AzTrials
AzTrials

Unspecified Adult Solid Tumor, Protocol SpecificPhase 3NCT00005024

Granisetron to Prevent Nausea and Vomiting After Chemotherapy in Patients With Malignant Disease

A Phase 3 study testing carboplatin, cyclophosphamide and doxorubicin hydrochloride in people with Unspecified Adult Solid Tumor, Protocol Specific, run by Jonsson Comprehensive Cancer Center.

Unknown status

Status not confirmed. The sponsor has not verified this record for over two years, so it may be out of date.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

RATIONALE: Antiemetic drugs such as granisetron may help to prevent nausea and vomiting in patients treated with chemotherapy. PURPOSE: Randomized phase III trial to compare the effectiveness of granisetron with that of a placebo in preventing nausea and vomiting after chemotherapy in patients who have malignant… Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Ages 18 years and older
What is being tested?
carboplatin, cyclophosphamide and doxorubicin hydrochloride
How many people
Not given
Where
No sites listed yet
Study dates
Start not givento not given
Phase
Phase 3
Are there results?
None posted in the registry

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages 18 years and older
  • All sexes
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Adult, Older adult

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS: Diagnosis of malignant disease eligible for chemotherapy Scheduled to receive a regimen of chemotherapy containing IV cyclophosphamide or carboplatin, with or without other chemotherapy agents Cyclophosphamide must be given at a dose of 500-1,200 mg/m2 Carboplatin must be given at a dose of at least 300 mg/m2 unless Calvert dosing equation (using target AUC of 6 mg/mL/min) requires less than 300 mg/m2 Doxorubicin, if given, must be infused within a period not exceeding 1 hour Minimum doses are to be based on actual body weight Other emetogenic or nonemetogenic agents are permitted to be included in the day 0 chemotherapy regimen without restriction on dose Emetogenic agents must be given as part of cyclophosphamide-based or carboplatin-based regimen on day 0 and not at another time within the 72 hour period Cyclophosphamide, carboplatin, or doxorubicin must be the first emetogenic agent given No cyclophosphamide, doxorubicin, vincristine, and prednisone (CHOP) regimen No primary or secondary (from metastatic disease) brain neoplasm with: Signs or symptoms of increased intracranial pressure OR Brain metastases requiring treatment within 30 days of study entry No signs or symptoms of cerebral edema Symptomatically "silent" metastasis allowed

PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS: Age: 18 and over Performance status: Karnofsky 60-100% Life expectancy: Not specified Hematopoietic: Not specified Hepatic: Not specified Renal: Not specified Other: Not pregnant or nursing Negative pregnancy test Fertile patients must use effective contraception No unstable medical disorder No known hypersensitivity to any 5HT3 receptor antagonist At least 1 hour since prior nausea and/or at least 24 hours since prior emesis (i.e., vomiting and/or retching)

PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY: Biologic therapy: Not specified Chemotherapy: See Disease Characteristics No prior emetogenic chemotherapy Prior nonemetogenic chemotherapy (dose and/or agent) allowed provided antiemetic agents were not required and nausea and emesis did not result Endocrine therapy: No chronic (more than 1 month) or concurrent corticosteroids except for replacement or maintenance doses up to 10 mg prednisone or equivalent or prophylactic pretherapy with dexamethasone on day 0 Radiotherapy: At least 24 hours since prior radiotherapy to any abdominal field (T10-L5) No concurrent radiotherapy to any abdominal field (T10-L5) Prior or concurrent radiotherapy to other fields allowed (e.g., pelvic irradiation, thoracic irradiation) Surgery: Not specified Other: At least 30 days or 5 half-lives (whichever is longer) since prior investigational drugs At least 8 hours since prior other short acting agents administered for procedures (e.g., port insertion) At least 8 hours since prior and no concurrent benzodiazepines Concurrent narcotic analgesics allowed provided receiving for at least 1 week prior with no nausea or emesis No chronic (more than 1 month) or concurrent agents known to have a significant effect on emesis (e.g., antipsychotics, cannabinoids, metoclopramide, and 5HT3 receptor antagonists) No other concurrent prophylactic antiemetics

About this study

Official title: A Double-blind, Multicenter, Parallel Study Comparing the Efficacy and Safety of Kytril Tablets With Placebo, in the Prevention of Nausea and Vomiting During the Days Following Administration of IV Cyclophosphamide-based or Carboplatin-based Chemotherapy in Patients With Malignant Disease

RATIONALE: Antiemetic drugs such as granisetron may help to prevent nausea and vomiting in patients treated with chemotherapy.

PURPOSE: Randomized phase III trial to compare the effectiveness of granisetron with that of a placebo in preventing nausea and vomiting after chemotherapy in patients who have malignant disease.

Read the detailed description

OBJECTIVES: I. Compare the efficacy and safety of oral granisetron versus placebo in preventing nausea and vomiting during the 48 hours that begins 24 hours after administration of cyclophosphamide-based or carboplatin-based chemotherapy regimens in patients with malignant disease.

OUTLINE: This is a randomized, double blind, placebo controlled, parallel, multicenter study. Patients are randomized to one of two treatment arms. Arm I: Patients receive oral granisetron on day 0 at 60 minutes prior to the scheduled administration of IV cyclophosphamide or carboplatin (or doxorubicin) chemotherapy. On days 1 and 2, patients receive oral granisetron at approximately the same time as on day 0. Arm II: Patients receive oral granisetron on day 0 as in arm I. On days 1 and 2, patients receive oral placebo at approximately the same time as the granisetron tablets were taken on day 0. Patients are followed between 5 and 11 days after the last dose of study medication.

PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 434 patients (217 per arm) will be accrued for this study.

Being tested
carboplatin, cyclophosphamide, doxorubicin hydrochloride, granisetron hydrochloride
Keywords
unspecified adult solid tumor, protocol specific

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted23 Aug 2004 (estimated)

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Interventional
Phase
Phase 3
Primary purpose
Supportive care
Allocation
Randomised
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT00005024
Sponsor's protocol ID
CDR0000067540
Other IDs
UCLA-9904005, SB-BRL43694A/513, NCI-G00-1674
Status last verified
Jun 2007
First submitted
6 Apr 2000
Last updated
6 Jan 2014
Results posted
No

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

A Phase 3 study testing carboplatin, cyclophosphamide and doxorubicin hydrochloride in people with Unspecified Adult Solid Tumor, Protocol Specific, run by Jonsson Comprehensive Cancer Center.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Who may be eligible to take part?

Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: status not confirmed, as of the sponsor's last update on 6 Jan 2014. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

What does this phase mean?

Phase 3 studies compare the treatment with the current standard treatment or a placebo in a large group, to confirm how well it works and watch for side effects.

Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.

Are results available for this study?

Results are not available in the source record.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

Where can I read the original study information?
Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 6 Jan 2014.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in