AzTrials
AzTrials

Brain and Central Nervous System TumorsPhase 2NCT00006916

Radiation Therapy Followed by Bleomycin in Treating Adult Patients With Newly Diagnosed Supratentorial Glioblastoma Multiforme

A Phase 2 study testing bleomycin, Ommaya reservoir and radiation therapy in people with Brain and Central Nervous System Tumors, run by Radiation Therapy Oncology Group at 13 sites in United States.

Terminated

Stopped early. The study ended before it was planned to and will not resume.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

RATIONALE: Radiation therapy uses high-energy x-rays to damage tumor cells. Drugs used in chemotherapy use different ways to stop tumor cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. Combining radiation therapy with chemotherapy may kill more tumor cells. Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Ages 18 years and older
Conditions the study is for
Brain and Central Nervous System Tumors
What is being tested?
bleomycin, Ommaya reservoir and radiation therapy
Could I receive a placebo?
No, everyone receives an active treatment
How many people
19 participants
Where
13 sitesUnited States
Study dates
Jun 2001to Dec 2005
Phase
Phase 2
Are there results?
Yes, posted in the registrySummary in the doctors' view

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages 18 years and older
  • All sexes
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Adult, Older adult

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS:

  • Histologically confirmed supratentorial glioblastoma multiforme (with areas of necrosis) by surgical biopsy or excision within 4 weeks of study
  • Tumor and/or any associated edema limited to one hemisphere and unifocal
  • No gross invasion of a ventricular surface
  • Tumor accessible
  • No other astrocytoma
  • No multifocal or recurrent malignant glioma
  • No disease below the tentorium or beyond the cranial vault

PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS:

Age:

  • Adult

Performance status:

  • Zubrod 0-1

Life expectancy:

  • At least 8 weeks

Hematopoietic:

  • Hemoglobin at least 10 g/dL (transfusion allowed)
  • Absolute neutrophil count at least 1,500/mm^3
  • Platelet count at least 100,000/mm^3

Hepatic:

  • Bilirubin no greater than 2.0 mg/dL
  • Serum glutamic-oxaloacetic transaminase (SGOT) or Serum glutamic-pyruvic transaminase (SGPT) no greater than 2 times normal

Renal:

  • Blood Urea Nitrogen (BUN) no greater than 25 mg/dL
  • Creatinine no greater than 1.5 mg/dL

Other:

  • Not pregnant or nursing
  • Fertile patients must use effective contraception
  • No hypersensitive or idiosyncratic reaction to bleomycin
  • No other prior malignancies within the past 2 years except nonmelanomatous skin cancer or carcinoma in situ of the cervix or urinary bladder
  • No other major medical illness or psychiatric impairment that would preclude study participation

PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY:

Biologic therapy:

  • Not specified

Chemotherapy:

  • No prior chemotherapy for glioblastoma multiforme
  • No prior radiosensitizer for glioblastoma multiforme

Endocrine therapy:

  • Not specified

Radiotherapy:

  • No prior radiotherapy to the head or neck resulting in overlapping radiotherapy fields

Surgery:

  • See Disease Characteristics
  • Recovered from prior surgery

Trial locations and contacts

13 sites in 1 country.

13 sites in 1 country

United States13 sites
  • Markey Cancer Center at University of Kentucky Chandler Medical Center

    Lexington, Kentucky, 40536-0293

  • CCOP - Marshfield Clinic Research Foundation

    Marshfield, Wisconsin, 54449

  • South Jersey Regional Cancer Center

    Millville, New Jersey, 08332

  • Medical College of Wisconsin Cancer Center

    Milwaukee, Wisconsin, 53226

  • Fox Chase Virtua Health Cancer Program at Virtua Memorial Hospital

    Mount Holly, New Jersey, 08060

  • Cottonwood Hospital Medical Center

    Murray, Utah, 84107

  • Methodist Hospital Cancer Center at Nebraska Methodist Hospital - Omaha

    Omaha, Nebraska, 68114-4199

  • Foundation for Cancer Research and Education

    Phoenix, Arizona, 85013

  • Utah Valley Regional Medical Center - Provo

    Provo, Utah, 84604

  • LDS Hospital

    Salt Lake City, Utah, 84143

  • Dixie Regional Medical Center

    St. George, Utah, 84770

  • St. John Health System

    Tulsa, Oklahoma, 74104

  • Cancer Treatment Center

    Wooster, Ohio, 44691

Other trials in United States

About this study

Official title: A Phase II Trial Of Conventional Radiation Therapy Followed By Intratumoral Bleomycin Delivered Using A Refillable, Sustained Release Device (IND# 46,592) For The Treatment Of Supratentorial Glioblastoma

RATIONALE: Radiation therapy uses high-energy x-rays to damage tumor cells. Drugs used in chemotherapy use different ways to stop tumor cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. Combining radiation therapy with chemotherapy may kill more tumor cells.

PURPOSE: Phase II trial to study the effectiveness of radiation therapy followed by bleomycin in treating adult patients who have newly diagnosed supratentorial glioblastoma multiforme.

Read the detailed description

OBJECTIVES:

  • Determine the median survival time of patients with newly diagnosed supratentorial glioblastoma multiforme treated with radiotherapy followed by sustained release intratumoral bleomycin.
  • Determine the feasibility of this regimen in these patients.

OUTLINE: This is a multicenter study.

Within 4 weeks after surgical resection, patients receive radiotherapy daily 5 days a week for 6 weeks.

Within 2-6 weeks after completion of radiotherapy or at disease progression during radiotherapy, patients undergo surgical implantation of a modified Ommaya reservoir within the central area of the tumor. Patients then receive sustained release bleomycin intratumorally via the reservoir once a week for up to 2 years in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity.

Patients are followed every 3 months for 2 years, every 6 months for 2 years, and then annually thereafter.

PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 72 patients will be accrued for this study within 5 months.

Being tested
bleomycin, Ommaya reservoir, radiation therapy
Keywords
adult glioblastoma, adult giant cell glioblastoma, adult gliosarcoma
Medical subject headings
Central Nervous System Neoplasms, Glioblastoma, Gliosarcoma

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

  • bleomycinBiological

  • Ommaya reservoirDevice

  • radiation therapyRadiation

    60.0 Gy/30 fractions x 2.0 Gy. For the first 46 Gy/23 fractions the treatment volume should include the volume of contrast-enhancing lesion and surrounding edema on pre-operative CT/MRI scan plus a 2 centimeter margin. If no edema is present, the margin should be 2.5 cm. After 46.0 Gy, the tumor volume should include the contrast-enhancing lesion (without edema) on the pre-surgery MRI/CT scan plus a 2.5 centimeter margin.

Study groups in NCT00006916
Study groupRoleWhat they receive
Radiation therapy followed by bleomycin via Ommaya reservoirExperimental60.0 Gy/30 fractions x 2.0 Gy. Then within 2-6 weeks after completion of radiation therapy or at the time a patient experiences disease progression during or immediately after completion of radiation therapy, if clinically feasible, a modified Ommaya reservoir is implanted with the delivery catheter in the tumor or tumor cyst/cavity. Bleomycin, 15 units per week, is then given via the Ommaya reservoir without interruption for a maximum of two years as long as there is no toxicity above grade 3 or evidence of disease progression.
Receives: Biological: bleomycin; Device: Ommaya reservoir; Radiation: radiation therapy

What is being measured

The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.

  1. Overall Survival

    This study stopped accrual early with 19 subjects accrued out of 72 planned therefore no analyses were performed.

    Measured: From randomization to date of death or last follow-up. Analysis occurs after all patients have been potentially followed for 18 months.

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted27 Jan 2003 (estimated)
  2. Study startJun 2001
  3. Primary completionDec 2005
  4. Study completionDec 2005

Why it stopped: Low accrual

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Interventional
Phase
Phase 2
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Not applicable
Intervention model
Single group
Masking
None (open label)
Enrolment
19 participants (actual)
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT00006916
Sponsor's protocol ID
RTOG-BR-0013
Other IDs
CDR0000068343
Status last verified
Nov 2015
First submitted
6 Dec 2000
Last updated
26 Oct 2020
Data monitoring committee
Yes

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

A Phase 2 study testing bleomycin, Ommaya reservoir and radiation therapy in people with Brain and Central Nervous System Tumors, run by Radiation Therapy Oncology Group at 13 sites in United States.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Who may be eligible to take part?

Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: stopped early, as of the sponsor's last update on 26 Oct 2020. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

Where is the study taking place?

The record lists 13 sites in United States. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

What does this phase mean?

Phase 2 studies give the treatment to a larger group to see whether it has the intended effect and to keep checking safety.

Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.

Are results available for this study?

Yes. Results are posted in the registry (first posted 3 Feb 2014). A summary is in the For doctors view, and the full results are on ClinicalTrials.gov.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

What does the primary outcome measure?

Overall Survival (time frame: From randomization to date of death or last follow-up. Analysis occurs after all patients have been potentially followed for 18 months.). It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.

Where can I read the original study information?
Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 26 Oct 2020.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in