AzTrials
AzTrials

Unspecified Adult Solid Tumor, Protocol SpecificPhase 1NCT00024141

Irinotecan Followed by Fluorouracil in Treating Patients With Advanced Solid Tumors

A Phase 1 study testing fluorouracil and irinotecan hydrochloride in people with Unspecified Adult Solid Tumor, Protocol Specific, run by Roswell Park Cancer Institute at 1 site in United States.

Completed

Finished. The study has ended and is not enrolling. Results may be posted on the official record.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy use different ways to stop tumor cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. PURPOSE: Phase I trial to study the effectiveness of irinotecan followed by fluorouracil in treating patients who have advanced solid tumors. Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Ages 18 years and older
What is being tested?
fluorouracil and irinotecan hydrochloride
How many people
Not given
Where
1 siteUnited States
Study dates
May 2001to Jan 2003
Phase
Phase 1
Are there results?
None posted in the registry

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages 18 years and older
  • All sexes
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Adult, Older adult

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS:

  • Histologically proven recurrent or metastatic solid tumor that is not amenable to curative surgery, radiotherapy, or conventional chemotherapy of proven value
  • Must have disease that can be safely and readily biopsied under local anesthesia (including, but not limited to, subcutaneous metastases, superficial lymph node metastases, or ascites)

PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS:

Age:

  • 18 and over

Performance status:

  • ECOG 0-2

Life expectancy:

  • At least 3 months

Hematopoietic:

  • WBC at least 4,000/mm^3
  • Platelet count at least 100,000/mm^3

Hepatic:

  • Bilirubin no greater than 1.5 times upper limit of normal (ULN)
  • AST less than 2 times ULN
  • Alkaline phosphatase less than 2 times ULN
  • Lactic dehydrogenase less than 2 times ULN

Renal:

  • Creatinine no greater than 1.5 times ULN

Other:

  • HIV negative
  • No active uncontrolled bacterial, viral, or fungal infection
  • No nonmalignant systemic disease that would preclude study participation
  • Not pregnant or nursing
  • Negative pregnancy test
  • Fertile patients must use effective contraception

PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY:

Biologic therapy:

  • Not specified

Chemotherapy:

  • See Disease Characteristics
  • At least 3 weeks since prior chemotherapy (6 weeks for nitrosoureas or mitomycin)
  • No prior irinotecan

Endocrine therapy:

  • Not specified

Radiotherapy:

  • See Disease Characteristics
  • At least 4 weeks since prior radiotherapy except small-port radiotherapy for local control
  • No concurrent radiotherapy except small-port radiotherapy for local disease control (e.g., pain relief or impending fracture)

Surgery:

  • See Disease Characteristics
  • At least 2 weeks since prior major surgery

Other:

  • No concurrent anticoagulants except warfarin or subcutaneous heparin

Trial locations and contacts

1 site in 1 country.

United States1 site
  • Roswell Park Cancer Institute

    Buffalo, New York, 14263-0001

Other trials in United States

About this study

Official title: 5-Flourouracil Preceded by Irinotecan In Patients With Advanced Solid Tumors: A Pilot Study

RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy use different ways to stop tumor cells from dividing so they stop growing or die.

PURPOSE: Phase I trial to study the effectiveness of irinotecan followed by fluorouracil in treating patients who have advanced solid tumors.

Read the detailed description

OBJECTIVES:

  • Determine the optimal dose of irinotecan when administered before fluorouracil in patients with advanced solid tumors.
  • Determine the toxic effects of this regimen in these patients.
  • Correlate the pharmacokinetics of irinotecan with its biologic effects in these patients.
  • Assess, in a preliminary manner, the antitumor activity of this regimen in these patients.

OUTLINE: This is a dose de-escalation study of irinotecan.

Patients receive irinotecan IV over 90 minutes on days 1, 8, 15, and 22 and fluorouracil IV over 5 minutes on days 2, 9, 16, and 23. Treatment repeats every 6 weeks in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity.

Cohorts of 6 patients receive decreasing doses of irinotecan until the optimal dose is determined. The optimal dose is defined as the dose at which at least 3 of 6 patients show evidence of recruitment of cells into the S phase at 24 hours after irinotecan administration.

PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 18-24 patients will be accrued for this study within 12-18 months.

Keywords
unspecified adult solid tumor, protocol specific

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted20 Jun 2003 (estimated)
  2. Study startMay 2001
  3. Primary completionSep 2002
  4. Study completionJan 2003

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Interventional
Phase
Phase 1
Primary purpose
Treatment
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT00024141
Sponsor's protocol ID
CDR0000068895
Other IDs
RPCI-RP-01-01
Status last verified
Mar 2011
First submitted
13 Sep 2001
Last updated
7 Mar 2011
Results posted
No
Data monitoring committee
Yes

Publications

  • Ramnath N, Creaven PJ, Khushalani N, et al.: Pilot studies of antimetabolites preceeded by irinotecan in advanced solid tumors. [Abstract] Eur J Cancer 38 (Suppl 7): S44-5, 2002.

  • Creaven PJ, Slocum HK, Toth K, et al.: Modulation of 5-fluorouracil by irinotecan in advanced solid tumors: a pilot study. [Abstract] Int J Cancer 100 (Suppl 13): A-O78, 94, 2002.

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

A Phase 1 study testing fluorouracil and irinotecan hydrochloride in people with Unspecified Adult Solid Tumor, Protocol Specific, run by Roswell Park Cancer Institute at 1 site in United States.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Who may be eligible to take part?

Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: finished, as of the sponsor's last update on 7 Mar 2011. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

Where is the study taking place?

The record lists 1 site in United States. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

What does this phase mean?

Phase 1 studies test a treatment in a small group of people for the first time or in a new way, mainly to check safety and find the right dose.

Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.

Are results available for this study?

The study is completed, but results are not available in the source record. That does not mean the treatment did or did not work.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

Where can I read the original study information?

On the ClinicalTrials.gov record for NCT00024141, which also lists 2 linked publications.

Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 7 Mar 2011.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in