LymphomaPhase 2NCT00028665
Cyclophosphamide W/or W/Out Rituximab and Peripheral Stem Cell Transplantation in Patients With Recurrent Non-Hodgkin's Lymphoma
A Phase 2 study testing filgrastim, rituximab and carmustine in people with Lymphoma, run by Case Comprehensive Cancer Center at 1 site in United States.
Trial summary
RATIONALE: Monoclonal antibodies such as rituximab can locate cancer cells and either kill them or deliver cancer-killing substances to them without harming normal cells. Drugs used in chemotherapy use different ways to stop cancer cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. Read more about this study
- Who is it for?
- Ages 12 to 65 years
- Conditions the study is for
- Lymphoma
- What is being tested?
- filgrastim, rituximab and carmustine
- Type of treatment
- Injection or infusion, Surgery or procedure
- Could I receive a placebo?
- No, everyone receives an active treatment
- How many people
- 37 participants
- Where
- 1 siteUnited States
- Study dates
- Jun 2000to Mar 2005
- Phase
- Phase 2
- Are there results?
- None posted in the registry
Key requirements
Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.
- Ages 12 to 65 years
- All sexes
- No healthy volunteers
- Child, Adult, Older adult
DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS:
- Histologically confirmed B-cell non-Hodgkin's lymphoma (NHL)
- Indolent or aggressive histology
- No small lymphocytic lymphoma, Burkitt's lymphoma, or small lymphocytic non-Burkitt's lymphoma
- CD20-positive and/or CD19-positive by immunohistochemistry or flow cytometry
- Second or greater remission allowed
- Partial remission, relapse, or refractory disease must have measurable tumor
- Eligible for high-dose therapy followed by autologous peripheral blood stem cell transplantation
- No CNS involvement by lymphoma
PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS:
Age:
- 12 to 65
Performance status:
- ECOG 0-2
Life expectancy:
- Not specified
Hematopoietic:
- Absolute neutrophil count greater than 1,200/mm^3
- Platelet count greater than 100,000/mm^3
Hepatic:
- Bilirubin less than 2.0 mg/dL
Renal:
- Creatinine clearance at least 60 mL/min
- No renal dysfunction
Cardiovascular:
- LVEF at least 40%
- No cardiac dysfunction
- No myocardial infarction within the past 3 months
Pulmonary:
- FEV_1 greater than 60%
- DLCO at least 60% of predicted
- No pulmonary dysfunction
- No asthma
Other:
- HIV negative
- No significant organ dysfunction
- No severe comorbid condition
- No uncontrolled diabetes
- No severe or active infection
- Not pregnant or nursing
- Fertile patients must use effective contraception
PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY:
Biologic therapy:
- See Chemotherapy
- No prior immunotherapy
Chemotherapy:
- No prior high-dose chemotherapy with or without peripheral blood stem cell transplantation
- No more than 3 prior chemotherapy regimens for NHL
- At least 4 weeks since prior chemotherapy and recovered
Endocrine therapy:
- Not specified
Radiotherapy:
- Prior radiotherapy allowed
Surgery:
- Not specified
Trial locations and contacts
1 site in 1 country.
United States1 site
Ireland Cancer Center at University Hospitals of Cleveland and Case Western Reserve University
Cleveland, Ohio, 44106-7284
About this study
Official title: Randomized Phase II Trial of B-Lymphocyte Purging of Autologous Peripheral Blood Progenitor Cells in Patients With B-Cell Non-Hodgkin's Lymphoma
RATIONALE: Monoclonal antibodies such as rituximab can locate cancer cells and either kill them or deliver cancer-killing substances to them without harming normal cells. Drugs used in chemotherapy use different ways to stop cancer cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. Combining chemotherapy with peripheral stem cell transplantation may allow the doctor to give higher doses of chemotherapy drugs and kill more cancer cells. It is not yet known if combining rituximab with cyclophosphamide is more effective than cyclophosphamide alone in stimulating peripheral stem cells for transplantation.
PURPOSE: This randomized phase II trial is studying how well giving cyclophosphamide with or without rituximab followed by chemotherapy and peripheral stem cell transplantation works in treating patients with recurrent non-Hodgkin's lymphoma.
Read the detailed description
OBJECTIVES:
- Compare the effects of mobilization therapy with or without rituximab on hematopoietic stem cells, B and T lymphocytes, and natural killer cells in patients with advanced or recurrent B-cell non-Hodgkin's lymphoma.
- Compare the effects of B-lymphocyte purging using concurrent rituximab and mobilization therapy vs a CD34+ cell enrichment device on hematopoietic stem cells, B and T lymphocytes, and natural killer cells in the peripheral blood stem cell (PBSC) infusates.
- Compare the effect of these purging regimens on tumor cell content of PBSC infusates.
- Compare the effects of these regimens on myeloid and lymphoid engraftment after high-dose chemotherapy and autologous PBSC infusion in these patients.
- Compare post-transplantation infection complications in patients treated with these regimens.
- Compare the response and relapse-free survival of patients treated with these regimens.
OUTLINE: This is a randomized study. Patients are randomized to 1 of 2 treatment arms.
- Arm I: Patients receive mobilization therapy comprising rituximab IV over 2-5 hours on days 1, 8, and 15 and cyclophosphamide IV over 3-6 hours on day 16. Beginning 36-48 hours after the completion of cyclophosphamide, patients receive filgrastim (G-CSF) subcutaneously (SC) daily until blood counts recover. Patients then undergo peripheral blood stem cell (PBSC) collection.
After completion of PBSC collection, patients receive high-dose chemotherapy comprising carmustine IV on days -7 to -3 and etoposide IV and cisplatin IV for 3 days during days -7 to -3. Patients may undergo involved-field radiotherapy to active or previously bulky (more than 5 cm) tumors daily for 7-10 days.
Patients receive unmanipulated PBSCs on day 0. Patients receive G-CSF SC daily beginning 4 hours after completion of PBSC infusion and continuing until neutrophil engraftment.
- Arm II: Patients receive mobilization therapy comprising cyclophosphamide and G-CSF and high-dose chemotherapy comprising carmustine, etoposide, and cisplatin as in arm I. Patients may also undergo involved-field radiotherapy as in arm I. Patients receive CD34 cell-enriched PBSC on day 0 followed by G-CSF as in arm I.
Patients are followed every 3 months.
PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 71 patients will be accrued for this study within 2 years.
- Conditions
- Lymphoma
- Being tested
- filgrastim, rituximab, carmustine, cisplatin, cyclophosphamide
- Keywords
- stage III grade 1 follicular lymphoma, stage III grade 2 follicular lymphoma, stage III grade 3 follicular lymphoma, stage III adult diffuse small cleaved cell lymphoma, stage III adult diffuse mixed cell lymphoma, stage III adult diffuse large cell lymphoma, stage III adult immunoblastic large cell lymphoma, stage III adult lymphoblastic lymphoma, stage IV grade 1 follicular lymphoma, stage IV grade 2 follicular lymphoma, stage IV grade 3 follicular lymphoma, stage IV adult diffuse small cleaved cell lymphoma, stage IV adult diffuse mixed cell lymphoma, stage IV adult diffuse large cell lymphoma, stage IV adult immunoblastic large cell lymphoma, stage IV adult lymphoblastic lymphoma, recurrent grade 1 follicular lymphoma, recurrent grade 2 follicular lymphoma, recurrent grade 3 follicular lymphoma, recurrent adult diffuse small cleaved cell lymphoma
- Medical subject headings
- Lymphoma, Lymphoma, Follicular, Lymphoma, Non-Hodgkin, Lymphoma, Large B-Cell, Diffuse, Lymphoma, Large-Cell, Immunoblastic, Precursor Cell Lymphoblastic Leukemia-Lymphoma, Lymphoma, Mantle-Cell
What participants receive
What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.
filgrastimBiological
Beginning 36-48 hours after the completion of cyclophosphamide, patients receive filgrastim (G-CSF) subcutaneously (SC) daily until blood counts recover. Patients receive G-CSF SC daily beginning 4 hours after completion of PBSC infusion and continuing until neutrophil engraftment.
rituximabBiological
rituximab IV over 2-5 hours on days 1, 8, and 15
carmustineDrug
After completion of PBSC collection, patients receive high-dose chemotherapy comprising carmustine IV on days -7 to -3
cisplatinDrug
After completion of PBSC collection, cisplatin IV for 3 days during days -7 to -3.
cyclophosphamideDrug
cyclophosphamide IV over 3-6 hours on day 16.
etoposideDrug
After completion of PBSC collection, etoposide IV for 3 days during days -7 to -3.
bone marrow ablation with stem cell supportProcedure or surgery
Patients then undergo peripheral blood stem cell (PBSC) collection.
peripheral blood stem cell transplantationProcedure or surgery
Arm I: Patients receive unmanipulated PBSCs on day 0. Arm II: Patients receive CD34 cell-enriched PBSC on day 0.
radiation therapyRadiation
Patients may undergo involved-field radiotherapy to active or previously bulky (more than 5 cm) tumors daily for 7-10 days.
| Study group | Role | What they receive |
|---|---|---|
| Arm I: with rituximab IV | Experimental | Not described Receives: Biological: filgrastim; Biological: rituximab; Drug: carmustine; Drug: cisplatin; Drug: cyclophosphamide; Drug: etoposide; Procedure: bone marrow ablation with stem cell support; Procedure: peripheral blood stem cell transplantation; Radiation: radiation therapy |
| Arm II: without rituximab IV | Active comparator | Not described Receives: Biological: filgrastim; Drug: carmustine; Drug: cisplatin; Drug: cyclophosphamide; Drug: etoposide; Procedure: bone marrow ablation with stem cell support; Procedure: peripheral blood stem cell transplantation; Radiation: radiation therapy |
What is being measured
The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.
Total CD34 cells
Measured: measured at baseline, at time of harvests, days 42 and 90 after the transplant, and 6 and 12 months after the transplant
T and B lymphocyte counts
Measured: measured at baseline, at time of harvests, days 42 and 90 after the transplant, and 6 and 12 months after the transplant
Disease response
Measured: measured at 4 weeks after the transplant
Engraftment
Measured: measured at days 42 and 90 after the transplant, and 6 and 12 months after the transplant
Timeline
From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.
- First posted27 Jan 2003 (estimated)
- Study startJun 2000
- Primary completionMar 2005
Resources
- Official record on ClinicalTrials.govThe registry entry this page is built from, with its full change history.
- Other trials for LymphomaStudies of the same condition, open and under way.
- More trials run by Case Comprehensive Cancer CenterThe sponsor's other registered studies.
- What the trial phases meanHow a treatment moves from first tests in people to approval.
More details
For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.
Study design
- Study type
- Interventional
- Phase
- Phase 2
- Primary purpose
- Treatment
- Allocation
- Randomised
- Intervention model
- Parallel groups
- Masking
- None (open label)
- Enrolment
- 37 participants (actual)
Sponsor and investigators
- Lead sponsor
- Case Comprehensive Cancer Center
- Sponsor type
- University, hospital or other
- Collaborators
- National Cancer Institute (NCI)
- Investigators
- Omer N. Koc, MD, Study chair, Case Comprehensive Cancer Center
IDs, dates and publications
- ClinicalTrials.gov ID
- NCT00028665
- Sponsor's protocol ID
- CWRU1499
- Other IDs
- P30CA043703, CWRU1499, CWRU-030040, NCI-G01-2040
- Status last verified
- Jun 2010
- First submitted
- 4 Jan 2002
- Last updated
- 10 Jun 2010
- Results posted
- No
- Data monitoring committee
- Yes
Study at a glance
From the registry record, last updated by the sponsor on 10 Jun 2010. Recruitment status is as the sponsor reported it: confirm with the study team.
- Official title
- Randomized Phase II Trial of B-Lymphocyte Purging of Autologous Peripheral Blood Progenitor Cells in Patients With B-Cell Non-Hodgkin's Lymphoma
- ClinicalTrials.gov ID
- NCT00028665
- Acronym / sponsor ID
- CWRU1499
- Conditions
- Lymphoma
- Keywords
- stage III grade 1 follicular lymphoma, stage III grade 2 follicular lymphoma, stage III grade 3 follicular lymphoma, stage III adult diffuse small cleaved cell lymphoma, stage III adult diffuse mixed cell lymphoma, stage III adult diffuse large cell lymphoma, stage III adult immunoblastic large cell lymphoma, stage III adult lymphoblastic lymphoma
- Phase
- Phase 2
- Study type
- Interventional
- Recruitment status
- Completed
- Enrolment
- 37 participants (actual)
- Lead sponsor
- Case Comprehensive Cancer CenterUniversity, hospital or other
- Collaborators
- National Cancer Institute (NCI)
- Study start
- Jun 2000
- Primary completion
- Mar 2005 (actual)
- First posted
- 27 Jan 2003 (estimated)
- Results
- Not posted in the source record
Clinical summary
The research question as the sponsor registered it. This describes what the study plans to test, not what it found.
RATIONALE: Monoclonal antibodies such as rituximab can locate cancer cells and either kill them or deliver cancer-killing substances to them without harming normal cells. Drugs used in chemotherapy use different ways to stop cancer cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. Combining chemotherapy with peripheral stem cell transplantation may allow the doctor to give higher doses of chemotherapy drugs and kill more cancer cells. It is not yet known if combining rituximab with cyclophosphamide is more effective than cyclophosphamide alone in stimulating peripheral stem cells for transplantation.
PURPOSE: This randomized phase II trial is studying how well giving cyclophosphamide with or without rituximab followed by chemotherapy and peripheral stem cell transplantation works in treating patients with recurrent non-Hodgkin's lymphoma.
Detailed description
OBJECTIVES:
- Compare the effects of mobilization therapy with or without rituximab on hematopoietic stem cells, B and T lymphocytes, and natural killer cells in patients with advanced or recurrent B-cell non-Hodgkin's lymphoma.
- Compare the effects of B-lymphocyte purging using concurrent rituximab and mobilization therapy vs a CD34+ cell enrichment device on hematopoietic stem cells, B and T lymphocytes, and natural killer cells in the peripheral blood stem cell (PBSC) infusates.
- Compare the effect of these purging regimens on tumor cell content of PBSC infusates.
- Compare the effects of these regimens on myeloid and lymphoid engraftment after high-dose chemotherapy and autologous PBSC infusion in these patients.
- Compare post-transplantation infection complications in patients treated with these regimens.
- Compare the response and relapse-free survival of patients treated with these regimens.
OUTLINE: This is a randomized study. Patients are randomized to 1 of 2 treatment arms.
- Arm I: Patients receive mobilization therapy comprising rituximab IV over 2-5 hours on days 1, 8, and 15 and cyclophosphamide IV over 3-6 hours on day 16. Beginning 36-48 hours after the completion of cyclophosphamide, patients receive filgrastim (G-CSF) subcutaneously (SC) daily until blood counts recover. Patients then undergo peripheral blood stem cell (PBSC) collection.
After completion of PBSC collection, patients receive high-dose chemotherapy comprising carmustine IV on days -7 to -3 and etoposide IV and cisplatin IV for 3 days during days -7 to -3. Patients may undergo involved-field radiotherapy to active or previously bulky (more than 5 cm) tumors daily for 7-10 days.
Patients receive unmanipulated PBSCs on day 0. Patients receive G-CSF SC daily beginning 4 hours after completion of PBSC infusion and continuing until neutrophil engraftment.
- Arm II: Patients receive mobilization therapy comprising cyclophosphamide and G-CSF and high-dose chemotherapy comprising carmustine, etoposide, and cisplatin as in arm I. Patients may also undergo involved-field radiotherapy as in arm I. Patients receive CD34 cell-enriched PBSC on day 0 followed by G-CSF as in arm I.
Patients are followed every 3 months.
PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 71 patients will be accrued for this study within 2 years.
Study design
- Primary purpose
- Treatment
- Allocation
- Randomised
- Intervention model
- Parallel groups
- Masking
- None (open label)
- Number of arms
- 2
| Arm | Type | Receives |
|---|---|---|
| Arm I: with rituximab IV | Experimental | Biological: filgrastim, Biological: rituximab, Drug: carmustine, Drug: cisplatin, Drug: cyclophosphamide, Drug: etoposide, Procedure: bone marrow ablation with stem cell support, Procedure: peripheral blood stem cell transplantation, Radiation: radiation therapy |
| Arm II: without rituximab IV | Active comparator | Biological: filgrastim, Drug: carmustine, Drug: cisplatin, Drug: cyclophosphamide, Drug: etoposide, Procedure: bone marrow ablation with stem cell support, Procedure: peripheral blood stem cell transplantation, Radiation: radiation therapy |
Who may qualify
- Ages
- 12 to 65 years
- Sex
- All
- Healthy volunteers
- Not accepted
- Age groups
- Child, Adult, Older adult
Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening; this overview does not establish that a patient qualifies. Full inclusion and exclusion criteria.
Interventions
| Intervention | Type | Arms |
|---|---|---|
| filgrastimBeginning 36-48 hours after the completion of cyclophosphamide, patients receive filgrastim (G-CSF) subcutaneously (SC) daily until blood counts recover. Patients receive G-CSF SC daily beginning 4 hours after completion of PBSC infusion and continuing until neutrophil engraftment. | Biological | Arm I: with rituximab IV, Arm II: without rituximab IV |
| rituximabrituximab IV over 2-5 hours on days 1, 8, and 15 | Biological | Arm I: with rituximab IV |
| carmustineAfter completion of PBSC collection, patients receive high-dose chemotherapy comprising carmustine IV on days -7 to -3 | Drug | Arm I: with rituximab IV, Arm II: without rituximab IV |
| cisplatinAfter completion of PBSC collection, cisplatin IV for 3 days during days -7 to -3. | Drug | Arm I: with rituximab IV, Arm II: without rituximab IV |
| cyclophosphamidecyclophosphamide IV over 3-6 hours on day 16. | Drug | Arm I: with rituximab IV, Arm II: without rituximab IV |
| etoposideAfter completion of PBSC collection, etoposide IV for 3 days during days -7 to -3. | Drug | Arm I: with rituximab IV, Arm II: without rituximab IV |
| bone marrow ablation with stem cell supportPatients then undergo peripheral blood stem cell (PBSC) collection. | Procedure or surgery | Arm I: with rituximab IV, Arm II: without rituximab IV |
| peripheral blood stem cell transplantationArm I: Patients receive unmanipulated PBSCs on day 0. Arm II: Patients receive CD34 cell-enriched PBSC on day 0. | Procedure or surgery | Arm I: with rituximab IV, Arm II: without rituximab IV |
| radiation therapyPatients may undergo involved-field radiotherapy to active or previously bulky (more than 5 cm) tumors daily for 7-10 days. | Radiation | Arm I: with rituximab IV, Arm II: without rituximab IV |
Primary outcome
Total CD34 cells
Time frame: measured at baseline, at time of harvests, days 42 and 90 after the transplant, and 6 and 12 months after the transplant
T and B lymphocyte counts
Time frame: measured at baseline, at time of harvests, days 42 and 90 after the transplant, and 6 and 12 months after the transplant
Disease response
Time frame: measured at 4 weeks after the transplant
Engraftment
Time frame: measured at days 42 and 90 after the transplant, and 6 and 12 months after the transplant
Results and safety
The study is completed, but results are not available in the source record. That does not mean the treatment did or did not work.
Research links
- Official record on ClinicalTrials.govLast updated by the sponsor 10 Jun 2010.
Related trials for Lymphoma
Recruiting
A Multicenter Study to Evaluate Next-Generation Sequencing (NGS) Testing and Monitoring of B-Cell Recovery to Guide Management Following Chimeric Antigen Receptor T-cell (CART) Induced Remission in Children and Young Adults With B Lineage Acute Lymph...
B-All, Acute Lymphoblastic Leukemia
RecruitingPhase 2
A Study of the Efficacy and Safety of Lisocabtagene Maraleucel (Liso-cel) as First-Line Therapy in Adults With Transplant-Ineligible Primary Central Nervous System Lymphoma
Lymphoma
RecruitingObservational study
An Observational Study of Glofitamab in Chinese Adult Participants With 2L Diffuse Large B-Cell Lymphoma
Diffuse Large B-Cell Lymphoma
RecruitingPhase 1
A Study Evaluating the Safety, Efficacy, and Pharmacokinetics of Mosunetuzumab and a Combined Regimen of Mosunetuzumab and Venetoclax in Participants With Relapsed or Refractory Chronic Lymphocytic Leukemia
Chronic Lymphocytic Leukemia or Small Lymphocytic Lymphoma
RecruitingPhase 3
A Study of Fludarabine Dosing in Children and Young Adults With B-cell Acute Lymphoblastic Leukemia
B-cell Acute Lymphoblastic Leukemia
Referral and contact
AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals. Contact the study team or a site listed below; they decide who can take part. This study is not recruiting at the moment.
Omer N. Koc, MD study chair
Case Comprehensive Cancer Center
1 site in 1 country: see every site and its status.
Questions about this trial
What is this clinical trial studying?
A Phase 2 study testing filgrastim, rituximab and carmustine in people with Lymphoma, run by Case Comprehensive Cancer Center at 1 site in United States.
The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.
Who may be eligible to take part?
Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.
Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?
The record says: finished, as of the sponsor's last update on 10 Jun 2010. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.
Where is the study taking place?
The record lists 1 site in United States. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.
What are the possible benefits and risks?
They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.
What does this phase mean?
Phase 2 studies give the treatment to a larger group to see whether it has the intended effect and to keep checking safety.
Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.
Are results available for this study?
The study is completed, but results are not available in the source record. That does not mean the treatment did or did not work.
How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?
The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.
What does the primary outcome measure?
Total CD34 cells (time frame: measured at baseline, at time of harvests, days 42 and 90 after the transplant, and 6 and 12 months after the transplant). The study lists 4 primary outcomes in all. It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.
Where can I read the original study information?
Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?
No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.
How often is this information updated?
AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 10 Jun 2010.