Lung CancerPhase 1NCT00014066
Photodynamic Therapy Plus Brachytherapy in Treating Patients With Lung Cancer
A Phase 1 study testing hematoporphyrin derivative and brachytherapy in people with Lung Cancer, run by Roswell Park Cancer Institute at 1 site in United States.
Trial summary
RATIONALE: Photodynamic therapy uses light and drugs that make cnacer cells more sensitive to light to kill tumor cells. Brachytherapy uses radiation to damage tumor cells. Photodynamic therapy combined with brachytherapy may kill more tumor cells. Read more about this study
- Who is it for?
- Ages 18 years and older
- Conditions the study is for
- Lung Cancer
- What is being tested?
- hematoporphyrin derivative and brachytherapy
- Type of treatment
- Surgery or procedure
- How many people
- Not given
- Where
- 1 siteUnited States
- Study dates
- Mar 1993to Feb 2004
- Phase
- Phase 1
- Are there results?
- None posted in the registry
Key requirements
Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.
- Ages 18 years and older
- All sexes
- No healthy volunteers
- Adult, Older adult
DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS: Histologically confirmed small cell or non-small cell primary lung cancer with symptomatic endobronchial lesion(s) partially or totally obstructing airway distal to the carina and accessible by endoscopy Recurrent disease following prior therapy and/or be ineligible for, or refuse, alternative standard therapy such as: Surgery External radiation therapy Chemotherapy High grade obstruction necessitating more rapid aeration and palliation than standard therapy can provide No evidence of encasement or extension of the tumor to the right or left major pulmonary vessels on CT of the chest No tumor involvement at trachea or carina
PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS: Age: 18 and over Performance status: ECOG 0-2 Life expectancy: Not specified Hematopoietic: WBC at least 4,000/mm3 Platelet count at least 100,000/mm3 Hepatic: Bilirubin less than 2 times the upper limit of normal SGOT/SGPT less than 2 times the upper limit of normal Renal: Creatinine no greater than 2.0 mg/dL Other: Not pregnant Adequate method of contraception required of all fertile patients Female fertile patients must have normal serum beta HCG Not eligible for standard therapy and/or other protocol therapy No hypersensitivity to DHE or other porphyrins Not concurrent photosensitizing drugs such as: Tetracycline Doxorubicin No contraindications to general anesthesia, including EKG abnormalities suggestive of acute ischemia
PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY: Biologic therapy: Not specified Chemotherapy: No chemotherapy within 3 weeks prior to study entry No doxorubicin within 8 weeks prior to study entry Endocrine therapy: Not specified Radiotherapy: Prior radiation therapy dose no higher than 75 Gy to proposed bronchial segment allowed No concurrent external brain radiation therapy Surgery: Not specified
Trial locations and contacts
1 site in 1 country.
United States1 site
Roswell Park Cancer Institute
Buffalo, New York, 14263-0001
About this study
Official title: A Phase I Study of Photodynamic Therapy (PDT) Combined With High Dose Rate (HDR) Brachytherapy for Patients With Obstructive Bronchogenic Carcinoma
RATIONALE: Photodynamic therapy uses light and drugs that make cnacer cells more sensitive to light to kill tumor cells. Brachytherapy uses radiation to damage tumor cells. Photodynamic therapy combined with brachytherapy may kill more tumor cells.
PURPOSE: Phase I trial to study the effectiveness of photodynamic therapy plus brachytherapy in treating patients with recurrent lung cancer that is blocking the lung passages.
Read the detailed description
OBJECTIVES: I. Determine the feasibility, toxicity, and effectiveness of combination therapy with Photofrin PDT and HDT brachytherapy in patients with endobronchial obstructions from lung cancer.
OUTLINE: This is not a randomized study. Photofrin solution is administered slowly as a bolus injection over 3-5 minutes on day 1. Bronchoscopy is performed under general anesthesia 48 hours after Photofrin injection. Light is transmitted from the laser to the tumor via quartz fiber optics (interstitial or surface PDT). Another bronchoscopy is performed 48 hours after PDT treatment to clean out any tissue debris left after PDT treatment. HDR brachytherapy is performed using prescribed dose of radiation for 5-10 minutes to designated positions. Repeat bronchoscopy is performed 3-4 weeks post HDR brachytherapy and a second HDR brachytherapy treatment may be given. Patients are followed every 3 months until death, or for 5 years.
PROJECTED ACCRUAL: 16 patients will be entered over 1.5 years.
- Conditions
- Lung Cancer
- Being tested
- hematoporphyrin derivative, brachytherapy
- Keywords
- stage I non-small cell lung cancer, recurrent non-small cell lung cancer, limited stage small cell lung cancer, recurrent small cell lung cancer, stage 0 non-small cell lung cancer
- Medical subject headings
- Lung Neoplasms, Carcinoma, Non-Small-Cell Lung, Small Cell Lung Carcinoma
What participants receive
What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.
hematoporphyrin derivativeDrug
brachytherapyRadiation
Timeline
From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.
- First posted4 Feb 2004 (estimated)
- Study startMar 1993
- Primary completionFeb 2004
Resources
- Official record on ClinicalTrials.govThe registry entry this page is built from, with its full change history.
- Other trials for Lung CancerStudies of the same condition, open and under way.
- More trials run by Roswell Park Cancer InstituteThe sponsor's other registered studies.
- What the trial phases meanHow a treatment moves from first tests in people to approval.
More details
For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.
Study design
- Study type
- Interventional
- Phase
- Phase 1
- Primary purpose
- Treatment
Sponsor and investigators
- Lead sponsor
- Roswell Park Cancer Institute
- Sponsor type
- University, hospital or other
- Investigators
- Gregory M. Loewen, DO, FCCP, Study chair, Roswell Park Cancer Institute
IDs, dates and publications
- ClinicalTrials.gov ID
- NCT00014066
- Sponsor's protocol ID
- DS 92-40
- Other IDs
- RPCI-DS-92-40, NCI-V97-1190
- Status last verified
- Feb 2013
- First submitted
- 10 Apr 2001
- Last updated
- 5 Feb 2013
- Results posted
- No
Study at a glance
From the registry record, last updated by the sponsor on 5 Feb 2013. Recruitment status is as the sponsor reported it: confirm with the study team.
- Official title
- A Phase I Study of Photodynamic Therapy (PDT) Combined With High Dose Rate (HDR) Brachytherapy for Patients With Obstructive Bronchogenic Carcinoma
- ClinicalTrials.gov ID
- NCT00014066
- Acronym / sponsor ID
- DS 92-40
- Conditions
- Lung Cancer
- Keywords
- stage I non-small cell lung cancer, recurrent non-small cell lung cancer, limited stage small cell lung cancer, recurrent small cell lung cancer, stage 0 non-small cell lung cancer
- Phase
- Phase 1
- Study type
- Interventional
- Recruitment status
- Completed
- Lead sponsor
- Roswell Park Cancer InstituteUniversity, hospital or other
- Study start
- Mar 1993
- Primary completion
- Feb 2004 (actual)
- First posted
- 4 Feb 2004 (estimated)
- Results
- Not posted in the source record
Clinical summary
The research question as the sponsor registered it. This describes what the study plans to test, not what it found.
RATIONALE: Photodynamic therapy uses light and drugs that make cnacer cells more sensitive to light to kill tumor cells. Brachytherapy uses radiation to damage tumor cells. Photodynamic therapy combined with brachytherapy may kill more tumor cells.
PURPOSE: Phase I trial to study the effectiveness of photodynamic therapy plus brachytherapy in treating patients with recurrent lung cancer that is blocking the lung passages.
Detailed description
OBJECTIVES: I. Determine the feasibility, toxicity, and effectiveness of combination therapy with Photofrin PDT and HDT brachytherapy in patients with endobronchial obstructions from lung cancer.
OUTLINE: This is not a randomized study. Photofrin solution is administered slowly as a bolus injection over 3-5 minutes on day 1. Bronchoscopy is performed under general anesthesia 48 hours after Photofrin injection. Light is transmitted from the laser to the tumor via quartz fiber optics (interstitial or surface PDT). Another bronchoscopy is performed 48 hours after PDT treatment to clean out any tissue debris left after PDT treatment. HDR brachytherapy is performed using prescribed dose of radiation for 5-10 minutes to designated positions. Repeat bronchoscopy is performed 3-4 weeks post HDR brachytherapy and a second HDR brachytherapy treatment may be given. Patients are followed every 3 months until death, or for 5 years.
PROJECTED ACCRUAL: 16 patients will be entered over 1.5 years.
Study design
- Primary purpose
- Treatment
Who may qualify
- Ages
- 18 years and older
- Sex
- All
- Healthy volunteers
- Not accepted
- Age groups
- Adult, Older adult
Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening; this overview does not establish that a patient qualifies. Full inclusion and exclusion criteria.
Interventions
| Intervention | Type | Arms |
|---|---|---|
| hematoporphyrin derivative | Drug | – |
| brachytherapy | Radiation | – |
Primary outcome
Not reported in the source record.
Results and safety
The study is completed, but results are not available in the source record. That does not mean the treatment did or did not work.
Research links
- Official record on ClinicalTrials.govLast updated by the sponsor 5 Feb 2013.
Related trials for Lung Cancer
RecruitingPhase 1/2
Study of INBRX-106 and INBRX-106 in Combination With Pembrolizumab (Keytruda®) in Subjects With Locally Advanced or Metastatic Solid Tumors (Hexavalent OX40 Agonist)
Solid Tumor, Non-Small Cell Lung Cancer
RecruitingObservational study
A Prospective ,Multicenter ,Non-interventional ,Real-world Study Observing Changes in Molecular Markers Osimertinib Targeted Therapy in EGFRm NSCLC
Non Small Cell Lung Cancer
Active, not recruiting
Streamlined Geriatric and Oncological Evaluation Based On IC Technology
Breast Cancer, Comorbidities and Coexisting Conditions
RecruitingPhase 3
A Study Evaluating Sotorasib Platinum Doublet Combination Versus Pembrolizumab Platinum Doublet Combination as a Front-Line Therapy in Participants With Stage IV or Advanced Stage IIIB/C Nonsquamous Non-Small Cell Lung Cancers (CodeBreaK 202)
Non-Small Cell Lung Cancer (NSCLC)
Active, not recruitingPhase 2
Datopotamab Deruxtecan (Dato-DXd, DS-1062a) in Advanced and/or Unresectable Non-Small Cell Lung Cancer
Metastatic Lung Cancer, Advanced Non Small Cell Lung Cancer
Referral and contact
AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals. Contact the study team or a site listed below; they decide who can take part. This study is not recruiting at the moment.
Gregory M. Loewen, DO, FCCP study chair
Roswell Park Cancer Institute
1 site in 1 country: see every site and its status.
Questions about this trial
What is this clinical trial studying?
A Phase 1 study testing hematoporphyrin derivative and brachytherapy in people with Lung Cancer, run by Roswell Park Cancer Institute at 1 site in United States.
The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.
Who may be eligible to take part?
Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.
Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?
The record says: finished, as of the sponsor's last update on 5 Feb 2013. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.
Where is the study taking place?
The record lists 1 site in United States. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.
What are the possible benefits and risks?
They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.
What does this phase mean?
Phase 1 studies test a treatment in a small group of people for the first time or in a new way, mainly to check safety and find the right dose.
Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.
Are results available for this study?
The study is completed, but results are not available in the source record. That does not mean the treatment did or did not work.
How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?
The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.
Where can I read the original study information?
Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?
No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.
How often is this information updated?
AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 5 Feb 2013.