AzTrials
AzTrials

Prostate CancerPhase 2NCT00031746

Soy Protein Supplement in Preventing Prostate Cancer in Patients With Elevated Prostate-Specific Antigen Levels

A Phase 2 study testing soy protein isolate and casein proteins in people with Prostate Cancer, run by Alliance for Clinical Trials in Oncology at 5 sites in United States.

Completed

Finished. The study has ended and is not enrolling. Results may be posted on the official record.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

RATIONALE: Soy protein supplement may prevent or delay the development of prostate cancer in patients who have elevated prostate-specific antigen (PSA) levels. PURPOSE: Randomized phase II trial to determine the effectiveness of soy protein supplement in preventing prostate cancer in patients who have elevated PSA… Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Ages 50 years and older, men only
Conditions the study is for
Prostate Cancer
What is being tested?
soy protein isolate and casein proteins
Could I receive a placebo?
No, everyone receives an active treatment
How many people
26 participants
Where
5 sitesUnited States
Study dates
Feb 2000to Jun 2006
Phase
Phase 2
Are there results?
None posted in the registry

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages 50 years and older
  • Men only
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Adult, Older adult

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS:

  • Histologically confirmed absence of prostate cancer
  • Atypical adenomatous hyperplasia or prostatic intraepithelial neoplasia (high-grade or low-grade) allowed
  • Abnormal baseline transrectal ultrasound and digital rectal exam allowed
  • Biopsy may be before or after study entry, but must be within the past 90 days
  • PSA 5-10 ng/mL

PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS:

Age:

  • 50 and over

Performance status:

  • ECOG 0-2

Life expectancy:

  • Not specified

Hematopoietic:

  • Not specified

Hepatic:

  • Not specified

Renal:

  • Not specified

Other:

  • No known allergy to soy protein or milk protein
  • No invasive cancer within the past 5 years except non-melanoma skin cancer

PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY:

Biologic therapy:

  • Not specified

Chemotherapy:

  • Not specified

Endocrine therapy:

  • No prior hormonal therapy
  • No prior finasteride
  • No concurrent hormonal therapy
  • No concurrent finasteride

Radiotherapy:

  • Not specified

Surgery:

  • At least 6 months since prior transurethral resection of the prostate
  • No prior orchiectomy
  • No concurrent orchiectomy

Other:

  • No other concurrent soy products

Trial locations and contacts

5 sites in 1 country.

5 sites in 1 country

United States5 sites
  • Arthur G. James Cancer Hospital and Solove Research Institute at Ohio State University

    Columbus, Ohio, 43210-1240

  • CCOP - Hematology-Oncology Associates of Central New York

    Syracuse, New York, 13057

  • Community General Hospital of Greater Syracuse

    Syracuse, New York, 13215

  • Walter Reed Army Medical Center

    Washington D.C., District of Columbia, 20307-5001

  • Wake Forest University Comprehensive Cancer Center

    Winston-Salem, North Carolina, 27157-1096

Other trials in United States

About this study

Official title: Effects of Dietary Soy on Biomarkers of Prostate Cancer: A Prospective Phase II Study

RATIONALE: Soy protein supplement may prevent or delay the development of prostate cancer in patients who have elevated prostate-specific antigen (PSA) levels.

PURPOSE: Randomized phase II trial to determine the effectiveness of soy protein supplement in preventing prostate cancer in patients who have elevated PSA levels.

Read the detailed description

OBJECTIVES:

  • Compare the reduction in the rate of prostatic cellular proliferation in patients with an elevated PSA (5 to 10 ng/mL) and a negative biopsy for prostate cancer when treated with daily soy protein supplements vs placebo.
  • Compare the effect of these regimens on additional biomarkers of prostate cancer (PSA, high-grade prostate intraepithelial neoplasia, induction of apoptosis, sex steroid receptor expression, and loss of glutathione S-transferase-pi) in these patients.
  • Compare the effect of these regimens on quality of life, including urinary and sexual function, in these patients.

OUTLINE: This is a randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled, multicenter study. Patients are stratified according to race (Caucasian vs African American). After 2 weeks of daily oral placebo, patients are randomized to 1 of 2 arms.

  • Arm I: Patients receive oral soy protein supplement daily for 12 months.
  • Arm II: Patients receive oral placebo daily for 12 months. Quality of life is assessed at baseline and at 6 and 12 months.

PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 160 patients (80 per arm) will be accrued for this study within 12 months.

Conditions
Prostate Cancer
Being tested
soy protein isolate, casein proteins
Keywords
prostate cancer
Medical subject headings
Prostatic Neoplasms

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

  • soy protein isolateDietary supplement

    25 mg daily

  • casein proteinsDietary supplement

    25 mg daily

Study groups in NCT00031746
Study groupRoleWhat they receive
soy protein + isoflavonesActive comparatorNot described
Receives: Dietary Supplement: soy protein isolate
casein proteinsActive comparatorNot described
Receives: Dietary Supplement: casein proteins

What is being measured

The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.

  1. Reduction of prostatic cellular proliferation rates by 50% as measured by Ki-67

    Measured: 12 months

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted27 Jan 2003 (estimated)
  2. Study startFeb 2000
  3. Primary completionJun 2006
  4. Study completionJun 2006

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Interventional
Phase
Phase 2
Primary purpose
Prevention
Allocation
Randomised
Intervention model
Parallel groups
Masking
Double blind
Who is masked
Participant, Care provider
Enrolment
26 participants (actual)
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT00031746
Sponsor's protocol ID
CALGB-79806
Other IDs
U10CA076001, CALGB-79806, NCI-P02-0207, CDR0000069221
Status last verified
Jul 2016
First submitted
8 Mar 2002
Last updated
19 Jul 2016
Results posted
No
Data monitoring committee
No

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

A Phase 2 study testing soy protein isolate and casein proteins in people with Prostate Cancer, run by Alliance for Clinical Trials in Oncology at 5 sites in United States.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Who may be eligible to take part?

Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: finished, as of the sponsor's last update on 19 Jul 2016. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

Where is the study taking place?

The record lists 5 sites in United States. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

What does this phase mean?

Phase 2 studies give the treatment to a larger group to see whether it has the intended effect and to keep checking safety.

Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.

Are results available for this study?

The study is completed, but results are not available in the source record. That does not mean the treatment did or did not work.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

What does the primary outcome measure?

Reduction of prostatic cellular proliferation rates by 50% as measured by Ki-67 (time frame: 12 months). It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.

Where can I read the original study information?
Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 19 Jul 2016.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in