AzTrials
AzTrials

Unspecified Adult Solid Tumor, Protocol SpecificPhase 1NCT00008073

Octreotide and Doxorubicin in Treating Patients With Advanced Cancer

A Phase 1 study testing doxorubicin hydrochloride and octreotide acetate in people with Unspecified Adult Solid Tumor, Protocol Specific, run by University of Pittsburgh at 1 site in United States.

Completed

Finished. The study has ended and is not enrolling. Results may be posted on the official record.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy use different ways to stop tumor cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. Octreotide may help doxorubicin kill more cancer cells by making tumor cells more sensitive to the drug. Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Ages 18 years and older
What is being tested?
doxorubicin hydrochloride and octreotide acetate
How many people
Not given
Where
1 siteUnited States
Study dates
Jan 1996to May 2002
Phase
Phase 1
Are there results?
None posted in the registry

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages 18 years and older
  • All sexes
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Adult, Older adult

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS: Histologically confirmed malignancy ineligible for therapy of proven greater benefit than doxorubicin alone Measurable or evaluable disease

PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS: Age: 18 and over Performance status: ECOG 0-2 Life expectancy: Not specified Hematopoietic: WBC at least 3,500/mm3 Platelet count at least 100,000/mm3 Hepatic: Bilirubin no greater than 2 mg/dL SGOT no greater than 4 times normal Renal: Creatinine no greater than 2 mg/dL Cardiovascular: LVEF at least 50% No compensated or uncompensated congestive heart failure Other: Not pregnant Fertile patients must use effective contraception during and for 2 months after study No history of gallstones with gallbladder in place

PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY: Biologic therapy: Not specified Chemotherapy: See Disease Characteristics At least 3 weeks since prior chemotherapy (6 weeks for mitomycin or nitrosourea) and recovered No more than 240 mg/m2 total cumulative dose of prior doxorubicin Endocrine therapy: Prior octreotide allowed Recovered from prior octreotide Radiotherapy: At least 3 weeks since prior radiotherapy and recovered Surgery: Not specified

Trial locations and contacts

1 site in 1 country.

United States1 site
  • University of Pittsburgh Cancer Institute

    Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, 15213

Other trials in United States

About this study

Official title: Phase I Study Of Octreotide Acetate (Sandostatin) (SMS) As A Biomodulator Of Doxorubicin (DOX)

RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy use different ways to stop tumor cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. Octreotide may help doxorubicin kill more cancer cells by making tumor cells more sensitive to the drug.

PURPOSE: Phase I trial to study the effectiveness of octreotide and doxorubicin in treating patients who have advanced cancer.

Read the detailed description

OBJECTIVES: I. Determine the toxicity and maximum tolerated dose of octreotide administered with doxorubicin in patients with advanced cancer. II. Determine the pharmacokinetics and pharmacodynamics of this treatment regimen in these patients.

OUTLINE: This is a dose escalation study of octreotide. Patients receive doxorubicin IV over 5 minutes on day 1 of course 1. For all subsequent courses, patients receive octreotide SC continuously on days 1-7 and doxorubicin IV over 5 minutes on day 5. Treatment continues every 3 weeks in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity. Patients with stable or responsive disease after 3 courses of therapy receive a maximum of 6 additional courses. Cohorts of 3-6 patients receive escalating doses of octreotide until the maximum tolerated dose (MTD) is determined. The MTD is defined as the dose preceding that at which 2 of 6 patients experience dose limiting toxicity.

PROJECTED ACCRUAL: Approximately 21-30 patients will be accrued for this study.

Being tested
doxorubicin hydrochloride, octreotide acetate
Keywords
unspecified adult solid tumor, protocol specific

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted24 May 2004 (estimated)
  2. Study startJan 1996
  3. Primary completionMay 2002
  4. Study completionMay 2002

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Interventional
Phase
Phase 1
Primary purpose
Treatment
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT00008073
Sponsor's protocol ID
95-088
Other IDs
CDR0000068373, PCI-IRB-951264, NCI-G00-1886
Status last verified
Dec 2013
First submitted
6 Jan 2001
Last updated
19 Dec 2013
Results posted
No

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

A Phase 1 study testing doxorubicin hydrochloride and octreotide acetate in people with Unspecified Adult Solid Tumor, Protocol Specific, run by University of Pittsburgh at 1 site in United States.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Who may be eligible to take part?

Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: finished, as of the sponsor's last update on 19 Dec 2013. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

Where is the study taking place?

The record lists 1 site in United States. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

What does this phase mean?

Phase 1 studies test a treatment in a small group of people for the first time or in a new way, mainly to check safety and find the right dose.

Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.

Are results available for this study?

The study is completed, but results are not available in the source record. That does not mean the treatment did or did not work.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

Where can I read the original study information?
Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 19 Dec 2013.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in