AzTrials
AzTrials

Bladder CancerPhase 3NCT00024349

Radiation Therapy With or Without Chemotherapy in Treating Patients With Stage II or Stage III Bladder Cancer

A Phase 3 study testing fluorouracil, mitomycin C and radiation therapy in people with Bladder Cancer, run by University Hospital Birmingham at 27 sites in United Kingdom.

Completed

Finished. The study has ended and is not enrolling. Results may be posted on the official record.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

RATIONALE: Radiation therapy uses high-energy x-rays to damage tumor cells. Drugs used in chemotherapy such as fluorouracil and mitomycin use different ways to stop tumor cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. Fluorouracil and mitomycin may make the tumor cells more sensitive to radiation therapy. Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Ages 18 years and older
Conditions the study is for
Bladder Cancer
What is being tested?
fluorouracil, mitomycin C and radiation therapy
Type of treatment
Surgery or procedure
How many people
350 participants
Where
27 sitesUnited Kingdom
Study dates
Jun 2001to Apr 2012
Phase
Phase 3
Are there results?
None posted in the registry

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages 18 years and older
  • All sexes
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Adult, Older adult

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS:

  • Histologically confirmed invasive bladder cancer (T2-4a, N0, M0)
  • Adenocarcinoma
  • Transitional cell carcinoma
  • Squamous cell carcinoma
  • Localized muscle invasion by surgery or imaging

PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS:

Age:

  • 18 and over

Performance status:

  • WHO 0-2

Life expectancy:

  • Not specified

Hematopoietic:

  • WBC greater than 4,000/mm^3
  • Platelet count greater than 100,000/mm^3

Hepatic:

  • Bilirubin less than 1.5 times upper limit of normal (ULN)
  • ALT or AST less than 1.5 times ULN

Renal:

  • Glomerular filtration rate greater than 25 mL/min

Other:

  • Not pregnant
  • Negative pregnancy test
  • Fertile patients must use effective contraception
  • No inflammatory bowel disease
  • No other prior malignancy within the past 2 years except adequately treated basal cell skin cancer or carcinoma in situ of the cervix
  • No other prior malignancy or uncontrolled systemic disease that would preclude study participation

PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY:

Biologic therapy:

  • Not specified

Chemotherapy:

  • Not specified

Endocrine therapy:

  • Not specified

Radiotherapy:

  • No prior radiotherapy to the pelvis

Surgery:

  • See Disease Characteristics
  • No bilateral hip replacements

Other:

  • No concurrent metronidazole during fluorouracil administration

Trial locations and contacts

27 sites in 1 country.

27 sites in 1 country

United Kingdom27 sites
  • Royal United Hospital

    Bath, England, BA1 3NG

  • Queen Elizabeth Hospital at University Hospital of Birmingham NHS Trust

    Birmingham, England, B15 2TH

  • Royal Bournemouth Hospital NHS Trust

    Bournemouth, England, BH7 7DW

  • Sussex Cancer Centre at Royal Sussex County Hospital

    Brighton, England, BN2 5BF

  • Bristol Haematology and Oncology Centre

    Bristol, England, BS2 8ED

  • Addenbrooke's Hospital

    Cambridge, England, CB2 2QQ

  • Cheltenham General Hospital

    Cheltenham, England, GL53 7AN

  • Essex County Hospital

    Colchester, England, C03 3NB

  • Walsgrave Hospital

    Coventry, England, CV2 2DX

  • Derbyshire Royal Infirmary

    Derby, England, DE1 2QY

  • Royal Devon and Exeter Hospital

    Exeter, England, EX2 5DW

  • St. Luke's Cancer Centre at Royal Surrey County Hospital

    Guildford, England, GU2 7XX

  • Princess Royal Hospital at Hull and East Yorkshire NHS Trust

    Hull, England, HU8 9HE

  • St. Thomas' Hospital

    London, England, SE1 9RT

  • Maidstone Hospital

    Maidstone, England, ME16 9QQ

  • Clatterbridge Centre for Oncology

    Merseyside, England, CH63 4JY

  • James Cook University Hospital

    Middlesbrough, England, TS4 3BW

  • Northern Centre for Cancer Treatment at Newcastle General Hospital

    Newcastle upon Tyne, England, NE4 6BE

  • Northampton General Hospital NHS Trust

    Northampton, England, NN1 5BD

  • Glan Clwyd Hospital

    Rhyl, Wales, LL18 5UG

  • Royal Shrewsbury Hospital

    Shrewsbury, England, SY3 8XQ

  • Royal Marsden NHS Foundation Trust - Surrey

    Sutton, England, SM2 5PT

  • Torbay Hospital

    Torquay, England, TQ2 7AA

  • Good Hope Hospital Trust

    West Midlands, England, B75 7RR

  • Southend University Hospital NHS Foundation Trust

    Westcliff-on-Sea, England, SS0 0RY

  • Worthing Hospital

    Worthing, England, BN11 2DH

  • Yeovil District Hospital

    Yeovil, England, BA21 4AT

Other trials in United Kingdom

About this study

Official title: 2X2 Factorial Randomized Phase III Study Comparing Standard Versus Reduced Volume Radiotherapy With and Without Synchronous Chemotherapy in Muscle Invasive Bladder Cancer

RATIONALE: Radiation therapy uses high-energy x-rays to damage tumor cells. Drugs used in chemotherapy such as fluorouracil and mitomycin use different ways to stop tumor cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. Fluorouracil and mitomycin may make the tumor cells more sensitive to radiation therapy. It is not yet known if radiation therapy is more effective with or without chemotherapy in treating bladder cancer.

PURPOSE: Randomized phase III trial to compare the effectiveness of radiation therapy to all or part of the bladder with or without chemotherapy in treating patients who have stage II or stage III bladder cancer.

Read the detailed description

OBJECTIVES:

  • Compare the efficacy of standard volume radiotherapy vs reduced volume radiotherapy with or without synchronous fluorouracil and mitomycin in patients with stage II or III (muscle invasive) bladder cancer.

OUTLINE: This is a randomized, multicenter study. Patients are stratified according to participating center, prior neoadjuvant chemotherapy (yes vs no), and intent to enter only 1 of the possible 2 randomizations on study (yes vs no). Patients are randomized to one of two treatment arms.

  • Arm I: Patients undergo standard radiotherapy once daily 5 days a week for 4 or 6.5 weeks. Patients also receive synchronous chemotherapy comprising mitomycin IV on day 1 and fluorouracil IV continuously over days 1-5 and 16-20 during radiotherapy.
  • Arm II: Patients undergo standard radiotherapy as in arm I (without chemotherapy).

If standard radiotherapy is clearly indicated (e.g., patients with multiple tumors) patients may be randomized to standard radiotherapy with or without chemotherapy (arms I or III above). If chemotherapy is clearly contraindicated, patients are randomized to standard or reduced volume radiotherapy without chemotherapy (arms III or IV above).

Quality of life is assessed at baseline, at the end of therapy, at 6 and 12 months post-randomization, and then annually for at least 5 years.

Patients are followed at 6, 9, and 12 months post-randomization and then at least annually thereafter.

Peer Reviewed and Funded or Endorsed by Cancer Research UK

PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 350 patients will be accrued for this study.

Conditions
Bladder Cancer
Being tested
fluorouracil, mitomycin C, radiation therapy
Keywords
stage II bladder cancer, stage III bladder cancer, transitional cell carcinoma of the bladder, squamous cell carcinoma of the bladder, adenocarcinoma of the bladder
Medical subject headings
Urinary Bladder Neoplasms

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

What is being measured

The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.

  1. Loco-regional disease free survival at 2 years

Secondary outcomes (4)
  1. Disease-free survival, metastases-free survival, and late toxicity by RTOG and Lent Som toxicity scores, Bladder capacity, and patient assessed Fact-BL quality of life scores at 1 and 2 years

  2. Acute toxicity and cystoscopic local control at 3 months, 1 year, and 2 years

  3. Rate of salvage cystectomy

  4. Overall survival

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted27 Jan 2003 (estimated)
  2. Study startJun 2001
  3. Study completionApr 2012

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Interventional
Phase
Phase 3
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Randomised
Enrolment
350 participants (estimated)
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT00024349
Sponsor's protocol ID
CDR0000068921
Other IDs
CRC-BC2001, EU-20052, ISRCTN68324339
Status last verified
May 2007
First submitted
13 Sep 2001
Last updated
18 Dec 2013
Results posted
No

Publications

  • James ND, Hussain SA, Hall E, Jenkins P, Tremlett J, Rawlings C, Crundwell M, Sizer B, Sreenivasan T, Hendron C, Lewis R, Waters R, Huddart RA; BC2001 Investigators. Radiotherapy with or without chemotherapy in muscle-invasive bladder cancer. N Engl J Med. 2012 Apr 19;366(16):1477-88. doi: 10.1056/NEJMoa1106106.

    PubMed 22512481
  • Choudhury A, Porta N, Hall E, Song YP, Owen R, MacKay R, West CML, Lewis R, Hussain SA, James ND, Huddart R, Hoskin P; BC2001 and BCON investigators. Hypofractionated radiotherapy in locally advanced bladder cancer: an individual patient data meta-analysis of the BC2001 and BCON trials. Lancet Oncol. 2021 Feb;22(2):246-255. doi: 10.1016/S1470-2045(20)30607-0.

    PubMed 33539743

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

A Phase 3 study testing fluorouracil, mitomycin C and radiation therapy in people with Bladder Cancer, run by University Hospital Birmingham at 27 sites in United Kingdom.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Who may be eligible to take part?

Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: finished, as of the sponsor's last update on 18 Dec 2013. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

Where is the study taking place?

The record lists 27 sites in United Kingdom. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

What does this phase mean?

Phase 3 studies compare the treatment with the current standard treatment or a placebo in a large group, to confirm how well it works and watch for side effects.

Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.

Are results available for this study?

The study is completed, but results are not available in the source record. That does not mean the treatment did or did not work.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

What does the primary outcome measure?

Loco-regional disease free survival at 2 years. It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.

Where can I read the original study information?

On the ClinicalTrials.gov record for NCT00024349, which also lists 2 linked publications.

Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 18 Dec 2013.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in