AzTrials
AzTrials

Unspecified Adult Solid Tumor, Protocol SpecificPhase 1NCT00005791

Combination Chemotherapy in Treating Patients With Locally Advanced or Metastatic Solid Tumors

A Phase 1 study testing cisplatin, fluorouracil and irinotecan hydrochloride in people with Unspecified Adult Solid Tumor, Protocol Specific, run by Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center at 1 site in United States.

Completed

Finished. The study has ended and is not enrolling. Results may be posted on the official record.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy use different ways to stop tumor cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. Combining more than one drug may kill more tumor cells. PURPOSE: Phase I trial to study the effectiveness of combination chemotherapy in treating patients who have locally advanced or metastatic… Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Ages 18 years and older
What is being tested?
cisplatin, fluorouracil and irinotecan hydrochloride
How many people
Not given
Where
1 siteUnited States
Study dates
Oct 1999to Dec 2009
Phase
Phase 1
Are there results?
None posted in the registry

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages 18 years and older
  • All sexes
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Adult, Older adult

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS: Histologically confirmed solid tumor malignancy not amenable to curative surgery or chemoradiation No CNS metastases, carcinomatous meningitis, or interstitial pulmonary fibrosis

PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS: Age: 18 and over Performance status: Karnofsky 70-100% Life expectancy: Not specified Hematopoietic: WBC at least 3,000/mm3 Neutrophil count at least 1,500/mm3 Platelet count at least 100,000/mm3 Hepatic: Bilirubin no greater than 1.5 mg/dL AST no greater than 3 times upper limit of normal (ULN) (5 times ULN if liver metastases) No known Gilbert's disease Renal: Creatinine no greater than 1.5 mg/dL Calcium less than 12.0 mg/dL No symptomatic hypercalcemia Cardiovascular: No unstable angina No New York Heart Association class III or IV cardiac disease Other: Not pregnant or nursing Negative pregnancy test Fertile patients must use effective contraception No active or uncontrolled infection No history of seizure disorder No uncontrolled diabetes mellitus, defined as random blood sugar 250 mg/dL or greater

PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY: Biologic therapy: Not specified Chemotherapy: See Disease Characteristics No more than 1 prior chemotherapy regimen Endocrine therapy: Not specified Radiotherapy: See Disease Characteristics At least 4 weeks since prior radiotherapy and recovered No prior mantle irradiation, hemibody irradiation, or radiation to the pelvis or lumbar spine Surgery: See Disease Characteristics Other: No concurrent phenytoin, phenobarbital, or other antiepileptic medication No concurrent prochlorperazine on day of irinotecan administration No concurrent prophylactic loperamide

Trial locations and contacts

1 site in 1 country.

United States1 site
  • Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center

    New York, New York, 10021

Other trials in United States

About this study

Official title: Phase I Trial of Irinotecan, Cisplatin, and Fluorouracil in Patients With Advanced Solid Tumor Malignancies

RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy use different ways to stop tumor cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. Combining more than one drug may kill more tumor cells.

PURPOSE: Phase I trial to study the effectiveness of combination chemotherapy in treating patients who have locally advanced or metastatic solid tumors.

Read the detailed description

OBJECTIVES: I. Determine the maximum tolerated dose of weekly irinotecan in combination with weekly fluorouracil and cisplatin in patients with locally advanced or metastatic solid tumors. II. Determine the dose limiting toxicity for this combination regimen in this patient population. III. Establish a recommended phase II dose for this combination regimen in these patients. IV. Evaluate the safety and tolerability of this regimen in these patients. V. Observe any responses to this combination chemotherapy in these patients. VI. Measure in pretreatment biopsies levels of expression of thymidylate synthase, topoisomerase I, ERCC-1, thymidine phosphorylase, and dihydropyrimidine dehydrogenase as correlates to response or resistance to this combination chemotherapy in these patients.

OUTLINE: This is a dose escalation study of irinotecan and fluorouracil. Patients receive cisplatin IV over 30 minutes followed by fluorouracil IV over several minutes followed by irinotecan IV over 30 minutes on days 1, 8, 15, and 22. Treatment continues every 6 weeks in the absence of unacceptable toxicity or disease progression for a minimum of 3 courses. Cohorts of 3-6 patients receive escalating doses of irinotecan and fluorouracil until the maximum tolerated dose (MTD) of each is determined. The MTD is defined as the dose preceding that at which 2 of 3 or 2 of 6 patients experience dose limiting toxicities. Patients are followed at 30 days and then until death.

PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 3-36 patients will be accrued for this study within 1-2 years.

Keywords
unspecified adult solid tumor, protocol specific

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted16 Feb 2004 (estimated)
  2. Study startOct 1999
  3. Primary completionJul 2002
  4. Study completionDec 2009

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Interventional
Phase
Phase 1
Primary purpose
Treatment
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT00005791
Sponsor's protocol ID
CDR0000067737
Other IDs
MSKCC-99065, NCI-G00-1743
Status last verified
Dec 2009
First submitted
2 Jun 2000
Last updated
19 Dec 2013
Results posted
No

Publications

  • Ku GY, O'Reilly EM, Saltz LB, Schrag D, Maki RG, Kelsen DP, Ilson DH. Phase I study of weekly cisplatin, bolus fluorouracil and escalating doses of irinotecan in advanced solid tumors. Cancer Invest. 2009 May;27(4):402-6. doi: 10.1080/07357900802406327.

    PubMed 19219674

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

A Phase 1 study testing cisplatin, fluorouracil and irinotecan hydrochloride in people with Unspecified Adult Solid Tumor, Protocol Specific, run by Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center at 1 site in United States.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Who may be eligible to take part?

Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: finished, as of the sponsor's last update on 19 Dec 2013. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

Where is the study taking place?

The record lists 1 site in United States. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

What does this phase mean?

Phase 1 studies test a treatment in a small group of people for the first time or in a new way, mainly to check safety and find the right dose.

Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.

Are results available for this study?

The study is completed, but results are not available in the source record. That does not mean the treatment did or did not work.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

Where can I read the original study information?

On the ClinicalTrials.gov record for NCT00005791, which also lists 1 linked publication.

Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 19 Dec 2013.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in