LymphomaPhase 1NCT00016172
ZD0473 and Doxorubicin in Treating Patients With Advanced Solid Tumors or Lymphoma
A Phase 1 study testing pegylated liposomal doxorubicin hydrochloride and picoplatin in people with Lymphoma and Small Intestine Cancer, run by Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center at 1 site in United States.
Trial summary
RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy use different ways to stop tumor cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. Combining more than one drug may kill more cancer cells. PURPOSE: Phase I trial to study the effectiveness of combining ZD0473 and doxorubicin in treating patients who have advanced solid tumors or… Read more about this study
- Who is it for?
- Ages 18 years and older
- Conditions the study is for
- Lymphoma, Small Intestine Cancer, Unspecified Adult Solid Tumor, Protocol Specific
- What is being tested?
- pegylated liposomal doxorubicin hydrochloride and picoplatin
- How many people
- Not given
- Where
- 1 siteUnited States
- Study dates
- Nov 2000to Apr 2002
- Phase
- Phase 1
- Are there results?
- None posted in the registry
Key requirements
Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.
- Ages 18 years and older
- All sexes
- No healthy volunteers
- Adult, Older adult
DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS: Histologically confirmed advanced or metastatic solid tumors or lymphoma Refractory to standard curative therapy OR No curative therapy exists Serologically, clinically, and/or radiographically assessable disease No newly diagnosed brain metastases Intracranial disease that is stable for at least 6 months allowed
PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS: Age: 18 and over Performance status: ECOG 0-2 Life expectancy: Not specified Hematopoietic: Absolute granulocyte count at least 1,500/mm3 Platelet count at least 100,000/mm3 Hepatic: Bilirubin no greater than upper limit of normal (ULN) AST or ALT no greater than 2.0 times ULN Alkaline phosphatase no greater than 2.0 times ULN Renal: Creatinine no greater than ULN Creatinine clearance at least 60 mL/min Cardiovascular: Ejection fraction at least 50% Other: No underlying medical condition that would preclude study or that is uncontrolled No active serious infection No neurotoxicity or preexisting grade 3 or higher neuropathy Not pregnant or nursing Negative pregnancy test Fertile patients must use effective contraception
PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY: Biologic therapy: At least 5 days since prior immunotherapy Chemotherapy: At least 3 weeks since prior chemotherapy (6 weeks for nitrosoureas and similar compounds) No more than 3 prior chemotherapy regimens for metastatic disease No prior anthracycline exposure exceeding 300 mg/m2 doxorubicin No prior doxorubicin HCl liposome Endocrine therapy: At least 5 days since prior hormonal therapy Radiotherapy: At least 3 weeks since prior radiotherapy and recovered No prior radiotherapy to more than 30% of functioning bone marrow Surgery: At least 3 weeks since prior major surgery Other: No other concurrent experimental drugs No other concurrent anticancer therapy
Trial locations and contacts
1 site in 1 country.
United States1 site
Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center
New York, New York, 10021
About this study
Official title: A Phase I Study of ZD0473 and Doxil in Patients With Advanced Refractory Cancer
RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy use different ways to stop tumor cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. Combining more than one drug may kill more cancer cells.
PURPOSE: Phase I trial to study the effectiveness of combining ZD0473 and doxorubicin in treating patients who have advanced solid tumors or lymphoma.
Read the detailed description
OBJECTIVES: I. Determine the maximum tolerated dose of ZD0473 and doxorubicin HCl liposome in patients with advanced or metastatic solid tumors or lymphoma. II. Determine the qualitative and quantitative toxic effects of this regimen in this patient population. III. Determine the pharmacokinetics of these drugs in this patient population. IV. Determine the antitumor activity of this regimen in this patient population.
OUTLINE: This is a dose-escalation study. Patients receive doxorubicin HCl liposome IV over 60 minutes followed by ZD0473 IV over 60 minutes on day 1. Treatment repeats every 28 days for a maximum of 6 courses in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity. Patients with partial response (PR) or complete response (CR) may continue treatment until disease progression or until 2 courses after maximum response. Cohorts of 3-6 patients receive escalating doses of doxorubicin HCl liposome and ZD0473 until the maximum tolerated dose (MTD) is determined. The MTD is defined as the dose at which 2 of 3 or 3 of 6 patients experience dose-limiting toxicity. Patients are followed at 4 weeks and 3 months. Patients with PR or CR ongoing continue follow-up every 3 months until relapse.
PROJECTED ACCRUAL: Approximately 24 patients will be accrued for this study.
- Being tested
- pegylated liposomal doxorubicin hydrochloride, picoplatin
- Keywords
- stage III adult Hodgkin lymphoma, stage IV adult Hodgkin lymphoma, recurrent adult Hodgkin lymphoma, stage III cutaneous T-cell non-Hodgkin lymphoma, stage IV cutaneous T-cell non-Hodgkin lymphoma, recurrent cutaneous T-cell non-Hodgkin lymphoma, small intestine lymphoma, unspecified adult solid tumor, protocol specific, stage III grade 1 follicular lymphoma, stage III grade 2 follicular lymphoma, stage III grade 3 follicular lymphoma, stage III adult diffuse small cleaved cell lymphoma, stage III adult diffuse mixed cell lymphoma, stage III adult diffuse large cell lymphoma, stage III adult immunoblastic large cell lymphoma, stage III adult lymphoblastic lymphoma, stage III adult Burkitt lymphoma, stage IV grade 1 follicular lymphoma, stage IV grade 2 follicular lymphoma, stage IV grade 3 follicular lymphoma
- Medical subject headings
- Lymphoma, Hodgkin Disease, Lymphoma, T-Cell, Cutaneous, Lymphoma, Follicular, Lymphoma, Non-Hodgkin, Lymphoma, Large B-Cell, Diffuse, Lymphoma, Large-Cell, Immunoblastic, Precursor Cell Lymphoblastic Leukemia-Lymphoma
What participants receive
What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.
pegylated liposomal doxorubicin hydrochlorideDrug
picoplatinDrug
Timeline
From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.
- First posted16 Feb 2004 (estimated)
- Study startNov 2000
- Primary completionApr 2002
- Study completionApr 2002
Resources
- Official record on ClinicalTrials.govThe registry entry this page is built from, with its full change history.
- Other trials for LymphomaStudies of the same condition, open and under way.
- More trials run by Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer CenterThe sponsor's other registered studies.
- What the trial phases meanHow a treatment moves from first tests in people to approval.
More details
For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.
Study design
- Study type
- Interventional
- Phase
- Phase 1
- Primary purpose
- Treatment
Sponsor and investigators
- Lead sponsor
- Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center
- Sponsor type
- University, hospital or other
- Collaborators
- National Cancer Institute (NCI)
- Investigators
- David R. Spriggs, MD, Study chair, Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center
IDs, dates and publications
- ClinicalTrials.gov ID
- NCT00016172
- Sponsor's protocol ID
- 00-044
- Other IDs
- CDR0000068603, NCI-G01-1942
- Status last verified
- Jun 2013
- First submitted
- 6 May 2001
- Last updated
- 18 Jun 2013
- Results posted
- No
Study at a glance
From the registry record, last updated by the sponsor on 18 Jun 2013. Recruitment status is as the sponsor reported it: confirm with the study team.
- Official title
- A Phase I Study of ZD0473 and Doxil in Patients With Advanced Refractory Cancer
- ClinicalTrials.gov ID
- NCT00016172
- Acronym / sponsor ID
- 00-044
- Keywords
- stage III adult Hodgkin lymphoma, stage IV adult Hodgkin lymphoma, recurrent adult Hodgkin lymphoma, stage III cutaneous T-cell non-Hodgkin lymphoma, stage IV cutaneous T-cell non-Hodgkin lymphoma, recurrent cutaneous T-cell non-Hodgkin lymphoma, small intestine lymphoma, unspecified adult solid tumor, protocol specific
- Phase
- Phase 1
- Study type
- Interventional
- Recruitment status
- Completed
- Lead sponsor
- Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer CenterUniversity, hospital or other
- Collaborators
- National Cancer Institute (NCI)
- Study start
- Nov 2000
- Primary completion
- Apr 2002 (actual)
- Study completion
- Apr 2002 (actual)
- First posted
- 16 Feb 2004 (estimated)
- Results
- Not posted in the source record
Clinical summary
The research question as the sponsor registered it. This describes what the study plans to test, not what it found.
RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy use different ways to stop tumor cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. Combining more than one drug may kill more cancer cells.
PURPOSE: Phase I trial to study the effectiveness of combining ZD0473 and doxorubicin in treating patients who have advanced solid tumors or lymphoma.
Detailed description
OBJECTIVES: I. Determine the maximum tolerated dose of ZD0473 and doxorubicin HCl liposome in patients with advanced or metastatic solid tumors or lymphoma. II. Determine the qualitative and quantitative toxic effects of this regimen in this patient population. III. Determine the pharmacokinetics of these drugs in this patient population. IV. Determine the antitumor activity of this regimen in this patient population.
OUTLINE: This is a dose-escalation study. Patients receive doxorubicin HCl liposome IV over 60 minutes followed by ZD0473 IV over 60 minutes on day 1. Treatment repeats every 28 days for a maximum of 6 courses in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity. Patients with partial response (PR) or complete response (CR) may continue treatment until disease progression or until 2 courses after maximum response. Cohorts of 3-6 patients receive escalating doses of doxorubicin HCl liposome and ZD0473 until the maximum tolerated dose (MTD) is determined. The MTD is defined as the dose at which 2 of 3 or 3 of 6 patients experience dose-limiting toxicity. Patients are followed at 4 weeks and 3 months. Patients with PR or CR ongoing continue follow-up every 3 months until relapse.
PROJECTED ACCRUAL: Approximately 24 patients will be accrued for this study.
Study design
- Primary purpose
- Treatment
Who may qualify
- Ages
- 18 years and older
- Sex
- All
- Healthy volunteers
- Not accepted
- Age groups
- Adult, Older adult
Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening; this overview does not establish that a patient qualifies. Full inclusion and exclusion criteria.
Interventions
| Intervention | Type | Arms |
|---|---|---|
| pegylated liposomal doxorubicin hydrochloride | Drug | – |
| picoplatin | Drug | – |
Primary outcome
Not reported in the source record.
Results and safety
The study is completed, but results are not available in the source record. That does not mean the treatment did or did not work.
Research links
- Official record on ClinicalTrials.govLast updated by the sponsor 18 Jun 2013.
Related trials for Lymphoma
RecruitingPhase 2
Tafasitamab With Acalabrutinib and Venetoclax for the Treatment of Chronic Lymphocytic Leukemia/Small Lymphocytic Lymphoma
Chronic Lymphocytic Leukemia, Chronic Lymphocytic Leukemia/Small Lymphocytic Lymphoma
RecruitingPhase 2
Ibrutinib Combination Therapy in Transplant Ineligible Individuals With Newly Diagnosed Primary CNS Lymphoma
Non-hodgkin Lymphoma
RecruitingObservational study
Blood, Urine, and Tissue Collection for Cutaneous Lymphoma, Eczema, and Atopic Dermatitis Research
Cutaneous T-cell Lymphoma, Sezary Syndrome
Not yet recruitingPhase 1
Testing the Addition of an Anti-Cancer Drug, Glofitamab, to the Usual Chemotherapy Treatment (Alternating R-CHOP/R-DHAP) for Previously Untreated Mantle Cell Lymphoma
Ann Arbor Stage II Mantle Cell Lymphoma, Ann Arbor Stage III Mantle Cell Lymphoma
Active, not recruitingPhase 2
Brentuximab Vedotin and Combination Chemotherapy in Treating Patients With CD30-Positive Peripheral T-cell Lymphoma
Adult T-Cell Leukemia/Lymphoma, Anaplastic Large Cell Lymphoma, ALK-Negative
Referral and contact
AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals. Contact the study team or a site listed below; they decide who can take part. This study is not recruiting at the moment.
David R. Spriggs, MD study chair
Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center
1 site in 1 country: see every site and its status.
Questions about this trial
What is this clinical trial studying?
A Phase 1 study testing pegylated liposomal doxorubicin hydrochloride and picoplatin in people with Lymphoma and Small Intestine Cancer, run by Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center at 1 site in United States.
The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.
Who may be eligible to take part?
Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.
Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?
The record says: finished, as of the sponsor's last update on 18 Jun 2013. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.
Where is the study taking place?
The record lists 1 site in United States. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.
What are the possible benefits and risks?
They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.
What does this phase mean?
Phase 1 studies test a treatment in a small group of people for the first time or in a new way, mainly to check safety and find the right dose.
Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.
Are results available for this study?
The study is completed, but results are not available in the source record. That does not mean the treatment did or did not work.
How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?
The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.
Where can I read the original study information?
Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?
No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.
How often is this information updated?
AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 18 Jun 2013.