SarcomaPhase 2NCT00027716
Bortezomib in Treating Patients With Advanced or Metastatic Sarcoma
A Phase 2 study testing bortezomib in people with Sarcoma, run by Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center at 6 sites in United States.
Trial summary
RATIONALE: Bortezomib may stop the growth of cancer by blocking the enzymes necessary for tumor cell growth. PURPOSE: Phase II trial to study the effectiveness of bortezomib in treating patients who have advanced or metastatic sarcoma. Read more about this study
- Who is it for?
- Ages 18 years and older
- Conditions the study is for
- Sarcoma
- What is being tested?
- bortezomib
- How many people
- Not given
- Where
- 6 sitesUnited States
- Study dates
- Oct 2001to May 2004
- Phase
- Phase 2
- Are there results?
- None posted in the registry
Key requirements
Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.
- Ages 18 years and older
- All sexes
- No healthy volunteers
- Adult, Older adult
DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS:
- Histologically or cytologically confirmed sarcoma
- Soft tissue metastasis or locally recurrent disease
- Stratum I (closed to accrual as of 10/17/03):
- Soft tissue sarcoma not specified in stratum II
- Osteogenic sarcoma arising from soft tissue or gastrointestinal stromal tumor (GIST)
- Stratum II:
- Ewing's sarcoma of soft tissue or bone (if measurable soft tissue metastasis is present)
- Rhabdomyosarcoma
- Osteogenic sarcoma of bone (if measurable soft tissue metastasis is present)
- At least 1 unidimensionally measurable lesion
- At least 20 mm by conventional techniques OR at least 10 mm by spiral CT scan
- Disease progression within the past 3 months
- No prior or active known brain metastases
PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS:
Age:
- 18 and over
Performance status:
- Karnofsky 80-100% OR
- ECOG 0-1
Life expectancy:
- Not specified
Hematopoietic:
- Absolute neutrophil count at least 1,500/mm^3
- Platelet count at least 100,000/mm^3
Hepatic:
- Bilirubin no greater than 1.5 mg/dL
- AST/ALT no greater than 2.5 times upper limit of normal
Renal:
- Creatinine no greater than 1.5 mg/dL OR
- Creatinine clearance greater than 60 mL/min
Cardiovascular:
- No peripheral vascular disease requiring surgical management
- No history of congestive heart failure even if it is medically controlled
- No angina pectoris even if it is medically controlled
- No myocardial infarction within the past year
- No cardiac arrhythmias
- No prior cerebrovascular event
- No prior transient ischemic attack
- No EKG evidence of acute ischemia or conduction abnormality (e.g., bifascicular block [left anterior hemiblock in the presence of right bundle branch block] or second or third degree atrioventricular block)
- No history of orthostatic hypotension
Other:
- Not pregnant or nursing
- Negative pregnancy test
- Fertile patients must use effective contraception
- No prior allergic reaction to compounds of similar chemical or biological composition to study drug
- No other uncontrolled concurrent illness
- No ongoing or active infection
- No psychiatric illness or social situation that would preclude study compliance
- No other malignancy within the past 5 years except adequately treated basal cell skin cancer or carcinoma in situ of the cervix
- No symptomatic peripheral neuropathy greater than grade 1
PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY:
Biologic therapy:
- At least 4 weeks since prior immunotherapy and recovered
- No concurrent biological or immunological agents
Chemotherapy:
- Stratum I (closed to accrual as of 10/17/03):
- At least 1 year since prior chemotherapy in the adjuvant or neoadjuvant setting
- No other prior chemotherapy
- Stratum II:
- No more than 1 prior chemotherapy regimen
- No concurrent chemotherapy
Endocrine therapy:
- Not specified
Radiotherapy:
- At least 4 weeks since prior radiotherapy and recovered
- No concurrent radiotherapy
Surgery:
- Not specified
Other:
- Prior imatinib mesylate for GIST (stratum I closed to accrual as of 10/17/03) allowed
- No other concurrent investigational agents
- No concurrent commercial anticancer agents or therapies
- No concurrent combination antiretroviral therapy for HIV-positive patients
Trial locations and contacts
6 sites in 1 country.
6 sites in 1 country
United States6 sites
University of Colorado Cancer Center at University of Colorado Health Sciences Center
Aurora, Colorado, 80010
Dana-Farber/Harvard Cancer Center at Dana Farber Cancer Institute
Boston, Massachusetts, 02115
Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center
New York, New York, 10021
University of Chicago Cancer Research Center
New York, New York, 10021
Abramson Cancer Center at University of Pennsylvania Medical Center
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, 19104-4283
Albert Einstein College of Medicine
The Bronx, New York, 10461
About this study
Official title: A Multi-Institutional, Open-Label, Two-Group, Phase II Study of PS-341 (LDP-341, NSC #681239) in Patients With Advanced or Metastatic Sarcoma
RATIONALE: Bortezomib may stop the growth of cancer by blocking the enzymes necessary for tumor cell growth.
PURPOSE: Phase II trial to study the effectiveness of bortezomib in treating patients who have advanced or metastatic sarcoma.
Read the detailed description
OBJECTIVES:
- Determine the response rate in patients with advanced or metastatic sarcoma treated with bortezomib.
- Correlate levels of cyclins D1, E, p21 (WAF1), p27 (Kip1), mdm^2, p53, and Ki67 with response in patients treated with this drug.
OUTLINE: This is an open-label, multicenter study. Patients are stratified according to disease (stratum I: soft tissue sarcoma not specified in stratum II, osteogenic sarcoma arising from soft tissues, or gastrointestinal stromal tumor vs stratum II: Ewing's sarcoma of soft tissue or bone, rhabdomyosarcoma, or osteogenic sarcoma of bone). (Stratum I closed to accrual as of 10/17/03.)
Patients receive bortezomib IV over 3-5 seconds on days 1, 4, 8, and 11. Courses repeat every 21 days in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity.
Patients are followed every 3 months for 1 year.
PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 21-41 patients will be accrued for stratum I within 5-11 months and 21-41 patients will be accrued for stratum II within 10.5-22 months. (Stratum I closed to accrual as of 10/17/03.)
- Conditions
- Sarcoma
- Being tested
- bortezomib
- Keywords
- metastatic osteosarcoma, recurrent adult soft tissue sarcoma, recurrent osteosarcoma, adult rhabdomyosarcoma, metastatic Ewing sarcoma/peripheral primitive neuroectodermal tumor, recurrent Ewing sarcoma/peripheral primitive neuroectodermal tumor, stage IV adult soft tissue sarcoma
- Medical subject headings
- Sarcoma, Osteosarcoma, Rhabdomyosarcoma, Neuroectodermal Tumors, Primitive, Peripheral
What participants receive
What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.
bortezomibDrug
Timeline
From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.
- First posted27 Jan 2003 (estimated)
- Study startOct 2001
- Primary completionMay 2004
- Study completionMay 2004
Resources
- Official record on ClinicalTrials.govThe registry entry this page is built from, with its full change history.
- Other trials for SarcomaStudies of the same condition, open and under way.
- More trials run by Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer CenterThe sponsor's other registered studies.
- What the trial phases meanHow a treatment moves from first tests in people to approval.
More details
For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.
Study design
- Study type
- Interventional
- Phase
- Phase 2
- Primary purpose
- Treatment
- Masking
- None (open label)
Sponsor and investigators
- Lead sponsor
- Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center
- Sponsor type
- University, hospital or other
- Collaborators
- National Cancer Institute (NCI)
- Investigators
- Robert Maki, MD, PhD, Study chair, Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center
IDs, dates and publications
- ClinicalTrials.gov ID
- NCT00027716
- Sponsor's protocol ID
- 01-073
- Other IDs
- CDR0000069060, NCI-1757
- Status last verified
- Jun 2013
- First submitted
- 7 Dec 2001
- Last updated
- 6 Jun 2013
- Results posted
- No
Study at a glance
From the registry record, last updated by the sponsor on 6 Jun 2013. Recruitment status is as the sponsor reported it: confirm with the study team.
- Official title
- A Multi-Institutional, Open-Label, Two-Group, Phase II Study of PS-341 (LDP-341, NSC #681239) in Patients With Advanced or Metastatic Sarcoma
- ClinicalTrials.gov ID
- NCT00027716
- Acronym / sponsor ID
- 01-073
- Conditions
- Sarcoma
- Keywords
- metastatic osteosarcoma, recurrent adult soft tissue sarcoma, recurrent osteosarcoma, adult rhabdomyosarcoma, metastatic Ewing sarcoma/peripheral primitive neuroectodermal tumor, recurrent Ewing sarcoma/peripheral primitive neuroectodermal tumor, stage IV adult soft tissue sarcoma
- Phase
- Phase 2
- Study type
- Interventional
- Recruitment status
- Completed
- Lead sponsor
- Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer CenterUniversity, hospital or other
- Collaborators
- National Cancer Institute (NCI)
- Study start
- Oct 2001
- Primary completion
- May 2004 (actual)
- Study completion
- May 2004 (actual)
- First posted
- 27 Jan 2003 (estimated)
- Results
- Not posted in the source record
Clinical summary
The research question as the sponsor registered it. This describes what the study plans to test, not what it found.
RATIONALE: Bortezomib may stop the growth of cancer by blocking the enzymes necessary for tumor cell growth.
PURPOSE: Phase II trial to study the effectiveness of bortezomib in treating patients who have advanced or metastatic sarcoma.
Detailed description
OBJECTIVES:
- Determine the response rate in patients with advanced or metastatic sarcoma treated with bortezomib.
- Correlate levels of cyclins D1, E, p21 (WAF1), p27 (Kip1), mdm^2, p53, and Ki67 with response in patients treated with this drug.
OUTLINE: This is an open-label, multicenter study. Patients are stratified according to disease (stratum I: soft tissue sarcoma not specified in stratum II, osteogenic sarcoma arising from soft tissues, or gastrointestinal stromal tumor vs stratum II: Ewing's sarcoma of soft tissue or bone, rhabdomyosarcoma, or osteogenic sarcoma of bone). (Stratum I closed to accrual as of 10/17/03.)
Patients receive bortezomib IV over 3-5 seconds on days 1, 4, 8, and 11. Courses repeat every 21 days in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity.
Patients are followed every 3 months for 1 year.
PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 21-41 patients will be accrued for stratum I within 5-11 months and 21-41 patients will be accrued for stratum II within 10.5-22 months. (Stratum I closed to accrual as of 10/17/03.)
Study design
- Primary purpose
- Treatment
- Masking
- None (open label)
Who may qualify
- Ages
- 18 years and older
- Sex
- All
- Healthy volunteers
- Not accepted
- Age groups
- Adult, Older adult
Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening; this overview does not establish that a patient qualifies. Full inclusion and exclusion criteria.
Interventions
| Intervention | Type | Arms |
|---|---|---|
| bortezomib | Drug | – |
Primary outcome
Not reported in the source record.
Results and safety
The study is completed, but results are not available in the source record. That does not mean the treatment did or did not work.
Research links
- Official record on ClinicalTrials.govLast updated by the sponsor 6 Jun 2013.
Related trials for Sarcoma
RecruitingPhase 2
A Multicenter Phase II Clinical Trial Evaluating 68Ga-HX01 Injection for PET/CT Imaging
Soft Tissue Sarcoma
RecruitingPhase 3
Measuring if Immunotherapy Plus Chemotherapy is Better Than Chemotherapy Alone for Patients With Aggressive Poorly Differentiated Sarcomas
Metastatic Dedifferentiated Liposarcoma, Metastatic Undifferentiated Pleomorphic Sarcoma
RecruitingPhase 2
At-Home Cancer Directed Therapy Versus in Clinic for the Treatment of Patients With Advanced Cancer
Advanced Anal Carcinoma, Advanced Biliary Tract Carcinoma
RecruitingPhase 1/2
Dose Escalation and Dose Expansion Study of MDX2003 in Patients With Different Types of Lymphoma
Lymphoma, Waldenström Macroglobulinemia (WM)
Enrolling by invitationPhase 1
Evaluation of the I-phase Clinical Trial of 177Lu-HX02 Injection in Patients With Advanced Malignant Solid Tumors
Soft Tissue Sarcoma, Non-small Cell Lung Cancer
Referral and contact
AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals. Contact the study team or a site listed below; they decide who can take part. This study is not recruiting at the moment.
Robert Maki, MD, PhD study chair
Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center
6 sites in 1 country: see every site and its status.
Questions about this trial
What is this clinical trial studying?
A Phase 2 study testing bortezomib in people with Sarcoma, run by Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center at 6 sites in United States.
The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.
Who may be eligible to take part?
Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.
Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?
The record says: finished, as of the sponsor's last update on 6 Jun 2013. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.
Where is the study taking place?
The record lists 6 sites in United States. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.
What are the possible benefits and risks?
They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.
What does this phase mean?
Phase 2 studies give the treatment to a larger group to see whether it has the intended effect and to keep checking safety.
Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.
Are results available for this study?
The study is completed, but results are not available in the source record. That does not mean the treatment did or did not work.
How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?
The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.
Where can I read the original study information?
Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?
No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.
How often is this information updated?
AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 6 Jun 2013.