AzTrials
AzTrials

Head and Neck CancerPhase 2NCT00006341

Dentures and Dental Implants in Treating Patients Undergoing Surgery for Mouth Cancer

A Phase 2 study testing Implant in people with Head and Neck Cancer, run by Jonsson Comprehensive Cancer Center at 1 site in United States.

Completed

Finished. The study has ended and is not enrolling. Results may be posted on the official record.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

RATIONALE: The use of dentures and dental implants may help maintain chewing and speaking ability following surgery to remove tumors in the mouth. PURPOSE: Phase II trial to study the effectiveness of dentures and dental implants in maintaining the ability to chew and speak in patients undergoing surgery for mouth… Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Ages 35 to 80 years
Conditions the study is for
Head and Neck Cancer
What is being tested?
Implant
Type of treatment
Pill or oral medicine
Could I receive a placebo?
No, everyone receives an active treatment
How many people
46 participants
Where
1 siteUnited States
Study dates
Jun 1997to May 2003
Phase
Phase 2
Are there results?
None posted in the registry

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages 35 to 80 years
  • All sexes
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Adult, Older adult

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS:

  • Diagnosis of early oral cancer lesions requiring one of the following:
  • Partial or total unilateral maxillectomy OR
  • Partial lateral mandibulectomy with or without partial glossectomy
  • Edentulous or edentulous in the maxillary arch prior to or after ablative surgery (maxillectomy group)
  • Partial mandibulectomy leaving the condyles intact bilaterally (mandibulectomy group)
  • Must have sufficient bone in the selected implant sites to accommodate 2-4 implants of at least 10 mm in length
  • No temporomandibular dysfunction and/or functionally restrictive opening
  • No requirement for total glossectomy, reconstructive maxillary surgery, or maxillary sinus lift
  • No requirement for radiotherapy after mandibular reconstructive surgery

PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS:

Age:

  • 35 to 80

Performance status:

  • Not specified

Life expectancy:

  • Not specified

Hematopoietic:

  • Not specified

Hepatic:

  • Not specified

Renal:

  • Not specified

Other:

  • No oral discomfort that would preclude study
  • No complications after ablative or reconstructive surgery that would preclude dental rehabilitation with implants

PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY:

Biologic therapy:

  • Not specified

Chemotherapy:

  • Not specified

Endocrine therapy:

  • Not specified

Radiotherapy:

  • See Disease Characteristics
  • No prior or concurrent radiotherapy of greater than 5,500 cGY to potential implant site

Surgery:

  • See Disease Characteristics

Trial locations and contacts

1 site in 1 country.

United States1 site
  • Jonsson Comprehensive Cancer Center, UCLA

    Los Angeles, California, 90095-1781

Other trials in United States

About this study

Official title: Efficacy of Implant-Supported Maxillofacial Prostheses

RATIONALE: The use of dentures and dental implants may help maintain chewing and speaking ability following surgery to remove tumors in the mouth.

PURPOSE: Phase II trial to study the effectiveness of dentures and dental implants in maintaining the ability to chew and speak in patients undergoing surgery for mouth cancer.

Read the detailed description

OBJECTIVES:

  • Determine whether conventional or implant supported dental prostheses and current surgical reconstructive procedures restore oral function and quality of life to pre-cancer surgery levels in patients with early oral cancer.

OUTLINE: Patients complete a series of objective and subjective functional tests, questionnaires, and baseline examinations. Within 1-5 days, patients undergo the composite resection, including reconstructive surgery for the mandibulectomy group. Patients in the maxillectomy group receive an immediate maxillary surgical obturator. Approximately 6 weeks after ablative surgery, some patients receive radiotherapy for 5-7 weeks.

Patients receive 2-4 implants at 12-16 weeks after completion of radiotherapy or 8-16 weeks after ablative surgery. Patients then receive conventional dentures at 4-22 weeks after implant surgery. Implants are exposed during 27-48 weeks after placement and abutments connected for fabricating dental prostheses. Approximately 8 weeks are needed to fabricate the implant supported prosthesis.

Patients complete quality of life and other questionnaires prior to and at 8-21 weeks after surgery, 16 weeks after conventional denture insertion, and then 16 weeks after implant supported prosthesis insertion.

Patients are followed every 6 months for at least 3 years.

PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 62 patients (22 requiring maxillectomy and 40 requiring mandibulectomy) will be accrued for this study within 42 months.

Being tested
Implant
Keywords
stage I lip and oral cavity cancer, stage II lip and oral cavity cancer, stage III lip and oral cavity cancer
Medical subject headings
Head and Neck Neoplasms, Mouth Neoplasms

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

  • ImplantOther

    A total of 62 patients with early oral cancer will be recruited; in addition, 22 patients requiring a partial maxillectomy and 40 requiring a partial lateral mandibulectomy will be enrolled. The mandibular defects will be reconstructed with fibula free flap surgery. Following a healing period, implants will be placed and permitted to heal unloaded for six months. Conventional dental prostheses will be fabricated and used by patients for at least 16 weeks during Phase I healing before the implants are exposed and loaded. A few weeks after Phase II surgery, the patients will receive implant-supported dental prostheses.

Study groups in NCT00006341
Study groupRoleWhat they receive
ImplantExperimentalA total of 62 patients with early oral cancer will be recruited; in addition, 22 patients requiring a partial maxillectomy and 40 requiring a partial lateral mandibulectomy will be enrolled. The mandibular defects will be reconstructed with fibula free flap surgery. Following a healing period, implants will be placed and permitted to heal unloaded for six months. Conventional dental prostheses will be fabricated and used by patients for at least 16 weeks during Phase I healing before the implants are exposed and loaded. A few weeks after Phase II surgery, the patients will receive implant-supported dental prostheses.
Receives: Other: Implant

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted29 May 2003 (estimated)
  2. Study startJun 1997
  3. Primary completionMay 2003
  4. Study completionMay 2003

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Interventional
Phase
Phase 2
Primary purpose
Supportive care
Allocation
Not applicable
Intervention model
Single group
Masking
None (open label)
Enrolment
46 participants (actual)
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT00006341
Sponsor's protocol ID
CDR0000066588
Other IDs
UCLA-HSPC-940205413, UCLA-DEN-1R01DE11255, UCLA-HSPC-940205411, NCI-V00-1606
Status last verified
Jan 2016
First submitted
4 Oct 2000
Last updated
2 Feb 2016
Results posted
No
Data monitoring committee
No
Individual data sharing
No

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

A Phase 2 study testing Implant in people with Head and Neck Cancer, run by Jonsson Comprehensive Cancer Center at 1 site in United States.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Who may be eligible to take part?

Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: finished, as of the sponsor's last update on 2 Feb 2016. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

Where is the study taking place?

The record lists 1 site in United States. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

What does this phase mean?

Phase 2 studies give the treatment to a larger group to see whether it has the intended effect and to keep checking safety.

Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.

Are results available for this study?

The study is completed, but results are not available in the source record. That does not mean the treatment did or did not work.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

Where can I read the original study information?
Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 2 Feb 2016.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in