Prostate CancerPhase 3NCT00023829
Adjuvant Radiation Therapy Plus Hormone Therapy Compared With Radiation Therapy Alone in Treating Patients With Stage II or Stage III Prostate Cancer
A Phase 3 study testing bicalutamide, flutamide and releasing hormone agonist therapy in people with Prostate Cancer, run by Radiation Therapy Oncology Group at 1 site in Canada.
Trial summary
RATIONALE: Radiation therapy uses high-energy x-rays to damage tumor cells. Androgens can stimulate the growth of prostate cancer cells. Drugs such as, flutamide or bicalutamide may stop the adrenal glands from producing androgens. Read more about this study
- Who is it for?
- Ages 0 to 120 years, men only
- Conditions the study is for
- Prostate Cancer
- What is being tested?
- bicalutamide, flutamide and releasing hormone agonist therapy
- Type of treatment
- Surgery or procedure
- Could I receive a placebo?
- No, everyone receives an active treatment
- How many people
- 67 participants
- Where
- 1 siteCanada
- Study dates
- Aug 2001to Jun 2004
- Phase
- Phase 3
- Are there results?
- None posted in the registry
Key requirements
Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.
- Ages 0 to 120 years
- Men only
- No healthy volunteers
- Child, Adult, Older adult
DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS:
- Histologically confirmed prostate cancer
- T2-3, N0, M0
- No metastatic disease
- High-risk for PSA relapse as defined by Gleason score 7 or higher and ≥ 1 of the following OR Gleason score < 7 and ≥ 2 of the following:
- Preoperative PSA > 10 ng/mL
- Positive surgical margins
- Seminal vesicle invasion
- Preoperative PSA ≤ 40.0 ng/mL
- Postoperative PSA ≤ 0.2 ng/mL
- Negative lymph node status by lymph node sampling or dissection
- If lymph node status is unknown, must have < 5% risk of involvement by Roach formula
PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS:
Age:
- Not specified
Performance status:
- Zubrod 0-1
Life expectancy:
- Not specified
Hematopoietic:
- WBC ≥ 3,000/mm^3
- Platelet count ≥ 130,000/mm^3
- Hemoglobin ≥ 11.4 g/dL
Hepatic:
- ALT ≤ 3 times normal
Renal:
- Creatinine ≤ 2.5 mg/dL
Other:
- No other prior or concurrent invasive malignancy within the past 5 years except superficial nonmelanoma skin cancer
- No other major medical or psychiatric illness that would preclude study compliance
PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY:
Biologic therapy:
- Not specified
Chemotherapy:
- At least 5 years since prior chemotherapy
Endocrine therapy:
- At least 60 days since prior finasteride
- At least 90 days since prior testosterone
- Prior pharmacologic androgen ablation for prostate cancer allowed if initiated within the past 10 months (must switch to study ablation therapy OR discontinue therapy if randomized to receive radiotherapy only)
Radiotherapy:
- No prior radiotherapy to the pelvis
- No concurrent intensity-modulated radiotherapy
Surgery:
- No prior orchiectomy
Trial locations and contacts
1 site in 1 country.
Canada1 site
Toronto Sunnybrook Regional Cancer Centre
Toronto, Ontario, M4N 3M5
About this study
Official title: Phase III Randomized Study of Adjuvant Therapy for High Risk pT3N0 Prostate Cancer
RATIONALE: Radiation therapy uses high-energy x-rays to damage tumor cells. Androgens can stimulate the growth of prostate cancer cells. Drugs such as, flutamide or bicalutamide may stop the adrenal glands from producing androgens. Giving radiation therapy with hormone therapy after surgery to remove the tumor may kill any tumor cells remaining after surgery and be an effective treatment for stage II or stage III prostate cancer. It is not yet known if radiation therapy combined with hormone therapy is more effective than either radiation therapy alone or hormone therapy alone in treating stage II or stage III prostate cancer. (Hormone therapy alone group closed as of 12/9/2002.)
PURPOSE: Randomized phase III trial to compare the effectiveness of adjuvant radiation therapy plus hormone therapy to that of radiation therapy alone or hormone therapy alone in treating patients who have stage II or stage III prostate cancer.
Read the detailed description
OBJECTIVES:
- Compare the overall survival, disease-free survival, freedom from distant metastases, and freedom from PSA failure in patients with high-risk stage II or III prostate cancer treated in the adjuvant setting with radiotherapy and hormonal therapy vs radiotherapy alone.
- Compare the qualitative and quantitative toxic effects of these regimens in these patients.
OUTLINE: This is a randomized, multicenter study. Patients are stratified according to seminal vesicle invasion (yes vs no), preoperative PSA (10 ng/mL or less vs greater than 10 ng/mL), Gleason score (2-6 vs 7 vs 8-10), positive surgical margins (yes vs no), and neoadjuvant hormonal therapy (yes vs no). Patients are randomized to 1 of 3 treatment arms. (Arm III closed to accrual as of 12/9/2002.)
- Arm I: Patients undergo radiotherapy once daily 5 days a week for 7 weeks. Beginning the first day of radiotherapy, patients also receive hormonal therapy comprising a luteinizing-hormone-releasing hormone agonist once every 1-4 months for 2 years AND oral flutamide 3 times daily OR oral bicalutamide once daily for 1 month.
- Arm II: Patients undergo radiotherapy as in arm I.
- Arm III (Closed to accrual as of 12/9/2002):Patients receive hormonal therapy as in arm I.
Patients are followed every 3 months for 1 year, every 6 months for 4 years, and then annually thereafter.
PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 1,398 patients (699 per treatment arm) will be accrued for this study within 5 years. (Arm III closed to accrual as of 12/9/2002.)
- Conditions
- Prostate Cancer
- Being tested
- bicalutamide, flutamide, releasing hormone agonist therapy, adjuvant therapy, radiation therapy
- Keywords
- stage III prostate cancer, stage IIB prostate cancer, stage IIA prostate cancer
- Medical subject headings
- Prostatic Neoplasms
What participants receive
What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.
bicalutamideDrug
flutamideDrug
releasing hormone agonist therapyDrug
adjuvant therapyProcedure or surgery
radiation therapyRadiation
| Study group | Role | What they receive |
|---|---|---|
| LH-RH agonist plus radiation therapy | Experimental | Luteinizing hormone-releasing hormone (LH-RH) agonist x 2 years plus radiation therapy (RT) to 63.0 - 66.6 Gy Receives: Drug: bicalutamide; Drug: flutamide; Drug: releasing hormone agonist therapy; Procedure: adjuvant therapy; Radiation: radiation therapy |
| Radiation therapy alone | Active comparator | Radiation therapy alone to 63.0 - 66.6 Gy Receives: Procedure: adjuvant therapy; Radiation: radiation therapy |
| LH-RH agonist alone | Active comparator | Luteinizing hormone-releasing hormone (LH-RH) agonist x 2 years Receives: Drug: bicalutamide; Drug: flutamide; Drug: releasing hormone agonist therapy; Procedure: adjuvant therapy |
What is being measured
The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.
Overall survival
Measured: From the date of randomization to the date of death due to any cause
Secondary outcomes (3)
Disease-Free Survival
Measured: From the date of randomization to the date of first documented local progression or distant failure
Distant Failure
Measured: From the date of randomization to the date of frist documented metastatic disease
Biochemical Failure (detectable PSA)
Measured: From the date of randomization to the date of developing a PSA of 0.5 ng/ml or greater over the entry PSA
Timeline
From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.
- First posted27 Jan 2003 (estimated)
- Study startAug 2001
- Primary completionJun 2004
- Study completionJun 2004
Resources
- Official record on ClinicalTrials.govThe registry entry this page is built from, with its full change history.
- Other trials for Prostate CancerStudies of the same condition, open and under way.
- What the trial phases meanHow a treatment moves from first tests in people to approval.
More details
For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.
Study design
- Study type
- Interventional
- Phase
- Phase 3
- Primary purpose
- Treatment
- Allocation
- Randomised
- Intervention model
- Parallel groups
- Masking
- None (open label)
- Enrolment
- 67 participants (actual)
Sponsor and investigators
- Lead sponsor
- Radiation Therapy Oncology Group
- Sponsor type
- Research network
- Collaborators
- National Cancer Institute (NCI), NCIC Clinical Trials Group
- Responsible party
- Sponsor
- Investigators
- Richard K. Valicenti, MD, Study chair, Sidney Kimmel Comprehensive Cancer Center at Thomas Jefferson UniversityRichard Choo, MD, Study chair, Toronto Sunnybrook Regional Cancer Centre
IDs, dates and publications
- ClinicalTrials.gov ID
- NCT00023829
- Sponsor's protocol ID
- RTOG-P-0011
- Other IDs
- CDR0000068868, CAN-NCIC-PR9
- Status last verified
- Nov 2013
- First submitted
- 13 Sep 2001
- Last updated
- 22 Oct 2020
- Results posted
- No
- Data monitoring committee
- Yes
Study at a glance
From the registry record, last updated by the sponsor on 22 Oct 2020. Recruitment status is as the sponsor reported it: confirm with the study team.
- Official title
- Phase III Randomized Study of Adjuvant Therapy for High Risk pT3N0 Prostate Cancer
- ClinicalTrials.gov ID
- NCT00023829
- Acronym / sponsor ID
- RTOG-P-0011
- Conditions
- Prostate Cancer
- Keywords
- stage III prostate cancer, stage IIB prostate cancer, stage IIA prostate cancer
- Phase
- Phase 3
- Study type
- Interventional
- Recruitment status
- Completed
- Enrolment
- 67 participants (actual)
- Lead sponsor
- Radiation Therapy Oncology GroupResearch network
- Collaborators
- National Cancer Institute (NCI), NCIC Clinical Trials Group
- Study start
- Aug 2001
- Primary completion
- Jun 2004 (actual)
- Study completion
- Jun 2004 (actual)
- First posted
- 27 Jan 2003 (estimated)
- Results
- Not posted in the source record
Clinical summary
The research question as the sponsor registered it. This describes what the study plans to test, not what it found.
RATIONALE: Radiation therapy uses high-energy x-rays to damage tumor cells. Androgens can stimulate the growth of prostate cancer cells. Drugs such as, flutamide or bicalutamide may stop the adrenal glands from producing androgens. Giving radiation therapy with hormone therapy after surgery to remove the tumor may kill any tumor cells remaining after surgery and be an effective treatment for stage II or stage III prostate cancer. It is not yet known if radiation therapy combined with hormone therapy is more effective than either radiation therapy alone or hormone therapy alone in treating stage II or stage III prostate cancer. (Hormone therapy alone group closed as of 12/9/2002.)
PURPOSE: Randomized phase III trial to compare the effectiveness of adjuvant radiation therapy plus hormone therapy to that of radiation therapy alone or hormone therapy alone in treating patients who have stage II or stage III prostate cancer.
Detailed description
OBJECTIVES:
- Compare the overall survival, disease-free survival, freedom from distant metastases, and freedom from PSA failure in patients with high-risk stage II or III prostate cancer treated in the adjuvant setting with radiotherapy and hormonal therapy vs radiotherapy alone.
- Compare the qualitative and quantitative toxic effects of these regimens in these patients.
OUTLINE: This is a randomized, multicenter study. Patients are stratified according to seminal vesicle invasion (yes vs no), preoperative PSA (10 ng/mL or less vs greater than 10 ng/mL), Gleason score (2-6 vs 7 vs 8-10), positive surgical margins (yes vs no), and neoadjuvant hormonal therapy (yes vs no). Patients are randomized to 1 of 3 treatment arms. (Arm III closed to accrual as of 12/9/2002.)
- Arm I: Patients undergo radiotherapy once daily 5 days a week for 7 weeks. Beginning the first day of radiotherapy, patients also receive hormonal therapy comprising a luteinizing-hormone-releasing hormone agonist once every 1-4 months for 2 years AND oral flutamide 3 times daily OR oral bicalutamide once daily for 1 month.
- Arm II: Patients undergo radiotherapy as in arm I.
- Arm III (Closed to accrual as of 12/9/2002):Patients receive hormonal therapy as in arm I.
Patients are followed every 3 months for 1 year, every 6 months for 4 years, and then annually thereafter.
PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 1,398 patients (699 per treatment arm) will be accrued for this study within 5 years. (Arm III closed to accrual as of 12/9/2002.)
Study design
- Primary purpose
- Treatment
- Allocation
- Randomised
- Intervention model
- Parallel groups
- Masking
- None (open label)
- Number of arms
- 3
| Arm | Type | Receives |
|---|---|---|
| LH-RH agonist plus radiation therapy | Experimental | Drug: bicalutamide, Drug: flutamide, Drug: releasing hormone agonist therapy, Procedure: adjuvant therapy, Radiation: radiation therapyLuteinizing hormone-releasing hormone (LH-RH) agonist x 2 years plus radiation therapy (RT) to 63.0 - 66.6 Gy |
| Radiation therapy alone | Active comparator | Procedure: adjuvant therapy, Radiation: radiation therapyRadiation therapy alone to 63.0 - 66.6 Gy |
| LH-RH agonist alone | Active comparator | Drug: bicalutamide, Drug: flutamide, Drug: releasing hormone agonist therapy, Procedure: adjuvant therapyLuteinizing hormone-releasing hormone (LH-RH) agonist x 2 years |
Who may qualify
- Ages
- 0 to 120 years
- Sex
- Male only
- Healthy volunteers
- Not accepted
- Age groups
- Child, Adult, Older adult
Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening; this overview does not establish that a patient qualifies. Full inclusion and exclusion criteria.
Interventions
| Intervention | Type | Arms |
|---|---|---|
| bicalutamide | Drug | LH-RH agonist alone, LH-RH agonist plus radiation therapy |
| flutamide | Drug | LH-RH agonist alone, LH-RH agonist plus radiation therapy |
| releasing hormone agonist therapy | Drug | LH-RH agonist alone, LH-RH agonist plus radiation therapy |
| adjuvant therapy | Procedure or surgery | LH-RH agonist alone, LH-RH agonist plus radiation therapy, Radiation therapy alone |
| radiation therapy | Radiation | LH-RH agonist plus radiation therapy, Radiation therapy alone |
Primary outcome
Overall survival
Time frame: From the date of randomization to the date of death due to any cause
3 secondary outcomes
Disease-Free Survival
Time frame: From the date of randomization to the date of first documented local progression or distant failure
Distant Failure
Time frame: From the date of randomization to the date of frist documented metastatic disease
Biochemical Failure (detectable PSA)
Time frame: From the date of randomization to the date of developing a PSA of 0.5 ng/ml or greater over the entry PSA
Results and safety
The study is completed, but results are not available in the source record. That does not mean the treatment did or did not work.
Research links
- Official record on ClinicalTrials.govLast updated by the sponsor 22 Oct 2020.
Related trials for Prostate Cancer
Not yet recruitingObservational study
Assessment of Intelligent Algorithms for Detection, Diagnosis and Risk Stratification of Tumors of the Kidney and Prostate
Kidney Cancers, Prostate Cancer
Not yet recruiting
WATER IV PCa (AS Sub-study)
Localized Prostate Cancer
Recruiting
The Application of Somatosensory Interactive Pelvic Floor Muscle Training for Stress Urinary Incontinence in Men Underwent Radical Prostatectomy
Prostate Cancer (Post Prostatectomy)
RecruitingPhase 1
A Study of [225Ac]Ac-AKY-2519 in Patients With Metastatic Castration-Resistant Prostate Cancer
Castration Resistant Metastatic Prostate Cancer, Prostate Cancer
Enrolling by invitationObservational study
Natural History Study of Early Life Exposures in Agriculture (ELEA)
Prostate Cancer, Leukemia
Referral and contact
AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals. Contact the study team or a site listed below; they decide who can take part. This study is not recruiting at the moment.
Richard K. Valicenti, MD study chair
Sidney Kimmel Comprehensive Cancer Center at Thomas Jefferson University
Richard Choo, MD study chair
Toronto Sunnybrook Regional Cancer Centre
1 site in 1 country: see every site and its status.
Questions about this trial
What is this clinical trial studying?
A Phase 3 study testing bicalutamide, flutamide and releasing hormone agonist therapy in people with Prostate Cancer, run by Radiation Therapy Oncology Group at 1 site in Canada.
The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.
Who may be eligible to take part?
Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.
Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?
The record says: finished, as of the sponsor's last update on 22 Oct 2020. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.
Where is the study taking place?
The record lists 1 site in Canada. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.
What are the possible benefits and risks?
They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.
What does this phase mean?
Phase 3 studies compare the treatment with the current standard treatment or a placebo in a large group, to confirm how well it works and watch for side effects.
Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.
Are results available for this study?
The study is completed, but results are not available in the source record. That does not mean the treatment did or did not work.
How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?
The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.
What does the primary outcome measure?
Overall survival (time frame: From the date of randomization to the date of death due to any cause). It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.
Where can I read the original study information?
Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?
No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.
How often is this information updated?
AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 22 Oct 2020.