AzTrials
AzTrials

Unspecified Adult Solid Tumor, Protocol SpecificPhase 1NCT00006485

Flavopiridol and Irinotecan in Treating Patients With Advanced Solid Tumors

A Phase 1 study testing alvocidib and irinotecan hydrochloride in people with Unspecified Adult Solid Tumor, Protocol Specific, run by Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center at 1 site in United States.

Completed

Finished. The study has ended and is not enrolling. Results may be posted on the official record.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy use different ways to stop tumor cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. Combining more than one drug may kill more tumor cells. PURPOSE: Phase I trial to study the effectiveness of combining flavopiridol with irinotecan in treating patients who have locally advanced or… Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Ages 18 years and older
What is being tested?
alvocidib and irinotecan hydrochloride
How many people
Not given
Where
1 siteUnited States
Study dates
Sep 2000to Dec 2003
Phase
Phase 1
Are there results?
None posted in the registry

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages 18 years and older
  • All sexes
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Adult, Older adult

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS:

  • Histologically proven locally advanced or metastatic solid tumor that is refractory to standard therapy or for which no standard therapy exists
  • Eligible for treatment at the maximum tolerated dose only if disease accessible for tissue biopsy by Tru-Cut, CT guidance, or endoscopy
  • Pleural effusions or abdominal ascites do not constitute adequate tissue for biopsy
  • No known CNS metastasis or primary CNS tumor

PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS:

Age:

  • 18 and over

Performance status:

  • Karnofsky 60-100%

Life expectancy:

  • Not specified

Hematopoietic:

  • WBC at least 3,500/mm^3
  • Total neutrophil count at least 1,500/mm^3
  • Platelet count at least 100,000/mm^3

Hepatic:

  • Bilirubin no greater than 1.5 mg/dL
  • SGOT and SGPT no greater than 2.5 times upper limit of normal

Renal:

  • Creatinine no greater than 1.5 mg/dL

Cardiovascular:

  • No cardiac arrhythmias, congestive heart failure, or myocardial infarction within the past 6 months

Other:

  • Not pregnant or nursing (during and for at least 2 months after study)
  • Negative pregnancy test
  • Fertile patients must use effective contraception during and for at least 2 months after study
  • No concurrent serious or uncontrolled infection
  • HIV negative
  • No other medical condition that would preclude study participation

PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY:

Biologic therapy:

  • At least 4 weeks since prior immunotherapy and recovered

Chemotherapy:

  • At least 4 weeks since prior chemotherapy (6 weeks for nitrosoureas or mitomycin) and recovered
  • Prior irinotecan allowed

Endocrine therapy:

  • Not specified

Radiotherapy:

  • At least 4 weeks since prior radiotherapy and recovered

Surgery:

  • See Disease Characteristics

Other:

  • Recovered from prior therapy
  • No other concurrent investigational medication
  • No concurrent vitamins (except a single multivitamin tablet), antioxidants, or herbal preparations or supplements
  • No concurrent subcutaneous heparin or heparinoids

Trial locations and contacts

1 site in 1 country.

United States1 site
  • Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center

    New York, New York, 10021

Other trials in United States

About this study

Official title: An Open-Labeled, Non-Randomized Phase I Study Of Flavopiridol Administered With Irinotecan (CPT-11) In Patients With Advanced Solid Tumors

RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy use different ways to stop tumor cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. Combining more than one drug may kill more tumor cells.

PURPOSE: Phase I trial to study the effectiveness of combining flavopiridol with irinotecan in treating patients who have locally advanced or metastatic solid tumors.

Read the detailed description

OBJECTIVES:

  • Determine the maximum tolerated dose of flavopiridol when combined with irinotecan in patients with advanced solid tumors.
  • Determine the clinical pharmacokinetics of this regimen, as well as the plasma levels of the active metabolite SN-38 and metabolic product SN-38 glucuronide in these patients.
  • Determine, in a preliminary manner, the therapeutic activity of this regimen in these patients.
  • Determine the role of p21 relative to treatment response and apoptosis in these patients treated with this regimen.

OUTLINE: This is a dose-escalation, open-label, non-randomized study of flavopiridol.

Patients receive irinotecan IV over 30 minutes followed 7 hours later by flavopiridol IV over 1 hour on days 1, 8, 15, and 22. Treatment continues every 6 weeks for a minimum of 2 courses in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity. During the first week of the second course, patients receive flavopiridol alone on day 1 and irinotecan alone on day 2.

Cohorts of 3-6 patients receive escalating doses of flavopiridol until the maximum tolerated dose (MTD) is determined. The MTD is defined as the dose preceding that at which 2 or more of 6 patients in the initial cohort experience dose limiting toxicity during the first course of treatment. An additional 10 patients are treated at the MTD.

PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 44-50 patients will be accrued for this study within 1 year.

Being tested
alvocidib, irinotecan hydrochloride
Keywords
unspecified adult solid tumor, protocol specific

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted27 Jan 2003 (estimated)
  2. Study startSep 2000
  3. Primary completionDec 2003

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Interventional
Phase
Phase 1
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Non-randomised
Masking
None (open label)
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT00006485
Sponsor's protocol ID
CDR0000068316
Other IDs
MSKCC-00091, NCI-2272
Status last verified
Jun 2003
First submitted
6 Nov 2000
Last updated
15 Dec 2009
Results posted
No

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

A Phase 1 study testing alvocidib and irinotecan hydrochloride in people with Unspecified Adult Solid Tumor, Protocol Specific, run by Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center at 1 site in United States.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Who may be eligible to take part?

Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: finished, as of the sponsor's last update on 15 Dec 2009. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

Where is the study taking place?

The record lists 1 site in United States. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

What does this phase mean?

Phase 1 studies test a treatment in a small group of people for the first time or in a new way, mainly to check safety and find the right dose.

Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.

Are results available for this study?

The study is completed, but results are not available in the source record. That does not mean the treatment did or did not work.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

Where can I read the original study information?
Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 15 Dec 2009.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in