AzTrials
AzTrials

Breast CancerPhase 3NCT00005581

Combination Chemotherapy in Treating Women With Stage II or Stage III Breast Cancer

A Phase 3 study testing cyclophosphamide, epirubicin hydrochloride and fluorouracil in people with Breast Cancer, run by IRCCS Azienda Ospedaliera Universitaria San Martino - IST Istituto Nazionale per la Ricerca sul Cancro, Genoa, Italy at 25 sites in Italy.

Unknown status

Status not confirmed. The sponsor has not verified this record for over two years, so it may be out of date.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy use different ways to stop tumor cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. Combining more than one drug may kill more tumor cells. It is not yet known which regimen of chemotherapy is more effective for breast cancer. Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Ages Up to 70 years, women only
Conditions the study is for
Breast Cancer
What is being tested?
cyclophosphamide, epirubicin hydrochloride and fluorouracil
How many people
1,000 participants
Where
25 sitesItaly
Study dates
Jun 2000to not given
Phase
Phase 3
Are there results?
None posted in the registry

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages Up to 70 years
  • Women only
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Child, Adult, Older adult

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS: Histologically confirmed stage IIA, IIB, or III breast cancer treated with radical surgery (e.g., mastectomy, quadrantectomy, tumorectomy) and axillary lymph node dissection Positive axillary lymph nodes No more than 9 metastatic lymph nodes No distant metastases or local or locoregional disease No more than 5 weeks between surgery and beginning of study Hormone receptor status: Not specified

PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS: Age: 70 and under Sex: Female Menopausal status: Not specified Performance status: ECOG 0 Life expectancy: Not specified Hematopoietic: WBC at least 3,000/mm3 Absolute neutrophil count at least 2,000/mm3 Platelet count at least 100,000/mm3 Hepatic: Transaminases, alkaline phosphatase, and gamma glutamyltransferase no greater than 1.5 times upper limit of normal Renal: Not specified Cardiovascular: No heart disease that precludes use of anthracyclines (i.e., myocardial infarction, uncontrolled angina pectoris, uncontrolled arrhythmias, or valve disease) Other: No concurrent pathology that precludes use of antineoplastic drugs No mental retardation or psychiatric disease that precludes study No other current or prior malignancy within the past 10 years except squamous or basal cell skin cancer or carcinoma in situ of the cervix Not pregnant or nursing Fertile patients must use effective contraception

PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY: Biologic therapy: Not specified Chemotherapy: No prior chemotherapy Endocrine therapy: No prior antineoplastic hormonal therapy Radiotherapy: No postoperative radiotherapy except to residual breast Surgery: See Disease Characteristics

Trial locations and contacts

25 sites in 1 country.

25 sites in 1 country

Italy25 sites
  • Ospedale San Lazzaro

    Alba, 12051

  • Ospedale Civile di Asti

    Asti, 14100

  • Ospedale Oncologico A. Businco

    Cagliari, 09124

  • Santo Spirito Hospital

    Casale Monferato, 1-15033

  • Ospedale Santa Croce

    Cuneo, 12100

  • Ospedale Galliera Oncologia

    Genoa, 16128

  • Istituto Nazionale per la Ricerca sul Cancro

    Genoa, 16132

  • Ospendale S. Andrea EST

    La Spezia, 19100

  • Ospedale Civile di Livorno

    Livorno, 57121

  • Carlo Poma Hospital

    Mantua, 46100

  • Azienda USSL NO 8

    Merate, 22055

  • Instituto Scientifico H.S. Raffaele

    Milan, 20132

  • Ospedale Santa Croce

    Moncalieri, 10024

  • I.R.C.C.S. Policlinico San Matteo

    Pavia, 27100

  • Ospedale St. Santa Chiara

    Pisa, 56100

  • USL NO 1

    Sanremo, 18038

  • Azienda U.S.L. 1 - Sassari

    Sassari, 07100

  • Ospedale S. Paolo

    Savona, 17100

  • Osp. Civile USL 18

    Sestri Lev., 16039

  • Ospedale Sant Anna

    Torino, 10100

  • Ospedale Evangelico Valdese

    Torino, 10125

  • OIRM - Sant Anna

    Torino, 10126

  • Ospedale Mauriziano Umberto I

    Torino, 10128

  • Ospedale Maggiore dell' Universita

    Trieste, 34100

  • Ospedale Molinette

    Turin, 10126

Other trials in Italy

About this study

Official title: Epirubicin Plus Paclitaxel Versus Cyclophosphamide, Epirubicin and 5-Fluorouracil as Adjuvant Treatment of Node Positive Breast Cancer Patients: A Controlled Randomized Phase III Study

RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy use different ways to stop tumor cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. Combining more than one drug may kill more tumor cells. It is not yet known which regimen of chemotherapy is more effective for breast cancer.

PURPOSE: Randomized phase III trial to compare the effectiveness of two regimens of combination chemotherapy in treating women who have stage II or stage III breast cancer.

Read the detailed description

OBJECTIVES: I. Compare overall survival and disease free survival after adjuvant chemotherapy with epirubicin plus paclitaxel versus cyclophosphamide, epirubicin, and fluorouracil in women with stage IIA, IIB, or III breast cancer. II. Compare quality of life in these women with these treatment regimens.

OUTLINE: This is a randomized, multicenter study. Patients are randomized to one of two treatment arms within 35 days of surgery. Arm I: Patients receive epirubicin IV followed by paclitaxel IV over 3 hours on day 1. Treatment repeats every 21 days for 4 courses. Arm II: Patients receive cyclophosphamide IV, epirubicin IV, and fluorouracil IV on day 1. Treatment repeats every 21 days for 6 courses. Treatment continues in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity. Patients who are postmenopausal, or premenopausal and hormone receptor positive, receive tamoxifen orally once a day for 5 years starting on day 1. Patients receive radiotherapy to residual breast after 4 courses of chemotherapy. Quality of life is assessed. Patients are followed every 3 months for 3 years, every 6 months for 2 years, and then annually thereafter.

PROJECTED ACCRUAL: Approximately 1,000 patients will be accrued for this study over 5 years.

Conditions
Breast Cancer
Being tested
cyclophosphamide, epirubicin hydrochloride, fluorouracil, paclitaxel
Keywords
stage II breast cancer, stage IIIA breast cancer, stage IIIB breast cancer
Medical subject headings
Breast Neoplasms

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted20 May 2004 (estimated)
  2. Study startJun 2000

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Interventional
Phase
Phase 3
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Randomised
Enrolment
1,000 participants (estimated)
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT00005581
Sponsor's protocol ID
CDR0000067266
Other IDs
INRC-GONO-MIG-5, NCI-V99-1562
Status last verified
Jun 2007
First submitted
2 May 2000
Last updated
18 Dec 2013
Results posted
No

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

A Phase 3 study testing cyclophosphamide, epirubicin hydrochloride and fluorouracil in people with Breast Cancer, run by IRCCS Azienda Ospedaliera Universitaria San Martino - IST Istituto Nazionale per la Ricerca sul Cancro, Genoa, Italy at 25 sites in Italy.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Who may be eligible to take part?

Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: status not confirmed, as of the sponsor's last update on 18 Dec 2013. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

Where is the study taking place?

The record lists 25 sites in Italy. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

What does this phase mean?

Phase 3 studies compare the treatment with the current standard treatment or a placebo in a large group, to confirm how well it works and watch for side effects.

Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.

Are results available for this study?

Results are not available in the source record.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

Where can I read the original study information?
Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 18 Dec 2013.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in