AzTrials
AzTrials

Lymphoproliferative DisorderPhase 3NCT00033475

Reduced Immunosuppressive Therapy With or Without Donor White Blood Cells in Treating Patients With Lymphoproliferative Disease After Organ Transplantation

A Phase 3 study testing therapeutic allogeneic lymphocytes in people with Lymphoproliferative Disorder, run by University of Edinburgh at 12 sites in United Kingdom.

Completed

Finished. The study has ended and is not enrolling. Results may be posted on the official record.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

RATIONALE: Some types of lymphoproliferative disease are associated with Epstein-Barr virus. Combining reduced immunosuppressive therapy with donor white blood cells that have been treated in the laboratory to kill cells infected with Epstein-Barr virus may be an effective treatment for lymphoproliferative disease. Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Ages 0 to 120 years
Conditions the study is for
Lymphoproliferative Disorder
What is being tested?
therapeutic allogeneic lymphocytes
How many people
50 participants
Where
12 sitesUnited Kingdom
Study dates
1 Mar 2001to not given
Phase
Phase 3
Are there results?
None posted in the registry

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages 0 to 120 years
  • All sexes
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Child, Adult, Older adult

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS:

  • Diagnosis of post-transplant lymphoproliferative disease (PTLD) after solid organ (heart, heart/lung, liver, liver/gut, pancreas, or kidney) transplantation
  • Epstein-Barr virus-positive tumor
  • Newly diagnosed disease
  • Measurable disease by clinical methods or radiography
  • Must have partially matched donor cytotoxic T cells (CTL) available
  • No known panel reactivity to any of the HLA types of CTL available for therapy

PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS:

Age:

  • Any age

Performance status:

  • Karnofsky 20-100%

Life expectancy:

  • Not specified

Hematopoietic:

  • Not specified

Hepatic:

  • Not specified

Renal:

  • Not specified

Other:

  • Not pregnant

PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY:

Biologic therapy:

  • Not specified

Chemotherapy:

  • Not specified

Endocrine therapy:

  • Not specified

Radiotherapy:

  • Not specified

Surgery:

  • Not specified

Other:

  • No prior therapy for PTLD
  • No concurrent antiviral drugs (e.g., acyclovir or ganciclovir) for PTLD

Trial locations and contacts

12 sites in 1 country.

12 sites in 1 country

United Kingdom12 sites
  • Birmingham Children's Hospital

    Birmingham, England, B4 6NH

  • Papworth Hospital

    Cambridge, England, CB3 8RE

  • Royal Infirmary of Edinburgh at Little France

    Edinburgh, Scotland, EH16 4SA

  • University of Edinburgh

    Edinburgh, Scotland, EH8 1QH

  • University of Edinburgh Laboratory for Clinical and Molecular Virology

    Edinburgh, Scotland, EH9 1QH

  • Royal Infirmary - Castle

    Glasgow, Scotland, G4 0SF

  • Royal Free and University College Medical School

    London, England, NW3 2PF

  • King's College Hospital

    London, England, SE5 8RX

  • Wythenshawe Hospital

    Manchester, England, M23 9LJ

  • Central Manchester and Manchester Children's University Hospitals NHS Trust

    Manchester, England, M27 4HA

  • Northern General Hospital

    Sheffield, England, S5 7AU

  • Institute of Cancer Research - UK

    Sutton, England, SM2 5NG

Other trials in United Kingdom

About this study

Official title: Cytotoxic T Cell Therapy for Post Transplant Lymphoproliferative Disease: Randomized Controlled Trial in Transplant Recipients

RATIONALE: Some types of lymphoproliferative disease are associated with Epstein-Barr virus. Combining reduced immunosuppressive therapy with donor white blood cells that have been treated in the laboratory to kill cells infected with Epstein-Barr virus may be an effective treatment for lymphoproliferative disease.

PURPOSE: Randomized phase III trial to compare the effectiveness of reducing immunosuppressive therapy with or without donor white blood cells in treating patients who have Epstein-Barr virus-associated lymphoproliferative disease after organ transplantation.

Read the detailed description

OBJECTIVES:

  • Determine the efficacy of treatment with partially HLA-matched allogeneic cytotoxic T cells and reduction of immunosuppression, in terms of survival rate and time to remission in patients with Epstein-Barr virus-associated B-cell lymphoproliferative disease after solid organ transplantation.

OUTLINE: This is a randomized, multicenter study. Patients are stratified according to transplanted organ type and transplant center. Patients are randomized to 1 of 2 treatment arms.

  • Arm I: Patients undergo sliding-scale reduction of immunosuppressive drugs from 1 of 5 regimens at physician's discretion. Patients then receive partially HLA-matched allogeneic cytotoxic T cells IV over 5 minutes once weekly for a total of 4 weeks.
  • Arm II: Patients undergo reduction of immunosuppression as in arm I alone. Patients are followed monthly for 6 months and then every 3 months for 2 years.

PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 50 patients will be accrued for this study.

Being tested
therapeutic allogeneic lymphocytes
Keywords
post-transplant lymphoproliferative disorder
Medical subject headings
Lymphoproliferative Disorders

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

  • therapeutic allogeneic lymphocytesBiological

What is being measured

The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.

  1. Complete response

  2. Partial response

  3. Stable disease

  4. Progressive disease

  5. Time to complete remission

  6. Survival at 2 years

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted27 Jan 2003 (estimated)
  2. Study start1 Mar 2001

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Interventional
Phase
Phase 3
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Randomised
Enrolment
50 participants (estimated)
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT00033475
Sponsor's protocol ID
CDR0000069288
Other IDs
CRUK-EBV-CTL, LCMV-CTL, EU-20057
Status last verified
Sep 2025
First submitted
9 Apr 2002
Last updated
15 Jan 2026
Results posted
No

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

A Phase 3 study testing therapeutic allogeneic lymphocytes in people with Lymphoproliferative Disorder, run by University of Edinburgh at 12 sites in United Kingdom.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Who may be eligible to take part?

Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: finished, as of the sponsor's last update on 15 Jan 2026. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

Where is the study taking place?

The record lists 12 sites in United Kingdom. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

What does this phase mean?

Phase 3 studies compare the treatment with the current standard treatment or a placebo in a large group, to confirm how well it works and watch for side effects.

Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.

Are results available for this study?

The study is completed, but results are not available in the source record. That does not mean the treatment did or did not work.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

What does the primary outcome measure?

Complete response. The study lists 6 primary outcomes in all. It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.

Where can I read the original study information?
Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 15 Jan 2026.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in