AzTrials
AzTrials

Prostate CancerPhase 3NCT00010244

Comparison of Radiation Therapy Regimens in Treating Patients With Localized Prostate Cancer

A Phase 3 study testing radiation therapy in people with Prostate Cancer, run by UNICANCER at 19 sites in France.

Completed

Finished. The study has ended and is not enrolling. Results may be posted on the official record.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

RATIONALE: Radiation therapy uses high-energy x-rays to damage tumor cells. It is not yet known which regimen of radiation therapy is more effective for prostate cancer. PURPOSE: Randomized phase III trial to compare the effectiveness of different regimens of radiation therapy in treating patients who have localized… Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Ages 0 to 74 years, men only
Conditions the study is for
Prostate Cancer
What is being tested?
radiation therapy
Type of treatment
Surgery or procedure
How many people
306 participants
Where
19 sitesFrance
Study dates
Sep 1999to Mar 2018
Phase
Phase 3
Are there results?
None posted in the registry

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages 0 to 74 years
  • Men only
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Child, Adult, Older adult

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS: Localized prostate cancer: T2a-T3a OR T1b or T1c with PSA at least 10 ng/mL OR T1b or T1c with Gleason score 7-10 No T3b or T4; positive biopsy of nodal excision N0, or any N with bilateral removal and the estimated risk of nodal invasion is at least 10% M0 (by bone scintograph and chest x-ray) PSA less than 50 ng/mL

PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS: Age: Under 75 Performance status: WHO 0-1 Life expectancy: At least 10 years Hematopoietic: Not specified Hepatic: Not specified Renal: Not specified Other: No other prior invasive malignancy within the past 5 years except basal cell carcinoma No social, familial, or geographic obstacles that would preclude study

PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY: Biologic therapy: No prior biologic therapy No concurrent biologic therapy Chemotherapy: No prior chemotherapy No concurrent chemotherapy Endocrine therapy: No prior hormonal therapy including adjuvant therapy No concurrent hormonal therapy Radiotherapy: No prior pelvic radiotherapy Surgery: No prior radical anterior prostatectomy for cancer No prior castration

Trial locations and contacts

19 sites in 1 country.

19 sites in 1 country

France19 sites
  • Hopital Saint Andre

    Bordeaux, 33075

  • Centre de Lute Contre le Cancer,Georges-Francois Leclerc

    Dijon, 21079

  • Centre Leon Berard

    Lyon, 69373

  • Institut J. Paoli and I. Calmettes

    Marseille, 13273

  • Hopital Notre-Dame de Bon Secours

    Metz, 55038

  • Centre Regional de Lutte Contre le Cancer - Centre Val d'Aurelle

    Montpellier, 34298

  • CRLCC Nantes - Atlantique

    Nantes-Saint Herblain, 44805

  • Centre Antoine Lacassagne

    Nice, 06189

  • Institut Curie - Section Medicale

    Paris, 75248

  • CHU Pitie-Salpetriere

    Paris, 75651

  • Hopital Jules Courmont - Centre Hospitalier Lyon Sud

    Pierre-Bénite, 69495

  • Hopital Jean Bernard

    Poitiers, 86021

  • Institut Jean Godinot

    Reims, 51056

  • Centre Eugene Marquis

    Rennes, 35064

  • Centre Henri Becquerel

    Rouen, 76038

  • Institut Claudius Regaud

    Toulouse, 31052

  • Centre Hospitalier Universitaire Bretonneau de Tours

    Tours, 37044

  • Centre Alexis Vautrin

    Vandœuvre-lès-Nancy, 54511

  • Institut Gustave Roussy

    Villejuif, F-94805

Other trials in France

About this study

Official title: Conformational, Curative Ratiotherapy For Prostate Cancer (NO, N-): Phase III Multicenter Study Of The Contribution To Survival Without Clinical Or Biological Change With A Dose Variation Of 15% (80 Gy VS 70 Gy)

RATIONALE: Radiation therapy uses high-energy x-rays to damage tumor cells. It is not yet known which regimen of radiation therapy is more effective for prostate cancer.

PURPOSE: Randomized phase III trial to compare the effectiveness of different regimens of radiation therapy in treating patients who have localized prostate cancer.

Read the detailed description

OBJECTIVES: I. Compare the 5-year survival rate, in terms of clinical and biological remission, in patients with localized prostate cancer treated with two different radiotherapy regimens using different doses and number of fractions. II. Compare the nadir of PSA and the delay in obtaining the nadir in patients treated with these two regimens. III. Compare acute and long-term toxicity of these two regimens in these patients. IV. Compare overall survival and quality of life in patients treated with these two regimens.

OUTLINE: This is a randomized, multicenter study. Patients are stratified according to participating center. Patients are randomized to 1 of 2 treatment arms. Arm I: Patients receive radiotherapy to the seminal vesicles at 46 Gy in 23 fractions and to the prostate at 70 Gy in 35 fractions, with 5 fractions per week. Arm II: Patients receive radiotherapy to the seminal vesicles as in arm I and to the prostate at 80 Gy in 40 fractions, with 5 fractions per week. Treatment continues in both arms in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity. Quality of life is assessed annually. Patients are followed every 4 months for a minimum of 5 years.

PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 306 patients (153 per arm) will be accrued for this study within 2.5 years.

Conditions
Prostate Cancer
Being tested
radiation therapy
Keywords
stage IIB prostate cancer, stage IIA prostate cancer, stage III prostate cancer
Medical subject headings
Prostatic Neoplasms

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

  • radiation therapyRadiation

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted4 Feb 2004 (estimated)
  2. Study startSep 1999
  3. Primary completion20 Feb 2007
  4. Study completionMar 2018

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Interventional
Phase
Phase 3
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Randomised
Intervention model
Parallel groups
Masking
None (open label)
Enrolment
306 participants (actual)
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT00010244
Sponsor's protocol ID
UC-0160/9901
Other IDs
FRE-FNCLCC-PAC-GETUG-06-99001, EU-20037
Status last verified
Feb 2021
First submitted
2 Feb 2001
Last updated
21 Feb 2021
Results posted
No
Data monitoring committee
Yes
FDA-regulated drug
No
FDA-regulated device
No

Publications

  • Beckendorf V, Guerif S, Le Prise E, Cosset JM, Bougnoux A, Chauvet B, Salem N, Chapet O, Bourdain S, Bachaud JM, Maingon P, Hannoun-Levi JM, Malissard L, Simon JM, Pommier P, Hay M, Dubray B, Lagrange JL, Luporsi E, Bey P. 70 Gy versus 80 Gy in localized prostate cancer: 5-year results of GETUG 06 randomized trial. Int J Radiat Oncol Biol Phys. 2011 Jul 15;80(4):1056-63. doi: 10.1016/j.ijrobp.2010.03.049. Epub 2010 Dec 14.

    PubMed 21147514
  • Kim S, Kong JH, Lee Y, Lee JY, Kang TW, Kong TH, Kim MH, You SH. Dose-escalated radiotherapy for clinically localized and locally advanced prostate cancer. Cochrane Database Syst Rev. 2023 Mar 8;3(3):CD012817. doi: 10.1002/14651858.CD012817.pub2.

    PubMed 36884035

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

A Phase 3 study testing radiation therapy in people with Prostate Cancer, run by UNICANCER at 19 sites in France.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Who may be eligible to take part?

Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: finished, as of the sponsor's last update on 21 Feb 2021. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

Where is the study taking place?

The record lists 19 sites in France. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

What does this phase mean?

Phase 3 studies compare the treatment with the current standard treatment or a placebo in a large group, to confirm how well it works and watch for side effects.

Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.

Are results available for this study?

The study is completed, but results are not available in the source record. That does not mean the treatment did or did not work.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

Where can I read the original study information?

On the ClinicalTrials.gov record for NCT00010244, which also lists 2 linked publications.

Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 21 Feb 2021.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in