AzTrials
AzTrials

Breast CancerPhase 3NCT00026286

Hormone Replacement Therapy for Hot Flashes and/or Vaginal Symptoms in Postmenopausal Women Receiving Tamoxifen for Breast Cancer

A Phase 3 study testing conjugated estrogens and medroxyprogesterone in people with Breast Cancer and Hot Flashes, run by Eastern Cooperative Oncology Group at 24 sites in United States.

Completed

Finished. The study has ended and is not enrolling. Results may be posted on the official record.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

RATIONALE: Hormone replacement therapy may be effective in managing the hot flashes and/or vaginal symptoms in postmenopausal women who are receiving tamoxifen for breast cancer. Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Ages 18 to 120 years, women only
Conditions the study is for
Breast Cancer, Hot Flashes, Menopausal Symptoms
What is being tested?
conjugated estrogens and medroxyprogesterone
How many people
Not given
Where
24 sitesUnited States
Study dates
28 Nov 2000to 15 Jun 2007
Phase
Phase 3
Are there results?
None posted in the registry

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages 18 to 120 years
  • Women only
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Adult, Older adult

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS:

  • Histologically confirmed node-negative invasive carcinoma or ductal carcinoma in situ of the breast
  • No contralateral breast cancer
  • No recurrent or metastatic disease
  • Completion of active non-hormonal therapy for breast cancer
  • Receiving tamoxifen (20 mg/day) for at least 3 months prior to study and plan to continue drug while on study
  • Hot flashes severe enough to seek medical intervention (at least 7-8 moderate to severe hot flashes per day or 60 per week at baseline) AND/OR
  • Vaginal symptoms, including dyspareunia, vaginal dryness, irritation, or thinning due to estrogen deficiency
  • If uterus present, no prior histologically confirmed adenomatous or atypical endometrial hyperplasia or endometrial carcinoma AND no concurrent endometrial cancer confirmed by pelvic exam within the past year
  • No active endometriosis
  • No unexplained vaginal bleeding
  • Hormone receptor status:
  • Estrogen and progesterone receptor status known for patients with invasive breast cancer

PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS:

Age:

  • 18 and over

Sex:

  • Female

Menopausal status:

  • Postmenopausal
  • No menstrual period for more than 12 months OR prior bilateral oophorectomy
  • Must be over 55 years of age OR have documented follicle-stimulating hormone levels in postmenopausal range if one or both ovaries remain after prior hysterectomy

Performance status:

  • ECOG 0-1

Life expectancy:

  • Not specified

Hematopoietic:

  • Not specified

Hepatic:

  • Not specified

Renal:

  • Not specified

Cardiovascular:

  • No prior superficial or deep venous or arterial thrombosis
  • No serious venous stasis disease

Pulmonary:

  • No pulmonary embolus

Other:

  • Must be able to read and speak English
  • No lower extremity trauma, swelling, or tenderness within the past 4 weeks
  • No active gallbladder disease
  • No migraine headaches
  • No other prior malignancy unless curatively treated with no evidence of recurrence
  • No concurrent seizure disorder requiring anti-seizure medication

PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY:

Biologic therapy:

  • Not specified

Chemotherapy:

  • Not specified

Endocrine therapy:

  • See Disease Characteristics
  • No other concurrent estrogen or hormone replacement therapy
  • No concurrent clonidine, bellergal, progestational agent, or methyldopa for hot flashes
  • No concurrent topical vaginal estrogen cream (e.g., Estring or Vagifem) for patients with vaginal symptoms only

Radiotherapy:

  • Not specified

Surgery:

  • At least 4 weeks since prior surgery

Other:

  • At least 12 months since prior treatment for congestive heart failure
  • Concurrent selective serotonin reuptake inhibitors (SSRI) or antidepressants with SSRI activity allowed if begun at least 3 months prior to study and continue during study

Trial locations and contacts

24 sites in 1 country.

24 sites in 1 country

United States24 sites
  • CCOP - Ann Arbor Regional

    Ann Arbor, Michigan, 48106

  • University of Alabama at Birmingham Comprehensive Cancer Center

    Birmingham, Alabama, 35294-3300

  • Robert H. Lurie Comprehensive Cancer Center, Northwestern University

    Chicago, Illinois, 60611-3013

  • Veterans Affairs Medical Center - Lakeside Chicago

    Chicago, Illinois, 60611

  • Ireland Cancer Center

    Cleveland, Ohio, 44106-5065

  • CCOP - Central Illinois

    Decatur, Illinois, 62526

  • CCOP - Merit Care Hospital

    Fargo, North Dakota, 58122

  • CCOP - Northern New Jersey

    Hackensack, New Jersey, 07601

  • Indiana University Cancer Center

    Indianapolis, Indiana, 46202-5289

  • Veterans Affairs Medical Center - Indianapolis (Roudebush)

    Indianapolis, Indiana, 46202

  • CCOP - Kalamazoo

    Kalamazoo, Michigan, 49007-3731

  • Veterans Affairs Medical Center - Madison

    Madison, Wisconsin, 53705

  • University of Wisconsin Comprehensive Cancer Center

    Madison, Wisconsin, 53792-6164

  • Veterans Affairs Medical Center - Tennessee Valley Healthcare System - Nashville Campus

    Nashville, Tennessee, 37212

  • Vanderbilt-Ingram Cancer Center

    Nashville, Tennessee, 37232-6838

  • CCOP - Missouri Valley Cancer Consortium

    Omaha, Nebraska, 68131

  • University of Pennsylvania Cancer Center

    Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, 19104-4283

  • Fox Chase Cancer Center

    Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, 19111

  • CCOP - Metro-Minnesota

    Saint Louis Park, Minnesota, 55416

  • CCOP - Sioux Community Cancer Consortium

    Sioux Falls, South Dakota, 57104

  • Albert Einstein Comprehensive Cancer Center

    The Bronx, New York, 10461

  • CCOP - Carle Cancer Center

    Urbana, Illinois, 61801

  • CCOP - Wichita

    Wichita, Kansas, 67214-3882

  • CCOP - MainLine Health

    Wynnewood, Pennsylvania, 19096

Other trials in United States

About this study

Official title: A Phase III Prospective, Randomized, Double-Blind Clinical Trial of Hormone Replacement Therapy In Postmenopausal Women With A History Of Node-Negative Or Ductal Carcinoma In Situ Who Are Receiving Adjuvant Tamoxifen

RATIONALE: Hormone replacement therapy may be effective in managing the hot flashes and/or vaginal symptoms in postmenopausal women who are receiving tamoxifen for breast cancer.

PURPOSE: Randomized phase III trial to determine the effectiveness of hormone replacement therapy in managing hot flashes and/or vaginal symptoms in postmenopausal women who are receiving tamoxifen for breast cancer.

Read the detailed description

OBJECTIVES:

  • Determine the efficacy of hormone replacement therapy in managing hot flashes and menopausal vaginal symptoms in postmenopausal women with a history of node-negative invasive carcinoma or ductal carcinoma in situ of the breast who are receiving adjuvant tamoxifen.
  • Determine the effect of this regimen on blood coagulation and lipid profiles in these patients.
  • Determine the quality of life of patients treated with this regimen.

OUTLINE: This is a randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled, multicenter study. Patients are stratified according to prior hysterectomy (yes vs no), symptom complex (vasomotor vs vaginal vs both), duration of hot flashes (less than 1 year or no hot flashes vs 1 year or more), and average daily number of hot flashes (less than 10 or none vs 10 or more). Patients are randomized to one of two treatment arms.

  • Arm I: Patients who have not undergone prior hysterectomy receive oral medroxyprogesterone once daily for 6 months. If, after 1 month, symptoms do not resolve, patients receive oral conjugated estrogens once daily in addition to medroxyprogesterone for 5 months. Patients who have undergone prior hysterectomy receive oral conjugated estrogens once daily for 6 months.
  • Arm II: Patients receive oral placebo once daily for 6 months. Quality of life is assessed at baseline and months 1, 2, 3, and 6.

Patients are followed every 3 months for 2 years, every 6 months for 3 years, and then annually thereafter.

PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 120 patients (60 per treatment arm) will be accrued for this study within 12 months.

Being tested
conjugated estrogens, medroxyprogesterone
Keywords
stage I breast cancer, stage II breast cancer, breast cancer in situ, ductal breast carcinoma, hot flashes, menopausal symptoms
Medical subject headings
Breast Neoplasms, Hot Flashes, Breast Carcinoma In Situ, Carcinoma, Ductal, Breast

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

  • conjugated estrogensDrug

  • medroxyprogesteroneDrug

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted17 Sep 2003 (estimated)
  2. Study start28 Nov 2000
  3. Primary completionAug 2002
  4. Study completion15 Jun 2007

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Interventional
Phase
Phase 3
Primary purpose
Supportive care
Allocation
Randomised
Masking
Double blind
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT00026286
Sponsor's protocol ID
CDR0000069015
Other IDs
E-2193, NCI-P01-0194
Status last verified
Jun 2023
First submitted
9 Nov 2001
Last updated
15 Jun 2023
Results posted
No

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

A Phase 3 study testing conjugated estrogens and medroxyprogesterone in people with Breast Cancer and Hot Flashes, run by Eastern Cooperative Oncology Group at 24 sites in United States.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Who may be eligible to take part?

Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: finished, as of the sponsor's last update on 15 Jun 2023. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

Where is the study taking place?

The record lists 24 sites in United States. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

What does this phase mean?

Phase 3 studies compare the treatment with the current standard treatment or a placebo in a large group, to confirm how well it works and watch for side effects.

Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.

Are results available for this study?

The study is completed, but results are not available in the source record. That does not mean the treatment did or did not work.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

Where can I read the original study information?
Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 15 Jun 2023.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in