AzTrials
AzTrials

Breast CancerPhase 2NCT00005963

Docetaxel and Carboplatin in Treating Women With Metastatic Breast Cancer

A Phase 2 study testing carboplatin and docetaxel in people with Breast Cancer, run by Alliance for Clinical Trials in Oncology at 21 sites in United States.

Completed

Finished. The study has ended and is not enrolling. Results may be posted on the official record.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy use different ways to stop tumor cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. Combining more than one chemotherapy drug may kill more tumor cells. Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Ages 18 years and older, women only
Conditions the study is for
Breast Cancer
What is being tested?
carboplatin and docetaxel
Type of treatment
Injection or infusion
Could I receive a placebo?
No, everyone receives an active treatment
How many people
53 participants
Where
21 sitesUnited States
Study dates
Nov 2000to Jan 2009
Phase
Phase 2
Are there results?
None posted in the registry

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages 18 years and older
  • Women only
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Adult, Older adult

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS: Histologically proven metastatic adenocarcinoma of the breast Measurable disease At least 20 mm in at least 1 dimension Hormone receptor status: Not specified

PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS: Age: 18 and over Sex: Female Menopausal status: Not specified Performance status: ECOG 0-2 Life expectancy: At least 3 months Hematopoietic: Granulocyte count at least 1,500/mm3 Platelet count at least 100,000/mm3 Hepatic: Bilirubin no greater than upper limit of normal (ULN) SGOT/SGPT no greater than 2.5 times ULN Alkaline phosphatase no greater than ULN OR SGOT/SGPT no greater than ULN Alkaline phosphatase no greater than 4 times ULN Renal: Creatinine no greater than 1.5 times ULN Cardiovascular: No myocardial infarction within the past 6 months No congestive heart failure No unstable angina No clinically significant pericardial effusion or arrhythmia Other: No other invasive malignancy within the past 5 years except curatively treated basal cell or squamous cell skin cancer or carcinoma in situ of the cervix No active unresolved infection No prior hypersensitivity reaction to docetaxel No grade 2 or greater sensory or motor neuropathy Not pregnant or nursing Negative pregnancy test Fertile patients must use effective contraception

PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY: Biologic therapy: No concurrent prophylactic filgrastim (G-CSF) during the first course of study therapy Chemotherapy: No prior chemotherapy for metastatic disease Prior adjuvant chemotherapy allowed More than 1 year since prior paclitaxel, docetaxel, cisplatin, or carboplatin No other concurrent chemotherapy Endocrine therapy: Not specified Radiotherapy: At least 4 weeks since prior radiotherapy to breast, chest wall, or axilla No prior radiotherapy to greater than 30% of bone marrow No concurrent radiotherapy Surgery: At least 4 weeks since prior major surgery and recovered Other: More than 7 days since prior IV antibiotics No concurrent experimental drugs

Trial locations and contacts

21 sites in 1 country.

21 sites in 1 country

United States21 sites
  • CCOP - Ann Arbor Regional

    Ann Arbor, Michigan, 48106

  • Medcenter One Health System

    Bismarck, North Dakota, 58501

  • CCOP - Cedar Rapids Oncology Project

    Cedar Rapids, Iowa, 52403-1206

  • CCOP - Geisinger Clinic and Medical Center

    Danville, Pennsylvania, 17822-2001

  • CCOP - Iowa Oncology Research Association

    Des Moines, Iowa, 50309-1016

  • CCOP - Duluth

    Duluth, Minnesota, 55805

  • CCOP - Merit Care Hospital

    Fargo, North Dakota, 58122

  • Altru Health Systems

    Grand Forks, North Dakota, 58201

  • CCOP - Ochsner

    New Orleans, Louisiana, 70121

  • CCOP - Missouri Valley Cancer Consortium

    Omaha, Nebraska, 68131

  • CCOP - Illinois Oncology Research Association

    Peoria, Illinois, 61602

  • Rapid City Regional Hospital

    Rapid City, South Dakota, 57709

  • Mayo Clinic Cancer Center

    Rochester, Minnesota, 55905

  • CentraCare Clinic

    Saint Cloud, Minnesota, 56303

  • CCOP - Metro-Minnesota

    Saint Louis Park, Minnesota, 55416

  • CCOP - Scottsdale Oncology Program

    Scottsdale, Arizona, 85259-5404

  • Siouxland Hematology-Oncology

    Sioux City, Iowa, 51101-1733

  • CCOP - Sioux Community Cancer Consortium

    Sioux Falls, South Dakota, 57104

  • CCOP - Toledo Community Hospital Oncology Program

    Toledo, Ohio, 43623-3456

  • CCOP - Carle Cancer Center

    Urbana, Illinois, 61801

  • CCOP - Wichita

    Wichita, Kansas, 67214-3882

Other trials in United States

About this study

Official title: Phase II Trial of Docetaxel and Carboplatin as First-Line Therapy for Metastatic Breast Cancer

RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy use different ways to stop tumor cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. Combining more than one chemotherapy drug may kill more tumor cells.

PURPOSE: Phase II trial to study the effectiveness of combining docetaxel and carboplatin in treating women who have metastatic breast cancer.

Read the detailed description

OBJECTIVES: I. Determine the anti-tumor activity of docetaxel and carboplatin in women with metastatic adenocarcinoma of the breast. II. Determine the objective response rate, time to progression, and survival in patients treated with this regimen. III. Determine the toxic effects of this regimen in these patients. IV. Assess the common functional polymorphisms in genes involved in chemotherapeutic response to improve prediction of clinical outcomes and provide insight into the potential for genotype-specific drug dosage.

OUTLINE: This is a multicenter study. Patients receive docetaxel IV over 1 hour and carboplatin IV over 30 minutes on day 1. Treatment repeats every 3 weeks in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity. Patients who achieve stable disease (SD), partial response (PR), or complete response (CR) may receive 4 additional courses past SD, PR, or CR. Patients are followed every 6 months for 2 years and then annually for 3 years.

Conditions
Breast Cancer
Being tested
carboplatin, docetaxel
Keywords
stage IV breast cancer, recurrent breast cancer
Medical subject headings
Breast Neoplasms

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

Study groups in NCT00005963
Study groupRoleWhat they receive
docetaxel + carboplatinExperimentalThis is a multicenter study. Patients receive docetaxel IV over 1 hour and carboplatin IV over 30 minutes on day 1. Treatment repeats every 3 weeks in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity. Patients who achieve stable disease (SD), partial response (PR), or complete response (CR) may receive 4 additional courses past SD, PR, or CR. Patients are followed every 6 months for 2 years and then annually for 3 years.
Receives: Drug: carboplatin; Drug: docetaxel

What is being measured

The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.

  1. objective response rate

    Measured: Up to 5 years

Secondary outcomes (2)
  1. time to progression

    Measured: Up to 5 years

  2. survival

    Measured: Up to 5 years

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted23 Dec 2003 (estimated)
  2. Study startNov 2000
  3. Primary completionOct 2002
  4. Study completionJan 2009

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Interventional
Phase
Phase 2
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Not applicable
Intervention model
Single group
Masking
None (open label)
Enrolment
53 participants (actual)
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT00005963
Sponsor's protocol ID
NCCTG-N9932
Other IDs
CDR0000067945, NCI-2012-02341
Status last verified
Dec 2016
First submitted
5 Jul 2000
Last updated
7 Dec 2016
Results posted
No
Data monitoring committee
No

Publications

  • Perez EA, Suman VJ, Fitch TR, Mailliard JA, Ingle JN, Cole JT, Veeder MH, Flynn PJ, Walsh DJ, Addo FK. A phase II trial of docetaxel and carboplatin as first-line chemotherapy for metastatic breast cancer: NCCTG study N9932. Oncology. 2005;69(2):117-21. doi: 10.1159/000087813. Epub 2005 Aug 23.

    PubMed 16118507

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

A Phase 2 study testing carboplatin and docetaxel in people with Breast Cancer, run by Alliance for Clinical Trials in Oncology at 21 sites in United States.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Who may be eligible to take part?

Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: finished, as of the sponsor's last update on 7 Dec 2016. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

Where is the study taking place?

The record lists 21 sites in United States. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

What does this phase mean?

Phase 2 studies give the treatment to a larger group to see whether it has the intended effect and to keep checking safety.

Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.

Are results available for this study?

The study is completed, but results are not available in the source record. That does not mean the treatment did or did not work.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

What does the primary outcome measure?

objective response rate (time frame: Up to 5 years). It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.

Where can I read the original study information?

On the ClinicalTrials.gov record for NCT00005963, which also lists 1 linked publication.

Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 7 Dec 2016.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in