AzTrials
AzTrials

LymphomaPhase 2NCT00039351

Combination Chemotherapy in Treating Older Patients With Non-Hodgkin's Lymphoma

A Phase 2 study testing cyclophosphamide, prednisone and vincristine sulfate in people with Lymphoma, run by European Organisation for Research and Treatment of Cancer - EORTC at 17 sites in 7 countries.

Completed

Finished. The study has ended and is not enrolling. Results may be posted on the official record.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy use different ways to stop cancer cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. Combining more than one drug may kill more tumor cells. PURPOSE: Phase II trial to study the effectiveness of combination chemotherapy in treating older patients who have non-Hodgkin's lymphoma. Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Ages 70 years and older
Conditions the study is for
Lymphoma
What is being tested?
cyclophosphamide, prednisone and vincristine sulfate
Type of treatment
Surgery or procedure
How many people
32 participants
Where
17 sitesin 7 countries
Study dates
Mar 2002to Jan 2005
Phase
Phase 2
Are there results?
None posted in the registry

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages 70 years and older
  • All sexes
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Older adult

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS:

  • Diagnosis of diffuse large B-cell or peripheral T-cell non-Hodgkin's lymphoma (NHL)
  • No Burkitt's-like lymphoma
  • Small cells in bone marrow allowed
  • Previously untreated NHL
  • At least 1 measurable lesion
  • At least 1.1 cm
  • Poor physiological status with at least 1 of the following:
  • WHO performance status of 3-4
  • LVEF less than 50%
  • Creatinine clearance less than 50 mL/min
  • Neutrophil count no greater than 1,500/mm^3
  • Platelet count no greater than 100,000/mm^3
  • Concurrent severe disease that would preclude cyclophosphamide, vincristine, prednisolone, and doxorubicin
  • No cerebral or meningeal involvement

PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS:

Age:

  • 70 and over

Performance status:

  • See Disease Characteristics

Life expectancy:

  • Not specified

Hematopoietic:

  • See Disease Characteristics

Hepatic:

  • Not specified

Renal:

  • See Disease Characteristics

Other:

  • HIV negative
  • No other malignancy within the past 5 years except adequately treated basal cell skin cancer, curatively treated carcinoma in situ of the cervix, or curatively treated solid tumor
  • No active infection
  • No psychological, familial, sociological, or geographical condition that would preclude study participation

PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY:

Biologic therapy:

  • Not specified

Chemotherapy:

  • See Disease Characteristics

Endocrine therapy:

  • Not specified

Radiotherapy:

  • Not specified

Surgery:

  • Not specified

Other:

  • No other concurrent investigational drugs
  • No other concurrent antineoplastic agents

Trial locations and contacts

17 sites in 7 countries.

17 sites in 7 countries

France6 sites
  • Centre D'Oncologie Du Pays-Basque

    Bayonne, F-64100

  • Hopital Saint Andre

    Bordeaux, 33075

  • Institut Bergonie

    Bordeaux, 33076

  • Centre Hospitalier de Dax

    Dax, 40107

  • Hopital Robert Boulin

    Libourne, 33500

  • Polyclinique de Francheville

    Périgueux, 24004

Other trials in France

Belgium3 sites
  • Ziekenhuis Network Antwerpen Middelheim

    Antwerp, 2020

  • Centre Hospitalier Universitaire Brugmann

    Brussels, B 1020

  • U.Z. Gasthuisberg

    Leuven, B-3000

Other trials in Belgium

Netherlands3 sites
  • Onze Lieve Vrouwe Gasthuis

    Amsterdam, 1091 HA

  • Academisch Ziekenhuis Groningen

    Groningen, 9700 RB

  • University Medical Center Nijmegen

    Nijmegen, NL-6500 HB

Other trials in Netherlands

United Kingdom2 sites
  • Dumfries Royal Infirmary

    Dumfries, DG1 4AP

  • New Cross Hospital

    Wolverhampton, England, WV10 0QP

Other trials in United Kingdom

Egypt1 site
  • National Cancer Institute of Egypt

    Cairo

Other trials in Egypt

Portugal1 site
  • Hospitais da Universidade de Coimbra (HUC)

    Coimbra, 3001-301

Other trials in Portugal

Switzerland1 site
  • Hopitaux Universitaires de Geneve

    Thonex-Geneve, CH-1226

Other trials in Switzerland

About this study

Official title: Diffuse Large B Cell And Peripheral T-Cell Non-Hodgkin's Lymphoma In The Frail Elderly. Progressive And Cautious Treatment Strategy In Poor Status Patients. A Phase II Trial With Emphasis On Geriatric Assessment And Quality Of Life

RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy use different ways to stop cancer cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. Combining more than one drug may kill more tumor cells.

PURPOSE: Phase II trial to study the effectiveness of combination chemotherapy in treating older patients who have non-Hodgkin's lymphoma.

Read the detailed description

OBJECTIVES:

  • Determine the complete remission (CR) rate and duration of CR in frail elderly patients with diffuse large B-cell or peripheral T-cell non-Hodgkin's lymphoma treated with cyclophosphamide, vincristine, and prednisone.
  • Determine the time to progression and overall survival of patients treated with this regimen.
  • Determine the severe toxicity rate of this regimen in these patients.
  • Assess the quality of life of patients treated with this regimen.

OUTLINE: This is a multicenter study.

Patients receive cyclophosphamide IV and vincristine IV on day 1 and oral prednisone on days 1-5. Treatment repeats every 3 weeks for 3 courses in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity.

Patients with stage I or II non-Hodgkin's lymphoma (NHL), no baseline lactate dehydrogenase (LDH) elevation, baseline WHO performance status 0-1, and longest tumor diameter of less than 5 cm, who achieve partial response (PR) or complete response (CR), receive 1 additional course of chemotherapy. Patients then undergo involved-field radiotherapy once daily 5 days a week for 3.5-4 weeks.

Patients with stage I or II NHL, a baseline LDH elevation, and/or baseline WHO performance status 2-4, and/or longest tumor diameter of at least 5 cm, who achieve PR or CR, receive 3 additional courses of chemotherapy. Patients then undergo involved-field radiotherapy once daily 5 days a week for 3.5-4 weeks.

Patients with stage III or IV NHL who achieve CR or PR receive 3 additional courses of chemotherapy. Patients then undergo consolidative radiotherapy once daily 5 days a week for 2.5-3 weeks.

Quality of life is assessed at baseline, after the third chemotherapy course, at the end of chemotherapy, every 6 months for 3 years, and then annually thereafter.

Patients are followed every 3 months for 3 years, every 6 months for 2 years, and then annually thereafter.

PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 29-56 patients will be accrued for this study within 12-18 months.

Conditions
Lymphoma
Being tested
cyclophosphamide, prednisone, vincristine sulfate, radiation therapy
Keywords
stage I adult diffuse large cell lymphoma, stage III adult diffuse large cell lymphoma, stage IV adult diffuse large cell lymphoma, contiguous stage II adult diffuse large cell lymphoma, noncontiguous stage II adult diffuse large cell lymphoma, angioimmunoblastic T-cell lymphoma
Medical subject headings
Lymphoma, Lymphoma, Large B-Cell, Diffuse, Immunoblastic Lymphadenopathy

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted27 Jan 2003 (estimated)
  2. Study startMar 2002
  3. Primary completionJan 2005

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Interventional
Phase
Phase 2
Primary purpose
Treatment
Masking
None (open label)
Enrolment
32 participants (actual)
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT00039351
Sponsor's protocol ID
EORTC-20992
Other IDs
EORTC-20992
Status last verified
Sep 2012
First submitted
6 Jun 2002
Last updated
24 Sep 2012
Results posted
No

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

A Phase 2 study testing cyclophosphamide, prednisone and vincristine sulfate in people with Lymphoma, run by European Organisation for Research and Treatment of Cancer - EORTC at 17 sites in 7 countries.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Who may be eligible to take part?

Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: finished, as of the sponsor's last update on 24 Sep 2012. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

Where is the study taking place?

The record lists 17 sites in France, Belgium, Netherlands, United Kingdom, Egypt and 2 more countries. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

What does this phase mean?

Phase 2 studies give the treatment to a larger group to see whether it has the intended effect and to keep checking safety.

Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.

Are results available for this study?

The study is completed, but results are not available in the source record. That does not mean the treatment did or did not work.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

Where can I read the original study information?
Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 24 Sep 2012.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in