AzTrials
AzTrials

Lung CancerPhase 1NCT00025480

Tipifarnib Plus Radiation Therapy After Combination Chemotherapy in Treating Patients With Stage III Non-Small Cell Lung Cancer

A Phase 1 study testing carboplatin, paclitaxel and tipifarnib in people with Lung Cancer, run by Abramson Cancer Center at Penn Medicine at 1 site in United States.

Completed

Finished. The study has ended and is not enrolling. Results may be posted on the official record.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

RATIONALE: Tipifarnib may stop the growth of tumor cells by blocking some of the enzymes needed for cell growth and by making tumor cells more sensitive to radiation therapy. Radiation therapy uses high-energy x-rays to kill tumor cells. Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Ages 18 to 120 years
Conditions the study is for
Lung Cancer
What is being tested?
carboplatin, paclitaxel and tipifarnib
Type of treatment
Surgery or procedure
How many people
12 participants
Where
1 siteUnited States
Study dates
Aug 2001to not given
Phase
Phase 1
Are there results?
None posted in the registry

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages 18 to 120 years
  • All sexes
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Adult, Older adult

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS:

  • Histologically confirmed non-small cell lung cancer
  • Locally advanced (stage IIIA or IIIB) disease requiring radiotherapy
  • No malignant pleural effusion

PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS:

Age:

  • 18 and over

Performance status:

  • ECOG 0-2

Life expectancy:

  • Not specified

Hematopoietic:

  • WBC at least 3,500/mm^3
  • Platelet count at least 100,000/mm^3

Hepatic:

  • Bilirubin no greater than 1.5 mg/dL
  • No grade 2 or greater elevation of liver function tests

Renal:

  • Creatinine no greater than 1.5 times normal

Pulmonary:

  • FEV_1 at least 600 cc

Other:

  • Not pregnant or nursing
  • Negative pregnancy test
  • Fertile patients must use effective contraception
  • HIV negative
  • No grade 3 or 4 peripheral neuropathy
  • No known allergy to imidazole drugs (e.g., ketoconazole, miconazole, econazole, or terconazole)

PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY:

Biologic therapy:

  • Not specified

Chemotherapy:

  • Up to 2 prior or concurrent carboplatin and paclitaxel chemotherapy regimens allowed

Endocrine therapy:

  • Not specified

Radiotherapy:

  • See Disease Characteristics
  • No prior thoracic radiotherapy

Surgery:

  • At least 3 weeks since prior exploratory thoracotomy

Trial locations and contacts

1 site in 1 country.

United States1 site
  • Abramson Cancer Center of the University of Pennsylvania

    Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, 19104-4283

Other trials in United States

About this study

Official title: A Phase I Trial of Farnesyltransferase Inhibitor, R115777 (NSC # 702818) and Radiotherapy in Patients With Non-Small Cell Lung Cancer

RATIONALE: Tipifarnib may stop the growth of tumor cells by blocking some of the enzymes needed for cell growth and by making tumor cells more sensitive to radiation therapy. Radiation therapy uses high-energy x-rays to kill tumor cells. Drugs used in chemotherapy, such as carboplatin and paclitaxel, work in different ways to stop the growth of tumor cells either by killing the cells or by stopping them from dividing and may also make tumor cells more sensitive to radiation therapy.

PURPOSE: This phase I trial is studying the side effects and best dose of tipifarnib when given together with radiation therapy after combination chemotherapy in treating patients with stage III non-small cell lung cancer.

Read the detailed description

OBJECTIVES:

  • Determine the maximum tolerated dose and dose-limiting toxicity of tipifarnib given concurrently with radiotherapy after induction chemotherapy comprising paclitaxel and carboplatin and followed by maintenance therapy with tipifarnib in patients with stage IIIA or IIIB non-small cell lung cancer.
  • Determine the tumor response at 3 months in patients treated with this regimen.

OUTLINE: This is multicenter, dose-escalation study of tipifarnib.

Patients receive induction chemotherapy comprising carboplatin IV over 30 minutes on day 1 and paclitaxel IV over 1 hour on days 1, 8, and 15. Treatment repeats every 28 days for 2 courses.

Beginning 4-6 weeks after the completion of induction chemotherapy, patients receive oral tipifarnib twice daily for 7 weeks. Patients undergo radiotherapy once daily 5 days a week for 7 weeks beginning 3 days after the start of tipifarnib. After completion of radiotherapy, patients receive oral tipifarnib twice daily for 4 days and then once daily for 4 days.

Cohorts of 3-6 patients receive escalating doses of tipifarnib while receiving radiotherapy until the maximum tolerated dose (MTD) is determined. The MTD is defined as the dose preceding that at which at least 2 of 3 or 2 of 6 patients experience dose-limiting toxicity.

Beginning 4-6 weeks after the completion of radiotherapy and tipifarnib, patients receive maintenance therapy comprising oral tipifarnib twice daily on days 1-21. Maintenance therapy repeats every 28 days in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity.

Patients are followed at 3, 6, and 12 months.

PROJECTED ACCRUAL: Approximately 9-12 patients will be accrued for this study within 1 year.

Conditions
Lung Cancer
Being tested
carboplatin, paclitaxel, tipifarnib, radiation therapy
Keywords
stage IIIA non-small cell lung cancer, stage IIIB non-small cell lung cancer
Medical subject headings
Lung Neoplasms, Carcinoma, Non-Small-Cell Lung

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted27 Jan 2003 (estimated)
  2. Study startAug 2001

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Interventional
Phase
Phase 1
Primary purpose
Treatment
Enrolment
12 participants (estimated)
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT00025480
Sponsor's protocol ID
CDR0000068965
Other IDs
UPCC-NCI-5150, NCI-5150
Status last verified
Apr 2007
First submitted
11 Oct 2001
Last updated
13 Mar 2019
Results posted
No

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

A Phase 1 study testing carboplatin, paclitaxel and tipifarnib in people with Lung Cancer, run by Abramson Cancer Center at Penn Medicine at 1 site in United States.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Who may be eligible to take part?

Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: finished, as of the sponsor's last update on 13 Mar 2019. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

Where is the study taking place?

The record lists 1 site in United States. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

What does this phase mean?

Phase 1 studies test a treatment in a small group of people for the first time or in a new way, mainly to check safety and find the right dose.

Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.

Are results available for this study?

The study is completed, but results are not available in the source record. That does not mean the treatment did or did not work.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

Where can I read the original study information?
Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 13 Mar 2019.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in