AzTrials
AzTrials

LeukemiaPhase 3NCT00005866

S9920 Busulfan Compared With Cyclophosphamide in Patients Undergoing Total-Body Irradiation Plus Peripheral Stem Cell Transplantation for Advanced Myelodysplastic Syndrome or Related Acute Myeloid Leukemia

A Phase 3 study testing busulfan, cyclophosphamide and cyclosporine in people with Leukemia and Myelodysplastic Syndromes, run by SWOG Cancer Research Network at 66 sites in 2 countries.

Completed

Finished. The study has ended and is not enrolling. Results may be posted on the official record.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

RATIONALE: Peripheral stem cell transplantation may be able to replace immune cells that were destroyed by chemotherapy or radiation therapy used to kill tumor cells. It is not yet known if total-body irradiation plus peripheral stem cell transplantation is more effective with busulfan or with cyclophosphamide for… Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Ages 16 to 55 years
Conditions the study is for
Leukemia, Myelodysplastic Syndromes
What is being tested?
busulfan, cyclophosphamide and cyclosporine
Could I receive a placebo?
No, everyone receives an active treatment
How many people
240 participants
Where
66 sitesin 2 countries
Study dates
Feb 2000to Mar 2006
Phase
Phase 3
Are there results?
None posted in the registry

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages 16 to 55 years
  • All sexes
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Child, Adult

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS: Cytologically confirmed myelodysplastic syndrome (MDS) Increased blasts (i.e., greater than 1 to 30% peripheral blood blasts and/or 5 to 30% bone marrow blasts) AND International Prognostic Score intermediate 1, intermediate 2, or high risk Refractory anemia with excess blasts OR Refractory anemia with excess blasts in transformation (no presence of auer rods as sole criteria) OR Chronic myelomonocytic leukemia Greater than 1% blasts in the peripheral blood and/or at least 5% blasts in the bone marrow OR MDS related acute myeloid leukemia Arising after documented MDS of at least 60 days Absolute peripheral blast count no greater than 5,000/mm3 Must have genotypically HLA identical sibling donor Must also be enrolled on SWOG-S9910 and SWOG-9007

PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS: Age: 16 to 55 Performance status: Zubrod 0-2 Life expectancy: Not specified Hematopoietic: See Disease Characteristics Hepatic: Not specified Renal: Not specified Other: No prior malignancy within past 5 years except: Adequately treated basal cell or squamous cell skin cancer Carcinoma in situ of the cervix Adequately treated stage I or II cancer in complete remission HIV negative Not pregnant or nursing Fertile patients must use effective contraception

PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY: Biologic therapy: No autologous peripheral stem cell transplantation prior to diagnosis of myelodysplastic syndrome (MDS) or MDS related acute myeloid leukemia Chemotherapy: No prior chemotherapy for MDS or MDS related acute myeloid leukemia except oral chemotherapy to control leukocytosis or thrombocytosis (e.g., hydroxyurea or etoposide) Endocrine therapy: Not specified Radiotherapy: No radiotherapy prior to diagnosis of MDS or MDS related acute myeloid leukemia Surgery: Not specified

Trial locations and contacts

66 sites in 2 countries.

66 sites in 2 countries

United States65 sites
  • University of Michigan Comprehensive Cancer Center

    Ann Arbor, Michigan, 48109-0752

  • Alta Bates Comprehensive Cancer Center

    Berkeley, California, 94704

  • Mountain States Tumor Institute

    Boise, Idaho, 83712

  • Boston Medical Center

    Boston, Massachusetts, 02118

  • Cancer Research Center

    Boston, Massachusetts, 02118

  • Jewish Hospital of Cincinnati, Inc.

    Cincinnati, Ohio, 45236

  • Cleveland Clinic Taussig Cancer Center

    Cleveland, Ohio, 44195

  • Miami Valley Hospital

    Dayton, Ohio, 45409

  • University of Colorado Cancer Center

    Denver, Colorado, 80010

  • Barbara Ann Karmanos Cancer Institute

    Detroit, Michigan, 48201-1379

  • Henry Ford Hospital

    Detroit, Michigan, 48202

  • Cancer Center and Beckman Research Institute, City of Hope

    Duarte, California, 91010-3000

  • Brooke Army Medical Center

    Fort Sam Houston, Texas, 78234

  • Cancer Research Center of Hawaii

    Honolulu, Hawaii, 96813

  • Queen's Medical Center

    Honolulu, Hawaii, 96813

  • St. Francis Medical Center

    Honolulu, Hawaii, 96817

  • University of Mississippi Medical Center

    Jackson, Mississippi, 39216-4505

  • University of Kansas Medical Center

    Kansas City, Kansas, 66160-7357

  • CCOP - Dayton

    Kettering, Ohio, 45429

  • Scripps Clinic

    La Jolla, California, 92037

  • Wilford Hall - 59th Medical Wing

    Lackland Air Force Base, Texas, 78236-5300

  • Albert B. Chandler Medical Center, University of Kentucky

    Lexington, Kentucky, 40536-0084

  • Lucille Parker Markey Cancer Center, University of Kentucky

    Lexington, Kentucky, 40536-0093

  • University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences

    Little Rock, Arkansas, 72205

  • USC/Norris Comprehensive Cancer Center and Hospital

    Los Angeles, California, 90033-0804

  • Jonsson Comprehensive Cancer Center, UCLA

    Los Angeles, California, 90095-1781

  • Texas Tech University Health Science Center

    Lubbock, Texas, 79423

  • Health Science Center

    Lubbock, Texas, 79430

  • Loyola University Medical Center

    Maywood, Illinois, 60153

  • Louisiana State University School of Medicine

    New Orleans, Louisiana, 70112-2822

  • MBCCOP - LSU Health Sciences Center

    New Orleans, Louisiana, 70112

  • Tulane University School of Medicine

    New Orleans, Louisiana, 70112

  • Memorial Medical Center

    New Orleans, Louisiana, 70115

  • Herbert Irving Comprehensive Cancer Center

    New York, New York, 10032

  • University of Oklahoma Health Sciences Center

    Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, 73190

  • St. Joseph Hospital - Orange

    Orange, California, 92613-5600

  • Chao Family Comprehensive Cancer Center

    Orange, California, 92868

  • Good Samaritan Medical Center

    Phoenix, Arizona, 85062-2989

  • Oregon Cancer Center

    Portland, Oregon, 97201-3098

  • Legacy Cancer Services

    Portland, Oregon, 97210

  • CCOP - Columbia River Program

    Portland, Oregon, 97213

  • Providence St. Vincent Medical Center

    Portland, Oregon, 97225

  • Sutter Cancer Center

    Sacramento, California, 95816

  • University of California Davis Cancer Center

    Sacramento, California, 95817

  • Huntsman Cancer Institute

    Salt Lake City, Utah, 84112

  • LDS Hospital

    Salt Lake City, Utah, 84143

  • Methodist Health Care System

    San Antonio, Texas, 78229

  • University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio

    San Antonio, Texas, 78284-7811

  • CCOP - Virginia Mason Research Center

    Seattle, Washington, 98101

  • Swedish Cancer Institute

    Seattle, Washington, 98104

  • Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center

    Seattle, Washington, 98109-1024

  • University of Washington Medical Center

    Seattle, Washington, 98195-6043

  • Louisiana State University Health Sciences Center - Shreveport

    Shreveport, Louisiana, 71130-3932

  • St. John's Health System

    Springfield, Missouri, 65804

  • CCOP - Cancer Research for the Ozarks

    Springfield, Missouri, 65807

  • St. Louis University Health Sciences Center

    St Louis, Missouri, 63110-0250

  • Stanford University Medical Center

    Stanford, California, 94305-5408

  • Franciscan Health System

    Tacoma, Washington, 98401-2197

  • CCOP - Northwest

    Tacoma, Washington, 98405-0986

  • CCOP - Scott and White Hospital

    Temple, Texas, 76508

  • Scott and White Clinic

    Temple, Texas, 76508

  • Arizona Cancer Center

    Tucson, Arizona, 85724

  • Northern California Cancer Specialists Medical Clinic

    Walnut Creek, California, 94598

  • CCOP - Wichita

    Wichita, Kansas, 67214-3882

  • Cancer Center of Kansas - Wichita

    Wichita, Kansas, 67214

Other trials in United States

Canada1 site
  • Princess Margaret Hospital

    Toronto, Ontario, M5G 2M9

Other trials in Canada

About this study

Official title: A Phase III Randomized Study Comparing Busulfan-Total Body Irradiation Versus Cyclophosphamide-Total Body Irradiation Preparative Regimen in Patients With Advanced Myelodysplastic Syndrome (MDS) or MDS-Related Acute Myeloid Leukemia (AML) Undergoing HLA-Identical Sibling Peripheral Blood Stem Cell Transplantation, (A BMT Study)

RATIONALE: Peripheral stem cell transplantation may be able to replace immune cells that were destroyed by chemotherapy or radiation therapy used to kill tumor cells. It is not yet known if total-body irradiation plus peripheral stem cell transplantation is more effective with busulfan or with cyclophosphamide for myelodysplastic syndrome or acute myeloid leukemia.

PURPOSE: Randomized phase III trial to compare the effectiveness of busulfan with that of cyclophosphamide in patients undergoing total-body irradiation plus peripheral stem cell transplantation for advanced myelodysplastic syndrome or related acute myeloid leukemia.

Read the detailed description

OBJECTIVES: I. Compare event free survival after total body irradiation (TBI) plus busulfan versus TBI plus cyclophosphamide followed by allogeneic peripheral blood stem cell transplantation in patients with advanced myelodysplastic syndrome (MDS) or MDS related acute myeloid leukemia. II. Determine the distribution of pharmacokinetic parameters for busulfan in those patients randomized to the busulfan treatment arm. III. Investigate the prognostic significance for event free survival of prior history of red cell transfusions, cytogenetic pattern, and of functional drug resistance at diagnosis in these patients. IV. Estimate the frequencies of cytogenetic and genetic changes during disease progression in these patients.

OUTLINE: This a randomized, multicenter study. Patients are stratified according to age (40 and under vs 41-55) and diagnosis and International Prognostic Scoring System (IPSS) risk group (myelodysplastic syndrome (MDS)/IPSS - intermediate 1 vs MDS/IPSS - intermediate 2 vs MDS/IPSS high risk vs MDS related acute myeloid leukemia). Patients are randomized to one of two treatment arms. Arm I: Patients receive busulfan IV over 2 hours every 6 hours on days -7 to -4 for a total of 16 doses. Arm II: Patients receive cyclophosphamide IV over 2 hours on days -5 and -4. Patients receive total body irradiation (TBI) twice a day on days -3 to -1; peripheral blood stem cell transplantation from genotypically HLA identical sibling on day 0; cyclosporine IV every 12 hours on days -1 to 60, and then tapering in the absence of graft versus host disease; and methotrexate IV on days 1, 3, 6, and 11. Patients are followed every 6 months for 5 years.

PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 240 patients (120 per treatment arm) will be accrued for this study over 5 years.

Being tested
busulfan, cyclophosphamide, cyclosporine, methotrexate, allogeneic bone marrow transplantation
Keywords
untreated adult acute myeloid leukemia, refractory anemia with excess blasts, refractory anemia with excess blasts in transformation, chronic myelomonocytic leukemia, secondary acute myeloid leukemia, de novo myelodysplastic syndromes, secondary myelodysplastic syndromes, childhood myelodysplastic syndromes
Medical subject headings
Leukemia, Myelodysplastic Syndromes, Anemia, Refractory, with Excess of Blasts, Leukemia, Myelomonocytic, Chronic

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

  • busulfanDrug

    arm 1: 0.44 mg/kg every 6 hours, IV over 2 hours, day -7 to -4

  • cyclophosphamideDrug

    arm 2: 60 mg/kg every 24 hrs for 2 doses, IV over 2 hrs, days -5 and -4

  • cyclosporineDrug

    both arms per published schedule

  • methotrexateDrug

    GVHD: 15 mg/m2 day 1, 10 mg/m2 day 3, 6 and 11 by IV

  • allogeneic bone marrow transplantationProcedure or surgery

    day 0

  • radiation therapyRadiation

    both arms: 1200 cGy total dose (6 x 200 fractions)

Study groups in NCT00005866
Study groupRoleWhat they receive
treatmentExperimentalNot described
Receives: Drug: busulfan; Drug: cyclophosphamide; Drug: cyclosporine; Drug: methotrexate; Procedure: allogeneic bone marrow transplantation; Radiation: radiation therapy

What is being measured

The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.

  1. Event-free survival

    Measured: every 6 months after stem cell infusion until death or 5 years

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted16 Mar 2004 (estimated)
  2. Study startFeb 2000
  3. Primary completionMar 2004
  4. Study completionMar 2006

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Interventional
Phase
Phase 3
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Randomised
Intervention model
Parallel groups
Masking
None (open label)
Enrolment
240 participants (estimated)
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT00005866
Sponsor's protocol ID
S9920
Other IDs
S9920, U10CA032102
Status last verified
Mar 2015
First submitted
2 Jun 2000
Last updated
6 Mar 2015
Results posted
No

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

A Phase 3 study testing busulfan, cyclophosphamide and cyclosporine in people with Leukemia and Myelodysplastic Syndromes, run by SWOG Cancer Research Network at 66 sites in 2 countries.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Who may be eligible to take part?

Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: finished, as of the sponsor's last update on 6 Mar 2015. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

Where is the study taking place?

The record lists 66 sites in United States, Canada. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

What does this phase mean?

Phase 3 studies compare the treatment with the current standard treatment or a placebo in a large group, to confirm how well it works and watch for side effects.

Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.

Are results available for this study?

The study is completed, but results are not available in the source record. That does not mean the treatment did or did not work.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

What does the primary outcome measure?

Event-free survival (time frame: every 6 months after stem cell infusion until death or 5 years). It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.

Where can I read the original study information?
Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 6 Mar 2015.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in