Liver CancerPhase 2NCT00019604
Radiofrequency Ablation in Treating Patients With Unresectable Primary or Metastatic Liver Cancer
A Phase 2 study testing computed tomography, magnetic resonance imaging and positron emission tomography in people with Liver Cancer and Metastatic Cancer, run by National Institutes of Health Clinical Center (CC) at 1 site in United States.
Trial summary
RATIONALE: Radiofrequency ablation is a procedure that heats tumors to several degrees above body temperature and may kill tumor cells. PURPOSE: Phase II trial to study the effectiveness of radiofrequency ablation in treating patients who have unresectable primary or metastatic liver cancer. Read more about this study
- Who is it for?
- Ages 18 years and older
- Conditions the study is for
- Liver Cancer, Metastatic Cancer, Unspecified Adult Solid Tumor, Protocol Specific
- What is being tested?
- computed tomography, magnetic resonance imaging and positron emission tomography
- Type of treatment
- Injection or infusion, Surgery or procedure
- Could I receive a placebo?
- No, everyone receives an active treatment
- How many people
- 44 participants
- Where
- 1 siteUnited States
- Study dates
- Aug 1998to Jan 2009
- Phase
- Phase 2
- Are there results?
- Yes, posted in the registrySummary in the doctors' view
Key requirements
Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.
- Ages 18 years and older
- All sexes
- No healthy volunteers
- Adult, Older adult
DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS:
- Histologically confirmed primary or metastatic liver lesions
- Not a candidate for surgical resection
- Must have six or fewer lesions and no single lesion greater than 7 cm in diameter
- Extrahepatic disease allowed
PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS:
Age:
- 18 and over
Performance status:
- Eastern Cooperative Oncology Group (ECOG) 0-2
Life expectancy:
- At least 3 months
Hematopoietic:
- Platelet count at least 50,000/mm^3
- Prothrombin time (PT) or partial thromboplastin time (PTT) no greater than 1.5 times control (except for therapeutically anticoagulated nonrelated medical conditions [e.g., atrial fibrillation])
Hepatic:
- Bilirubin no greater than 3.0 mg/dL
Renal:
- Creatinine no greater than 2.5 mg/dL
Other:
- Not pregnant or nursing
- Negative pregnancy test
- No pacemakers, cerebral aneurysm clips, shrapnel injury, or implantable electronic devices
- No known uncontrollable serious reactions (e.g., anaphylaxis) to contrast agents used in this study
- Weight less than 136 kg
PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY:
Biologic therapy:
- Not specified
Chemotherapy:
- Not specified
Endocrine therapy:
- Not specified
Radiotherapy:
- Not specified
Surgery:
- Not specified
Other:
- Concurrent systemic therapy for extrahepatic disease is allowed only if begun prior to radiofrequency ablation
Trial locations and contacts
1 site in 1 country.
United States1 site
Warren Grant Magnuson Clinical Center - NCI Clinical Trials Referral Office
Bethesda, Maryland, 20892-1182
About this study
Official title: The Use of Radiofrequency Ablation to Treat Hepatic Neoplasms
RATIONALE: Radiofrequency ablation is a procedure that heats tumors to several degrees above body temperature and may kill tumor cells.
PURPOSE: Phase II trial to study the effectiveness of radiofrequency ablation in treating patients who have unresectable primary or metastatic liver cancer.
Read the detailed description
OBJECTIVES:
- Evaluate the nature and duration of response of patients with primary or metastatic liver neoplasms, who are not candidates for surgical resection, treated with radiofrequency interstitial tissue ablation.
- Evaluate the ability of dynamic magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) to assess the effects of this therapy on tumor blood flow and tumor vascular density in these patients.
- Determine the ability of positron emission tomography with fludeoxyglucose F 18 (FDG-PET) to monitor response after treatment with this therapy in these patients.
- Compare FDG-PET results with computed tomography (CT) scan, biopsy, and serum marker results in patients treated with this therapy.
- Compare the performance of FDG-PET with CT scan and MRI, in terms of their ability to assess the efficacy of this therapy in these patients.
OUTLINE: Lesions are targeted by ultrasound and then radiofrequency ablation needles are inserted into the lesions and heated to a target temperature greater than 60 degrees C for 15 minutes, though exposure time may vary depending on temperatures achieved. To achieve a 1 cm margin of ablated tissue around each lesion, multiple ablation courses may be performed, depending on the size of the lesions and the time required to complete the treatment.
Patients undergo magnetic resonance imaging with gadopentetate dimeglumine contrast, CT scan, ultrasound, and positron emission tomography with fludeoxyglucose F 18 at baseline, 6 weeks, every 3 months for 1 year, and then every 6 months for 2 years.
Patients are followed at 6 weeks, every 3 months for 1 year, and then every 6 months for 2 years or until evidence of recurrence.
PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 58 patients will be accrued for this study within 6 years.
- Being tested
- computed tomography, magnetic resonance imaging, positron emission tomography, radiofrequency ablation, radionuclide imaging
- Keywords
- localized unresectable adult primary liver cancer, recurrent adult primary liver cancer, liver metastases, unspecified adult solid tumor, protocol specific
- Medical subject headings
- Liver Neoplasms, Neoplasm Metastasis, Carcinoma, Hepatocellular
What participants receive
What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.
computed tomographyProcedure or surgery
Scan to assess the effects of ablation.
magnetic resonance imagingProcedure or surgery
Imaging used to assess the effects of this ablative therapy on tumor vascular density.
positron emission tomographyProcedure or surgery
Physiology based method of imaging disease based on uptake and metabolism of radiopharmaceutical by the tissues.
radiofrequency ablationProcedure or surgery
Radiofrequency ablation uses saline infusion into and out of needle/electrode through a closed system. More energy may be deposited without tissue-charring or gas vaporization.
radionuclide imagingProcedure or surgery
Imaging following injection of a radioactive material.
ultrasound imagingProcedure or surgery
An ultrasound (e.g. sound waves) is used to identify the lesion and needle placement.
fludeoxyglucose F 18 (FDG-PET)Radiation
FDG PET scans rely on metabolic changes to evaluate response to therapy.
gadopentetate dimeglumineRadiation
Food and Drug Administration approved contrast agent.
| Study group | Role | What they receive |
|---|---|---|
| Radiofrequency ablation in liver cancer | Experimental | This trial is designed to gain experience with the use of ablation devices with liver tumors. Radiofrequency ablation is a procedure that heats tumors to several degrees above body temperature and may kill tumor cells. Receives: Procedure: computed tomography; Procedure: magnetic resonance imaging; Procedure: positron emission tomography; Procedure: radiofrequency ablation; Procedure: radionuclide imaging; Procedure: ultrasound imaging; Radiation: fludeoxyglucose F 18 (FDG-PET); Radiation: gadopentetate dimeglumine |
What is being measured
The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.
Response
Standard response criteria will be used to assess the CT (computed tomography) scan images on a lesion per lesion basis. Complete response is complete disappearance of the index lesion on followup scan when compared to the pretreatment images. Partial response is a decrease of 50% or greater in the product of the perpendicular diameters of the measured lesion following treatment compared to the pretreatment images. Minor response is a decrease between 25% and 49% in the product of the perpendicular diameters of the measured lesion following treatment compared to the pretreatment images. Stable disease is no change in the size of the treated lesion. Progressive disease is an increase of greater than 25% in the product of the perpendicular diameters of the measured lesion following treatment compared to the pretreatment images.
Secondary outcomes (9)
Number of Participants With Adverse Events
Here is the number of participants with adverse events. For a detailed list of adverse events see the adverse event module.
Measured: 9 years, 9 months
Tumor Blood Flow
Tumor blood flow was to be assessed by magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) and compared to data collected on baseline pretreatment images and other appropriate time points for changes in tumor microvascular density.
Measured: Baseline, 3 months, and 6 months following treatment
Tumor Vascular Density
Tumor vascular density was to be assessed by magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) and compared to data collected on baseline pretreatment images and other appropriate time points for changes in tumor microvascular density. Patterns of MRI contrast uptake within tumors correlate with microvessel density.
Measured: Baseline, 3 months, and 6 months following treatment
Percentage of Participants With a Response Using Fludeoxyglucose (18F) - Positron Emission Tomography (FDG-PET) Following Radiofrequency Ablation (RFA)
Response was to be evaluated by the standard response criteria. Complete response is the complete disappearance of the index lesion on follow-up scan when compared to the pretreatment images. Partial response is a decrease of 50% or greater in the product of the perpendicular diameters of the measured lesion following treatment compared to the pretreatment images. Minor response is a decrease between 25% and 49% in the product of the perpendicular diameters of the measured lesion following treatment compared to the pretreatment images. Stable disease is no change in the size of the treated lesion. Progressive disease is an increase of greater than 25% in the product of the perpendicular diameters of the measured lesion following treatment compared to the pretreatment images.
Measured: Baseline, 6 weeks, 3 months, and 6 months following treatment
Compare Fludeoxyglucose (18F) Positron-Emission Tomography (FDG-PET) Results With Computed Tomography (CT)
Participants were to undergo FDG-PET scanning and CT scans to compare changes in size of metabolically active volume and standard uptake value (tumor metabolism).
Measured: Baseline, 6 weeks, 3 months, and 6 months following treatment
Compare Fludeoxyglucose (18F) Positron-Emission Tomography (FDG-PET) Results With Biopsies
Participants were to undergo tissue biopsies of tumor to quantify changes in the tumor to see if the changes we see on the imaging studies are the same as the changes in the tumor.
Measured: Baseline, 6 weeks, 3 months, and 6 months following treatment
Compare Fludeoxyglucose (18F) Positron-Emission Tomography (FDG-PET) Results With Serum Markers
Images obtained by the FDG-PET was to be processed for changes in measured parameters and quantified compared to serum markers at baseline and appropriate follow-up points.
Measured: Baseline, 6 weeks, 3 months, and 6 months following treatment
Compare the Performance of Fludeoxyglucose (18F) Positron-Emission Tomography to Computed Tomography and Magnetic Resonance Imaging With Respect to Their Ability to Assess the Effects of Radiofrequency Ablation on the Treatment of Hepatic Neoplasms
Images obtained by the FDG-PET, MRI and CT was to be processed for changes in measured parameters and quantified compared to baseline (e.g., <median change, >median change in size on CT, computed by subtracting the baseline value from the value at the appropriate follow-up point).
Measured: Baseline, 6 weeks, 3 months, and 6 months following treatment
Evaluate the Ability of Fludeoxyglucose (18F) Positron-Emission Tomography (FDG-PET) to Monitor Response Following Radiofrequency Ablation (RFA)
PET scan images was to be read by a physician experienced in the interpretation of whole body PET imaging. The region of interest was to be performed in any abnormal sites of uptake that is a candidate and or has been RFA ablated.
Measured: Baseline, 6 weeks, 3 months, and 6 months following treatment
Timeline
From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.
- First posted27 Jan 2003 (estimated)
- Study startAug 1998
- Primary completionJan 2009
- Study completionJan 2009
Why it stopped: Principal investigator left the institution.
Resources
- Official record on ClinicalTrials.govThe registry entry this page is built from, with its full change history.
- Posted resultsParticipant flow, outcome measures and adverse events reported by the sponsor.
- Other trials for Liver CancerStudies of the same condition, open and under way.
- What the trial phases meanHow a treatment moves from first tests in people to approval.
More details
For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.
Study design
- Study type
- Interventional
- Phase
- Phase 2
- Primary purpose
- Treatment
- Allocation
- Not applicable
- Intervention model
- Single group
- Masking
- None (open label)
- Enrolment
- 44 participants (actual)
Sponsor and investigators
- Lead sponsor
- National Institutes of Health Clinical Center (CC)
- Sponsor type
- US National Institutes of Health
- Collaborators
- National Cancer Institute (NCI)
- Responsible party
- Principal investigator, Caryn Steakley, R.N., National Institutes of Health Clinical Center (CC)
- Investigators
- Steven A Libutti, MD, Principal investigator, National Cancer Institute, National Institutes of Health
IDs, dates and publications
- ClinicalTrials.gov ID
- NCT00019604
- Sponsor's protocol ID
- 990025
- Other IDs
- 99-C-0025, CDR0000066875
- Status last verified
- Dec 2016
- First submitted
- 11 Jul 2001
- Last updated
- 3 Feb 2017
- Results posted
- Yes, on ClinicalTrials.gov
- Data monitoring committee
- No
- Individual data sharing
- No
Study at a glance
From the registry record, last updated by the sponsor on 3 Feb 2017. Recruitment status is as the sponsor reported it: confirm with the study team.
- Official title
- The Use of Radiofrequency Ablation to Treat Hepatic Neoplasms
- ClinicalTrials.gov ID
- NCT00019604
- Acronym / sponsor ID
- 990025
- Keywords
- localized unresectable adult primary liver cancer, recurrent adult primary liver cancer, liver metastases, unspecified adult solid tumor, protocol specific
- Phase
- Phase 2
- Study type
- Interventional
- Recruitment status
- TerminatedReason stopped: Principal investigator left the institution.
- Enrolment
- 44 participants (actual)
- Lead sponsor
- National Institutes of Health Clinical Center (CC)US National Institutes of Health
- Collaborators
- National Cancer Institute (NCI)
- Study start
- Aug 1998
- Primary completion
- Jan 2009 (actual)
- Study completion
- Jan 2009 (actual)
- First posted
- 27 Jan 2003 (estimated)
- Results
- Posted 12 Jun 2014
Clinical summary
The research question as the sponsor registered it. This describes what the study plans to test, not what it found.
RATIONALE: Radiofrequency ablation is a procedure that heats tumors to several degrees above body temperature and may kill tumor cells.
PURPOSE: Phase II trial to study the effectiveness of radiofrequency ablation in treating patients who have unresectable primary or metastatic liver cancer.
Detailed description
OBJECTIVES:
- Evaluate the nature and duration of response of patients with primary or metastatic liver neoplasms, who are not candidates for surgical resection, treated with radiofrequency interstitial tissue ablation.
- Evaluate the ability of dynamic magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) to assess the effects of this therapy on tumor blood flow and tumor vascular density in these patients.
- Determine the ability of positron emission tomography with fludeoxyglucose F 18 (FDG-PET) to monitor response after treatment with this therapy in these patients.
- Compare FDG-PET results with computed tomography (CT) scan, biopsy, and serum marker results in patients treated with this therapy.
- Compare the performance of FDG-PET with CT scan and MRI, in terms of their ability to assess the efficacy of this therapy in these patients.
OUTLINE: Lesions are targeted by ultrasound and then radiofrequency ablation needles are inserted into the lesions and heated to a target temperature greater than 60 degrees C for 15 minutes, though exposure time may vary depending on temperatures achieved. To achieve a 1 cm margin of ablated tissue around each lesion, multiple ablation courses may be performed, depending on the size of the lesions and the time required to complete the treatment.
Patients undergo magnetic resonance imaging with gadopentetate dimeglumine contrast, CT scan, ultrasound, and positron emission tomography with fludeoxyglucose F 18 at baseline, 6 weeks, every 3 months for 1 year, and then every 6 months for 2 years.
Patients are followed at 6 weeks, every 3 months for 1 year, and then every 6 months for 2 years or until evidence of recurrence.
PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 58 patients will be accrued for this study within 6 years.
Study design
- Primary purpose
- Treatment
- Allocation
- Not applicable
- Intervention model
- Single group
- Masking
- None (open label)
- Number of arms
- 1
| Arm | Type | Receives |
|---|---|---|
| Radiofrequency ablation in liver cancer | Experimental | Procedure: computed tomography, Procedure: magnetic resonance imaging, Procedure: positron emission tomography, Procedure: radiofrequency ablation, Procedure: radionuclide imaging, Procedure: ultrasound imaging, Radiation: fludeoxyglucose F 18 (FDG-PET), Radiation: gadopentetate dimeglumineThis trial is designed to gain experience with the use of ablation devices with liver tumors. Radiofrequency ablation is a procedure that heats tumors to several degrees above body temperature and may kill tumor cells. |
Who may qualify
- Ages
- 18 years and older
- Sex
- All
- Healthy volunteers
- Not accepted
- Age groups
- Adult, Older adult
Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening; this overview does not establish that a patient qualifies. Full inclusion and exclusion criteria.
Interventions
| Intervention | Type | Arms |
|---|---|---|
| computed tomographyScan to assess the effects of ablation. | Procedure or surgery | Radiofrequency ablation in liver cancer |
| magnetic resonance imagingImaging used to assess the effects of this ablative therapy on tumor vascular density. | Procedure or surgery | Radiofrequency ablation in liver cancer |
| positron emission tomographyPhysiology based method of imaging disease based on uptake and metabolism of radiopharmaceutical by the tissues. | Procedure or surgery | Radiofrequency ablation in liver cancer |
| radiofrequency ablationRadiofrequency ablation uses saline infusion into and out of needle/electrode through a closed system. More energy may be deposited without tissue-charring or gas vaporization. | Procedure or surgery | Radiofrequency ablation in liver cancer |
| radionuclide imagingImaging following injection of a radioactive material. | Procedure or surgery | Radiofrequency ablation in liver cancer |
| ultrasound imagingAn ultrasound (e.g. sound waves) is used to identify the lesion and needle placement. | Procedure or surgery | Radiofrequency ablation in liver cancer |
| fludeoxyglucose F 18 (FDG-PET)FDG PET scans rely on metabolic changes to evaluate response to therapy. | Radiation | Radiofrequency ablation in liver cancer |
| gadopentetate dimeglumineFood and Drug Administration approved contrast agent. | Radiation | Radiofrequency ablation in liver cancer |
Primary outcome
Response
Standard response criteria will be used to assess the CT (computed tomography) scan images on a lesion per lesion basis. Complete response is complete disappearance of the index lesion on followup scan when compared to the pretreatment images. Partial response is a decrease of 50% or greater in the product of the perpendicular diameters of the measured lesion following treatment compared to the pretreatment images. Minor response is a decrease between 25% and 49% in the product of the perpendicular diameters of the measured lesion following treatment compared to the pretreatment images. Stable disease is no change in the size of the treated lesion. Progressive disease is an increase of greater than 25% in the product of the perpendicular diameters of the measured lesion following treatment compared to the pretreatment images.
9 secondary outcomes
Number of Participants With Adverse Events
Time frame: 9 years, 9 months
Tumor Blood Flow
Time frame: Baseline, 3 months, and 6 months following treatment
Tumor Vascular Density
Time frame: Baseline, 3 months, and 6 months following treatment
Percentage of Participants With a Response Using Fludeoxyglucose (18F) - Positron Emission Tomography (FDG-PET) Following Radiofrequency Ablation (RFA)
Time frame: Baseline, 6 weeks, 3 months, and 6 months following treatment
Compare Fludeoxyglucose (18F) Positron-Emission Tomography (FDG-PET) Results With Computed Tomography (CT)
Time frame: Baseline, 6 weeks, 3 months, and 6 months following treatment
Compare Fludeoxyglucose (18F) Positron-Emission Tomography (FDG-PET) Results With Biopsies
Time frame: Baseline, 6 weeks, 3 months, and 6 months following treatment
Compare Fludeoxyglucose (18F) Positron-Emission Tomography (FDG-PET) Results With Serum Markers
Time frame: Baseline, 6 weeks, 3 months, and 6 months following treatment
Compare the Performance of Fludeoxyglucose (18F) Positron-Emission Tomography to Computed Tomography and Magnetic Resonance Imaging With Respect to Their Ability to Assess the Effects of Radiofrequency Ablation on the Treatment of Hepatic Neoplasms
Time frame: Baseline, 6 weeks, 3 months, and 6 months following treatment
Evaluate the Ability of Fludeoxyglucose (18F) Positron-Emission Tomography (FDG-PET) to Monitor Response Following Radiofrequency Ablation (RFA)
Time frame: Baseline, 6 weeks, 3 months, and 6 months following treatment
Results and safety
Loading the posted results from ClinicalTrials.gov…
Research links
- Official record on ClinicalTrials.govLast updated by the sponsor 3 Feb 2017.
- Posted resultsParticipant flow, baseline, all outcome measures and adverse events.
- Individual participant dataSharing planned: No
Related trials for Liver Cancer
Not yet recruitingPhase 1
Hepatic Artery Infusion of Carfilzomib in Participants With Liver Metastatic Disease Previously Treated With Hepatic Artery Infusion Pump Therapy
Colorectal Neoplasms, Neoplasms
RecruitingObservational study
Real-world Evaluation of the HistoSonics Edison System for Treatment of Liver Tumors Across Multidisciplinary Users (BOOMBOX: Master Study)
Liver Neoplasms, Primary Liver Cancer
Recruiting
The Vanguard Study: Testing a New Way to Screen for Cancer
Bladder Carcinoma, Breast Carcinoma
Not yet recruitingPhase 2
SAMe in Prevention of Oxaliplatin-associated Liver Injury
Colorectal Cancer, Liver Metastases
Active, not recruitingPhase 1
Prospective Exploratory Study of FAPi PET/CT With Histopathology Validation in Patients With Various Cancers
Bladder Carcinoma, Cervical Carcinoma
Referral and contact
AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals. Contact the study team or a site listed below; they decide who can take part. This study is not recruiting at the moment.
Steven A Libutti, MD principal investigator
National Cancer Institute, National Institutes of Health
1 site in 1 country: see every site and its status.
Questions about this trial
What is this clinical trial studying?
A Phase 2 study testing computed tomography, magnetic resonance imaging and positron emission tomography in people with Liver Cancer and Metastatic Cancer, run by National Institutes of Health Clinical Center (CC) at 1 site in United States.
The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.
Who may be eligible to take part?
Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.
Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?
The record says: stopped early, as of the sponsor's last update on 3 Feb 2017. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.
Where is the study taking place?
The record lists 1 site in United States. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.
What are the possible benefits and risks?
They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.
What does this phase mean?
Phase 2 studies give the treatment to a larger group to see whether it has the intended effect and to keep checking safety.
Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.
Are results available for this study?
Yes. Results are posted in the registry (first posted 12 Jun 2014). A summary is in the For doctors view, and the full results are on ClinicalTrials.gov.
How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?
The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.
What does the primary outcome measure?
Response. It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.
Where can I read the original study information?
Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?
No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.
How often is this information updated?
AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 3 Feb 2017.