AzTrials
AzTrials

LeukemiaPhase 1/2NCT00005793

A Phase I/II Study of Induction Chemotherapy With Daunorubicin, Cytarabine, Topotecan and Etoposide

A Phase 1/2 study testing Cytarabine, Daunorubicin and Etoposide in people with Leukemia, run by H. Lee Moffitt Cancer Center and Research Institute at 1 site in United States.

Completed

Finished. The study has ended and is not enrolling. Results may be posted on the official record.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy use different ways to stop cancer cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. Combining more than one drug may kill more cancer cells. PURPOSE: Phase I/II trial to study the effectiveness of combination chemotherapy in treating patients who have previously untreated acute… Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Ages 16 to 59 years
Conditions the study is for
Leukemia
What is being tested?
Cytarabine, Daunorubicin and Etoposide
Type of treatment
Injection or infusion
Could I receive a placebo?
No, everyone receives an active treatment
How many people
41 participants
Where
1 siteUnited States
Study dates
Jul 1999to Nov 2006
Phase
Phase 1/2
Are there results?
None posted in the registry

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages 16 to 59 years
  • All sexes
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Child, Adult

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS:

  • Histologically confirmed newly diagnosed, previously untreated acute myeloid leukemia (AML)
  • All FAB types, M0-M7, excluding M3
  • No AML after myelodysplastic syndrome

PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS:

Age:

  • 16 to 59

Performance status:

  • Eastern Cooperative Oncology Group (ECOG) 0-2

Life expectancy:

  • Not specified

Hematopoietic:

  • Not specified

Hepatic:

  • Bilirubin less than 2 mg/dL
  • SGOT/SGPT normal unless due to leukemic disease
  • Alkaline phosphatase normal unless due to leukemic disease

Renal:

  • Creatinine no greater than 2.0 mg/dL OR
  • Creatinine clearance greater than 60 mL/min

Cardiovascular:

  • Ejection fraction at least 50% by MUGA
  • No myocardial infarction or serious ventricular arrhythmia within the past 6 months

Other:

  • Not pregnant or nursing
  • Negative pregnancy test
  • Fertile patients must use effective contraception
  • No other prior malignancy within the past 5 years except resected skin cancer
  • HIV negative

PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY:

Biologic therapy:

  • Not specified

Chemotherapy:

  • No prior topotecan or any other DNA topoisomerase I inhibitor (e.g., irinotecan, aminocamptothecin, or nitrocamptothecin) or etoposide for any prior malignancy

Endocrine therapy:

  • Not specified

Radiotherapy:

  • Not specified

Surgery:

  • Not specified

Trial locations and contacts

1 site in 1 country.

United States1 site
  • H. Lee Moffitt Cancer Center and Research Institute

    Tampa, Florida, 33612-9497

Other trials in United States

About this study

Official title: A Phase I/II Study of Induction Chemotherapy With Daunorubicin, Cytarabine, Topotecan and Etoposide (DATE) for De Novo AML: In the Treatment of Young Patients Ages 16-59

RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy use different ways to stop cancer cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. Combining more than one drug may kill more cancer cells.

PURPOSE: Phase I/II trial to study the effectiveness of combination chemotherapy in treating patients who have previously untreated acute myeloid leukemia.

Read the detailed description

OBJECTIVES:

  • Determine the maximum tolerated dose (MTD) of topotecan when combined with daunorubicin, cytarabine, and etoposide in patients with de novo acute myeloid leukemia.
  • Determine the efficacy of this regimen at the MTD of topotecan by measuring the complete response rate in this patient population.
  • Determine the days of hospitalization and number of infections associated with this regimen in these patients.
  • Correlate serum levels of topotecan and etoposide with the expression of topoisomerase I and II in tumor cells and in peripheral blood mononuclear cells (PBMN), as well as with toxicity and response rate in these patients.
  • Correlate tumor cell and PBMN expression and activity of topoisomerase I and II with hematological toxicity and clinical response in these patients.
  • Correlate levels of activation of STAT signaling proteins with expression of bcl-2 family proteins and response to chemotherapy in these patients.

OUTLINE: This is a dose-escalation study of topotecan (phase I) followed by a response rate-determination (phase II) study.

Patients receive induction chemotherapy with daunorubicin IV over 10-15 minutes on days 1-3, cytarabine IV continuously on days 1-5, topotecan IV continuously on days 6-8, and etoposide IV over 60 minutes on days 9 and 10. Within 4 weeks of hematologic recovery, patients achieving remission after induction receive consolidation chemotherapy with cytarabine IV over 1 hour every 12 hours on days 1, 3, and 5. Subsequent courses of consolidation chemotherapy begin within 2 weeks of documentation of hematologic recovery from the prior consolidation course. Consolidation chemotherapy continues for 4 courses in the absence of unacceptable toxicity or disease progression.

Cohorts of 3-6 patients receive escalating doses of topotecan until the maximum tolerated dose (MTD) is determined. The MTD is defined as the dose preceding that at which 2 of 3 or 2 of 6 patients experience dose-limiting toxicity. Once the MTD is determined, additional patients are accrued to receive induction chemotherapy at the recommended phase II dose.

Patients are followed at 1 month, every 2 months for 1 year, every 3 months for 2 years, every 6 months for 2 years, and then annually thereafter.

PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 3-36 patients (phase I) and then an additional 24-27 patients (phase II) will be accrued for this study within 4 years.

Conditions
Leukemia
Being tested
Cytarabine, Daunorubicin, Etoposide, Topotecan
Keywords
untreated adult acute myeloid leukemia, adult acute erythroid leukemia (M6), adult acute myeloblastic leukemia without maturation (M1), adult acute myeloblastic leukemia with maturation (M2), adult acute myelomonocytic leukemia (M4), adult acute monoblastic leukemia (M5a), adult acute megakaryoblastic leukemia (M7), adult acute monocytic leukemia (M5b), adult acute minimally differentiated myeloid leukemia (M0), adult acute myeloid leukemia with 11q23 (MLL) abnormalities, adult acute myeloid leukemia with inv(16)(p13;q22), adult acute myeloid leukemia with t(16;16)(p13;q22), adult acute myeloid leukemia with t(8;21)(q22;q22)
Medical subject headings
Leukemia, Leukemia, Erythroblastic, Acute, Leukemia, Myeloid, Acute, Leukemia, Myelomonocytic, Acute, Leukemia, Monocytic, Acute, Leukemia, Megakaryoblastic, Acute, Congenital Abnormalities

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

Study groups in NCT00005793
Study groupRoleWhat they receive
Combination ChemotherapyExperimentalPatients receive induction chemotherapy with daunorubicin IV over 10-15 minutes on days 1-3, cytarabine IV continuously on days 1-5, topotecan IV continuously on days 6-8, and etoposide IV over 60 minutes on days 9 and 10. Within 4 weeks of hematologic recovery, patients achieving remission after induction receive consolidation chemotherapy with cytarabine IV over 1 hour every 12 hours on days 1, 3, and 5. Subsequent courses of consolidation chemotherapy begin within 2 weeks of documentation of hematologic recovery from the prior consolidation course. Consolidation chemotherapy continues for 4 courses in the absence of unacceptable toxicity or disease progression.
Receives: Drug: Cytarabine; Drug: Daunorubicin; Drug: Etoposide; Drug: Topotecan

What is being measured

The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.

  1. Maximum Tolerated Dose (MTD)

    Determine the maximum tolerated dose (MTD) of topotecan when combined with daunorubicin, cytarabine, and etoposide in patients with de novo acute myeloid leukemia. Cohorts of 3-6 patients receive escalating doses of topotecan until the maximum tolerated dose (MTD) is determined. The MTD is defined as the dose preceding that at which 2 of 3 or 2 of 6 patients experience dose-limiting toxicity.

    Measured: 2 years

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted7 May 2003 (estimated)
  2. Study startJul 1999
  3. Primary completionJul 2006
  4. Study completionNov 2006

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Interventional
Phase
Phase 1/2
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Not applicable
Intervention model
Single group
Masking
None (open label)
Enrolment
41 participants (actual)
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT00005793
Sponsor's protocol ID
MCC-11941
Other IDs
CA 82533
Status last verified
Sep 2012
First submitted
2 Jun 2000
Last updated
25 Sep 2012
Results posted
No
Data monitoring committee
No

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

A Phase 1/2 study testing Cytarabine, Daunorubicin and Etoposide in people with Leukemia, run by H. Lee Moffitt Cancer Center and Research Institute at 1 site in United States.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Who may be eligible to take part?

Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: finished, as of the sponsor's last update on 25 Sep 2012. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

Where is the study taking place?

The record lists 1 site in United States. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

What does this combined phase mean?

Phase 1 studies test a treatment in a small group of people for the first time or in a new way, mainly to check safety and find the right dose.

Phase 2 studies give the treatment to a larger group to see whether it has the intended effect and to keep checking safety.

Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.

Are results available for this study?

The study is completed, but results are not available in the source record. That does not mean the treatment did or did not work.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

What does the primary outcome measure?

Maximum Tolerated Dose (MTD) (time frame: 2 years). It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.

Where can I read the original study information?
Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 25 Sep 2012.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in