AzTrials
AzTrials

LymphomaPhase 3NCT00005090

S9901 Combination Chemotherapy With or Without Peripheral Stem Cell Transplantation in Treating Men With Stage III or Stage IV Hodgkin's Disease

A Phase 3 study testing bleomycin sulfate, carmustine and cyclophosphamide in people with Lymphoma, run by SWOG Cancer Research Network at 47 sites in United States.

Terminated

Stopped early. The study ended before it was planned to and will not resume.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy use different ways to stop tumor cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. Combining chemotherapy with peripheral stem cell transplantation may allow the doctor to give higher doses of chemotherapy drugs and kill more tumor cells. Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Ages 15 to 65 years
Conditions the study is for
Lymphoma
What is being tested?
bleomycin sulfate, carmustine and cyclophosphamide
Type of treatment
Surgery or procedure
Could I receive a placebo?
No, everyone receives an active treatment
How many people
11 participants
Where
47 sitesUnited States
Study dates
Apr 2000to May 2005
Phase
Phase 3
Are there results?
None posted in the registry

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages 15 to 65 years
  • All sexes
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Child, Adult, Older adult

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS:

  • Histologically confirmed stage III or IV Hodgkin's disease with at least 3 of the following characteristics:
  • Albumin less than 4.0 mg/dL
  • Hemoglobin less than 10.5 g/dL
  • Leukocytosis at least 15,000/mm^3
  • Lymphocytopenia less than 600/mm^3 or less than 8% of total WBC
  • Male sex
  • At least 45 years of age
  • Stage IV disease
  • Bidimensionally measurable disease
  • Bilateral or unilateral bone marrow aspiration and biopsy performed within 42 days of study
  • Negative chest x-ray within 42 days of study OR
  • Chest x-ray performed within 28 days of study
  • Negative CT scan of thorax, abdomen, and pelvis within 42 days of study OR
  • CT scan of thorax, abdomen, and pelvis performed within 28 days of study
  • No history of lymphoma, myelodyplastic syndrome, or leukemia
  • No CNS involvement by Hodgkin's disease

PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS:

Age:

  • 15 to 65

Performance status:

  • Zubrod 0-1

Life expectancy:

  • Not specified

Hematopoietic:

  • See Disease Characteristics

Hepatic:

  • See Disease Characteristics
  • Bilirubin no greater than 1.5 times upper limit of normal (ULN) (unless elevation due to liver infiltration by Hodgkin's disease)
  • Lymphoma-related hepatic dysfunction allowed

Renal:

  • Creatinine no greater than 2.0 times ULN
  • Creatinine clearance at least 60 mL/min
  • Lymphoma-related renal dysfunction allowed

Cardiovascular:

  • No coronary artery disease, cardiomyopathy, congestive heart failure, or arrhythmias requiring therapy
  • Ejection fraction normal
  • No significant EKG abnormalities suggesting active cardiac disease

Pulmonary:

  • Corrected DLCO at least 60% OR
  • FEV1 at least 60% predicted

Other:

  • Not pregnant or nursing
  • Fertile patients must use effective contraception
  • No HIV or AIDS
  • No other prior malignancy within past 5 years except adequately treated basal cell or squamous cell skin cancer
  • No active bacterial, fungal, or viral infection*
  • Afebrile for 3 consecutive days* NOTE: *Prior to randomization portion of study

PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY:

Biologic therapy:

  • Not specified

Chemotherapy:

  • No prior chemotherapy for Hodgkin's disease except single course of ABVD (doxorubicin, bleomycin, vinblastine, and dacarbazine) within 35 days of study

Endocrine therapy:

  • Not specified

Radiotherapy:

  • No prior radiotherapy for Hodgkin's disease

Surgery:

  • Not specified

Other:

  • At least 3 days since prior antibiotics, antifungals, or antivirals (except for prophylactic therapy or fever associated with underlying lymphoma) (for randomization portion of study)

Trial locations and contacts

47 sites in 1 country.

47 sites in 1 country

United States47 sites
  • Marlene & Stewart Greenebaum Cancer Center, University of Maryland

    Baltimore, Maryland, 21201

  • Green Mountain Oncology Group

    Bennington, Vermont, 05201

  • Veterans Affairs Medical Center - Birmingham

    Birmingham, Alabama, 35233-1996

  • Dana-Farber Cancer Institute

    Boston, Massachusetts, 02115

  • Veterans Affairs Medical Center - Buffalo

    Buffalo, New York, 14215

  • Roswell Park Cancer Institute

    Buffalo, New York, 14263-0001

  • Vermont Cancer Center

    Burlington, Vermont, 05401-3498

  • Lineberger Comprehensive Cancer Center, UNC

    Chapel Hill, North Carolina, 27599-7295

  • Veterans Affairs Medical Center - Chicago (Westside Hospital)

    Chicago, Illinois, 60612

  • University of Chicago Cancer Research Center

    Chicago, Illinois, 60637-1470

  • Veterans Affairs Medical Center - Columbia (Truman Memorial)

    Columbia, Missouri, 65201

  • Ellis Fischel Cancer Center - Columbia

    Columbia, Missouri, 65203

  • Arthur G. James Cancer Hospital - Ohio State University

    Columbus, Ohio, 43210-1240

  • Veterans Affairs Medical Center - Durham

    Durham, North Carolina, 27705

  • Duke Comprehensive Cancer Center

    Durham, North Carolina, 27710

  • Holden Comprehensive Cancer Center at The University of Iowa

    Iowa City, Iowa, 52242-1009

  • University of California San Diego Cancer Center

    La Jolla, California, 92093-0658

  • CCOP - Southern Nevada Cancer Research Foundation

    Las Vegas, Nevada, 89106

  • Norris Cotton Cancer Center

    Lebanon, New Hampshire, 03756-0002

  • CCOP - North Shore University Hospital

    Manhasset, New York, 11030

  • Schneider Children's Hospital at North Shore

    Manhasset, New York, 11030

  • University of Tennessee, Memphis Cancer Center

    Memphis, Tennessee, 38103

  • Veterans Affairs Medical Center - Memphis

    Memphis, Tennessee, 38104

  • CCOP - Mount Sinai Medical Center

    Miami Beach, Florida, 33140

  • Veterans Affairs Medical Center - Minneapolis

    Minneapolis, Minnesota, 55417

  • University of Minnesota Cancer Center

    Minneapolis, Minnesota, 55455

  • Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center

    New York, New York, 10021

  • New York Presbyterian Hospital - Cornell Campus

    New York, New York, 10021

  • Mount Sinai Medical Center, NY

    New York, New York, 10029

  • University of Nebraska Medical Center

    Omaha, Nebraska, 68198-3330

  • Rhode Island Hospital

    Providence, Rhode Island, 02903

  • Veterans Affairs Medical Center - Richmond

    Richmond, Virginia, 23249

  • MBCCOP - Massey Cancer Center

    Richmond, Virginia, 23298-0037

  • Veterans Affairs Medical Center - San Francisco

    San Francisco, California, 94121

  • UCSF Cancer Center and Cancer Research Institute

    San Francisco, California, 94143-0128

  • Barnes-Jewish Hospital

    St Louis, Missouri, 63110

  • State University of New York - Upstate Medical University

    Syracuse, New York, 13210

  • Veterans Affairs Medical Center - Syracuse

    Syracuse, New York, 13210

  • CCOP - Syracuse Hematology-Oncology Associates of Central New York, P.C.

    Syracuse, New York, 13217

  • Veterans Affairs Medical Center - Togus

    Togus, Maine, 04330

  • Lombardi Cancer Center

    Washington D.C., District of Columbia, 20007

  • Walter Reed Army Medical Center

    Washington D.C., District of Columbia, 20307-5000

  • Veterans Affairs Medical Center - White River Junction

    White River Junction, Vermont, 05009

  • CCOP - Christiana Care Health Services

    Wilmington, Delaware, 19899

  • CCOP - Southeast Cancer Control Consortium

    Winston-Salem, North Carolina, 27104-4241

  • Comprehensive Cancer Center at Wake Forest University

    Winston-Salem, North Carolina, 27157-1082

  • University of Massachusetts Memorial Medical Center

    Worcester, Massachusetts, 01655

Other trials in United States

About this study

Official title: A Randomized Phase III Trial Comparing Early High Dose Chemotherapy and an Autologous Stem Cell Transplant to Conventional Dose ABVD Chemotherapy for Patients With Advanced Stage Poor Prognosis Hodgkin's Disease as Defined by the International Prognostic Factors Project on Advanced Hodgkin's Disease

RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy use different ways to stop tumor cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. Combining chemotherapy with peripheral stem cell transplantation may allow the doctor to give higher doses of chemotherapy drugs and kill more tumor cells. It is not yet known if combination chemotherapy is more effective with or without peripheral stem cell transplantation in treating Hodgkin's Disease.

PURPOSE: Randomized phase III trial to compare the effectiveness of combination chemotherapy with or without peripheral stem cell transplantation in treating men who have stage III or stage IV Hodgkin's disease.

Read the detailed description

OBJECTIVES:

  • Compare progression-free and overall survival of patients with stage III or IV Hodgkin's disease treated with doxorubicin, bleomycin, vinblastine, and dacarbazine with or without autologous peripheral blood stem cell transplantation and high-dose chemotherapy.
  • Compare the toxic effects of these treatment regimens in these patients.

OUTLINE: This is a randomized, multicenter study. Patients are stratified according to number of poor prognostic factors (3 vs 4 vs 5) and stage of disease (III vs IV).

Patients receive induction chemotherapy consisting of doxorubicin IV over 5 minutes, bleomycin IV over 10 minutes, vinblastine IV over 5 minutes, and dacarbazine IV over 15-30 minutes on days 1 and 15. Treatment repeats every 28 days for 5 courses in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity. Patients who show at least partial response after the fifth course of induction chemotherapy and whose blood counts have recovered are randomized to 1 of 2 treatment arms.

  • Arm I: Patients receive 3 additional courses of induction chemotherapy for a total of 8 courses.
  • Arm II: Patients receive 1 additional course of induction chemotherapy followed by stem cell collection. Patients then receive high-dose chemotherapy with carmustine IV over 2 hours on days -6 to -4, etoposide IV over 4 hours on day -4, and cyclophosphamide IV on day -2. Patients undergo autologous peripheral blood stem cell transplantation on day 0.

Patients are followed at 60 days, every 3 months for 1 year, every 6 months for 2 years, and then annually thereafter.

PROJECTED ACCRUAL: Approximately 460 patients will be accrued for this study within 4 years.

Conditions
Lymphoma
Being tested
bleomycin sulfate, carmustine, cyclophosphamide, dacarbazine, doxorubicin hydrochloride
Keywords
stage III adult Hodgkin lymphoma, stage IV adult Hodgkin lymphoma
Medical subject headings
Lymphoma, Hodgkin Disease

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

  • bleomycin sulfateBiological

    10 U/m^2 given on days 1 and 15 for 5 28-day cycles of ABVD. Patients with no disease progression are then randomized to either 3 more cycles of ABVD or 1 more cycle of ABVD + high-dose therapy + stem cell transplant.

  • carmustineDrug

    Also called BCNU

    150/m^2 on days -6 to -4 (4-6 days before transplant).

  • cyclophosphamideDrug

    100 mg/kg on day -2 (2 days before transplant).

  • dacarbazineDrug

    375 mg/m^2 on days 1 and 15 for 5 28-day cycles of ABVD. Patients with no disease progression are then randomized to either 3 more cycles of ABVD or 1 more cycle of ABVD + high-dose therapy + stem cell transplant.

  • doxorubicin hydrochlorideDrug

    25 mg/m^2 on days 1 and 15 for 5 28-day cycles of ABVD. Patients with no disease progression are then randomized to either 3 more cycles of ABVD or 1 more cycle of ABVD + high-dose therapy + stem cell transplant.

  • etoposideDrug

    60 mg/kg on day -4 (4 days before transplant).

  • vinblastineDrug

    6 mg/m^2 on days 1 and 15 for 5 28-day cycles of ABVD. Patients with no disease progression are then randomized to either 3 more cycles of ABVD or 1 more cycle of ABVD + high-dose therapy + stem cell transplant.

  • peripheral blood stem cell transplantationProcedure or surgery

    2 x 10^6 CD34+ blood mononuclear cells/kg of actual body weight

Study groups in NCT00005090
Study groupRoleWhat they receive
ABVD x 5 + ABVD x 3Active comparatorPatients receive 5 28-day cycles of ABVD (doxorubicin 25 mg/m^2, bleomycin 10 U/m^2, vinblastine 6 mg/m^2, dacarbazine 375 mg/m^2 all on days 1 and 15). Patients with no disease progression are then randomized to either 3 more cycles of ABVD or 1 more cycle of ABVD + high-dose therapy + stem cell transplant.
Receives: Biological: bleomycin sulfate; Drug: dacarbazine; Drug: doxorubicin hydrochloride; Drug: vinblastine
ABVD x 5 + ABVD x 1 + HDT + PBSCTExperimentalPatients receive 5 28-day cycles of ABVD (doxorubicin 25 mg/m^2, bleomycin 10 U/m^2, vinblastine 6 mg/m^2, dacarbazine 375 mg/m^2 all on days 1 and 15). Patients with no disease progression are then randomized to either 3 more cycles of ABVD or 1 more cycle of ABVD + high-dose therapy + stem cell transplant. Patients randomized to the transplant arm have 2 x 10^6 CD34+ blood mononuclear cells/kg of actual body weight collected at day -7. High dose therapy consists of BCNU 150/m^2 on days -6 to -4, etoposide 60 mg/kg on day -4, and cyclophosphamide 100 mg/kg on day -2. Peripheral blood stem cells are infused on day 0.
Receives: Biological: bleomycin sulfate; Drug: carmustine; Drug: cyclophosphamide; Drug: dacarbazine; Drug: doxorubicin hydrochloride; Drug: etoposide; Drug: vinblastine; Procedure: peripheral blood stem cell transplantation

What is being measured

The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.

  1. Progression-free survival

    Measured: every 3 months while on protocol treatment, then every 6 months for 2 years, then annually thereafter

Secondary outcomes (1)
  1. overall survival

    Measured: every 3 months while on treatment, then every 6 months thereafter

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted28 Aug 2003 (estimated)
  2. Study startApr 2000
  3. Primary completionMay 2005
  4. Study completionMay 2005

Why it stopped: poor accrual

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Interventional
Phase
Phase 3
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Randomised
Intervention model
Parallel groups
Masking
None (open label)
Enrolment
11 participants (actual)
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT00005090
Sponsor's protocol ID
CDR0000067708
Other IDs
S9901, CLB-59802, E-S9901, U10CA032102
Status last verified
Jan 2013
First submitted
6 Apr 2000
Last updated
24 Jan 2013
Results posted
No
Data monitoring committee
Yes

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

A Phase 3 study testing bleomycin sulfate, carmustine and cyclophosphamide in people with Lymphoma, run by SWOG Cancer Research Network at 47 sites in United States.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Who may be eligible to take part?

Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: stopped early, as of the sponsor's last update on 24 Jan 2013. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

Where is the study taking place?

The record lists 47 sites in United States. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

What does this phase mean?

Phase 3 studies compare the treatment with the current standard treatment or a placebo in a large group, to confirm how well it works and watch for side effects.

Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.

Are results available for this study?

The study was stopped early (reason given: poor accrual). Results are not available in the source record.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

What does the primary outcome measure?

Progression-free survival (time frame: every 3 months while on protocol treatment, then every 6 months for 2 years, then annually thereafter). It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.

Where can I read the original study information?
Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 24 Jan 2013.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in