AzTrials
AzTrials

Lung CancerPhase 3NCT00033592

Comparison of Nicotine Inhaler and/or Bupropion in Helping People to Stop Smoking and Prevent the Recurrence of Smoking

A Phase 3 study testing bupropion hydrochloride and nicotine in people with Lung Cancer, run by Alliance for Clinical Trials in Oncology at 25 sites in 2 countries.

Completed

Finished. The study has ended and is not enrolling. Results may be posted on the official record.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

RATIONALE: Use of a nicotine inhaler and/or bupropion may be effective in helping people stop smoking and prevent them from starting smoking again. It is not yet known whether a nicotine inhaler or bupropion are more effective alone or combined for stopping smoking. Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Ages 18 years and older
Conditions the study is for
Lung Cancer
What is being tested?
bupropion hydrochloride and nicotine
Could I receive a placebo?
Yes, some participants may receive a placebo
How many people
1,708 participants
Where
25 sitesin 2 countries
Study dates
Feb 2002to Jul 2006
Phase
Phase 3
Are there results?
None posted in the registry

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages 18 years and older
  • All sexes
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Adult, Older adult

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS: Currently smoking at least 10 cigarettes per day Smoked regularly for the past year Motivated to use study medication More than 30 days since prior use of tobacco products other than cigarettes (e.g., smokeless tobacco, pipes, cigars, or snuff) No active chemical dependence of drug other than nicotine (e.g., alcohol, marijuana, cocaine, heroin, or other illicit drugs) within the past year

PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS: Age: 18 and over Performance status: Not specified Life expectancy: Not specified Hematopoietic: Not specified Hepatic: Not specified Renal: Not specified Cardiovascular: No unstable angina, myocardial infarction, or cardiac arrhythmias within the past 3 months Other: Not pregnant or nursing Negative pregnancy test Fertile patients must use effective contraception for at least 3 months prior to and during study Good health by medical history No history of seizure disorder No epilepsy No prior serious head trauma or other predisposing factors to seizures (e.g., alcohol withdrawal, febrile seizures during childhood, brain tumor, cerebrovascular accident, or family history of idiopathic seizure disorder) No known hypersensitivity or allergy to nicotine, menthol, or bupropion No prior or concurrent diagnosis of bulimia or anorexia nervosa No other member of household currently enrolled on this study No bipolar disorder, psychosis, or schizophrenia

PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY: Biologic therapy: Not specified Chemotherapy: Not specified Endocrine therapy: More than 30 days since prior systemic steroids Radiotherapy: Not specified Surgery: Not specified Other: More than 30 days since other prior behavioral or pharmacologic smoking- cessation program (e.g., behavioral therapy, nicotine replacement therapy, clonidine, bupropion, nortriptyline, or doxepin) More than 30 days since prior investigational drugs More than 30 days since prior antipsychotics or antidepressants More than 30 days since prior theophylline More than 30 days since prior monoamine oxidase inhibitor More than 30 days since prior medication containing bupropion No concurrent antiepileptic medications No concurrent medications known to lower seizure threshold No other concurrent investigational drugs

Trial locations and contacts

25 sites in 2 countries.

25 sites in 2 countries

United States24 sites
  • CCOP - Ann Arbor Regional

    Ann Arbor, Michigan, 48106

  • Medcenter One Health System

    Bismarck, North Dakota, 58501

  • CCOP - Cedar Rapids Oncology Project

    Cedar Rapids, Iowa, 52403-1206

  • CCOP - Geisinger Clinic and Medical Center

    Danville, Pennsylvania, 17822-2001

  • CCOP - Iowa Oncology Research Association

    Des Moines, Iowa, 50309-1016

  • CCOP - Duluth

    Duluth, Minnesota, 55805

  • CCOP - Merit Care Hospital

    Fargo, North Dakota, 58122

  • Altru Health Systems

    Grand Forks, North Dakota, 58201

  • CCOP - Ochsner

    New Orleans, Louisiana, 70121

  • CCOP - Missouri Valley Cancer Consortium

    Omaha, Nebraska, 68131

  • CCOP - Illinois Oncology Research Association

    Peoria, Illinois, 61602

  • Rapid City Regional Hospital

    Rapid City, South Dakota, 57709

  • Mayo Clinic Cancer Center

    Rochester, Minnesota, 55905

  • CentraCare Clinic

    Saint Cloud, Minnesota, 56303

  • CCOP - Metro-Minnesota

    Saint Louis Park, Minnesota, 55416

  • CCOP - Scottsdale Oncology Program

    Scottsdale, Arizona, 85259-5404

  • Siouxland Hematology-Oncology

    Sioux City, Iowa, 51101-1733

  • CCOP - Sioux Community Cancer Consortium

    Sioux Falls, South Dakota, 57104

  • CCOP - Toledo Community Hospital Oncology Program

    Toledo, Ohio, 43623-3456

  • CCOP - Sooner State

    Tulsa, Oklahoma, 74136

  • CCOP - Carle Cancer Center

    Urbana, Illinois, 61801

  • MBCCOP-Howard University Cancer Center

    Washington D.C., District of Columbia, 20060

  • CCOP - Wichita

    Wichita, Kansas, 67214-3882

  • Cancer Center of Kansas - Wichita

    Wichita, Kansas, 67214

Other trials in United States

Canada1 site
  • Allan Blair Cancer Centre

    Regina, Saskatchewan, S4T 7T1

Other trials in Canada

About this study

Official title: Phase III Trial Comparing Nicotine Inhaler Versus Bupropion Versus Nicotine Inhaler Plus Bupropion For Smoking Cessation Efficacy And Relapse Prevention

RATIONALE: Use of a nicotine inhaler and/or bupropion may be effective in helping people stop smoking and prevent them from starting smoking again. It is not yet known whether a nicotine inhaler or bupropion are more effective alone or combined for stopping smoking.

PURPOSE: Randomized phase III trial to compare the effectiveness of the nicotine inhaler or bupropion alone to that of the nicotine inhaler combined with bupropion in helping people to stop smoking and prevent starting smoking again.

Read the detailed description

OBJECTIVES: I. Compare the effectiveness of nicotine inhaler vs bupropion vs nicotine inhaler plus bupropion on smoking cessation and prevention of relapse in participants who currently smoke. II. Compare the reduction in the rate of relapse to smoking after initial abstinence in participants treated long term with these regimens.

OUTLINE: This is a randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled, multicenter study. Patients are stratified according to gender, cigarettes smoked per day at time of screening (10-39 vs 40 or more), and total length of smoking in years (less than 5 vs 5-9 vs 10 or more). Participants are randomized to one of three treatment arms. Arm I: Participants receive 6-16 nicotine inhaler cartridges per day. Arm II: Participants receive oral bupropion 1-2 times daily. Arm III: Participants receive 6-16 nicotine inhaler cartridges per day and oral bupropion 1-2 times daily. In all arms, treatment continues for 12 weeks. After 12 weeks, participants are randomized a second time based on whether they continue to smoke or are smoke-free. Participants randomized to arm I who continue to smoke are randomized to one of two treatment arms. Arm IV: Participants receive oral bupropion 1-2 times daily for 12 weeks Arm V: Participants receive oral placebo 1-2 times daily for 12 weeks. Participants randomized to arm II who continue to smoke are randomized to one of two treatment arms. Arm VI: Participants receive 6-16 nicotine inhaler cartridges per day for 12 weeks. Arm VII: Participants receive 6-16 placebo inhaler cartridges per day for 12 weeks. Participants randomized to arm III who continue to smoke do not receive any further therapy. Participants randomized to arm I who are smoke-free are randomized to one of two treatment arms. Arm VIII: Participants receive 6-16 nicotine inhaler cartridges per day for 40 weeks. Arm IX: Participants receive 6-16 placebo inhaler cartridges per day for 40 weeks. Participants randomized to arm II who are smoke-free are randomized to one of two treatment arms. Arm X: Participants receive oral bupropion 1-2 times daily for 40 weeks. Arm XI: Participants receive oral placebo 1-2 times daily for 40 weeks. Participants randomized to arm III who are smoke-free are randomized to one of four treatment arms. Arm XII: Participants receive 6-16 nicotine inhaler cartridges per day and oral placebo 1-2 times daily for 40 weeks. Arm XIII: Participants receive 6-16 placebo inhaler cartridges per day and oral bupropion 1-2 times daily for 40 weeks. Arm XIV: Participants receive 6-16 nicotine inhaler cartridges per day and oral bupropion 1-2 times daily for 40 weeks. Arm XV: Participants receive 6-16 placebo inhaler cartridges per day and oral placebo 1-2 times daily for 40 weeks. All participants are followed every month for 6 months.

Conditions
Lung Cancer
Being tested
placebo, bupropion hydrochloride, nicotine
Keywords
non-small cell lung cancer, small cell lung cancer
Medical subject headings
Lung Neoplasms, Carcinoma, Non-Small-Cell Lung, Small Cell Lung Carcinoma

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

  • placeboOther

  • bupropion hydrochlorideDrug

  • nicotineDrug

Study groups in NCT00033592
Study groupRoleWhat they receive
Arm I: nicotine inhaler cartridgesExperimentalParticipants receive 6-16 nicotine inhaler cartridges per day. Treatment continues for 12 weeks. After 12 weeks, participants are randomized a second time based on whether they continue to smoke or are smoke-free. Participants randomized to arm I who continue to smoke are randomized to one of two treatment arms Arm IV or Arm V. Participants randomized to arm I who are smoke-free are randomized to one of two treatment arms Arm VIII or Arm IX.
Receives: Drug: nicotine
Arm II: bupropionExperimentalParticipants receive oral bupropion 1-2 times daily. Treatment continues for 12 weeks. After 12 weeks, participants are randomized a second time based on whether they continue to smoke or are smoke-free. After 12 weeks, participants are randomized a second time based on whether they continue to smoke or are smoke-free. Participants randomized to arm II who continue to smoke are randomized to one of two treatment arms Arm VI or Arm VII. Participants randomized to arm II who are smoke-free are randomized to one of two treatment arms Arm Arm X or Arm XI.
Receives: Drug: bupropion hydrochloride
Arm III: nicotine inhaler cartridgesExperimentalParticipants receive 6-16 nicotine inhaler cartridges per day and oral bupropion 1-2 times daily. Treatment continues for 12 weeks. After 12 weeks, participants are randomized a second time based on whether they continue to smoke or are smoke-free. Participants randomized to arm III who continue to smoke do not receive any further therapy. Participants randomized to arm III who are smoke-free are randomized to one of four treatment arms Arm XII, Arm XIII, Arm XIV or Arm XV.
Receives: Drug: nicotine
Arm IV: bupropionExperimentalParticipants receive oral bupropion 1-2 times daily for 12 weeks. All participants are followed every month for 6 months.
Receives: Drug: bupropion hydrochloride
Arm V: placeboPlacebo comparatorParticipants receive oral placebo 1-2 times daily for 12 weeks. All participants are followed every month for 6 months.
Receives: Other: placebo
Arm VI: nicotine inhaler cartridgesExperimentalParticipants receive 6-16 nicotine inhaler cartridges per day for 12 weeks. All participants are followed every month for 6 months.
Receives: Drug: nicotine
Arm VII: placebo inhalerPlacebo comparatorParticipants receive 6-16 placebo inhaler cartridges per day for 12 weeks. All participants are followed every month for 6 months.
Receives: Other: placebo
Arm VIII: nicotine inhaler cartridgesExperimentalParticipants receive 6-16 nicotine inhaler cartridges per day for 40 weeks. All participants are followed every month for 6 months.
Receives: Drug: nicotine
Arm IX: placebo inhaler cartridgesPlacebo comparatorParticipants receive 6-16 placebo inhaler cartridges per day for 40 weeks. All participants are followed every month for 6 months.
Receives: Other: placebo
Arm X: bupropionExperimentalParticipants receive oral bupropion 1-2 times daily for 40 weeks. All participants are followed every month for 6 months.
Receives: Drug: bupropion hydrochloride
Arm XI: placeboPlacebo comparatorParticipants receive oral placebo 1-2 times daily for 40 weeks. All participants are followed every month for 6 months.
Receives: Other: placebo
Arm XII: nicotine inhaler cartridgesExperimentalParticipants receive 6-16 nicotine inhaler cartridges per day and oral placebo 1-2 times daily for 40 weeks. All participants are followed every month for 6 months.
Receives: Drug: nicotine
Arm XIII: placebo inhaler cartridgesPlacebo comparatorParticipants receive 6-16 placebo inhaler cartridges per day and oral bupropion 1-2 times daily for 40 weeks. All participants are followed every month for 6 months.
Receives: Other: placebo
Arm XIV: nicotine inhaler cartridgesExperimentalParticipants receive 6-16 nicotine inhaler cartridges per day and oral bupropion 1-2 times daily for 40 weeks. All participants are followed every month for 6 months.
Receives: Drug: nicotine
Arm XV: placebo inhaler cartridgesPlacebo comparatorParticipants receive 6-16 placebo inhaler cartridges per day and oral placebo 1-2 times daily for 40 weeks. All participants are followed every month for 6 months.
Receives: Other: placebo

What is being measured

The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.

  1. Prevention in relapse

    Measured: Up to 6 months

Secondary outcomes (1)
  1. Reduction in the rate of relapse

    Measured: Up to 6 months

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted6 Feb 2004 (estimated)
  2. Study startFeb 2002
  3. Primary completionJul 2006
  4. Study completionJul 2006

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Interventional
Phase
Phase 3
Primary purpose
Prevention
Allocation
Randomised
Intervention model
Crossover
Masking
Double blind
Who is masked
Participant, Investigator
Enrolment
1,708 participants (actual)
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT00033592
Sponsor's protocol ID
NCCTG-N99C4
Other IDs
CDR0000069303, NCI-P02-0220
Status last verified
Jul 2016
First submitted
9 Apr 2002
Last updated
13 Jul 2016
Results posted
No
Data monitoring committee
No

Publications

  • Hajizadeh A, Howes S, Theodoulou A, Klemperer E, Hartmann-Boyce J, Livingstone-Banks J, Lindson N. Antidepressants for smoking cessation. Cochrane Database Syst Rev. 2023 May 24;5(5):CD000031. doi: 10.1002/14651858.CD000031.pub6.

    PubMed 37230961

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

A Phase 3 study testing bupropion hydrochloride and nicotine in people with Lung Cancer, run by Alliance for Clinical Trials in Oncology at 25 sites in 2 countries.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Who may be eligible to take part?

Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: finished, as of the sponsor's last update on 13 Jul 2016. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

Where is the study taking place?

The record lists 25 sites in United States, Canada. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. Some participants in this study may receive a placebo. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

What does this phase mean?

Phase 3 studies compare the treatment with the current standard treatment or a placebo in a large group, to confirm how well it works and watch for side effects.

Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.

Are results available for this study?

The study is completed, but results are not available in the source record. That does not mean the treatment did or did not work.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

What does the primary outcome measure?

Prevention in relapse (time frame: Up to 6 months). It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.

Where can I read the original study information?

On the ClinicalTrials.gov record for NCT00033592, which also lists 1 linked publication.

Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 13 Jul 2016.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in