AzTrials
AzTrials

LymphomaPhase 2NCT00005631

Rituximab and Combination Chemotherapy in Treating Patients With Relapsed or Refractory Large Cell Lymphoma

A Phase 2 study testing filgrastim, rituximab and carboplatin in people with Lymphoma, run by Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center at 1 site in United States.

Completed

Finished. The study has ended and is not enrolling. Results may be posted on the official record.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

RATIONALE: Monoclonal antibodies such as rituximab can locate cancer cells and either kill them or deliver cancer-killing substances to them without harming normal cells. Drugs used in chemotherapy use different ways to stop cancer cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Ages 18 to 72 years
Conditions the study is for
Lymphoma
What is being tested?
filgrastim, rituximab and carboplatin
How many people
Not given
Where
1 siteUnited States
Study dates
Nov 1999to Nov 2002
Phase
Phase 2
Are there results?
None posted in the registry

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages 18 to 72 years
  • All sexes
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Adult, Older adult

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS: Histologically proven non-Hodgkin's lymphoma that is in first relapse or refractory to primary therapy Eligible types: Diffuse large cell Immunoblastic Anaplastic large cell Eligible for autologous peripheral blood stem cell transplantation CD20-positive disease Measurable disease No brain parenchyma involvement

PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS: Age: 18 to 72 Performance status: Not specified Life expectancy: Not specified Hematopoietic: Absolute neutrophil count greater than 1,000/mm3 Platelet count greater than 50,000/mm3 Hepatic: Bilirubin no greater than 2.0 mg/dL unless due to Gilbert's disease No chronic or persistent hepatitis Hepatitis B surface antigen negative Renal: Creatinine no greater than 1.5 mg/dL OR Creatinine clearance greater than 60 mL/min No chronic renal insufficiency Cardiovascular: Normal baseline cardiac function Ejection fraction at least 50% by echocardiogram or MUGA scan No myocardial infarction within the past 6 months No unstable angina No cardiac arrhythmias except chronic atrial fibrillation Other: Not pregnant or nursing Negative pregnancy test Fertile patients must use effective barrier contraception HIV negative No other malignancy within the past 5 years except basal cell or squamous cell skin cancer or carcinoma in situ of the cervix No uncontrolled infection

PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY: Biologic therapy: See Disease Characteristics Prior rituximab allowed Chemotherapy: No prior carboplatin or cisplatin Endocrine therapy: Not specified Radiotherapy: Not specified Surgery: Not specified

Trial locations and contacts

1 site in 1 country.

United States1 site
  • Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center

    New York, New York, 10021

Other trials in United States

About this study

Official title: Cytoreduction and Stem Cell Mobilization With Rituximab and ICE for Patients With Refractory or Relapsed CD20+ B-Cell IGL Eligible for ASCT: The RICE Protocol

RATIONALE: Monoclonal antibodies such as rituximab can locate cancer cells and either kill them or deliver cancer-killing substances to them without harming normal cells. Drugs used in chemotherapy use different ways to stop cancer cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. Combining combination chemotherapy with monoclonal antibody therapy may kill more cancer cells.

PURPOSE: Phase II trial to study the effectiveness of rituximab and combination chemotherapy in treating patients who have relapsed or refractory large cell lymphoma.

Read the detailed description

OBJECTIVES: I. Determine the complete response rate in patients with relapsed or refractory CD20-positive diffuse large cell, immunoblastic, or anaplastic large cell lymphoma treated with cytoreduction and mobilization with rituximab, ifosfamide, carboplatin, and etoposide (RICE). II. Assess the ability of this regimen to deplete the stem cell harvest of B-cells and tumor cells in these patients. III. Assess the efficacy of this regimen to mobilize peripheral blood progenitor cells in these patients. IV. Assess the safety and toxicity of this regimen in these patients.

OUTLINE: Cytoreduction and mobilization: Patients receive ifosfamide IV over 24 hours and carboplatin IV on day 4 and etoposide IV over 1 hour on days 3-5. Chemotherapy repeats every 2 weeks for 3 courses. Patients receive rituximab IV on day -2 before initiation of chemotherapy and on day 1 of each course of chemotherapy. Patients receive filgrastim (G-CSF) subcutaneously (SC) daily on days 7-14 of each course of chemotherapy. Patients with complete or partial response after completion of course 3 continue to receive G-CSF SC daily until peripheral blood stem cells (PBSC) are harvested. When blood counts recover, PBSC are harvested and selected for CD34+ cells. If sufficient numbers of CD34+ cells are not obtained, patients undergo bone marrow harvest.

PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 36 patients will be accrued for this study within 2 years.

Conditions
Lymphoma
Keywords
recurrent adult diffuse large cell lymphoma, recurrent adult immunoblastic large cell lymphoma, anaplastic large cell lymphoma
Medical subject headings
Lymphoma, Lymphoma, Large B-Cell, Diffuse, Lymphoma, Large-Cell, Immunoblastic, Lymphoma, Large-Cell, Anaplastic

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted16 Feb 2004 (estimated)
  2. Study startNov 1999
  3. Primary completionNov 2002
  4. Study completionNov 2002

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Interventional
Phase
Phase 2
Primary purpose
Treatment
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT00005631
Sponsor's protocol ID
99-092
Other IDs
CDR0000067785, NCI-G00-1774
Status last verified
Jun 2013
First submitted
2 May 2000
Last updated
19 Jun 2013
Results posted
No

Publications

  • Kewalramani T, Zelenetz AD, Nimer SD, Portlock C, Straus D, Noy A, O'Connor O, Filippa DA, Teruya-Feldstein J, Gencarelli A, Qin J, Waxman A, Yahalom J, Moskowitz CH. Rituximab and ICE as second-line therapy before autologous stem cell transplantation for relapsed or primary refractory diffuse large B-cell lymphoma. Blood. 2004 May 15;103(10):3684-8. doi: 10.1182/blood-2003-11-3911. Epub 2004 Jan 22.

    PubMed 14739217

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

A Phase 2 study testing filgrastim, rituximab and carboplatin in people with Lymphoma, run by Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center at 1 site in United States.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Who may be eligible to take part?

Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: finished, as of the sponsor's last update on 19 Jun 2013. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

Where is the study taking place?

The record lists 1 site in United States. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

What does this phase mean?

Phase 2 studies give the treatment to a larger group to see whether it has the intended effect and to keep checking safety.

Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.

Are results available for this study?

The study is completed, but results are not available in the source record. That does not mean the treatment did or did not work.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

Where can I read the original study information?

On the ClinicalTrials.gov record for NCT00005631, which also lists 1 linked publication.

Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 19 Jun 2013.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in