AzTrials
AzTrials

Ovarian CancerPhase 2NCT00006267

Nitrocamptothecin in Treating Patients With Recurrent or Metastatic Ovarian Epithelial or Primary Peritoneal Cancer

A Phase 2 study testing rubitecan in people with Ovarian Cancer and Primary Peritoneal Cavity Cancer, run by Gynecologic Oncology Group.

Withdrawn

Withdrawn. The study stopped before anyone enrolled.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy use different ways to stop tumor cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. PURPOSE: Phase II trial to study the effectiveness of nitrocamptothecin in treating patients who have recurrent or metastatic ovarian epithelial or primary peritoneal cancer. Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Any age, women only
What is being tested?
rubitecan
How many people
0 participants
Where
No sites listed yet
Study dates
Start not givento May 2006
Phase
Phase 2
Are there results?
None posted in the registry

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages Any age
  • Women only
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Child, Adult, Older adult

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS:

  • Histologically confirmed recurrent or metastatic ovarian epithelial or primary peritoneal cancer
  • Measurable disease
  • Ascites and pleural effusions are not considered measurable
  • Sonography allowed if bidimensionally measurable
  • Must not be eligible for higher priority GOG protocol

PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS:

Age:

  • Not specified

Performance status:

  • GOG 0-2

Life expectancy:

  • Not specified

Hematopoietic:

  • WBC at least 3,000/mm^3
  • Platelet count at least 100,000/mm^3
  • Granulocyte count at least 1,500/mm^3

Hepatic:

  • Bilirubin no greater than 1.5 times upper limit of normal (ULN)
  • SGOT and alkaline phosphatase no greater than 3 times ULN

Renal:

  • Creatinine no greater than 2.0 mg/dL

Other:

  • No other prior or concurrent invasive malignancy in the past 5 years except nonmelanoma skin cancer
  • No active infection

PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY:

Biologic therapy:

  • Not specified

Chemotherapy:

  • At least but no more than 2 prior chemotherapy regimens containing carboplatin, cisplatin, or another organoplatinum compound combined with paclitaxel
  • Second line therapy may include any agents except topoisomerase I inhibitors (i.e., topotecan)
  • No prior nitrocamptothecin or topoisomerase I inhibitors
  • At least 3 weeks since prior chemotherapy and recovered

Endocrine therapy:

  • Not specified

Radiotherapy:

  • At least 3 weeks since prior radiotherapy and recovered

Surgery:

  • At least 3 weeks since prior surgery and recovered

Other:

  • No prior cancer therapy that contraindicates this study

About this study

Official title: A Phase II Evaluation Of 9-Nitro-Camptothecin In The Third-Line Treatment Of Recurrent Ovarian Or Primary Peritoneal Cancer

RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy use different ways to stop tumor cells from dividing so they stop growing or die.

PURPOSE: Phase II trial to study the effectiveness of nitrocamptothecin in treating patients who have recurrent or metastatic ovarian epithelial or primary peritoneal cancer.

Read the detailed description

OBJECTIVES:

  • Determine the antitumor activity of nitrocamptothecin in patients with recurrent or metastatic ovarian epithelial or primary peritoneal cancer.
  • Determine the nature and degree of toxicity of this regimen in these patients.

OUTLINE: Patients receive oral nitrocamptothecin on days 1-5. Treatment continues every 7 days in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity.

Patients are followed at 2 weeks, then every 3 months for 2 years, and then every 6 months for 3 years.

PROJECTED ACCRUAL: Approximately 19-51 patients will be accrued for this study within 22 months.

Being tested
rubitecan
Keywords
stage IV ovarian epithelial cancer, recurrent ovarian epithelial cancer, primary peritoneal cavity cancer
Medical subject headings
Ovarian Neoplasms, Carcinoma, Ovarian Epithelial

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

  • rubitecanDrug

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted27 Jan 2003 (estimated)
  2. Primary completionMay 2006

Why it stopped: Never activated.

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Interventional
Phase
Phase 2
Primary purpose
Treatment
Enrolment
0 participants (actual)
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT00006267
Sponsor's protocol ID
CDR0000068210
Other IDs
GOG-0186B
Status last verified
May 2004
First submitted
11 Sep 2000
Last updated
9 Jul 2013
Results posted
No

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

A Phase 2 study testing rubitecan in people with Ovarian Cancer and Primary Peritoneal Cavity Cancer, run by Gynecologic Oncology Group.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: withdrawn, as of the sponsor's last update on 9 Jul 2013. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

What does this phase mean?

Phase 2 studies give the treatment to a larger group to see whether it has the intended effect and to keep checking safety.

Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.

Are results available for this study?

The study was withdrawn before enrolling participants, so there are no results.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

Where can I read the original study information?
Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 9 Jul 2013.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in