AzTrials
AzTrials

Colorectal CancerPhase 3NCT00004885

Fluorouracil and Leucovorin With or Without Irinotecan in Treating Patients With Metastatic Colorectal Cancer

A Phase 3 study testing FOLFIRI regimen, fluorouracil and irinotecan hydrochloride in people with Colorectal Cancer, run by European Organisation for Research and Treatment of Cancer - EORTC at 57 sites in 9 countries.

Completed

Finished. The study has ended and is not enrolling. Results may be posted on the official record.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy use different ways to stop tumor cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. It is not yet known whether fluorouracil and leucovorin plus irinotecan is more effective than fluorouracil and leucovorin alone for colorectal cancer. Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Ages 18 years and older
Conditions the study is for
Colorectal Cancer
What is being tested?
FOLFIRI regimen, fluorouracil and irinotecan hydrochloride
How many people
430 participants
Where
57 sitesin 9 countries
Study dates
Jul 1999to Jul 2001
Phase
Phase 3
Are there results?
None posted in the registry

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages 18 years and older
  • All sexes
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Adult, Older adult

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS: Histologically proven metastatic adenocarcinoma of the colon or rectum Measurable or evaluable disease outside of any prior radiation port No CNS metastases

PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS: Age: 18 and over Performance status: WHO 0-2 Life expectancy: Not specified Hematopoietic: WBC at least 3,000/mm3 Platelet count at least 100,000/mm3 Hepatic: Bilirubin no greater than 1.25 times upper limit of normal (ULN) (1.5 times ULN if liver metastasis present) AST and ALT no greater than 3 times ULN (5 times ULN if liver metastasis present) Renal: Creatinine no greater than 1.25 times ULN Cardiovascular: No severe cardiac disease No uncontrolled angina pectoris No myocardial infarction within the past 6 months Gastrointestinal: No unresolved bowel obstruction or subobstruction No uncontrolled Crohn's disease or ulcerative colitis No history of chronic diarrhea Other: No second malignancy except carcinoma in situ of the cervix or nonmelanomatous skin cancer No other uncontrolled severe medical condition Not pregnant or nursing Fertile patients must use effective contraception

PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY: Biologic therapy: Not specified Chemotherapy: No prior chemotherapy for metastatic disease No prior adjuvant chemotherapy containing topoisomerase I inhibitors At least 6 months since other prior adjuvant chemotherapy Endocrine therapy: Concurrent corticosteroids allowed Radiotherapy: See Disease Characteristics Surgery: Not specified Other: At least 4 weeks since other prior investigational drugs No other concurrent anticancer therapy

Trial locations and contacts

57 sites in 9 countries.

57 sites in 9 countries

Germany49 sites
  • PZB - Praxenzentrum

    Aachen, D-52062

  • Kreiskrankenhaus Aurich

    Aurich, D-26603

  • Haematology-Oncology

    Braunschweig, D-38100

  • Humaine Klinik Dresden GmbH

    Dresden, 01326

  • Medizinische Klinik I

    Dresden, D-01307

  • St. Johannes Hospital - Medical Klinik II

    Duisburg, D-47166

  • Universitaetsklinik Duesseldorf

    Düsseldorf, D-40225

  • Hans-Susemihl-Krankenhaus

    Emden, D-26721

  • Haemato-Onkol. Praxis

    Essen, 45127

  • Universitaetsklinik und Strahlenklinik - Essen

    Essen, D-45122

  • Kliniken Essen-Mitte

    Essen, D-45136

  • Klinikum der J.W. Goethe Universitaet

    Frankfurt, D-60590

  • Klinikum Frankfurt (Oder)

    Frankfurt (Oder), D-15236

  • Klinik Fuer Innere Medizin Hematology/Oncology, Ernst Moritz Armdt Universitaet

    Greifswald, D-17487

  • Marien Hospital

    Hagen, 58095

  • Allgemeines Krankenhaus Hagen

    Hagen, D-58095

  • Internistisch - Onkologische Gemeinschaftspraxis

    Halle, D-06110

  • Martin Luther Universitaet

    Halle, DOH-0-6112

  • Hermann-Holthusen Institute for Radiotherapy

    Hamburg, D-20099

  • Haematologisch-Onkologische Praxis Altona

    Hamburg, D-22765

  • Evangelische Krankenhaus Hamm

    Hamm, DOH-5-9063

  • Henriettenstiftung - Chirurgische Klinik

    Hanover, D-30171

  • Krankenhaus Siloah - Medizinische Klinik II

    Hanover, D-30449

  • Medizinische Hochschule Hannover

    Hanover, D-30625

  • Marienhospital/Ruhr University Bochum

    Herne, DOH-4-4625

  • Universitatsklinik, Saarland

    Homburg/Saar, D-66421

  • Haematologisch-Oncologische Praxis

    Koblenz, D-56068

  • Klinikum Lippe-Lemgo

    Lemgo, D-32657

  • Stift Bethlehem

    Ludwigslust, D-19288

  • Staedtisches Klinikum Magdeburg

    Magdeburg, D-39002

  • Otto-Von-Guericke-Universitaet Magdeburg

    Magdeburg, D-39120

  • Johannes Gutenberg University

    Mainz, D-55131

  • Muenchen Onkol. Praxis Elisenhof

    Munich, D-80335

  • Praxis Innere Medizin

    Neustadt, D-01844

  • Kreiskrankenhaus Neustadt A. Rbge. des Landkreises Hannover

    Neustadt, D-31533

  • Klinikum Nurnberg

    Nuremberg (Nurnberg), D-90419

  • Klinikum Ernst Von Bergmann

    Postdam, D-14467

  • Klinikum D. Ch. Erxleben

    Quedlinburg, D-06484

  • Kreiskrankenhaus Riesa

    Riesa, D-01589

  • University of Rostock

    Rostock, 18057

  • Fachkrankenhaus Marienstift

    Schwarzenberg, D-08340

  • Katharinenhospital

    Stuttgart, D-70174

  • Eberhard Karls Universitaet

    Tübingen, D-72076

  • Klinikum der Universitaet Ulm

    Ulm, D-89081

  • Harz-Klinikum Wernigerode GMBH - Medizinische Klinik

    Wernigerode, D-38843

  • Klinikum der Stadt Wolfsburg

    Wolfsburg, D-38440

  • Gemeinschaftspraxis

    Worms, DOH-6-7547

  • Witten University - Klinikum Wuppertal

    Wuppertal, D-42283

  • Medizinische Poliklinik, Universitaet Wuerzburg

    Würzburg, D-97070

Other trials in Germany

Austria1 site
  • Allgemeines Krankenhaus der Stadt Wien

    Vienna, A-1090

Other trials in Austria

Belgium1 site
  • U.Z. Gasthuisberg

    Leuven, B-3000

Other trials in Belgium

Egypt1 site
  • National Cancer Institute of Egypt

    Cairo

Other trials in Egypt

France1 site
  • Institut Gustave Roussy

    Villejuif, F-94805

Other trials in France

Italy1 site
  • Ospedale San Lazzaro

    Alba, 12051

Other trials in Italy

Netherlands1 site
  • Saint Laurentius Ziekenhuis

    Roermond, 6043 CV

Other trials in Netherlands

Russia1 site
  • Russian Academy of Medical Sciences Cancer Research Center

    Moscow, 115478

Other trials in Russia

South Africa1 site
  • Medical Oncology Centre of Rosebank

    Johannesburg, 2193

Other trials in South Africa

About this study

Official title: CPT-11 in Combination With Weekly 24 Hour Infusion 5-FU Plus Folinic Acid Relative to Weekly 24 Hour Infusion 5-FU Plus Folinic Acid Alone in Patients With Advanced Colorectal Cancer

RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy use different ways to stop tumor cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. It is not yet known whether fluorouracil and leucovorin plus irinotecan is more effective than fluorouracil and leucovorin alone for colorectal cancer.

PURPOSE: Randomized phase III trial to compare the effectiveness of fluorouracil and leucovorin with or without irinotecan in treating patients who have metastatic colorectal cancer.

Read the detailed description

OBJECTIVES: I. Compare the efficacy and toxicity of high-dose fluorouracil and leucovorin calcium with or without irinotecan in patients with metastatic adenocarcinoma of the colon or rectum. II. Compare progression-free survival, overall survival, response rate, and duration of response in patients treated with these 2 regimens. III. Compare quality of life of patients treated with these 2 regimens.

OUTLINE: This is a randomized, multicenter study. Patients are randomized to one of two treatment arms. Arm I: Patients receive leucovorin calcium IV over 2 hours followed by fluorouracil IV over 24 hours on days 1, 8, 15, 22, 29, and 36. Arm II: Patients receive irinotecan IV over 30 minutes followed by leucovorin calcium IV over 2 hours and fluorouracil IV over 24 hours on days 1, 8, 15, 22, 29, and 36. Treatment in both arms repeats every 7 weeks in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity. Patients in arm I who develop disease progression begin second-line therapy comprising irinotecan, fluorouracil, and leucovorin calcium within 2 months of progression. Patients with complete response are taken off study after receiving treatment for one year. Quality of life is assessed before beginning study, after completion of each course, at 4 weeks after completion of study, and then every 2 months until disease progression or death. Patients are followed every 2 months until disease progression or death.

PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 430 patients (215 per arm) will be accrued for this study within 2 years.

Keywords
stage IV colon cancer, stage IV rectal cancer, recurrent colon cancer, recurrent rectal cancer, adenocarcinoma of the colon, adenocarcinoma of the rectum
Medical subject headings
Colorectal Neoplasms, Colonic Neoplasms, Rectal Neoplasms

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted12 Apr 2004 (estimated)
  2. Study startJul 1999
  3. Primary completionJul 2001

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Interventional
Phase
Phase 3
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Randomised
Enrolment
430 participants (actual)
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT00004885
Sponsor's protocol ID
EORTC-40986
Other IDs
EORTC-40986
Status last verified
Sep 2012
First submitted
7 Mar 2000
Last updated
24 Sep 2012
Results posted
No

Publications

  • Kohne CH, van Cutsem E, Wils J, Bokemeyer C, El-Serafi M, Lutz MP, Lorenz M, Reichardt P, Ruckle-Lanz H, Frickhofen N, Fuchs R, Mergenthaler HG, Langenbuch T, Vanhoefer U, Rougier P, Voigtmann R, Muller L, Genicot B, Anak O, Nordlinger B; European Organisation for Research and Treatment of Cancer Gastrointestinal Group. Phase III study of weekly high-dose infusional fluorouracil plus folinic acid with or without irinotecan in patients with metastatic colorectal cancer: European Organisation for Research and Treatment of Cancer Gastrointestinal Group Study 40986. J Clin Oncol. 2005 Aug 1;23(22):4856-65. doi: 10.1200/JCO.2005.05.546. Epub 2005 Jun 6.

    PubMed 15939923
  • Kohne CH, Van Custem E, Wils JA, et al.: Irinotecan improves the activity of the AIO regimen in metastatic colorectal cancer: results of EORTC GI Group study 40986. [Abstract] Proceedings of the American Society of Clinical Oncology 22: A-1018, 2003.

  • Kohne C, van Cutsem E, Wils J, et al.: Weekly high dose infusional 5-FU plus folinic acid (FA) with or without irinotecan (IRI) in metastatic colorectal cancer (MCRC): interim safety results of EORTC study 40986. [Abstract] Proceedings of the American Society of Clinical Oncology 21: A-532, 2002.

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

A Phase 3 study testing FOLFIRI regimen, fluorouracil and irinotecan hydrochloride in people with Colorectal Cancer, run by European Organisation for Research and Treatment of Cancer - EORTC at 57 sites in 9 countries.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Who may be eligible to take part?

Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: finished, as of the sponsor's last update on 24 Sep 2012. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

Where is the study taking place?

The record lists 57 sites in Germany, Austria, Belgium, Egypt, France and 4 more countries. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

What does this phase mean?

Phase 3 studies compare the treatment with the current standard treatment or a placebo in a large group, to confirm how well it works and watch for side effects.

Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.

Are results available for this study?

The study is completed, but results are not available in the source record. That does not mean the treatment did or did not work.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

Where can I read the original study information?

On the ClinicalTrials.gov record for NCT00004885, which also lists 3 linked publications.

Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 24 Sep 2012.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in