AzTrials
AzTrials

Multiple MyelomaPhase 1NCT00005792

Combination Chemotherapy Plus Peripheral Stem Cell Transplantation in Treating Patients With Multiple Myeloma

A Phase 1 study testing etoposide phosphate, melphalan and topotecan in people with Multiple Myeloma and Plasma Cell Neoplasm, run by H. Lee Moffitt Cancer Center and Research Institute at 1 site in United States.

Completed

Finished. The study has ended and is not enrolling. Results may be posted on the official record.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy use different ways to stop tumor cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. Combining chemotherapy with peripheral stem cell transplantation may allow the doctor to give higher doses of chemotherapy drugs and kill more tumor cells. Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Ages 15 to 69 years
Conditions the study is for
Multiple Myeloma, Plasma Cell Neoplasm
What is being tested?
etoposide phosphate, melphalan and topotecan
Could I receive a placebo?
No, everyone receives an active treatment
How many people
131 participants
Where
1 siteUnited States
Study dates
2 Jun 1998to 1 Nov 2018
Phase
Phase 1
Are there results?
None posted in the registry

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages 15 to 69 years
  • All sexes
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Child, Adult, Older adult

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS: Histologically confirmed multiple myeloma Newly diagnosed, drug sensitive (i.e., greater than 50% response to standard chemotherapy), and poor prognostic indicators (e.g., Salmon-Durie stage III, serum beta-2-microglobulin greater than 3.0 ug/L, high proliferative fraction, or hypodiploidy) OR Relapsed after a response to standard chemotherapy OR Primary refractory disease No active leptomeningeal involvement History of prior CSF tumor involvement without symptoms or signs allowed provided CSF is now free of disease on lumbar puncture and MRI of brain shows no tumor involvement No severe symptomatic CNS disease of any etiology

PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS: Age: 15 to 69 Performance status: ECOG 0-1 ECOG 3-4 secondary to bone pain or a potentially reversible disease related problem eligible at investigator's discretion Life expectancy: At least 12 weeks Hematopoietic: Not specified Hepatic: Bilirubin no greater than 2.0 mg/dL SGOT/SGPT no greater than 2.5 times upper limit of normal No history of severe hepatic dysfunction Renal: Creatinine no greater than 2.0 mg/dL OR Creatinine at least 40 mL/min No hemodialysis or peritoneal dialysis Cardiovascular: No evidence of severe cardiac dysfunction Ejection fraction at least 50% by MUGA scan No major heart disease Essential hypertension controlled with medications allowed Pulmonary: DLCO at least 50% of normal No symptomatic obstructive or restrictive pulmonary disease Other: Not pregnant or nursing Negative pregnancy test Fertile patients must use effective contraception No psychosocial disorder that would preclude study compliance No active infections No uncontrolled insulin dependent diabetes mellitus No uncompensated major thyroid or adrenal dysfunction No other prior malignancy except for nonmelanoma skin cancer HIV negative

PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY: Biologic therapy: Not specified Chemotherapy: No prior total dose of doxorubicin or daunorubicin greater than 450 mg/m2 No prior topotecan or any other topoisomerase I inhibitor, etoposide, etoposide phosphate, or teniposide Endocrine therapy: Not specified Radiotherapy: Not specified Surgery: Not specified Other: No concurrent nitroglycerin preparations for angina pectoris No concurrent antiarrhythmic drugs for major ventricular dysrhythmias

Trial locations and contacts

1 site in 1 country.

United States1 site
  • H. Lee Moffitt Cancer Center and Research Institute

    Tampa, Florida, 33612-9497

Other trials in United States

About this study

Official title: A Study of Intensive-Dose Melphalan, Topotecan, and VP-16 Phosphate (MTV) Followed by Autologous Stem Cell Rescue in Patients With Multiple Myeloma

RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy use different ways to stop tumor cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. Combining chemotherapy with peripheral stem cell transplantation may allow the doctor to give higher doses of chemotherapy drugs and kill more tumor cells.

PURPOSE: Phase I/II trial to study the effectiveness of combination chemotherapy plus peripheral stem cell transplantation in treating patients who have multiple myeloma.

Read the detailed description

OBJECTIVES: I. Determine the toxicity and potential efficacy of intensive high dose chemotherapy consisting of melphalan, topotecan, and etoposide phosphate followed by autologous stem cell transplantation in patients with stage II or III multiple myeloma or stage I with evidence of progressive disease. II. Determine the maximum tolerated dose of topotecan in combination with melphalan and etoposide phosphate in this patient population. III. Determine response rates and time to treatment failure in these patients when treated with this regimen. IV. Determine the pharmacokinetic profiles of these drugs and investigate the pharmacodynamic relationships with respect to the efficacy and toxicity of this regimen in these patients. V. Determine whether the sequencing of this chemotherapy regimen is appropriate and optimal in these patients.

OUTLINE: This is a dose escalation study of topotecan. Patients are primed with cyclophosphamide IV over 2 hours for 2 days. Peripheral blood stem cells (PBSC) are collected. Approximately 4 weeks after PBSC collection, patients receive melphalan IV over 30 minutes and topotecan IV over 30 minutes on days -7 to -5. Etoposide phosphate IV is administered over 4 hours on days -4 and -3. PBSC are reinfused on day 0. Cohorts of 4-12 patients receive escalating doses of topotecan until the maximum tolerated dose (MTD) is determined. The MTD is defined as the dose preceding that at which 6 of 12 patients experience dose limiting toxicities. Patients are followed 2-3 times a week for approximately 1 month, then at 3, 6, and 12 months.

PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 34-60 patients will be accrued for this study within 24-36 months.

Being tested
etoposide phosphate, melphalan, topotecan, Autologous Stem Cell Rescue
Keywords
refractory multiple myeloma, stage I multiple myeloma, stage II multiple myeloma, stage III multiple myeloma
Medical subject headings
Multiple Myeloma, Neoplasms, Plasma Cell

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

  • etoposide phosphateDrug

    Also called Topotecan

    Etoposide phosphate 1363 mg/m^2/day IV over 4 hours (total dose 2726 mg/m^2, or 2400 mg/m^2 etoposide equivalents), beginning 24 hours after the completion of the last infusion of topotecan Days -4, -3

  • melphalanDrug

    Also called Alkeran(R)

    Melphalan 50 mg/m^2/day IV over 30 minutes (total dose 150 mg/m^2), followed immediately by topotecan. Days -7, -6, -5

  • topotecanDrug

    Topotecan 3.3 mg/m^2/day (starting total dose = 10 mg/m^2 for level 2) IV over 30 minutes. No topotecan will be administered on the first dose level Days -7, -6, -5

  • Autologous Stem Cell RescueProcedure or surgery

    Also called Autologous stem cell transplant

    reinfusion of stem cells, Day 0

Study groups in NCT00005792
Study groupRoleWhat they receive
MTVExperimentalMelphalan Topotecan Etoposide VP-16 Phosphate autologous stem cell transplant
Receives: Drug: etoposide phosphate; Drug: melphalan; Drug: topotecan; Procedure: Autologous Stem Cell Rescue

What is being measured

The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.

  1. Incidence of mucositis

    To determine the incidence and duration of CTCAE v3, grade 3 or 4 mucositis for modified dose level four.

    Measured: 5 years

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted2 Feb 2004 (estimated)
  2. Study start2 Jun 1998
  3. Primary completion1 Jul 2006
  4. Study completion1 Nov 2018

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Interventional
Phase
Phase 1
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Not applicable
Intervention model
Single group
Masking
None (open label)
Enrolment
131 participants (actual)
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT00005792
Sponsor's protocol ID
MCC-11752
Other IDs
MCC-11752, IRB-4983, NCI-G00-1749
Status last verified
Nov 2019
First submitted
2 Jun 2000
Last updated
8 Nov 2019
Results posted
No
Data monitoring committee
No

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

A Phase 1 study testing etoposide phosphate, melphalan and topotecan in people with Multiple Myeloma and Plasma Cell Neoplasm, run by H. Lee Moffitt Cancer Center and Research Institute at 1 site in United States.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Who may be eligible to take part?

Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: finished, as of the sponsor's last update on 8 Nov 2019. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

Where is the study taking place?

The record lists 1 site in United States. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

What does this phase mean?

Phase 1 studies test a treatment in a small group of people for the first time or in a new way, mainly to check safety and find the right dose.

Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.

Are results available for this study?

The study is completed, but results are not available in the source record. That does not mean the treatment did or did not work.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

What does the primary outcome measure?

Incidence of mucositis (time frame: 5 years). It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.

Where can I read the original study information?
Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 8 Nov 2019.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in