AzTrials
AzTrials

LymphomaPhase 2NCT00005964

Comparison of Two Combination Chemotherapy Regimens in Treating Patients With Previously Untreated Aggressive Stage II, Stage III, or Stage IV Non-Hodgkin's Lymphoma

A Phase 2 study testing filgrastim, cyclophosphamide and doxorubicin hydrochloride in people with Lymphoma, run by Alliance for Clinical Trials in Oncology at 47 sites in United States.

Completed

Finished. The study has ended and is not enrolling. Results may be posted on the official record.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy use different ways to stop tumor cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. Combining more than one chemotherapy drug may kill more tumor cells. It is not yet known which combination chemotherapy regimen is most effective in treating aggressive non-Hodgkin's lymphoma. Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Any age
Conditions the study is for
Lymphoma
What is being tested?
filgrastim, cyclophosphamide and doxorubicin hydrochloride
Could I receive a placebo?
No, everyone receives an active treatment
How many people
59 participants
Where
47 sitesUnited States
Study dates
May 2000to Mar 2006
Phase
Phase 2
Are there results?
None posted in the registry

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages Any age
  • All sexes
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Child, Adult, Older adult

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS: Histologically confirmed stage II, III, or IV non-Hodgkin's lymphoma (NHL) Diffuse large B-cell lymphoma (including immunoblastic features) OR Anaplastic large cell lymphoma No mantle cell lymphomas including equivocal B-cell lymphomas that are CD5+ and CD23-, have t(11;14), or express markers of mantle cell lymphoma or other subtypes No low-grade lymphoma (e.g., follicular center cells in bone marrow) Patients who have 3-5 International Prognostic Index risk factors must have refused participation in SWOG-S9704/CALGB-59903 trial No known lymphomatous CNS involvement, including parenchymal or leptomeningeal involvement

PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS: Age: Not specified Performance status: 0-2 Life expectancy: Not specified Hematopoietic: Absolute neutrophil count at least 1,500/mm3* Platelet count at least 100,000/mm3* *unless attributable to NHL Hepatic: Bilirubin no greater than 2.0 mg/dL (without Gilbert's disease)* *unless attributable to NHL Renal: Creatinine no greater than 1.5 mg/dL* *unless attributable to NHL Cardiovascular: LVEF greater than 45% No ischemic heart disease No myocardial infarction or congestive heart failure in past year Other: Not pregnant or nursing Fertile patients must use effective contraception HIV negative

PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY: Biologic therapy: Not specified Chemotherapy: No prior cytotoxic chemotherapy No other concurrent chemotherapy Endocrine therapy: Prior glucocorticoids allowed (less than 10 day course) for urgent local disease at diagnosis (e.g., cord compression, superior vena cava syndrome) No concurrent dexamethasone (except as indicated by protocol) or other steroidal antiemetics No concurrent hormonal therapy except for non-disease related conditions Radiotherapy: Prior limited field radiotherapy allowed Surgery: Not specified

Trial locations and contacts

47 sites in 1 country.

47 sites in 1 country

United States47 sites
  • Marlene & Stewart Greenebaum Cancer Center, University of Maryland

    Baltimore, Maryland, 21201

  • CCOP - Southwestern Vermont Regional Cancer Center

    Bennington, Vermont, 05201

  • Veterans Affairs Medical Center - Birmingham

    Birmingham, Alabama, 35233-1996

  • Dana-Farber Cancer Institute

    Boston, Massachusetts, 02115

  • Veterans Affairs Medical Center - Buffalo

    Buffalo, New York, 14215

  • Roswell Park Cancer Institute

    Buffalo, New York, 14263-0001

  • Vermont Cancer Center

    Burlington, Vermont, 05401-3498

  • Lineberger Comprehensive Cancer Center, UNC

    Chapel Hill, North Carolina, 27599-7295

  • Veterans Affairs Medical Center - Chicago (Westside Hospital)

    Chicago, Illinois, 60612

  • University of Chicago Cancer Research Center

    Chicago, Illinois, 60637-1470

  • Veterans Affairs Medical Center - Columbia (Truman Memorial)

    Columbia, Missouri, 65201

  • Ellis Fischel Cancer Center - Columbia

    Columbia, Missouri, 65203

  • Arthur G. James Cancer Hospital - Ohio State University

    Columbus, Ohio, 43210-1240

  • Veterans Affairs Medical Center - Durham

    Durham, North Carolina, 27705

  • Duke Comprehensive Cancer Center

    Durham, North Carolina, 27710

  • Holden Comprehensive Cancer Center at The University of Iowa

    Iowa City, Iowa, 52242-1009

  • University of California San Diego Cancer Center

    La Jolla, California, 92093-0658

  • CCOP - Southern Nevada Cancer Research Foundation

    Las Vegas, Nevada, 89106

  • Norris Cotton Cancer Center

    Lebanon, New Hampshire, 03756-0002

  • CCOP - North Shore University Hospital

    Manhasset, New York, 11030

  • North Shore University Hospital

    Manhasset, New York, 11030

  • University of Tennessee, Memphis Cancer Center

    Memphis, Tennessee, 38103

  • Veterans Affairs Medical Center - Memphis

    Memphis, Tennessee, 38104

  • CCOP - Mount Sinai Medical Center

    Miami Beach, Florida, 33140

  • Veterans Affairs Medical Center - Minneapolis

    Minneapolis, Minnesota, 55417

  • University of Minnesota Cancer Center

    Minneapolis, Minnesota, 55455

  • Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center

    New York, New York, 10021

  • New York Presbyterian Hospital - Cornell Campus

    New York, New York, 10021

  • Mount Sinai Medical Center, NY

    New York, New York, 10029

  • University of Nebraska Medical Center

    Omaha, Nebraska, 68198-3330

  • Rhode Island Hospital

    Providence, Rhode Island, 02903

  • Veterans Affairs Medical Center - Richmond

    Richmond, Virginia, 23249

  • MBCCOP - Massey Cancer Center

    Richmond, Virginia, 23298-0037

  • Veterans Affairs Medical Center - San Francisco

    San Francisco, California, 94121

  • UCSF Cancer Center and Cancer Research Institute

    San Francisco, California, 94143-0128

  • Barnes-Jewish Hospital

    St Louis, Missouri, 63110

  • State University of New York - Upstate Medical University

    Syracuse, New York, 13210

  • Veterans Affairs Medical Center - Syracuse

    Syracuse, New York, 13210

  • CCOP - Syracuse Hematology-Oncology Associates of Central New York, P.C.

    Syracuse, New York, 13217

  • Veterans Affairs Medical Center - Togus

    Togus, Maine, 04330

  • Lombardi Cancer Center

    Washington D.C., District of Columbia, 20007

  • Walter Reed Army Medical Center

    Washington D.C., District of Columbia, 20307-5000

  • Veterans Affairs Medical Center - White River Junction

    White River Junction, Vermont, 05009

  • CCOP - Christiana Care Health Services

    Wilmington, Delaware, 19899

  • CCOP - Southeast Cancer Control Consortium

    Winston-Salem, North Carolina, 27104-4241

  • Comprehensive Cancer Center at Wake Forest University

    Winston-Salem, North Carolina, 27157-1082

  • University of Massachusetts Memorial Medical Center

    Worcester, Massachusetts, 01655

Other trials in United States

About this study

Official title: Randomized Phase II Study of Dose-Adjusted EPOCH vs. NHL-15 Chemotherapy for Patients With Previously Untreated Aggressive Non-Hodgkin's Lymphoma (NHL)

RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy use different ways to stop tumor cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. Combining more than one chemotherapy drug may kill more tumor cells. It is not yet known which combination chemotherapy regimen is most effective in treating aggressive non-Hodgkin's lymphoma.

PURPOSE: Randomized phase II trial to compare the effectiveness of two combination chemotherapy regimens in treating patients who have previously untreated aggressive stage II, stage III, or stage IV non-Hodgkin's lymphoma.

Read the detailed description

OBJECTIVES: I. Determine the response rates in patients with previously untreated aggressive non-Hodgkin's lymphoma treated with doxorubicin, etoposide, vincristine, cyclophosphamide, and prednisone (EPOCH). II. Determine the toxic effects of this regimen in these patients.

OUTLINE: This is a multicenter study. Patients receive doxorubicin IV, etoposide IV, vincristine IV, and cyclophosphamide IV continuously over days 1-4. Patients also receive oral prednisone twice daily on days 1-5 and filgrastim (G-CSF) subcutaneously beginning on day 6 until blood counts recover. Treatment continues every 21 days for a maximum of 8 courses in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity. Patients are followed every 3 months for 2 years and then every 6 months for 3 years.

Conditions
Lymphoma
Keywords
stage III adult diffuse large cell lymphoma, stage III adult immunoblastic large cell lymphoma, stage III adult lymphoblastic lymphoma, stage IV adult diffuse large cell lymphoma, stage IV adult immunoblastic large cell lymphoma, stage IV adult lymphoblastic lymphoma, contiguous stage II adult immunoblastic large cell lymphoma, contiguous stage II adult diffuse large cell lymphoma, contiguous stage II adult lymphoblastic lymphoma, noncontiguous stage II adult immunoblastic large cell lymphoma, noncontiguous stage II adult diffuse large cell lymphoma, noncontiguous stage II adult lymphoblastic lymphoma
Medical subject headings
Lymphoma, Lymphoma, Large B-Cell, Diffuse, Lymphoma, Large-Cell, Immunoblastic, Precursor Cell Lymphoblastic Leukemia-Lymphoma

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

Study groups in NCT00005964
Study groupRoleWhat they receive
Chemotherapy + prednisone + filgrastimExperimentalPatients receive doxorubicin IV, etoposide IV, vincristine IV, and cyclophosphamide IV continuously over days 1-4. Patients also receive oral prednisone twice daily on days 1-5 and filgrastim (G-CSF) subcutaneously beginning on day 6 until blood counts recover. Treatment continues every 21 days for a maximum of 8 courses in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity. Patients are followed every 3 months for 2 years and then every 6 months for 3 years.
Receives: Biological: filgrastim; Drug: cyclophosphamide; Drug: doxorubicin hydrochloride; Drug: etoposide; Drug: prednisone; Drug: vincristine sulfate

What is being measured

The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.

  1. Response rate

    Measured: Up to 5 years

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted5 Nov 2003 (estimated)
  2. Study startMay 2000
  3. Primary completionMar 2006
  4. Study completionMar 2006

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Interventional
Phase
Phase 2
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Not applicable
Intervention model
Single group
Masking
None (open label)
Enrolment
59 participants (actual)
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT00005964
Sponsor's protocol ID
CALGB-C59910
Other IDs
U10CA031946, CLB-C59910, CDR0000067947
Status last verified
Jul 2016
First submitted
5 Jul 2000
Last updated
13 Jul 2016
Results posted
No
Data monitoring committee
No

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

A Phase 2 study testing filgrastim, cyclophosphamide and doxorubicin hydrochloride in people with Lymphoma, run by Alliance for Clinical Trials in Oncology at 47 sites in United States.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: finished, as of the sponsor's last update on 13 Jul 2016. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

Where is the study taking place?

The record lists 47 sites in United States. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

What does this phase mean?

Phase 2 studies give the treatment to a larger group to see whether it has the intended effect and to keep checking safety.

Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.

Are results available for this study?

The study is completed, but results are not available in the source record. That does not mean the treatment did or did not work.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

What does the primary outcome measure?

Response rate (time frame: Up to 5 years). It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.

Where can I read the original study information?
Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 13 Jul 2016.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in