AzTrials
AzTrials

LeukemiaPhase 2NCT00008151

Gemtuzumab Ozogamicin, Fludarabine, and Total-body Irradiation Followed by Peripheral Stem Cell or Bone Marrow Transplantation in Treating Patients With Advanced Acute Myeloid Leukemia or Myelodysplastic Syndrome

A Phase 2 study testing cyclosporine, fludarabine phosphate and gemtuzumab ozogamicin in people with Leukemia and Myelodysplastic Syndromes, run by Fred Hutchinson Cancer Center at 1 site in United States.

Completed

Finished. The study has ended and is not enrolling. Results may be posted on the official record.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

RATIONALE: Monoclonal antibodies such as gemtuzumab ozogamicin can locate cancer cells and either kill them or deliver cancer-killing substances to them without harming normal cells. Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Any age
Conditions the study is for
Leukemia, Myelodysplastic Syndromes
What is being tested?
cyclosporine, fludarabine phosphate and gemtuzumab ozogamicin
Type of treatment
Surgery or procedure
How many people
Not given
Where
1 siteUnited States
Study dates
Oct 2000to Jul 2002
Phase
Phase 2
Are there results?
None posted in the registry

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages Any age
  • All sexes
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Child, Adult, Older adult

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS: Diagnosis of recurrent or refractory acute myeloid leukemia CD33 positive Greater than 5% morphologically identified blasts in the marrow OR Diagnosis of myelodysplastic syndrome CD33 positive Greater than 5% morphologically identified blasts in the marrow (refractory anemia with excess blasts (RAEB) and RAEB in transformation) Must have donor who meets the following criteria: HLA-A, B, C, DRB1 and DQB1 identical or mismatched for no more than 1 allelic or cross-reactive antigen Under 75 years of age

PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS: Age: Any age Performance status: Not specified Life expectancy: Not specified Hematopoietic: WBC no greater than 30,000/mm3 (leukophereses or hydroxyurea allowed) Hepatic: Bilirubin no greater than 2 times upper limit of normal No synthetic dysfunction No severe cirrhosis Renal: Not specified Cardiovascular: No symptomatic coronary artery disease No cardiac failure requiring therapy Pulmonary: DLCO at least 35% OR Receiving supplementary continuous oxygen Other: No uncontrolled infection No other diseases that would severely limit life expectancy Not pregnant or nursing Fertile patients must use effective contraception during and for 1 year after study

PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY: No post-transplant growth factors during and for 1 month after mycophenolate mofetil administration

Trial locations and contacts

1 site in 1 country.

United States1 site
  • Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center

    Seattle, Washington, 98109-1024

Other trials in United States

About this study

Official title: Gemtuzumab Ozogamicin (GO), Fludarabine, And Low-Dose TBI Followed By Donor Stem Cell Transplantation For Patients With Advanced Acute Myeloid Leukemia Or Myelodysplastic Syndrome

RATIONALE: Monoclonal antibodies such as gemtuzumab ozogamicin can locate cancer cells and either kill them or deliver cancer-killing substances to them without harming normal cells. Peripheral stem cell or bone marrow transplantation may be able to replace immune cells that were destroyed by chemotherapy and radiation therapy used to kill cancer cells.

PURPOSE: Phase II trial to study the effectiveness of gemtuzumab ozogamicin combined with fludarabine and total-body irradiation followed by donor peripheral stem cell or bone marrow transplantation in treating patients who have advanced acute myeloid leukemia or myelodysplastic syndrome.

Read the detailed description

OBJECTIVES: I. Determine the response and disease-free survival at 1 year of patients with advanced acute myeloid leukemia or myelodysplastic syndrome treated with gemtuzumab ozogamicin, fludarabine, and total body irradiation followed by allogeneic peripheral blood stem cell or bone marrow transplantation with cyclosporine and mycophenolate mofetil. II. Determine the leukemic blast clearance from the blood and marrow in these patients treated with this regimen. III. Determine the safety and pharmacokinetics of gemtuzumab ozogamicin as part of this regimen in these patients. IV. Determine the incidence of donor stem cell engraftment in these patients. V. Determine the incidence and severity of graft-versus-host disease in these patients treated with this regimen. VI. Determine whether donor lymphocyte infusion can be safely used in the patients with mixed or full donor chimerism to eliminate persistent or progressive disease.

OUTLINE: Patients receive gemtuzumab ozogamicin IV over 2 hours on days -21 (first 5 patients) or -14 (subsequent patients) and -7, and fludarabine IV over 2 hours on days -4 to -2. Patients undergo total body irradiation followed by infusion of allogeneic peripheral blood stem cells or bone marrow on day 0. Patients receive oral or IV cyclosporine 2-3 times daily on days -3 to 56 (if related donor) or 100 (if unrelated donor) and oral or IV mycophenolate mofetil twice daily on days 0 to 27 (if related donor) or 40 (if unrelated donor). Patients receive 2 doses of intrathecal methotrexate prior to transplant and an additional 4 doses after transplant. Patients with cerebral spinal fluid (CSF) positive for malignant cells instead receive intrathecal cytarabine, methotrexate and hydrocortisone prior to transplant twice weekly until CSF blasts clear. Patients with persistent or recurrent disease after transplant may receive up to 3 donor lymphocyte infusions if graft-versus-host disease is less than grade II and they have greater than 5% donor CD3 cells. Patients are followed at 6 months and then annually thereafter.

PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 20-40 patients will be accrued for this study within 1-2 years.

Keywords
recurrent childhood acute myeloid leukemia, recurrent adult acute myeloid leukemia, refractory anemia with excess blasts, refractory anemia with excess blasts in transformation, de novo myelodysplastic syndromes, previously treated myelodysplastic syndromes, secondary myelodysplastic syndromes, childhood myelodysplastic syndromes
Medical subject headings
Leukemia, Myelodysplastic Syndromes, Leukemia, Myeloid, Acute, Anemia, Refractory, with Excess of Blasts

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted25 Mar 2004 (estimated)
  2. Study startOct 2000
  3. Primary completionJul 2002
  4. Study completionJul 2002

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Interventional
Phase
Phase 2
Primary purpose
Treatment
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT00008151
Sponsor's protocol ID
1555.00
Other IDs
FHCRC-1555.00, NCI-G00-1900, CDR0000068383+
Status last verified
Mar 2010
First submitted
6 Jan 2001
Last updated
2 Apr 2010
Results posted
No

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

A Phase 2 study testing cyclosporine, fludarabine phosphate and gemtuzumab ozogamicin in people with Leukemia and Myelodysplastic Syndromes, run by Fred Hutchinson Cancer Center at 1 site in United States.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: finished, as of the sponsor's last update on 2 Apr 2010. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

Where is the study taking place?

The record lists 1 site in United States. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

What does this phase mean?

Phase 2 studies give the treatment to a larger group to see whether it has the intended effect and to keep checking safety.

Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.

Are results available for this study?

The study is completed, but results are not available in the source record. That does not mean the treatment did or did not work.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

Where can I read the original study information?
Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 2 Apr 2010.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in