AzTrials
AzTrials

Desmoid TumorPhase 2NCT00030680

Radiation Therapy in Treating Patients With Aggressive Fibromatoses

A Phase 2 study testing radiation therapy in people with Desmoid Tumor, run by European Organisation for Research and Treatment of Cancer - EORTC at 21 sites in 7 countries.

Completed

Finished. The study has ended and is not enrolling. Results may be posted on the official record.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

RATIONALE: Radiation therapy uses high-energy x-rays to damage tumor cells. PURPOSE: Phase II trial to study the effectiveness of radiation therapy in treating patients who have aggressive fibromatoses. Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Ages 16 years and older
Conditions the study is for
Desmoid Tumor
What is being tested?
radiation therapy
Type of treatment
Surgery or procedure
How many people
44 participants
Where
21 sitesin 7 countries
Study dates
Nov 2001to Mar 2012
Phase
Phase 2
Are there results?
None posted in the registry

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages 16 years and older
  • All sexes
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Child, Adult, Older adult

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS:

  • Histologically confirmed aggressive fibromatoses arising in any site
  • Primary, recurrent, or progressive disease that is inoperable or requires a major operation resulting in a large functional or cosmetic deficit or mutilation
  • Progressive disease defined as at least 20% increase in tumor size on 2 MRI scans within 1 year after any prior therapy except radiotherapy OR
  • Incompletely resected tumor with gross residual disease not suitable for further surgery
  • Resected within the past 3 months
  • Lesions must be suitable for radiotherapy
  • No bulky intra-abdominal disease in close relation to small bowel
  • Measurable disease

PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS:

Age:

  • 16 and over

Performance status:

  • Not specified

Life expectancy:

  • Not specified

Hematopoietic:

  • Not specified

Hepatic:

  • Not specified

Renal:

  • Not specified

Other:

  • No conditions that would preclude study follow-up

PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY:

Biologic therapy:

  • Not specified

Chemotherapy:

  • Prior chemotherapy allowed
  • No concurrent chemotherapy

Endocrine therapy:

  • Prior endocrine therapy allowed
  • No concurrent endocrine therapy

Radiotherapy:

  • See Disease Characteristics
  • No prior radiotherapy to indicator lesion

Surgery:

  • See Disease Characteristics
  • Prior surgery allowed

Other:

  • No prior isolated limb perfusion with tumor necrosis factor
  • No concurrent isolated limb perfusion with tumor necrosis factor

Trial locations and contacts

21 sites in 7 countries.

21 sites in 7 countries

United Kingdom7 sites
  • Queen Elizabeth Hospital at University Hospital of Birmingham NHS Trust

    Birmingham, England, B15 2TH

  • Cookridge Hospital

    Leeds, England, LS16 6QB

  • Christie Hospital

    Manchester, England, M20 4BX

  • Mount Vernon Cancer Centre at Mount Vernon Hospital

    Northwood, England, HA6 2RN

  • Nottingham City Hospital NHS Trust

    Nottingham, England, NG5 1PB

  • Cancer Research Centre at Weston Park Hospital

    Sheffield, England, S1O 2SJ

  • Royal Marsden - Surrey

    Sutton, England, SM2 5PT

Other trials in United Kingdom

Netherlands6 sites
  • Arnhems Radiotherapeutisch Instituut

    Arnhem, 6815 AD

  • University Medical Center Groningen

    Groningen, 9700 RB

  • Leiden University Medical Center

    Leiden, 2300 RC

  • Maastro Clinic - Locatie Maastricht

    Maastricht, NL-6229 ET

  • Daniel Den Hoed Cancer Center at Erasmus Medical Center

    Rotterdam, 3008 AE

  • Dr. Bernard Verbeeten Instituut

    Tilburg, 5042 SB

Other trials in Netherlands

France3 sites
  • Institut Bergonie

    Bordeaux, 33076

  • Centre Leon Berard

    Lyon, 69008

  • CHU de la Timone

    Marseille, 13385

Other trials in France

Belgium2 sites
  • Cliniques Universitaires Saint-Luc

    Brussels, 1200

  • Universitair Ziekenhuis Antwerpen

    Edegem, B-2650

Other trials in Belgium

Germany1 site
  • Southwest German Cancer Center at Eberhard-Karls-University

    Tübingen, D-72076

Other trials in Germany

Poland1 site
  • Maria Sklodowska-Curie Memorial Cancer Center and Institute of Oncology

    Warsaw, 02-781

Other trials in Poland

Switzerland1 site
  • Centre Hospitalier Universitaire Vaudois

    Lausanne, CH-1011

Other trials in Switzerland

About this study

Official title: Phase II Pilot Study Of Moderate Dose Radiotherapy For Inoperable Aggressive Fibromatoses

RATIONALE: Radiation therapy uses high-energy x-rays to damage tumor cells.

PURPOSE: Phase II trial to study the effectiveness of radiation therapy in treating patients who have aggressive fibromatoses.

Read the detailed description

OBJECTIVES:

  • Determine the efficacy of moderate-dose radiotherapy, in terms of local control, in patients with aggressive fibromatoses.
  • Determine the acute and late side-effects of this regimen in these patients.

OUTLINE: This is a multicenter study.

Patients receive radiotherapy 5 days a week for 5.5 weeks for a total of 56 Gy in 28 fractions.

Patients are followed every 3 months for 2 years and then every 6 months thereafter.

PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 40 patients will be accrued for this study within 3 years.

Conditions
Desmoid Tumor
Being tested
radiation therapy
Keywords
desmoid tumor
Medical subject headings
Desmoid Tumors

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

  • radiation therapyRadiation

What is being measured

The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.

  1. Local control as assessed by MRI at 3 years

Secondary outcomes (2)
  1. Toxicity as assessed by CTC 2.0

  2. Response as assessed by MRI

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted27 Jan 2003 (estimated)
  2. Study startNov 2001
  3. Primary completionMar 2012
  4. Study completionMar 2012

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Interventional
Phase
Phase 2
Primary purpose
Treatment
Enrolment
44 participants (actual)
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT00030680
Sponsor's protocol ID
EORTC-62991-22998
Other IDs
EORTC-62991, EORTC-22998
Status last verified
Aug 2013
First submitted
14 Feb 2002
Last updated
27 Aug 2013
Results posted
No

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

A Phase 2 study testing radiation therapy in people with Desmoid Tumor, run by European Organisation for Research and Treatment of Cancer - EORTC at 21 sites in 7 countries.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Who may be eligible to take part?

Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: finished, as of the sponsor's last update on 27 Aug 2013. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

Where is the study taking place?

The record lists 21 sites in United Kingdom, Netherlands, France, Belgium, Germany and 2 more countries. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

What does this phase mean?

Phase 2 studies give the treatment to a larger group to see whether it has the intended effect and to keep checking safety.

Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.

Are results available for this study?

The study is completed, but results are not available in the source record. That does not mean the treatment did or did not work.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

What does the primary outcome measure?

Local control as assessed by MRI at 3 years. It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.

Where can I read the original study information?
Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 27 Aug 2013.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in