AzTrials
AzTrials

Unspecified Adult Solid Tumor, Protocol SpecificPhase 1NCT00023855

PS-341 and Doxorubicin in Treating Patients With Advanced Solid Tumors

A Phase 1 study testing bortezomib and doxorubicin hydrochloride in people with Unspecified Adult Solid Tumor, Protocol Specific, run by University of Wisconsin, Madison at 1 site in United States.

Completed

Finished. The study has ended and is not enrolling. Results may be posted on the official record.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy use different ways to stop tumor cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. PURPOSE: Phase I trial to study the effectiveness of combining PS-341 and doxorubicin in treating patients who have advanced solid tumors. Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Ages 18 to 120 years
What is being tested?
bortezomib and doxorubicin hydrochloride
How many people
Not given
Where
1 siteUnited States
Study dates
Jun 2001to Oct 2003
Phase
Phase 1
Are there results?
None posted in the registry

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages 18 to 120 years
  • All sexes
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Adult, Older adult

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS:

  • Histologically or cytologically confirmed advanced solid tumor for which no curative treatment exists
  • Measurable or evaluable disease
  • No brain metastases or primary brain tumors

PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS:

Age:

  • Over 18

Performance status:

  • ECOG 0-2

Life expectancy:

  • Not specified

Hematopoietic:

  • Absolute neutrophil count greater than 1,500/mm^3
  • Platelet count greater than 100,000/mm^3

Hepatic:

  • Bilirubin normal

Renal:

  • Creatinine no greater than 1.5 mg/dL OR
  • Creatinine clearance at least 60 mL/min

Cardiovascular:

  • MUGA at least 45%

Other:

  • No serious active infection
  • No pre-existing neuropathy grade 2 or greater
  • No other concurrent illness that would preclude study participation
  • Not pregnant or nursing
  • Negative pregnancy test
  • Fertile patients must use effective contraception

PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY:

Biologic therapy:

  • Not specified

Chemotherapy:

  • At least 4 weeks since prior chemotherapy
  • No prior cumulative dose of doxorubicin exceeding 280 mg/m^2

Endocrine therapy:

  • Not specified

Radiotherapy:

  • At least 4 weeks since prior radiotherapy

Surgery:

  • Not specified

Other:

  • No other concurrent investigational or commercial agents for treatment of this malignancy

Trial locations and contacts

1 site in 1 country.

United States1 site
  • University of Wisconsin Comprehensive Cancer Center

    Madison, Wisconsin, 53792-6164

Other trials in United States

About this study

Official title: A Phase I and Pharmacodynamic Study of Proteasome Inhibitor, PS-341, in Combination With Doxorubicin in Patients With Advanced Solid Tumors

RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy use different ways to stop tumor cells from dividing so they stop growing or die.

PURPOSE: Phase I trial to study the effectiveness of combining PS-341 and doxorubicin in treating patients who have advanced solid tumors.

Read the detailed description

OBJECTIVES:

  • Determine the maximum tolerated dose of PS-341 in combination with doxorubicin in patients with advanced solid tumors.
  • Determine the qualitative and quantitative toxic effects of this regimen in these patients.
  • Determine the antitumor activity of this regimen in these patients.

OUTLINE: This is a dose-escalation study of PS-341.

Patients receive PS-341 IV over 3-5 seconds on days 1, 4, 8, and 11; and doxorubicin IV on over 3-5 minutes on days 1 and 8. Treatment repeats every 21 days in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity.

Cohorts of 3-6 patients receive escalating doses of PS-341 until the maximum tolerated dose (MTD) is determined. The MTD is defined as the dose preceding that at which at least 2 of 3 or 2 of 6 patients experience dose-limiting toxicity.

PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 3-31 patients will be accrued for this study within 1 year.

Keywords
unspecified adult solid tumor, protocol specific

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted27 Jan 2003 (estimated)
  2. Study startJun 2001
  3. Primary completionOct 2003

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Interventional
Phase
Phase 1
Primary purpose
Treatment
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT00023855
Sponsor's protocol ID
CDR0000068870
Other IDs
P30CA014520, WCCC-CO-01901, NCI-3771
Status last verified
Sep 2015
First submitted
13 Sep 2001
Last updated
13 Dec 2019
Results posted
No

Publications

  • LoConte NK, Thomas JP, Alberti D, Heideman J, Binger K, Marnocha R, Utecht K, Geiger P, Eickhoff J, Wilding G, Kolesar J. A phase I pharmacodynamic trial of bortezomib in combination with doxorubicin in patients with advanced cancer. Cancer Chemother Pharmacol. 2008 Dec;63(1):109-15. doi: 10.1007/s00280-008-0719-5. Epub 2008 Mar 6.

    PubMed 18322686

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

A Phase 1 study testing bortezomib and doxorubicin hydrochloride in people with Unspecified Adult Solid Tumor, Protocol Specific, run by University of Wisconsin, Madison at 1 site in United States.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Who may be eligible to take part?

Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: finished, as of the sponsor's last update on 13 Dec 2019. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

Where is the study taking place?

The record lists 1 site in United States. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

What does this phase mean?

Phase 1 studies test a treatment in a small group of people for the first time or in a new way, mainly to check safety and find the right dose.

Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.

Are results available for this study?

The study is completed, but results are not available in the source record. That does not mean the treatment did or did not work.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

Where can I read the original study information?

On the ClinicalTrials.gov record for NCT00023855, which also lists 1 linked publication.

Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 13 Dec 2019.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in