AzTrials
AzTrials

LymphomaPhase 2NCT00025064

Combination Chemotherapy With or Without Radiation Therapy and Peripheral Stem Cell Transplant in Treating Children With Hodgkin's Lymphoma

A Phase 2 study testing bleomycin sulfate, chlorambucil and cisplatin in people with Lymphoma, run by Children's Cancer and Leukaemia Group at 21 sites in 2 countries.

Unknown status

Status not confirmed. The sponsor has not verified this record for over two years, so it may be out of date.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy use different ways to stop cancer cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. Radiation therapy uses high-energy x-rays to damage tumor cells. Peripheral stem cell transplant may be able to replace immune cells that were destroyed by chemotherapy. Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Ages Up to 17 years
Conditions the study is for
Lymphoma
What is being tested?
bleomycin sulfate, chlorambucil and cisplatin
Type of treatment
Surgery or procedure
How many people
260 participants
Where
21 sitesin 2 countries
Study dates
Jan 2000to not given
Phase
Phase 2
Are there results?
None posted in the registry

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages Up to 17 years
  • All sexes
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Child

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS:

  • Histologically proven Hodgkin's lymphoma
  • Stage I-IV
  • No posttransplantation Hodgkin's lymphoma
  • Mediastinal syndrome allowed

PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS:

Age:

  • Under 18 at diagnosis

Performance status:

  • Not specified

Life expectancy:

  • Not specified

Hematopoietic:

  • Not specified

Hepatic:

  • Not specified

Renal:

  • Not specified

Other:

  • No other previously treated malignancy
  • No DNA repair defect syndromes

PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY:

Biologic therapy:

  • See Disease Characteristics

Chemotherapy:

  • Not specified

Endocrine therapy:

  • Not specified

Radiotherapy:

  • Not specified

Surgery:

  • Not specified

Trial locations and contacts

21 sites in 2 countries.

21 sites in 2 countries

United Kingdom20 sites
  • Aberdeen Royal Infirmary

    Aberdeen, Scotland, AB25 2ZN

  • Royal Belfast Hospital for Sick Children

    Belfast, Northern Ireland, BT12 6BE

  • Birmingham Children's Hospital

    Birmingham, England, B4 6NH

  • Bristol Royal Hospital for Children

    Bristol, England, BS2 8BJ

  • Addenbrooke's Hospital at Cambridge University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

    Cambridge, England, CB2 2QQ

  • Royal Hospital for Sick Children

    Edinburgh, Scotland, EH9 1LF

  • Royal Hospital for Sick Children

    Glasgow, Scotland, G3 8SJ

  • Leeds Cancer Centre at St. James's University Hospital

    Leeds, England, LS9 7TF

  • Leicester Royal Infirmary

    Leicester, England, LE1 5WW

  • Royal Liverpool Children's Hospital, Alder Hey

    Liverpool, England, L12 2AP

  • Saint Bartholomew's Hospital

    London, England, EC1A 7BE

  • Great Ormond Street Hospital for Children NHS Trust

    London, England, WC1N 3JH

  • Meyerstein Institute of Oncology at University College of London Hospitals

    London, England, WIT 3AA

  • Central Manchester and Manchester Children's University Hospitals NHS Trust

    Manchester, England, M27 4HA

  • Newcastle Upon Tyne Hospitals NHS Trust

    Newcastle upon Tyne, England, NE7 7DN

  • Queen's Medical Centre

    Nottingham, England, NG7 2UH

  • Oxford Radcliffe Hospital

    Oxford, England, 0X3 9DU

  • Children's Hospital - Sheffield

    Sheffield, England, S10 2TH

  • Southampton General Hospital

    Southampton, England, SO16 6YD

  • Royal Marsden NHS Foundation Trust - Surrey

    Sutton, England, SM2 5PT

Other trials in United Kingdom

Ireland1 site
  • Our Lady's Hospital for Sick Children

    Dublin, 12

Other trials in Ireland

About this study

Official title: Protocol For The Treatment Of Children And Adolescents With Hodgkin's Disease

RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy use different ways to stop cancer cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. Radiation therapy uses high-energy x-rays to damage tumor cells. Peripheral stem cell transplant may be able to replace immune cells that were destroyed by chemotherapy.

PURPOSE: This phase II trial is studying how well combination chemotherapy regimens with or without radiation therapy or peripheral stem cell transplant works in treating children with Hodgkin's lymphoma.

Read the detailed description

OBJECTIVES:

  • Determine whether the current survival figures are maintained and long-term sequelae of treatment are minimized in children or adolescents with stage I-III Hodgkin's lymphoma after receiving the following regimen, which reduces exposure to chemotherapy and radiotherapy: chlorambucil, vinblastine, prednisolone, and procarbazine (ChIVPP) and doxorubicin, bleomycin, vincristine, and dacarbazine (ABVD) with etoposide, prednisolone, ifosfamide, and cisplatin (EPIC), radiotherapy, high-dose melphalan, and/or autologous peripheral blood stem cell transplantation (APBSCT).
  • Determine whether the survival figures are improved in children or adolescents with stage IV Hodgkin's lymphoma or inadequate response to initial therapy after receiving ChIVPP and ABVD with EPIC, radiotherapy, high-dose melphalan, and APBSCT.

OUTLINE: This is a multicenter study. Patients are assigned to 1 of 3 treatment groups based on disease status.

  • Group 1 (stage I disease): All patients with mixed cellularity and younger patients with any subtype are assigned to subgroup A. Older patients without mixed cellularity are assigned to subgroup A or B based on the decision of the physicians and patients/parents. Subgroup A: Patients receive 2 courses of the hybrid regimen. One course of the hybrid regimen comprises regimen ChIVPP followed by regimen ABVD. Regimen ChIVPP comprises vinblastine IV on days 1 and 8 and oral chlorambucil, oral procarbazine, and oral prednisolone (PRDL) daily on days 1-14. Regimen ABVD comprises doxorubicin IV over 6 hours, bleomycin IV over 15-30 minutes, vincristine IV, and dacarbazine IV over 15 minutes on days 1 and 14. Patients with relapsed disease receive etoposide IV over 1 hour on days 1-4, oral PRDL and ifosfamide IV over 1 hour on days 1-5, and cisplatin IV over 24 hours on day 10 (EPIC). Treatment with EPIC continues every 3 weeks for a total of 6 courses. Patients then undergo radiotherapy. Patients with poor response after radiotherapy receive consolidation with high-dose melphalan (L-PAM) IV over 30-90 minutes, followed at least 12 hours later by autologous peripheral blood stem cell transplantation (APBSCT) (if there is no bone marrow involvement at the time of relapse). Subgroup B: Patients not in subgroup A may either receive chemotherapy as outlined or radiotherapy depending on clinician and patient discussion. Patients with relapsed disease after radiotherapy receive 3 courses of the hybrid regimen. If relapse occurs outside the initial radiotherapy field, then further radiotherapy is administered.
  • Group 2 (stage II or III disease): Patients receive 3 courses of the hybrid regimen. Patients with relapsed disease receive 4 courses of EPIC. Patients with complete remission (CR) or good partial remission (GPR) after the fourth course of EPIC receive 2 additional courses of EPIC followed by radiotherapy. Patients without CR or GPR after the fourth course of EPIC undergo radiotherapy followed by L-PAM and APBSCT as in group 1, subgroup A.
  • Group 3 (stage IV or inadequate response to initial therapy): Patients receive 2 courses the hybrid regimen. Patients with CR or GPR after the second course of ABVD are assigned to subgroup C. Patients without CR or GPR after the second course of ABVD are assigned to subgroup D. Subgroup C: Patients receive 2 additional courses of the hybrid regimen. Patients with relapsed disease after the fourth course of ABVD receive 4 courses of EPIC followed by radiotherapy, L-PAM, and APBSCT as in group 1, subgroup A. Subgroup D: Patients receive 4 courses of EPIC followed by radiotherapy, L-PAM, and APBSCT as in group 1, subgroup A.

Patients are followed every 2 months for 1 year, every 3 months for 2 years, and then every 6 months thereafter.

PROJECTED ACCRUAL: Approximately 260 patients (75 with stage I disease, 150 with stage II or III disease, and 35 with stage IV disease) will be accrued for this study within 5 years.

Conditions
Lymphoma
Being tested
bleomycin sulfate, chlorambucil, cisplatin, dacarbazine, doxorubicin hydrochloride
Keywords
stage II childhood Hodgkin lymphoma, stage I childhood Hodgkin lymphoma, stage III childhood Hodgkin lymphoma, stage IV childhood Hodgkin lymphoma, recurrent/refractory childhood Hodgkin lymphoma
Medical subject headings
Lymphoma, Recurrence

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted27 Jan 2003 (estimated)
  2. Study startJan 2000

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Interventional
Phase
Phase 2
Primary purpose
Treatment
Enrolment
260 participants (estimated)
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT00025064
Sponsor's protocol ID
CCLG-HD-2000-02
Other IDs
CDR0000068901, EU-20108
Status last verified
Dec 2002
First submitted
11 Oct 2001
Last updated
7 Aug 2013
Results posted
No

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

A Phase 2 study testing bleomycin sulfate, chlorambucil and cisplatin in people with Lymphoma, run by Children's Cancer and Leukaemia Group at 21 sites in 2 countries.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Who may be eligible to take part?

Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: status not confirmed, as of the sponsor's last update on 7 Aug 2013. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

Where is the study taking place?

The record lists 21 sites in United Kingdom, Ireland. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

What does this phase mean?

Phase 2 studies give the treatment to a larger group to see whether it has the intended effect and to keep checking safety.

Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.

Are results available for this study?

Results are not available in the source record.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

Where can I read the original study information?
Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 7 Aug 2013.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in