AzTrials
AzTrials

LymphomaPhase 3NCT00041210

Combination Chemotherapy in Treating Patients With Previously Untreated Advanced Hodgkin's Lymphoma

A Phase 3 study testing bleomycin sulfate, ABVD regimen and Stanford V regimen in people with Lymphoma, run by Mount Vernon Cancer Centre at Mount Vernon Hospital at 37 sites in United Kingdom.

Unknown status

Status not confirmed. The sponsor has not verified this record for over two years, so it may be out of date.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy use different ways to stop cancer cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. Combining more than one drug may kill more cancer cells. It is not yet known which combination chemotherapy regimen is more effective in treating patients who have advanced Hodgkin's lymphoma. Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Ages 18 to 60 years
Conditions the study is for
Lymphoma
What is being tested?
bleomycin sulfate, ABVD regimen and Stanford V regimen
Type of treatment
Surgery or procedure
How many people
850 participants
Where
37 sitesUnited Kingdom
Study dates
Oct 2001to not given
Phase
Phase 3
Are there results?
None posted in the registry

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages 18 to 60 years
  • All sexes
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Adult

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS:

  • Histologically confirmed Hodgkin's lymphoma (any sub-type)
  • Stage IB, IIB, IIIA, IIIB, or IV OR
  • Stage IA or IIA with locally extensive disease (e.g., bulky mediastinal disease (e.g., greater than 0.33 of the maximum transthoracic diameter on routine chest X-ray or at least 2 extranodal sites of disease))

PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS:

Age:

  • 18 to 60

Performance status:

  • Not specified

Life expectancy:

  • Not specified

Hematopoietic:

  • Complete blood count normal unless directly due to Hodgkin's lymphoma

Hepatic:

  • Hepatic function normal unless directly due to Hodgkin's lymphoma

Renal:

  • Renal function normal unless directly due to Hodgkin's lymphoma

Cardiovascular:

  • No pre-existing cardiac disease

Pulmonary:

  • No pre-existing pulmonary disease

Other:

  • Not pregnant
  • Fertile patients must use effective contraception during and for six months after study
  • HIV negative
  • No other prior malignancy except basal cell or squamous cell skin cancer

PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY:

Biologic therapy:

  • Not specified

Chemotherapy:

  • Not specified

Endocrine therapy:

  • Not specified

Radiotherapy:

  • Not specified

Surgery:

  • Not specified

Other:

  • No prior therapy for Hodgkin's lymphoma

Trial locations and contacts

37 sites in 1 country.

37 sites in 1 country

United Kingdom37 sites
  • Monklands General Hospital

    Airdrie, Scotland, ML6 0JF

  • Basildon University Hospital

    Basildon, England, SS16 5NL

  • Royal United Hospital

    Bath, England, BA1 3NG

  • Kent and Canterbury Hospital

    Canterbury, England, CT1 3NG

  • Velindre Cancer Center at Velindre Hospital

    Cardiff, Wales, CF14 2TL

  • Saint Richards Hospital

    Chichester, England, P019 4SE

  • Walsgrave Hospital

    Coventry, England, CV2 2DX

  • Craigavon Area Hospital

    Craigavon, Northern Ireland, BT63 5QQ

  • Doncaster Royal Infirmary

    Doncaster, England, DN2 5LT

  • Russells Hall Hospital

    Dudley, England, DY1 2HQ

  • Royal Devon and Exeter Hospital

    Exeter, England, EX2 5DW

  • Hemel Hempstead General

    Hemel Hempstead, England, HP2 4AD

  • Hull Royal Infirmary

    Hull, England, HU3 2KZ

  • King George Hospital

    Ilford, Essex, England, IG3 8YB

  • Lincoln County Hospital

    Lincoln, England, LN2 5QY

  • Royal Liverpool University Hospital

    Liverpool, England, L7 8XP

  • Aintree University Hospital

    Liverpool, England, L9 7AL

  • Saint Bartholomew's Hospital

    London, England, EC1A 7BE

  • St. George's Hospital

    London, England, SW17 ORE

  • University College Hospital - London

    London, England, WC1E 6AU

  • James Paget Hospital

    Norfolk, England, NR31 6LA

  • Mount Vernon Cancer Centre at Mount Vernon Hospital

    Northwood, England, HA6 2RN

  • Nottingham City Hospital NHS Trust

    Nottingham, England, NG5 1PB

  • Derriford Hospital

    Plymouth, England, PL6 8DH

  • Portsmouth Oncology Centre at Saint Mary's Hospital

    Portsmouth Hants, England, PO3 6AD

  • Oldchurch Hospital

    Romford, England, RM7 OBE

  • Cancer Research Centre at Weston Park Hospital

    Sheffield, England, S1O 2SJ

  • Southampton General Hospital

    Southampton, England, SO16 6YD

  • Staffordshire General Hospital

    Stafford, England, ST16 3SA

  • Royal Marsden - Surrey

    Sutton, England, SM2 5PT

  • South West Wales Cancer Institute

    Swansea, Wales, SA2 8QA

  • Torbay Hospital

    Torquay, England, TQ2 7AA

  • Pinderfields General Hospital

    Wakefield, Scotland, WF1 4DG

  • City Hospital - Birmingham

    West Bromwich, England, B71 4HJ

  • New Cross Hospital

    Wolverhampton, England, WV10 0QP

  • Worthing Hospital

    Worthing, England, BN11 2DH

  • Cancer Care Centre at York Hospital

    York, England, Y031 8HE

Other trials in United Kingdom

About this study

Official title: Protocol for a Randomized Phase III Study of the Stanford V Regimen, Compared With ABVD for the Treatment of Advanced Hodgkin's Disease

RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy use different ways to stop cancer cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. Combining more than one drug may kill more cancer cells. It is not yet known which combination chemotherapy regimen is more effective in treating patients who have advanced Hodgkin's lymphoma.

PURPOSE: Randomized phase III trial to compare the effectiveness of two different combination chemotherapy regimens in treating patients who have advanced Hodgkin's lymphoma.

Read the detailed description

OBJECTIVES:

  • Compare relapse-free and overall survival of patients with previously untreated advanced Hodgkin's lymphoma treated with bleomycin, doxorubicin, etoposide, mechlorethamine, vinblastine, vincristine, and prednisone (Stanford V) vs doxorubicin, bleomycin, vinblastine, and dacarbazine (ABVD).
  • Compare the toxicity of these regimens in these patients.

OUTLINE: This is a randomized, multicenter study. Patients are randomized to 1 of 2 treatment arms.

  • Arm I (Stanford V): Patients receive mechlorethamine on weeks 1, 5, and 9; vinblastine and doxorubicin on weeks 1, 3, 5, 7, 9, and 11; etoposide IV over 30-45 minutes for 2 consecutive days on weeks 3, 7, and 11; and vincristine and bleomycin on weeks 2, 4, 6, 8, 10, and 12. Patients also receive oral prednisone every other day on days 1-63 followed by a taper on days 64-84. Treatment continues for 12 weeks.
  • Arm II (ABVD): Patients receive doxorubicin, bleomycin, vinblastine, and dacarbazine on days 1 and 15. Treatment repeats every 28 days for 6-8 courses.

All patients achieving a complete remission or partial remission after chemotherapy undergo involved field radiotherapy if they had initial bulky mediastinal disease, initial nodal masses at least 5 cm in diameter, or initial splenic disease.

Patients are followed every 3 months for 1 year, every 4 months for 1 year, every 6 months for 3 years, and then annually thereafter.

Peer Reviewed and Funded or Endorsed by Cancer Research UK

PROJECTED ACCRUAL: Approximately 700-850 patients will be accrued for this study.

Conditions
Lymphoma
Being tested
bleomycin sulfate, ABVD regimen, Stanford V regimen, dacarbazine, doxorubicin hydrochloride
Keywords
stage I adult Hodgkin lymphoma, stage II adult Hodgkin lymphoma, stage III adult Hodgkin lymphoma, stage IV adult Hodgkin lymphoma, adult lymphocyte predominant Hodgkin lymphoma, adult lymphocyte depletion Hodgkin lymphoma, adult nodular sclerosis Hodgkin lymphoma, adult mixed cellularity Hodgkin lymphoma
Medical subject headings
Lymphoma, Hodgkin Disease

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

What is being measured

The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.

  1. Relapse-free survival

Secondary outcomes (2)
  1. Overall survival

  2. Toxicity

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted27 Jan 2003 (estimated)
  2. Study startOct 2001

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Interventional
Phase
Phase 3
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Randomised
Enrolment
850 participants (estimated)
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT00041210
Sponsor's protocol ID
CDR0000069453
Other IDs
BNLI-STANFORDV, EU-20206
Status last verified
Apr 2009
First submitted
8 Jul 2002
Last updated
20 Sep 2013
Results posted
No

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

A Phase 3 study testing bleomycin sulfate, ABVD regimen and Stanford V regimen in people with Lymphoma, run by Mount Vernon Cancer Centre at Mount Vernon Hospital at 37 sites in United Kingdom.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Who may be eligible to take part?

Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: status not confirmed, as of the sponsor's last update on 20 Sep 2013. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

Where is the study taking place?

The record lists 37 sites in United Kingdom. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

What does this phase mean?

Phase 3 studies compare the treatment with the current standard treatment or a placebo in a large group, to confirm how well it works and watch for side effects.

Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.

Are results available for this study?

Results are not available in the source record.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

What does the primary outcome measure?

Relapse-free survival. It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.

Where can I read the original study information?
Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 20 Sep 2013.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in