AzTrials
AzTrials

LeukemiaPhase 1NCT00005593

Fludarabine, Carboplatin, and Topotecan in Treating Patients With Relapsed/Refractory Acute Leukemia or Advanced Myelodysplastic Syndrome

A Phase 1 study testing carboplatin, fludarabine phosphate and topotecan hydrochloride in people with Leukemia and Myelodysplastic Syndromes, run by Case Comprehensive Cancer Center at 1 site in United States.

Completed

Finished. The study has ended and is not enrolling. Results may be posted on the official record.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy use different ways to stop cancer cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. Combining more than one drug may kill more cancer cells. PURPOSE: Phase I trial to study the effectiveness of fludarabine, carboplatin, and topotecan in treating patients who have relapsed or… Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Ages 12 years and older
Conditions the study is for
Leukemia, Myelodysplastic Syndromes
What is being tested?
carboplatin, fludarabine phosphate and topotecan hydrochloride
Type of treatment
Injection or infusion
How many people
31 participants
Where
1 siteUnited States
Study dates
Sep 1998to Mar 2003
Phase
Phase 1
Are there results?
None posted in the registry

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages 12 years and older
  • All sexes
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Child, Adult, Older adult

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS: Diagnosis of one of the following: Acute myelogenous leukemia (M0-M7) M3 must have received tretinoin as part of induction or salvage chemotherapy No greater than 2 prior intensive induction regimens Acute lymphocytic leukemia (L1 or L2) in first or second relapse Circulating blasts in blood or greater than 5% blasts in bone marrow No greater than 2 prior intensive induction regimens Chronic myelogenous leukemia in myeloid or lymphoid blast crisis Initial diagnosis OR No greater than 2 prior intensive induction regimens Acute myelogenous leukemia secondary to prior myelodysplastic syndrome or prior cytotoxic therapy No greater than 2 prior intensive induction regimens Myelodysplastic syndrome (must be neutropenic (absolute neutrophil count less than 500/mm3) or platelet or red cell transfusion dependent) Refractory anemia with excess blasts (RAEB) OR RAEB in transformation OR Chronic myelomonocytic leukemia Relapse after greater than 3 months since prior autologous stem cell transplant allowed No relapse after allogeneic bone marrow transplant No active CNS leukemia

PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS: Age: 12 and over Performance status: ECOG 0-3 Life expectancy: At least 4 weeks Hematopoietic: See Disease Characteristics Hepatic: Bilirubin no greater than 2.0 mg/dL AST and ALT less than 3 times upper limit of normal Renal: Creatinine clearance at least 50 mL/min Cardiovascular: No symptomatic cardiac disease No active ischemic heart disease No poorly controlled congestive heart failure No myocardial infarction within past 6 months Cardiac ejection fraction at least 40% Pulmonary: No symptomatic pulmonary disease No symptomatic restrictive or obstructive lung disease Other: Not pregnant or nursing Fertile patients must use effective contraception No active infections, unless receiving antibiotics and clinically stable Fever caused by tumor allowed HIV negative No other active malignant disease Curatively treated prior malignancies allowed No severe neurologic disease

PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY: Biologic therapy: See Disease Characteristics At least 5 days since prior hematopoietic growth factors Chemotherapy: See Disease Characteristics At least 24 hours since prior hydroxyurea At least 2 weeks since other prior cytotoxic anticancer therapy Prior carboplatin, fludarabine, or topotecan allowed Endocrine therapy: Concurrent corticosteroids allowed Radiotherapy: Not specified Surgery: Not specified

Trial locations and contacts

1 site in 1 country.

United States1 site
  • Ireland Cancer Center at University Hospitals Case Medical Center

    Cleveland, Ohio, 44106-5065

Other trials in United States

About this study

Official title: Phase I Study of Fludarabine, Carboplatin, and Topotecan for Patients With Relapsed/Refractory Acute Leukemia and Advanced Myelodysplastic Syndromes

RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy use different ways to stop cancer cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. Combining more than one drug may kill more cancer cells.

PURPOSE: Phase I trial to study the effectiveness of fludarabine, carboplatin, and topotecan in treating patients who have relapsed or refractory acute leukemia or advanced myelodysplastic syndrome.

Read the detailed description

OBJECTIVES: I. Determine the maximum tolerated dose of topotecan when administered with carboplatin and fludarabine in patients with refractory or relapsed acute leukemia or advanced myelodysplastic syndrome. II. Determine treatment related and dose limiting toxicities of this regimen in these patients. III. Determine the antileukemia activity of this regimen in these patients. IV. Correlate treatment related toxicities with steady state levels of topotecan in these patients.

OUTLINE: This is a dose escalation study of topotecan. Patients receive carboplatin IV continuously and fludarabine IV over 30 minutes on days 1-5, then topotecan IV continuously on days 6-8. Patients with residual leukemia in the bone marrow at day 15 may receive a second induction course. Patients who achieve partial or complete remission after 1-2 induction courses receive 1 consolidation course of fludarabine, carboplatin, and topotecan beginning 4-8 weeks after recovery from induction therapy. Cohorts of 3-6 patients receive escalating doses of topotecan until the maximum tolerated dose (MTD) is determined. The first 3 patients do not receive any topotecan. The MTD is defined as the dose at which no more than 2 of 6 patients experience dose limiting toxicity. Patients are followed monthly for 6 months.

PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 6-15 patients will be accrued for this study within 15-21 months.

Being tested
carboplatin, fludarabine phosphate, topotecan hydrochloride
Keywords
recurrent childhood acute lymphoblastic leukemia, recurrent childhood acute myeloid leukemia, recurrent adult acute myeloid leukemia, recurrent adult acute lymphoblastic leukemia, relapsing chronic myelogenous leukemia, blastic phase chronic myelogenous leukemia, L1 childhood acute lymphoblastic leukemia, L2 childhood acute lymphoblastic leukemia, L1 adult acute lymphoblastic leukemia, L2 adult acute lymphoblastic leukemia, adult acute erythroid leukemia (M6), adult acute myeloblastic leukemia without maturation (M1), adult acute myeloblastic leukemia with maturation (M2), adult acute promyelocytic leukemia (M3), adult acute myelomonocytic leukemia (M4), adult acute monoblastic leukemia (M5a), adult acute megakaryoblastic leukemia (M7), childhood acute myeloblastic leukemia without maturation (M1), childhood acute myeloblastic leukemia with maturation (M2), childhood acute promyelocytic leukemia (M3)
Medical subject headings
Leukemia, Myelodysplastic Syndromes, Precursor Cell Lymphoblastic Leukemia-Lymphoma, Leukemia, Myeloid, Acute, Blast Crisis, Leukemia, Erythroblastic, Acute, Leukemia, Promyelocytic, Acute, Leukemia, Myelomonocytic, Acute

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

  • carboplatinDrug

    Patients receive carboplatin IV continuously over 30 minutes on days 1-5. Patients with residual leukemia in the bone marrow at day 15 may receive a second induction course. Patients who achieve partial or complete remission after 1-2 induction courses receive 1 consolidation course of fludarabine, carboplatin, and topotecan beginning 4-8 weeks after recovery from induction therapy.

  • fludarabine phosphateDrug

    Patients receive fludarabine IV over 30 minutes on days 1-5. Patients with residual leukemia in the bone marrow at day 15 may receive a second induction course. Patients who achieve partial or complete remission after 1-2 induction courses receive 1 consolidation course of fludarabine, carboplatin, and topotecan beginning 4-8 weeks after recovery from induction therapy.

  • topotecan hydrochlorideDrug

    This is a dose escalation study of topotecan. Patients receive topotecan IV continuously on days 6-8. Patients with residual leukemia in the bone marrow at day 15 may receive a second induction course. Patients who achieve partial or complete remission after 1-2 induction courses receive 1 consolidation course of fludarabine, carboplatin, and topotecan beginning 4-8 weeks after recovery from induction therapy.

What is being measured

The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.

  1. Determine the maximum tolerated dose of topotecan when administered with carboplatin and fludarabine.

    Measured: Patients are followed monthly for 6 months.

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted25 Feb 2004 (estimated)
  2. Study startSep 1998
  3. Primary completionApr 2002
  4. Study completionMar 2003

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Interventional
Phase
Phase 1
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Not applicable
Intervention model
Single group
Masking
None (open label)
Enrolment
31 participants (actual)
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT00005593
Sponsor's protocol ID
CWRU1998
Other IDs
P30CA043703, CWRU-1998, CWRU-059812, NCI-G00-1732
Status last verified
Jun 2010
First submitted
2 May 2000
Last updated
11 Jun 2010
Results posted
No
Data monitoring committee
Yes

Publications

  • Cooper BW, Ksenich P, Koc O, et al.: A phase I and pharmacodynamic study of fludarabine, carboplatin, and topotecan (FCT) for relapsed/refractory acute leukemia (RAL) and advanced myelodysplastic syndromes (MDS). [Abstract] Proceedings of the American Society of Clinical Oncology 20: A-1207, 2001.

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

A Phase 1 study testing carboplatin, fludarabine phosphate and topotecan hydrochloride in people with Leukemia and Myelodysplastic Syndromes, run by Case Comprehensive Cancer Center at 1 site in United States.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Who may be eligible to take part?

Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: finished, as of the sponsor's last update on 11 Jun 2010. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

Where is the study taking place?

The record lists 1 site in United States. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

What does this phase mean?

Phase 1 studies test a treatment in a small group of people for the first time or in a new way, mainly to check safety and find the right dose.

Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.

Are results available for this study?

The study is completed, but results are not available in the source record. That does not mean the treatment did or did not work.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

What does the primary outcome measure?

Determine the maximum tolerated dose of topotecan when administered with carboplatin and fludarabine. (time frame: Patients are followed monthly for 6 months.). It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.

Where can I read the original study information?

On the ClinicalTrials.gov record for NCT00005593, which also lists 1 linked publication.

Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 11 Jun 2010.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in