AzTrials
AzTrials

Multiple Myeloma and Plasma Cell NeoplasmPhase 3NCT00008229

Melphalan With or Without Holmium Ho 166 DOTMP Followed by Peripheral Stem Cell Transplantation in Treating Patients With Multiple Myeloma

A Phase 3 study testing filgrastim, melphalan and peripheral blood stem cell transplantation in people with Multiple Myeloma and Plasma Cell Neoplasm, run by Fred Hutchinson Cancer Center at 1 site in United States.

Completed

Finished. The study has ended and is not enrolling. Results may be posted on the official record.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy use different ways to stop tumor cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. Radioactive drugs such as holmium Ho 166 DOTMP can kill cancer cells without harming healthy cells. Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Ages 18 to 70 years
What is being tested?
filgrastim, melphalan and peripheral blood stem cell transplantation
Type of treatment
Surgery or procedure
How many people
Not given
Where
1 siteUnited States
Study dates
Aug 2000to Sep 2001
Phase
Phase 3
Are there results?
None posted in the registry

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages 18 to 70 years
  • All sexes
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Adult, Older adult

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS: Newly diagnosed multiple myeloma (diagnosis within 12 months of study) and scheduled to undergo autologous peripheral blood stem cell transplantation Prior diagnosis of monoclonal gammopathy of undetermined significance (MGUS) or smoldering myeloma (SMM) allowed if the criteria for diagnosis of multiple myeloma was met within 12 months of study Serum or urinary M-protein confirmation of diagnosis (IgA, IgD, IgG, IgE, or light chain proteins) At least 10% plasma cells in bone marrow Must have received induction therapy without disease progression or relapse after initial response Prior induction therapy must have been completed no more than 6 months before stem cell collection and no more than 9 months before transplantation Must have undergone stem cell mobilization with cyclophosphamide IV and filgrastim (G-CSF) The following diagnoses are excluded: Non-secretory multiple myeloma IgM myeloma Solitary bone or extramedullary plasmacytoma Symptomatic MGUS or SMM Symptomatic indolent multiple myeloma

PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS: Age: 18 to 70 Performance status: ECOG 0-2 Life expectancy: Not specified Hematopoietic: See Disease Characteristics Hepatic: Bilirubin no greater than 2 mg/dL SGPT no greater than 2 times upper limit of normal No clinical evidence of amyloidosis involving the liver Renal: Creatinine no greater than 2.0 mg/dL Creatinine clearance at least 30 mL/min No clinical evidence of amyloidosis involving the kidney Cardiovascular: LVEF at least 50% No evidence of amyloidosis on echocardiogram No uncontrolled arrhythmia No symptomatic cardiac disease Pulmonary: FEV1 at least 60% OR FVC at least 60% OR DLCO at least 60% No symptomatic pulmonary disease No clinical evidence of amyloidosis involving the lungs Other: HIV negative No cord compression No other concurrent illness that would preclude survival No clinical evidence of amyloidosis involving the autonomic nervous system or gastrointestinal tract No known allergy to vitamin C Not pregnant or nursing Negative pregnancy test Fertile patients must use effective contraception

PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY: Biologic therapy: See Disease Characteristics No prior thalidomide for myeloma No prior peripheral blood stem cell or bone marrow transplantation No concurrent thalidomide No concurrent interferon Chemotherapy: See Disease Characteristics No prior clarithromycin for myeloma No more than 2 courses of prior induction therapy containing an alkylating agent Endocrine therapy: No concurrent dexamethasone Radiotherapy: No prior radiotherapy to more than 20% of bone marrow No greater than 30 Gy to the spinal cord Surgery: Not specified Other: At least 28 days since prior bisphosphonates No prior new or experimental agents for myeloma No concurrent experimental therapies No concurrent bisphosphonates

Trial locations and contacts

1 site in 1 country.

United States1 site
  • Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center

    Seattle, Washington, 98109

Other trials in United States

About this study

Official title: A Phase III Multicenter, Randomized, Open-Label Trial Evaluating High Dose Melphalan Plus Holmium-166-DOTMP Versus High Dose Melphalan Alone When Given In Conjuction With Peripheral Blood Stem Cell Transplantation In Patients With Multiple Myeloma

RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy use different ways to stop tumor cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. Radioactive drugs such as holmium Ho 166 DOTMP can kill cancer cells without harming healthy cells. Peripheral stem cell transplantation may be able to replace immune cells that were destroyed by chemotherapy or radiation therapy used to kill tumor cells.

PURPOSE: Randomized phase III trial to compare the effectiveness of melphalan with or without holmium Ho 166 DOTMP followed by peripheral stem cell transplantation in treating patients who have multiple myeloma.

Read the detailed description

OBJECTIVES: I. Compare the efficacy of melphalan with or without holmium Ho 166 DOTMP followed by autologous peripheral blood stem cell transplantation in patients with multiple myeloma. II. Compare the response rate and overall survival of these patients treated with these regimens. III. Compare the hematologic recovery rate and time to granulocyte engraftment of these patients treated with these regimens. IV. Compare the toxicity of these regimens in this patient population.

OUTLINE: This is a randomized, open label, multicenter study. Patients are stratified according to their beta 2 microglobulin (B2M) test at initial diagnosis (B2M no greater than 4 mg/L vs B2M greater than 4 mg/L vs unknown B2M). Patients are randomized to one of two treatment arms. Prior to stratification and randomization, patients receive a diagnostic dose of holmium Ho 166 DOTMP within days -31 to -10. Patients with adequate skeletal uptake of the diagnostic dose are randomized for therapy. Arm I: Patients receive holmium Ho 166 DOTMP IV over no more than 10 minutes within days -10 to -7 (at least 1 week and no more than 3 weeks after the diagnostic dose), melphalan IV over 20-30 minutes within days -3 to -1 (at least 24 hours prior to autologous peripheral blood stem cell (PBSC) transplantation), and autologous PBSC transplantation on day 0. Arm II: Patients receive melphalan and autologous PBSC transplantation as in arm I. Following transplantation, patients receive filgrastim (G-CSF) daily until blood counts recover. Patients are followed at 1 year, every 6 months for 3 years, and then annually thereafter.

PROJECTED ACCRUAL: Approximately 300 patients (150 per treatment arm) will be accrued for this study within 9 months.

Keywords
stage I multiple myeloma, stage II multiple myeloma, stage III multiple myeloma
Medical subject headings
Multiple Myeloma, Neoplasms, Plasma Cell

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted24 May 2004 (estimated)
  2. Study startAug 2000
  3. Study completionSep 2001

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Interventional
Phase
Phase 3
Primary purpose
Treatment
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT00008229
Sponsor's protocol ID
1542.00
Other IDs
FHCRC-1542.00, NEORX-9902, UCLA-0006110, NCI-G00-1892, CDR0000068389
Status last verified
Sep 2010
First submitted
6 Jan 2001
Last updated
21 Sep 2010
Results posted
No

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

A Phase 3 study testing filgrastim, melphalan and peripheral blood stem cell transplantation in people with Multiple Myeloma and Plasma Cell Neoplasm, run by Fred Hutchinson Cancer Center at 1 site in United States.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Who may be eligible to take part?

Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: finished, as of the sponsor's last update on 21 Sep 2010. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

Where is the study taking place?

The record lists 1 site in United States. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

What does this phase mean?

Phase 3 studies compare the treatment with the current standard treatment or a placebo in a large group, to confirm how well it works and watch for side effects.

Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.

Are results available for this study?

The study is completed, but results are not available in the source record. That does not mean the treatment did or did not work.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

Where can I read the original study information?
Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 21 Sep 2010.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in