, 95687
Franklin & Edith Scarpa Regional Cancer Center at South Jersey Healthcare
Vineland, New Jersey, 08360
Fox Chase Virtua Health Cancer Program at Virtua West Jersey
Voorhees Township, New Jersey, 08043
University of Wisconcin Cancer Center at Aspirus Wausau Hospital
Wausau, Wisconsin, 54401
Cancer Center of Kansas, PA - Wellington
Wellington, Kansas, 67152
Associates in Womens Health, PA - North Review
Wichita, Kansas, 67203
Cancer Center of Kansas, PA - Medical Arts Tower
Wichita, Kansas, 67208
Cancer Center of Kansas, PA - Wichita
Wichita, Kansas, 67214
CCOP - Wichita
Wichita, Kansas, 67214
Via Christi Cancer Center at Via Christi Regional Medical Center
Wichita, Kansas, 67214
Wesley Medical Center
Wichita, Kansas, 67214
Cancer Center of Kansas, PA - Winfield
Winfield, Kansas, 67156
Cancer Treatment Center
Wooster, Ohio, 44691
About this study
Official title: A Phase III Randomized Study (Phase I Closed) of Radiation Therapy and Temozolomide Versus Radiation Therapy and Nitrosourea for Anaplastic Astrocytoma And Mixed Anaplastic Oligoastrocytoma (Astrocytoma Dominant)
RATIONALE: Radiation therapy uses high-energy x-rays to damage tumor cells. Drugs used in chemotherapy, such as temozolomide, carmustine, and lomustine, use different ways to stop tumor cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. Combining radiation therapy with chemotherapy may kill more tumor cells.
PURPOSE: This randomized phase III trial is studying radiation therapy and temozolomide to see how well they work compared to radiation therapy and carmustine or lomustine in treating patients with anaplastic astrocytoma or mixed gliomas.
Read the detailed description
OBJECTIVES:
- Compare the overall survival and time to tumor progression in patients with anaplastic astrocytoma or mixed gliomas treated with radiotherapy combined with temozolomide vs carmustine or lomustine vs temozolomide and carmustine (arm discontinued as of 8/15/02).
- Compare the relative toxic effects of these regimens in these patients.
- Correlate molecular analyses with overall survival and time to tumor progression in patients treated with these regimens.
OUTLINE: This is a randomized, multicenter study. Patients are stratified according to age (under 50 vs 50 and over), Karnofsky performance status (60-80% vs 90-100%), and prior surgery (biopsy only vs resection).
Phase I
- Pilot Arms I and II: Prior to initiating the randomization to 1 of 3 treatment arms in phase III, Patients are accrued to Arm III regimen to determine tolerability.
Phase III
- Patients are randomized to 1 of 2 treatment arms (3rd arm was dropped).
- Arm I: Patients undergo radiotherapy 5 days a week for 6 weeks. Patients receive oral temozolomide on days 1-5 of the first week of radiotherapy. Chemotherapy repeats every 4 weeks for a total of 12 courses.
- Arm II: Patients undergo radiotherapy as in arm I. Patients receive carmustine IV or lomustine IV over 1-2 hours on days 1-3 of the first week of radiotherapy and a second course on days 56-58. Chemotherapy repeats every 8 weeks for a total of 6 courses.
- Arm III (dropped, did not open): Patients undergo radiotherapy as in arm I. Patients receive carmustine IV or lomustine IV over 3 hours on day 5 and oral temozolomide (2 hours after completion of carmustine or lomustine infusion) on days 1-5 of the first week of radiotherapy. Combination chemotherapy repeats every 8 weeks for 6 courses.
Patients are followed every 3 months for 1 year, every 6 months for 2 years, and then annually thereafter.
PROJECTED ACCRUAL: Phase I: 30 patients; Phase III: 454 patients (227 per treatment arm) within 4 years.
- Conditions
- Brain and Central Nervous System Tumors
- Being tested
- BCNU 80mg/m2, TMZ 200mg/m2, radiation therapy, CCNU, BCNU 150mg/m2
- Keywords
- adult anaplastic astrocytoma, adult mixed glioma
- Medical subject headings
- Central Nervous System Neoplasms, Astrocytoma, Glioma
What participants receive
What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.
BCNU 80mg/m2Drug
BCNU 80 mg/m2 will be administered as an intravenous infusion on days 1, 2, and 3 of the first week of radiotherapy and on days 56, 57, and 58, then every eight weeks for four more cycles for a total of 6 cycles (maximum BCNU dose 1440 mg/m2).
TMZ 200mg/m2Drug
200 mg/m2 orally on days 1-5 of the first week of radiotherapy. Repeat every 28 days for a total of 12 cycles.
radiation therapyRadiation
1.8 Gy fractions (to isocenter), 1 fraction per day, 5 days per week to a dose of 59.4 Gy in 33 fractions.
CCNUDrug
CCNU at 130 mg/m2 orally every 8 weeks for a total of 6 cycles. Administered on day 1 of the first week of radiotherapy and on day 56, then administered every 8 weeks for four more cycles for a total of 6 cycles.
BCNU 150mg/m2Drug
BCNU 150 mg/m2 will be administered as an intravenous infusion on day 5 of radiotherapy, and it will be repeated every eight weeks for a total of six cycles (maximum total BCNU dose 900 mg/m2).
BCNU 200mg/m2Drug
BCNU 200 mg/m2 will be administered as an intravenous infusion on day 1 of radiotherapy and will be repeated every six weeks for a total of 6 cycles (maximum BCNU dose 1200 mg/m2).
TMZ 150mg/m2 six 6-week cyclesDrug
150 mg/m2 orally on days 1-5 of the first week of radiotherapy. Repeat for a total of six 6-week cycles
TMZ 150mg/m2 six 8-week cyclesDrug
150 mg/m2 orally on days 1-5 of the first week of radiotherapy. Repeat for a total of six 8-week cycles
| Study group | Role | What they receive |
|---|---|---|
| Radiation therapy + temozolomide (TMZ) | Experimental | Radiation therapy (RT) for 6 weeks concurrent with and followed by TMZ 200mg/m2 for twelve 28-day cycles Receives: Drug: TMZ 200mg/m2; Radiation: radiation therapy |
| RT + BCNU/CCNU | Active comparator | Radiation therapy for 6 weeks concurrent with and followed by BCNU 80mg/m2 or CCNU 130 mg/m2 for six 8-week cycles Receives: Drug: BCNU 80mg/m2; Radiation: radiation therapy; Drug: CCNU |
| Pilot Arm #1: RT+TMZ+BCNU | Experimental | Radiation therapy for 6 weeks concurrent with and followed by BCNU 200mg/m2 and TMZ 150mg/m2 six 6-week cycles Receives: Radiation: radiation therapy; Drug: BCNU 200mg/m2; Drug: TMZ 150mg/m2 six 6-week cycles |
| Pilot Arm #2: RT+TMZ+BCNU | Experimental | Radiation therapy for 6 weeks concurrent with and followed by BCNU 150mg/m2 and TMZ 150mg/m2 six 8-week cycles Receives: Radiation: radiation therapy; Drug: BCNU 150mg/m2; Drug: TMZ 150mg/m2 six 8-week cycles |
What is being measured
The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.
(Phase III) Overall Survival (OS)
Survival time is defined as time from randomization to date of death from any cause and is estimated by the Kaplan-Meier method. Patients last known to be alive are censored at the date of last contact. Per the protocol, the pilot arms were not included in the Phase III analyses.
Measured: From randomization to date of death. Patients are followed until death. Analysis occurs after 155 deaths have been reported, estimated at 5.5 years from the study opening.
(Phase I) Number of Subjects With Dose Limiting Toxicities (DLT) on the Two Pilot Arms
Adverse events were graded using CTCAE v2.0. Grade refers to the severity of the adverse event (AE). The CTCAE v2.0 assigns Grades 1 through 5 with unique clinical descriptions of severity for each AE based on this general guideline: Grade 1 Mild AE, Grade 2 Moderate AE, Grade 3 Severe AE, Grade 4 Life-threatening or disabling AE, Grade 5 Death related to AE. Dose limiting toxicity (DLT) was defined as grade 3+ pulmonary toxicity, grade 4+ thrombocytopenia (< 25,000 for 5 days), neutropenia (< 500/microl for 7 days), or neutropenia of any duration with fever requiring hospital admission after one dose reduction of 50% in BCNU. A 20% rate of grade 3+ pulmonary toxicities or a 40% rate of grade 4+ thrombocytopenia and neutropenia was considered unacceptable for a treatment arm combining RT, TMZ, and BCNU.
Measured: From start of treatment to 3 months
Secondary outcomes (4)
(Phase III) Time to Tumor Progression (TTP)
Three-year rate is reported. Progression is defined as a radiographic increase in size of the lesion by > 25%, recurrence of the study lesion, or the development of new lesions, confirmed by imaging. Time to tumor progression was estimated using the cumulative incidence function (CIF) on tumor progression, with death as a competing risk. Per the protocol, the pilot arms were not included in the Phase III analyses.
Measured: From randomization to date of death. Patients are followed until death. Analysis occurs after 155 deaths have been reported, estimated at 5.5 years from the study opening.
(Phase III) Number of Patients With Grade 3 or Higher Toxicity
Adverse events were graded using CTCAE v2.0. Grade refers to the severity of the AE. The CTCAE v2.0 assigns Grades 1 through 5 with unique clinical descriptions of severity for each AE based on this general guideline: Grade 1 Mild AE, Grade 2 Moderate AE, Grade 3 Severe AE, Grade 4 Life-threatening or disabling AE, Grade 5 Death related to AE. The number of patients with grade or higher toxicity was calculated overall and for non-hematologic toxicity only. Per the protocol, the pilot arms were not included in the Phase III analyses.
Measured: From randomization to date of death. Patients are followed until death. Analysis occurs after 155 deaths have been reported, estimated at 5.5 years from the study opening.
(Phase III) Survival Time by MGMT Status
Survival time is defined as time from randomization to date of death from any cause and is estimated by the Kaplan-Meier method. Patients last known to be alive are censored at the date of last contact. Tumor tissue samples were analyzed for methylation status of methyl guanine methyl transferase (MGMT), classified as methylated vs. unmethylated.
Measured: From randomization to date of death. Patients are followed until death. Analysis occurs after 155 deaths have been reported, estimated at 5.5 years from the study opening.
(Phase III) Progression-free Survival by MGMT Status
Progression is defined as a radiographic increase in size of the lesion by > 25%, recurrence of the study lesion, or the development of new lesions, confirmed by imaging. Progression-free survival time is defined as time from randomization to date of progression or death from any cause and is estimated by the Kaplan-Meier method. Patients last known to be alive are censored at the date of last contact. Tumor tissue samples were analyzed for methylation status of methyl guanine methyl transferase (MGMT), classified as methylated vs. unmethylated.
Measured: From randomization to date of death. Patients are followed until death. Analysis occurs after 155 deaths have been reported, estimated at 5.5 years from the study opening.
Timeline
From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.
- First posted27 Jan 2003 (estimated)
- Study startJun 2000
- Primary completion1 Feb 2015
- Study completion14 May 2018
Resources
- Official record on ClinicalTrials.govThe registry entry this page is built from, with its full change history.
- Posted resultsParticipant flow, outcome measures and adverse events reported by the sponsor.
- Publications (1)Papers the sponsor has linked to this study.
- Other trials for Brain and Central Nervous System TumorsStudies of the same condition, open and under way.
- What the trial phases meanHow a treatment moves from first tests in people to approval.
More details
For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.
Study design
- Study type
- Interventional
- Phase
- Phase 3
- Primary purpose
- Treatment
- Allocation
- Randomised
- Intervention model
- Parallel groups
- Model description
- Phase I (sequential) followed by phase III (parallel)
- Masking
- None (open label)
- Enrolment
- 230 participants (actual)
Sponsor and investigators
- Lead sponsor
- Radiation Therapy Oncology Group
- Sponsor type
- Research network
- Collaborators
- National Cancer Institute (NCI), North Central Cancer Treatment Group, Eastern Cooperative Oncology Group, NRG Oncology
- Responsible party
- Sponsor
- Investigators
- Susan M. Chang, MD, Study chair, University of California, San FranciscoKurt A. Jaeckle, MD, Study chair, Mayo ClinicPeter Bushunow, MD, Study chair, Lipson Cancer and Blood Center at Rochester General Hospital
IDs, dates and publications
- ClinicalTrials.gov ID
- NCT00004259
- Sponsor's protocol ID
- RTOG-9813
- Other IDs
- CDR0000067512, ECOG-R9813, NCCTG-RTOG-9813
- Status last verified
- Aug 2019
- First submitted
- 28 Jan 2000
- Last updated
- 12 Sep 2019
- Results posted
- Yes, on ClinicalTrials.gov
- Data monitoring committee
- Yes
Publications
Chang SM, Seiferheld W, Curran W, Share R, Atkins J, Choucair A, Kresl J, Thoron L, Cairncross G, Gilbert M, Bahary JP, Dolinskas C, Louis DN, Bushunow P, Buckner J, Barger G, Mehta M. Phase I study pilot arms of radiotherapy and carmustine with temozolomide for anaplastic astrocytoma (Radiation Therapy Oncology Group 9813): implications for studies testing initial treatment of brain tumors. Int J Radiat Oncol Biol Phys. 2004 Jul 15;59(4):1122-6. doi: 10.1016/j.ijrobp.2004.01.002.
PubMed 15234047
Study at a glance
From the registry record, last updated by the sponsor on 12 Sep 2019. Recruitment status is as the sponsor reported it: confirm with the study team.
- Official title
- A Phase III Randomized Study (Phase I Closed) of Radiation Therapy and Temozolomide Versus Radiation Therapy and Nitrosourea for Anaplastic Astrocytoma And Mixed Anaplastic Oligoastrocytoma (Astrocytoma Dominant)
- ClinicalTrials.gov ID
- NCT00004259
- Acronym / sponsor ID
- RTOG-9813
- Conditions
- Brain and Central Nervous System Tumors
- Keywords
- adult anaplastic astrocytoma, adult mixed glioma
- Phase
- Phase 3
- Study type
- Interventional
- Recruitment status
- Completed
- Enrolment
- 230 participants (actual)
- Lead sponsor
- Radiation Therapy Oncology GroupResearch network
- Collaborators
- National Cancer Institute (NCI), North Central Cancer Treatment Group, Eastern Cooperative Oncology Group, NRG Oncology
- Study start
- Jun 2000
- Primary completion
- 1 Feb 2015 (actual)
- Study completion
- 14 May 2018 (actual)
- First posted
- 27 Jan 2003 (estimated)
- Results
- Posted 13 Nov 2017
Clinical summary
The research question as the sponsor registered it. This describes what the study plans to test, not what it found.
RATIONALE: Radiation therapy uses high-energy x-rays to damage tumor cells. Drugs used in chemotherapy, such as temozolomide, carmustine, and lomustine, use different ways to stop tumor cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. Combining radiation therapy with chemotherapy may kill more tumor cells.
PURPOSE: This randomized phase III trial is studying radiation therapy and temozolomide to see how well they work compared to radiation therapy and carmustine or lomustine in treating patients with anaplastic astrocytoma or mixed gliomas.
Detailed description
OBJECTIVES:
- Compare the overall survival and time to tumor progression in patients with anaplastic astrocytoma or mixed gliomas treated with radiotherapy combined with temozolomide vs carmustine or lomustine vs temozolomide and carmustine (arm discontinued as of 8/15/02).
- Compare the relative toxic effects of these regimens in these patients.
- Correlate molecular analyses with overall survival and time to tumor progression in patients treated with these regimens.
OUTLINE: This is a randomized, multicenter study. Patients are stratified according to age (under 50 vs 50 and over), Karnofsky performance status (60-80% vs 90-100%), and prior surgery (biopsy only vs resection).
Phase I
- Pilot Arms I and II: Prior to initiating the randomization to 1 of 3 treatment arms in phase III, Patients are accrued to Arm III regimen to determine tolerability.
Phase III
- Patients are randomized to 1 of 2 treatment arms (3rd arm was dropped).
- Arm I: Patients undergo radiotherapy 5 days a week for 6 weeks. Patients receive oral temozolomide on days 1-5 of the first week of radiotherapy. Chemotherapy repeats every 4 weeks for a total of 12 courses.
- Arm II: Patients undergo radiotherapy as in arm I. Patients receive carmustine IV or lomustine IV over 1-2 hours on days 1-3 of the first week of radiotherapy and a second course on days 56-58. Chemotherapy repeats every 8 weeks for a total of 6 courses.
- Arm III (dropped, did not open): Patients undergo radiotherapy as in arm I. Patients receive carmustine IV or lomustine IV over 3 hours on day 5 and oral temozolomide (2 hours after completion of carmustine or lomustine infusion) on days 1-5 of the first week of radiotherapy. Combination chemotherapy repeats every 8 weeks for 6 courses.
Patients are followed every 3 months for 1 year, every 6 months for 2 years, and then annually thereafter.
PROJECTED ACCRUAL: Phase I: 30 patients; Phase III: 454 patients (227 per treatment arm) within 4 years.
Study design
- Primary purpose
- Treatment
- Allocation
- Randomised
- Intervention model
- Parallel groups
- Masking
- None (open label)
- Number of arms
- 4
- Model description
- Phase I (sequential) followed by phase III (parallel)
| Arm | Type | Receives |
|---|---|---|
| Radiation therapy + temozolomide (TMZ) | Experimental | Drug: TMZ 200mg/m2, Radiation: radiation therapyRadiation therapy (RT) for 6 weeks concurrent with and followed by TMZ 200mg/m2 for twelve 28-day cycles |
| RT + BCNU/CCNU | Active comparator | Drug: BCNU 80mg/m2, Radiation: radiation therapy, Drug: CCNURadiation therapy for 6 weeks concurrent with and followed by BCNU 80mg/m2 or CCNU 130 mg/m2 for six 8-week cycles |
| Pilot Arm #1: RT+TMZ+BCNU | Experimental | Radiation: radiation therapy, Drug: BCNU 200mg/m2, Drug: TMZ 150mg/m2 six 6-week cyclesRadiation therapy for 6 weeks concurrent with and followed by BCNU 200mg/m2 and TMZ 150mg/m2 six 6-week cycles |
| Pilot Arm #2: RT+TMZ+BCNU | Experimental | Radiation: radiation therapy, Drug: BCNU 150mg/m2, Drug: TMZ 150mg/m2 six 8-week cyclesRadiation therapy for 6 weeks concurrent with and followed by BCNU 150mg/m2 and TMZ 150mg/m2 six 8-week cycles |
Who may qualify
- Ages
- 18 to 120 years
- Sex
- All
- Healthy volunteers
- Not accepted
- Age groups
- Adult, Older adult
Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening; this overview does not establish that a patient qualifies. Full inclusion and exclusion criteria.
Interventions
| Intervention | Type | Arms |
|---|---|---|
| BCNU 80mg/m2BCNU 80 mg/m2 will be administered as an intravenous infusion on days 1, 2, and 3 of the first week of radiotherapy and on days 56, 57, and 58, then every eight weeks for four more cycles for a total of 6 cycles (maximum BCNU dose 1440 mg/m2). | Drug | RT + BCNU/CCNU |
| TMZ 200mg/m2200 mg/m2 orally on days 1-5 of the first week of radiotherapy. Repeat every 28 days for a total of 12 cycles. | Drug | Radiation therapy + temozolomide (TMZ) |
| radiation therapy1.8 Gy fractions (to isocenter), 1 fraction per day, 5 days per week to a dose of 59.4 Gy in 33 fractions. | Radiation | Pilot Arm #1: RT+TMZ+BCNU, Pilot Arm #2: RT+TMZ+BCNU, RT + BCNU/CCNU, Radiation therapy + temozolomide (TMZ) |
| CCNUCCNU at 130 mg/m2 orally every 8 weeks for a total of 6 cycles. Administered on day 1 of the first week of radiotherapy and on day 56, then administered every 8 weeks for four more cycles for a total of 6 cycles. | Drug | RT + BCNU/CCNU |
| BCNU 150mg/m2BCNU 150 mg/m2 will be administered as an intravenous infusion on day 5 of radiotherapy, and it will be repeated every eight weeks for a total of six cycles (maximum total BCNU dose 900 mg/m2). | Drug | Pilot Arm #2: RT+TMZ+BCNU |
| BCNU 200mg/m2BCNU 200 mg/m2 will be administered as an intravenous infusion on day 1 of radiotherapy and will be repeated every six weeks for a total of 6 cycles (maximum BCNU dose 1200 mg/m2). | Drug | Pilot Arm #1: RT+TMZ+BCNU |
| TMZ 150mg/m2 six 6-week cycles150 mg/m2 orally on days 1-5 of the first week of radiotherapy. Repeat for a total of six 6-week cycles | Drug | Pilot Arm #1: RT+TMZ+BCNU |
| TMZ 150mg/m2 six 8-week cycles150 mg/m2 orally on days 1-5 of the first week of radiotherapy. Repeat for a total of six 8-week cycles | Drug | Pilot Arm #2: RT+TMZ+BCNU |
Primary outcome
(Phase III) Overall Survival (OS)
Time frame: From randomization to date of death. Patients are followed until death. Analysis occurs after 155 deaths have been reported, estimated at 5.5 years from the study opening.
Survival time is defined as time from randomization to date of death from any cause and is estimated by the Kaplan-Meier method. Patients last known to be alive are censored at the date of last contact. Per the protocol, the pilot arms were not included in the Phase III analyses.
(Phase I) Number of Subjects With Dose Limiting Toxicities (DLT) on the Two Pilot Arms
Time frame: From start of treatment to 3 months
Adverse events were graded using CTCAE v2.0. Grade refers to the severity of the adverse event (AE). The CTCAE v2.0 assigns Grades 1 through 5 with unique clinical descriptions of severity for each AE based on this general guideline: Grade 1 Mild AE, Grade 2 Moderate AE, Grade 3 Severe AE, Grade 4 Life-threatening or disabling AE, Grade 5 Death related to AE. Dose limiting toxicity (DLT) was defined as grade 3+ pulmonary toxicity, grade 4+ thrombocytopenia (< 25,000 for 5 days), neutropenia (< 500/microl for 7 days), or neutropenia of any duration with fever requiring hospital admission after one dose reduction of 50% in BCNU. A 20% rate of grade 3+ pulmonary toxicities or a 40% rate of grade 4+ thrombocytopenia and neutropenia was considered unacceptable for a treatment arm combining RT, TMZ, and BCNU.
4 secondary outcomes
(Phase III) Time to Tumor Progression (TTP)
Time frame: From randomization to date of death. Patients are followed until death. Analysis occurs after 155 deaths have been reported, estimated at 5.5 years from the study opening.
(Phase III) Number of Patients With Grade 3 or Higher Toxicity
Time frame: From randomization to date of death. Patients are followed until death. Analysis occurs after 155 deaths have been reported, estimated at 5.5 years from the study opening.
(Phase III) Survival Time by MGMT Status
Time frame: From randomization to date of death. Patients are followed until death. Analysis occurs after 155 deaths have been reported, estimated at 5.5 years from the study opening.
(Phase III) Progression-free Survival by MGMT Status
Time frame: From randomization to date of death. Patients are followed until death. Analysis occurs after 155 deaths have been reported, estimated at 5.5 years from the study opening.
Results and safety
Loading the posted results from ClinicalTrials.gov…
Research links
- Official record on ClinicalTrials.govLast updated by the sponsor 12 Sep 2019.
- Posted resultsParticipant flow, baseline, all outcome measures and adverse events.
- Results publication: PubMed 15234047Chang SM, Seiferheld W, Curran W, Share R, Atkins J, Choucair A, Kresl J, Thoron L, Cairncross G, Gilbert M, Bahary JP, Dolinskas C, Louis DN, Bushunow P, Buckner J, Barger G, Mehta M. Phase I study pilot arms of radiotherapy and carmustine with temozolomide for anaplastic astrocytoma (Radiation Therapy Oncology Group 9813): implications for studies testing initial treatment of brain tumors. Int J Radiat Oncol Biol Phys. 2004 Jul 15;59(4):1122-6. doi: 10.1016/j.ijrobp.2004.01.002.
Related trials for Brain and Central Nervous System Tumors
RecruitingPhase 2
BrAin Metastasis in tripLe Negateive Breast Cancer: IvoneScimab and Trop2 ADC
Triple-Negative Breast Cancer (TNBC), Brain Metastases
Active, not recruiting
Effects of Whole-body Electrical Muscle Stimulation Exercise on Adults With Neuromuscular Disease
Neuromuscular Diseases (NMD), Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis
Active, not recruitingPhase 1
Prospective Exploratory Study of FAPi PET/CT With Histopathology Validation in Patients With Various Cancers
Bladder Carcinoma, Cervical Carcinoma
RecruitingPhase 1/2
PLX038 in Primary Central Nervous System Tumors Containing MYC or MYCN Amplifications
Glioma, Medulloblastoma
Recruiting
Virtual Home-based Exercise Intervention (RISE) to Improve Cancer-Related Cognitive Impairment and Gut Microbiome in Adolescent and Young Adult Brain Tumor Survivors
Cancer-related Cognitive Dysfunction, Primary Brain Neoplasm
Referral and contact
AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals. Contact the study team or a site listed below; they decide who can take part. This study is not recruiting at the moment.
Susan M. Chang, MD study chair
University of California, San Francisco
Kurt A. Jaeckle, MD study chair
Mayo Clinic
Peter Bushunow, MD study chair
Lipson Cancer and Blood Center at Rochester General Hospital
92 sites in 1 country: see every site and its status.
Questions about this trial
What is this clinical trial studying?
A Phase 3 study testing BCNU 80mg/m2, TMZ 200mg/m2 and radiation therapy in people with Brain and Central Nervous System Tumors, run by Radiation Therapy Oncology Group at 92 sites in United States.
The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.
Who may be eligible to take part?
Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.
Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?
The record says: finished, as of the sponsor's last update on 12 Sep 2019. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.
Where is the study taking place?
The record lists 92 sites in United States. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.
What are the possible benefits and risks?
They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.
What does this phase mean?
Phase 3 studies compare the treatment with the current standard treatment or a placebo in a large group, to confirm how well it works and watch for side effects.
Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.
Are results available for this study?
Yes. Results are posted in the registry (first posted 13 Nov 2017). A summary is in the For doctors view, and the full results are on ClinicalTrials.gov.
How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?
The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.
What does the primary outcome measure?
(Phase III) Overall Survival (OS) (time frame: From randomization to date of death. Patients are followed until death. Analysis occurs after 155 deaths have been reported, estimated at 5.5 years from the study opening.). The study lists 2 primary outcomes in all. It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.
Where can I read the original study information?
On the ClinicalTrials.gov record for NCT00004259, which also lists 1 linked publication.
Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?
No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.
How often is this information updated?
AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 12 Sep 2019.