AzTrials
AzTrials

Brain and Central Nervous System TumorsNCT00005082

Magnetic Resonance Imaging in Determining Extent of Cancer in Patients With Newly Diagnosed Glioma

A study testing biopsy and magnetic resonance imaging in people with Brain and Central Nervous System Tumors, run by Jonsson Comprehensive Cancer Center at 1 site in United States.

Completed

Finished. The study has ended and is not enrolling. Results may be posted on the official record.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

RATIONALE: New imaging procedures such as magnetic resonance imaging may improve the ability to detect the extent of newly diagnosed cancer. PURPOSE: Diagnostic study of magnetic resonance imaging to determining the extent of cancer in patients who have newly diagnosed glioma. Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Ages 18 years and older
Conditions the study is for
Brain and Central Nervous System Tumors
What is being tested?
biopsy and magnetic resonance imaging
Type of treatment
Surgery or procedure
How many people
1 participants
Where
1 siteUnited States
Study dates
Nov 1998to Nov 2000
Phase
Interventional
Are there results?
None posted in the registry

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages 18 years and older
  • All sexes
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Adult, Older adult

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS: Part I: Presurgical: presumptive diagnosis of intracranial glioma and scheduled to undergo first surgical resection OR stereotactic biopsy Postsurgical: Histologically proven intracranial glioma and scheduled to undergo surgical debulking Evaluable preoperative proton magnetic resonance spectroscopic imaging (1H-MRSI) and diffusion magnetic resonance imaging (DI) scans completed within 1 week prior to surgery Postoperative MRI, 1H-MRSI, and DI scans completed within 3 days after surgery Part II: Presurgical: presumptive diagnosis of intracranial glioma Postsurgical: Histologically proven intracranial glioma No surgery prior to completion of exit scans Clinical indication for increasing steroid dose Planned steroid changes must be from 0 to 16 mg/day or a twofold increase Evaluable 1H-MRSI and DI scans No prior treatment on this protocol Parts I and II: No contraindications for magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) (metallic implants, shrapnel fragments, claustrophobia, allergy to MRI contrast)

PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS: Age: Parts I and II: Over 18 Performance status: Parts I and II: Not specified Life expectancy: Parts I and II: Not specified Hematopoietic: Parts I and II: Not specified Hepatic: Parts I and II: Not specified Renal: Parts I and II: Not specified

PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY: Biologic therapy: Parts I and II: Not specified Chemotherapy: Parts I and II: Not specified Endocrine therapy: Part I: Not specified Part II: Steroid naive or prior steroid management allowed Radiotherapy: Parts I and II: See Disease Characteristics Surgery: Part I: See Disease Characteristics No information from more than 2 surgeries from any one patient Part II: See Disease Characteristics

Trial locations and contacts

1 site in 1 country.

United States1 site
  • Jonsson Comprehensive Cancer Center, UCLA

    Los Angeles, California, 90095-1781

Other trials in United States

About this study

Official title: Magnetic Resonance Correlates of Glioma Tumor Burden

RATIONALE: New imaging procedures such as magnetic resonance imaging may improve the ability to detect the extent of newly diagnosed cancer.

PURPOSE: Diagnostic study of magnetic resonance imaging to determining the extent of cancer in patients who have newly diagnosed glioma.

Read the detailed description

OBJECTIVES: I. Determine whether proton magnetic resonance spectroscopic imaging (1H-MRSI) and diffusion magnetic resonance imaging (DI) measures of glioma cell burden correlate with histopathologically measured cell counts in glioma patients who are scheduled to undergo surgical resection. II. Determine whether 1H-MRSI and DI measures of glioma cell burden are invariant over the short term (1 week) as steroid dose is increased in these patients.

OUTLINE: Part I: Patients who are scheduled to have surgical resection of brain tumor undergo conventional magnetic resonance imaging (MRI), proton magnetic resonance spectroscopic imaging (1H-MRSI), and diffusion magnetic resonance imaging (DI) within 1 week before resection. Patients undergo conventional MRI within 72 hours after completion of surgical resection. Image characteristics of the resected tissue are correlated with histopathological measures. Part II: Patients who have clinical indications for increasing the dexamethasone dose are treated on part II of the study. Patients are stratified by status of steroid treatment (steroid naive vs prior steroid management). Patients undergo conventional MRI, 1H-MRSI, and DI within 2 days before and within 4-7 days after increasing the dexamethasone dose. Image characteristics on films taken before and after increasing the dexamethasone dose are compared.

PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 75 patients will be accrued for part I of the study and a total 40 patients (20 per stratum) will be accrued for part II of the study within 4 years.

Being tested
biopsy, magnetic resonance imaging
Keywords
adult medulloblastoma, adult glioblastoma, adult anaplastic astrocytoma, adult myxopapillary ependymoma, adult anaplastic ependymoma, adult anaplastic oligodendroglioma, adult mixed glioma, adult pilocytic astrocytoma, adult subependymoma, adult ependymoblastoma, adult oligodendroglioma, adult giant cell glioblastoma, adult gliosarcoma
Medical subject headings
Central Nervous System Neoplasms, Medulloblastoma, Glioblastoma, Astrocytoma, Ependymoma, Oligodendroglioma, Glioma, Glioma, Subependymal

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

  • biopsyProcedure or surgery

  • magnetic resonance imagingProcedure or surgery

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted23 Apr 2004 (estimated)
  2. Study startNov 1998
  3. Primary completionNov 2000

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Interventional
Phase
Phase N/A
Primary purpose
Diagnosis
Enrolment
1 participants (actual)
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT00005082
Sponsor's protocol ID
CDR0000067691
Other IDs
UCLA-9808001, NCI-G00-1725
Status last verified
Jan 2013
First submitted
6 Apr 2000
Last updated
8 Jan 2013
Results posted
No

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

A study testing biopsy and magnetic resonance imaging in people with Brain and Central Nervous System Tumors, run by Jonsson Comprehensive Cancer Center at 1 site in United States.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Who may be eligible to take part?

Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: finished, as of the sponsor's last update on 8 Jan 2013. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

Where is the study taking place?

The record lists 1 site in United States. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

Are results available for this study?

The study is completed, but results are not available in the source record. That does not mean the treatment did or did not work.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

Where can I read the original study information?
Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 8 Jan 2013.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in