AzTrials
AzTrials

Precancerous ConditionPhase 2/3NCT00027976

Celecoxib in Preventing Skin Cancer in Patients With Actinic Keratoses

A Phase 2/3 study testing celecoxib in people with Precancerous Condition, run by University of Alabama at Birmingham at 7 sites in United States.

Withdrawn

Withdrawn. The study stopped before anyone enrolled.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

RATIONALE: Chemoprevention therapy is the use of certain drugs to try to prevent the development or recurrence of cancer. The use of celecoxib may be an effective way to prevent actinic keratoses. Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Ages 18 years and older
Conditions the study is for
Precancerous Condition
What is being tested?
celecoxib
Could I receive a placebo?
Yes, some participants may receive a placebo
How many people
0 participants
Where
7 sitesUnited States
Study dates
Dec 2001to Dec 2005
Phase
Phase 2/3
Are there results?
None posted in the registry

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages 18 years and older
  • All sexes
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Adult, Older adult

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS:

  • Diagnosis of Fitzpatrick skin types I, II, or III
  • Sun-damaged skin with 10-40 actinic keratoses on the upper extremities (upper arms, forearms, and hands), neck, face, and scalp combined

PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS:

Age:

  • 18 and over

Performance status:

  • Not specified

Life expectancy:

  • Not specified

Hematopoietic:

  • WBC at least 3,000/mm^3
  • Platelet count at least 125,000/mm^3
  • Hemoglobin at least lower limit of normal
  • No significant bleeding disorder

Hepatic:

  • Bilirubin no greater than 1.5 times upper limit of normal (ULN)
  • AST and ALT no greater than 1.5 times ULN
  • No chronic or acute hepatic disorder

Renal:

  • Creatinine no greater than 1.5 times ULN
  • BUN no greater than 1.5 times ULN
  • No chronic or acute renal disorder

Gastrointestinal:

  • No history of or active inflammatory bowel disease
  • No active pancreatitis
  • Not diagnosed with esophageal, gastric, pyloric channel, or duodenal ulceration within the past 30 days

Other:

  • No history of keloid formation
  • No known photosensitivity disorder
  • No history of hypersensitivity or adverse reaction to sulfonamides, COX-2 inhibitors, salicylates, or other NSAIDs
  • No other condition that would preclude study
  • No other medical or psychosocial condition that would preclude study
  • No other malignancy within the past 5 years except:
  • Carcinoma in situ of the cervix
  • Curatively excised nonmelanoma skin cancer
  • Stage 0 chronic lymphocytic leukemia
  • Any cancer for which the patient is currently without evidence of disease, has not been treated for tumor within the past 6 months, has no current or planned therapy, and has an expected disease-free survival of at least 5 years
  • Not pregnant or nursing
  • Negative pregnancy test
  • Fertile patients must use effective contraception

PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY:

Biologic therapy:

  • At least 30 days since prior systemic immunotherapy
  • No concurrent immunotherapy

Chemotherapy:

  • At least 3 months since prior topical fluorouracil (5-FU)
  • At least 6 months since other prior topical chemotherapy
  • No concurrent topical chemotherapy, including 5-FU
  • No other concurrent chemotherapy

Endocrine therapy:

  • At least 6 months since prior oral or IV corticosteroids for more than 2 consecutive weeks
  • At least 6 months since prior inhaled or nasal corticosteroids for more than 4 weeks duration
  • At least 14 days since prior topical corticosteroids
  • At least 30 days since prior nasal corticosteroids (except mometasone)
  • No concurrent oral or IV corticosteroids for more than 2 consecutive weeks during any 6 month period during study
  • No concurrent inhaled or nasal steroids (except mometasone) for more than 4 weeks during any 6 month period during study
  • No concurrent hormonal or steroidal therapy, including topical corticosteroids
  • Concurrent hormone replacement therapy (e.g., estrogen or thyroid hormone replacement) allowed

Radiotherapy:

  • At least 6 months since prior local radiotherapy to areas being studied
  • At least 30 days since other prior radiotherapy
  • No concurrent radiotherapy, including local radiotherapy to areas being studied

Surgery:

  • Not specified

Other:

  • At least 30 days since prior cryotherapy to target lesions
  • At least 60 days since prior laser resurfacing, dermabrasion, or chemical peels
  • At least 30 days since prior investigational medication
  • At least 14 days since prior topical alphahydroxyacids (e.g., glycolic acid or lactic acid) or retinoids
  • At least 30 days since prior systemic psoralens or retinoids
  • At least 30 days since prior treatment for esophageal, gastric, pyloric channel, or duodenal ulcers
  • At least 30 days since prior aspirin (more than 100 mg/day), other nonsteroidal anti-inflammatory drugs (NSAIDs) or COX-2 inhibitors at a frequency of at least 3 times per week for more than 2 weeks (except cardioprotective doses of aspirin (no more than 100 mg/day)
  • No concurrent systemic psoralens or retinoids
  • No concurrent prescription or over-the-counter topical medications to areas being studied (e.g., vitamin A derivatives)
  • No concurrent cryotherapy to target lesions
  • No concurrent laser resurfacing, dermabrasion, or chemical peels
  • No other concurrent investigational medications
  • No concurrent fluconazole or lithium
  • No concurrent chronic NSAIDs or COX-2 inhibitors (at least 3 times per week for more than 2 consecutive weeks per year)
  • Concurrent cardioprotective doses of oral aspirin (100 mg per day or less) allowed
  • Concurrent moisturizer/emollient or sunscreen allowed

Trial locations and contacts

7 sites in 1 country.

7 sites in 1 country

United States7 sites
  • University of Michigan Comprehensive Cancer Center

    Ann Arbor, Michigan, 48109-0314

  • University of Alabama at Birmingham Comprehensive Cancer Center

    Birmingham, Alabama, 35294-3300

  • University of Texas - MD Anderson Cancer Center

    Houston, Texas, 77030-4009

  • Chao Family Comprehensive Cancer Center at University of California Irvine Cancer Center

    Irvine, California, 92697

  • University of Wisconsin Comprehensive Cancer Center

    Madison, Wisconsin, 53792-6164

  • James P. Wilmot Cancer Center at University of Rochester Medical Center

    Rochester, New York, 14642

  • Siteman Cancer Center at Barnes-Jewish Hospital

    St Louis, Missouri, 63110

Other trials in United States

About this study

Official title: A Phase II/III Randomized, Double-Blind, Placebo-Controlled Clinical Trial Of Celecoxib In Subjects With Actinic Keratoses

RATIONALE: Chemoprevention therapy is the use of certain drugs to try to prevent the development or recurrence of cancer. The use of celecoxib may be an effective way to prevent actinic keratoses.

PURPOSE: Randomized phase II/III trial to determine the effectiveness of celecoxib in preventing skin cancer in patients who have actinic keratoses.

Read the detailed description

OBJECTIVES:

  • Compare celecoxib vs placebo in terms of preventing the development of new actinic keratoses in patients with actinic keratoses.
  • Compare these treatment regimens in terms of inducing regression of actinic keratoses in these patients.
  • Determine the safety of this drug in these patients.
  • Compare the effect of these treatment regimens on potential surrogate end-point biomarkers in areas of actinic keratosis, sun-exposed skin, and non-sun-exposed skin and correlate these biomarkers with clinical outcome in these patients.

OUTLINE: This is a randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled, multicenter study. Patients are randomized to 1 of 2 treatment arms.

  • Arm I: Patients receive oral celecoxib twice daily for 9 months in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity.
  • Arm II: Patients receive oral placebo as in arm I. Patients are followed at 2 months after completing treatment.

PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 240 patients (120 per treatment arm) will be accrued for this study.

Being tested
celecoxib, Placebo
Keywords
actinic keratosis
Medical subject headings
Precancerous Conditions, Keratosis, Actinic

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

Study groups in NCT00027976
Study groupRoleWhat they receive
Group 1 active armExperimentalreceipt of active drug
Receives: Drug: celecoxib
Group 2 active armExperimentalreceipt of active drug
Receives: Drug: celecoxib
group 2 placebo armExperimentalreceipt of placebo
Receives: Drug: Placebo

What is being measured

The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.

  1. Compare celecoxib vs placebo in terms of preventing the development of new actinic keratoses in patients with actinic keratoses.

    Measured: baseline to 2 months after last dose

Secondary outcomes (2)
  1. Compare these treatment regimens in terms of inducing regression of actinic keratoses in these patients.

    Measured: baseline to 2 months after last dose

  2. Compare the effect of these treatment regimens on potential surrogate end-point biomarkers in areas of actinic keratosis, sun-exposed skin, and non-sun-exposed skin and correlate these biomarkers with clinical outcome in these patients.

    Measured: baseline to 2 months after last dose

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted27 Jan 2003 (estimated)
  2. Study startDec 2001
  3. Primary completionDec 2005
  4. Study completionDec 2005

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Interventional
Phase
Phase 2/3
Primary purpose
Prevention
Allocation
Randomised
Intervention model
Single group
Masking
Triple blind
Who is masked
Participant, Care provider, Investigator
Enrolment
0 participants (actual)
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT00027976
Sponsor's protocol ID
CDR0000069099
Other IDs
UAB-9833, UAB-NQ401A4009, UAB-NQ49902009, NCI-P00-0161, NCI-P01-0197
Status last verified
Nov 2012
First submitted
7 Dec 2001
Last updated
5 Aug 2013
Results posted
No
Data monitoring committee
Yes

Publications

  • Elmets CA, Viner JL, Pentland AP, Cantrell W, Lin HY, Bailey H, Kang S, Linden KG, Heffernan M, Duvic M, Richmond E, Elewski BE, Umar A, Bell W, Gordon GB. Chemoprevention of nonmelanoma skin cancer with celecoxib: a randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled trial. J Natl Cancer Inst. 2010 Dec 15;102(24):1835-44. doi: 10.1093/jnci/djq442. Epub 2010 Nov 29.

    PubMed 21115882
  • Bakshi A, Shafi R, Nelson J, Cantrell WC, Subhadarshani S, Andea A, Athar M, Elmets CA. The clinical course of actinic keratosis correlates with underlying molecular mechanisms. Br J Dermatol. 2020 Apr;182(4):995-1002. doi: 10.1111/bjd.18338. Epub 2019 Sep 11.

    PubMed 31299087

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

A Phase 2/3 study testing celecoxib in people with Precancerous Condition, run by University of Alabama at Birmingham at 7 sites in United States.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Who may be eligible to take part?

Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: withdrawn, as of the sponsor's last update on 5 Aug 2013. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

Where is the study taking place?

The record lists 7 sites in United States. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

What does this combined phase mean?

Phase 2 studies give the treatment to a larger group to see whether it has the intended effect and to keep checking safety.

Phase 3 studies compare the treatment with the current standard treatment or a placebo in a large group, to confirm how well it works and watch for side effects.

Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.

Are results available for this study?

The study was withdrawn before enrolling participants, so there are no results.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

What does the primary outcome measure?

Compare celecoxib vs placebo in terms of preventing the development of new actinic keratoses in patients with actinic keratoses. (time frame: baseline to 2 months after last dose). It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.

Where can I read the original study information?

On the ClinicalTrials.gov record for NCT00027976, which also lists 2 linked publications.

Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 5 Aug 2013.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in