AzTrials
AzTrials

Breast CancerPhase 3NCT00010140

Epirubicin and Tamoxifen With or Without Docetaxel in Treating Postmenopausal Women With Breast Cancer

A Phase 3 study testing docetaxel, epirubicin hydrochloride and tamoxifen citrate in people with Breast Cancer, run by International Collaborative Cancer Group at 1 site in United Kingdom.

Unknown status

Status not confirmed. The sponsor has not verified this record for over two years, so it may be out of date.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy use different ways to stop tumor cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. Hormone therapy using tamoxifen may fight breast cancer by blocking the uptake of estrogen by the tumor cells. Combining chemotherapy with hormone therapy may kill more tumor cells. Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Any age, women only
Conditions the study is for
Breast Cancer
What is being tested?
docetaxel, epirubicin hydrochloride and tamoxifen citrate
Type of treatment
Surgery or procedure
How many people
Not given
Where
1 siteUnited Kingdom
Study dates
Aug 1997to not given
Phase
Phase 3
Are there results?
None posted in the registry

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages Any age
  • Women only
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Child, Adult, Older adult

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS:

  • Histologically proven node-positive breast cancer
  • Postmenopausal
  • Last menstrual period more than 12 months before initial surgery OR
  • Any age with prior bilateral oophorectomy OR
  • Age 50 or over with prior hysterectomy without oophorectomy (unrelated to malignancy)
  • No distant metastases
  • Hormone receptor status:
  • Not specified

PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS:

Age:

  • See Disease Characteristics

Sex:

  • Female

Menopausal status:

  • See Disease Characteristics

Performance status:

  • WHO (ECOG) 0-1

Life expectancy:

  • Not specified

Hematopoietic:

  • WBC at least 3,000/mm3 OR
  • Absolute neutrophil count at least 1,500/mm3
  • Platelet count at least 100,000/mm3

Hepatic:

  • Bilirubin normal
  • SGOT and SGPT no greater than 1.5 times normal
  • Alkaline phosphatase no greater than 1.5 times normal

Renal:

  • Creatinine less than 1.5 times normal

Cardiovascular:

  • No history of significant angina, congestive heart failure, or myocardial infarction within the past year
  • No clinically significant arrhythmias or uncontrolled hypertension
  • LVEF normal by MUGA, LV gated scan, or echocardiogram

Other:

  • No other concurrent serious illness
  • No other prior or concurrent malignancy except adequately treated squamous cell or basal cell skin cancer or carcinoma in situ of the cervix

PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY:

Biologic therapy:

  • Not specified

Chemotherapy:

  • Not specified

Endocrine therapy:

  • Not specified

Radiotherapy:

  • Not specified

Surgery:

  • See Disease Characteristics

Trial locations and contacts

1 site in 1 country.

United Kingdom1 site
  • Charing Cross Hospital

    London, England, W12 0NN

Other trials in United Kingdom

About this study

Official title: A Multicenter Randomized Trial of Sequential Epirubicin and Docetaxel Versus Epirubicin in Node Positive Postmenopausal Breast Cancer Patients

RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy use different ways to stop tumor cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. Hormone therapy using tamoxifen may fight breast cancer by blocking the uptake of estrogen by the tumor cells. Combining chemotherapy with hormone therapy may kill more tumor cells.

PURPOSE: Randomized phase III trial to compare the effectiveness of epirubicin and tamoxifen with or without docetaxel in treating postmenopausal women who have breast cancer that has spread to the lymph nodes.

Read the detailed description

OBJECTIVES:

  • Compare the impact of adjuvant epirubicin with or without docetaxel and concurrent or sequential tamoxifen on time to relapse and overall survival in postmenopausal women with node-positive breast cancer.
  • Compare the toxic effects of these regimens in this patient population.
  • Compare the quality of life in terms of shift in long term toxicity and differences in recuperation in women treated with these regimens.
  • Compare the incidence of thromboembolic events during the first 9 months of study and the influence of such events on compliance in women treated with these regimens.

OUTLINE: This is a randomized, multicenter study. Patients are stratified according to participating center. Patients are randomized to one of two adjuvant chemotherapy treatment arms within 30 days after surgery.

  • Arm I: Patients receive adjuvant epirubicin IV on days 1 and 8. Treatment continues every 28 days for 6 courses.
  • Arm II: Patients receive adjuvant epirubicin IV on days 1 and 8. Treatment continues every 28 days for 3 courses. Patients then receive docetaxel IV over 1 hour on day 1. Treatment continues every 21 days for 3 courses.

Patients may be further randomized to one of two tamoxifen arms. Patients not randomized to the tamoxifen arms receive oral tamoxifen daily for 5 years concurrently with adjuvant chemotherapy.

  • Arm I: Patients receive tamoxifen as above concurrently with adjuvant chemotherapy.
  • Arm II: Patients receive sequential tamoxifen as above after completion of adjuvant chemotherapy.

Quality of life is assessed at baseline, 9 months, 2 years, and then at 5 years.

Patients are followed at 9 months, 1 year, every 4 months for 1 year, every 6 months for 2 years, and then annually thereafter.

PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 800 patients will be accrued for this study.

Conditions
Breast Cancer
Being tested
docetaxel, epirubicin hydrochloride, tamoxifen citrate, adjuvant therapy
Keywords
stage II breast cancer, stage IIIA breast cancer, stage IIIB breast cancer, stage IIIC breast cancer
Medical subject headings
Breast Neoplasms

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

What is being measured

The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.

  1. Disease-free survival

  2. Overall survival

  3. Incidence of thromboembolic events during the first 9 months after randomization

Secondary outcomes (2)
  1. Tolerability

  2. Quality of life

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted27 Jan 2003 (estimated)
  2. Study startAug 1997

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Interventional
Phase
Phase 3
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Randomised
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT00010140
Sponsor's protocol ID
CDR0000068450
Other IDs
ICCG-C/14/96, EU-20040
Status last verified
Sep 2005
First submitted
2 Feb 2001
Last updated
18 Dec 2013
Results posted
No

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

A Phase 3 study testing docetaxel, epirubicin hydrochloride and tamoxifen citrate in people with Breast Cancer, run by International Collaborative Cancer Group at 1 site in United Kingdom.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: status not confirmed, as of the sponsor's last update on 18 Dec 2013. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

Where is the study taking place?

The record lists 1 site in United Kingdom. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

What does this phase mean?

Phase 3 studies compare the treatment with the current standard treatment or a placebo in a large group, to confirm how well it works and watch for side effects.

Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.

Are results available for this study?

Results are not available in the source record.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

What does the primary outcome measure?

Disease-free survival. The study lists 3 primary outcomes in all. It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.

Where can I read the original study information?
Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 18 Dec 2013.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in