OsteoporosisPhase 3NCT00043069
Calcium With or Without Estrogen and/or Risedronate in Preventing Osteoporosis in Patients With Prostate Cancer
A Phase 3 study testing calcium carbonate, cholecalciferol and Estrogen Antagonists in people with Osteoporosis and Prostate Cancer, run by Alliance for Clinical Trials in Oncology at 114 sites in 2 countries.
Trial summary
RATIONALE: Preventing bone loss in patients who are undergoing androgen ablation for prostate cancer may decrease the risk of fractures and may help patients live more comfortably. It is not yet known whether calcium is more effective with or without estrogen and/or risedronate in preventing osteoporosis. Read more about this study
- Who is it for?
- Ages 18 years and older, men only
- Conditions the study is for
- Osteoporosis, Prostate Cancer
- What is being tested?
- calcium carbonate, cholecalciferol and Estrogen Antagonists
- Type of treatment
- Pill or oral medicine
- Could I receive a placebo?
- Yes, some participants may receive a placebo
- How many people
- 71 participants
- Where
- 114 sitesin 2 countries
- Study dates
- Nov 2002to Jan 2010
- Phase
- Phase 3
- Are there results?
- None posted in the registry
Key requirements
Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.
- Ages 18 years and older
- Men only
- No healthy volunteers
- Adult, Older adult
DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS:
- History of prostate cancer
- No evidence of metastatic bony disease* NOTE: *Elevated prostate-specific antigen (PSA) allowed
- Meets one of the following criteria:
- Currently on treatment with androgen-ablation therapy in the adjuvant setting
- Rising PSA without other evidence of recurrent disease with planned treatment for at least 6 months
- No known osteoporosis or prior osteoporotic fracture
- Osteoporosis defined as bone density at the hip or spine of more than 2.5 standard deviations below the mean for young men
PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS:
Age
- 18 and over
Performance status
- Not specified
Life expectancy
- Not specified
Hematopoietic
- Not specified
Hepatic
- SGOT or SGPT no greater than 1.5 times upper limit of normal (ULN)
- Alkaline phosphatase normal OR no greater than 1.5 times ULN with a normal bone scan
Renal
- Creatinine no greater than 1.5 times ULN
- No prior symptomatic hypercalcemia or hypocalcemia
Cardiovascular
- No active heart disease
- No congestive heart failure under active treatment
- No myocardial infarction within the past 5 years
- No coronary artery disease (CAD) with recent myocardial infarction
- Patients with a remote history of CAD who are only on medical treatment (e.g., antilipid agents) are allowed
- No prior thrombosis (deep vein thrombosis, stroke, or pulmonary embolism) or other known hypercoagulable state other than cancer
Other
- Fertile patients must use effective contraception
- Triglycerides no greater than 250 mg/dL (treatment allowed)
- Able to complete questionnaire(s) by self or with assistance
- Able to swallow pills
- No prior hyperlipidemia (e.g., prior familial hyperlipidemia or fasting triglyceride greater than 250 mg/dL within the past 6 months)
- No sarcoidosis
- No parathyroid dysfunction
- No intolerance to bisphosphonates
PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY:
Biologic therapy
- Not specified
Chemotherapy
- No concurrent chemotherapy
Endocrine therapy
- See Disease Characteristics
- No concurrent systemic steroids
Radiotherapy
- No concurrent radiotherapy
Surgery
- More than 3 months since prior and no concurrent dental extraction, root canal, or dental implantation
Other
- No prior bisphosphonates
- More than 5 years since prior percutaneous transluminal coronary angioplasty
Trial locations and contacts
114 sites in 2 countries.
114 sites in 2 countries
United States112 sites
McFarland Clinic, P.C.
Ames, Iowa, 50010
Rose Ramer Cancer Clinic at Anderson Area Medical Center
Anderson, South Carolina, 29621
Rush-Copley Cancer Care Center
Aurora, Illinois, 60507
CCOP - Montana Cancer Consortium
Billings, Montana, 59101
Bismarck Cancer Center
Bismarck, North Dakota, 58501
Medcenter One Health System
Bismarck, North Dakota, 58501
Mid Dakota Clinic, P.C.
Bismarck, North Dakota, 58501
St. Alexius Medical Center
Bismarck, North Dakota, 58501
St. Joseph Medical Center
Bloomington, Illinois, 61701
Brainerd Medical Center
Brainerd, Minnesota, 56401
Fairview Ridges Hospital
Burnsville, Minnesota, 55337
Graham Hospital
Canton, Illinois, 61520
Saint Anthony Regional Hospital
Carroll, Iowa, 51401
Memorial Hospital
Carthage, Illinois, 62321
Cancer Center of Kansas - Chanute
Chanute, Kansas, 66720
Mercy Hospital
Coon Rapids, Minnesota, 55433
Alegent Health Mercy Hospital
Council Bluffs, Iowa, 51503
Geisinger Medical Center
Danville, Pennsylvania, 17822-2001
Mercy Capitol Hospital
Des Moines, Iowa, 50307
CCOP - Iowa Oncology Research Association
Des Moines, Iowa, 50309
John Stoddard Cancer Center at Iowa Methodist Medical Center
Des Moines, Iowa, 50309
Medical Oncology and Hematology Associates at John Stoddard Cancer Center
Des Moines, Iowa, 50309
Medical Oncology and Hematology Associates at Mercy Cancer Center
Des Moines, Iowa, 50314
Mercy Cancer Center at Mercy Medical Center - Des Moines
Des Moines, Iowa, 50314
John Stoddard Cancer Center at Iowa Lutheran Hospital
Des Moines, Iowa, 50316
Cancer Center of Kansas - Dodge City
Dodge City, Kansas, 67801
CCOP - Duluth
Duluth, Minnesota, 55805
Miller-Dwan Medical Center
Duluth, Minnesota, 55805
St. Mary's - Duluth Clinic Cancer Center
Duluth, Minnesota, 55805
Fairview Southdale Hospital
Edina, Minnesota, 55435
Cancer Center of Kansas, P.A. - El Dorado
El Dorado, Kansas, 67042
Eureka Hospital
Eureka, Illinois, 61530
Fremont Area Medical Center
Fremont, Nebraska, 68025
Mercy and Unity Cancer Center at Mercy and Unity Hospitals
Fridley, Minnesota, 55432
Galesburg Clinic
Galesburg, Illinois, 61401
Galesburg Cottage Hospital
Galesburg, Illinois, 61401
InterCommunity Cancer Center of Western Illinois
Galesburg, Illinois, 61401
Altru Cancer Center at Altru Hospital
Grand Forks, North Dakota, 58201
Great Falls Clinic
Great Falls, Montana, 59405
Sletten Regional Cancer Institute
Great Falls, Montana, 59405
Mason District Hospital
Havana, Illinois, 62644
Hopedale Medical Complex
Hopedale, Illinois, 61747
Mayo Clinic - Jacksonville
Jacksonville, Florida, 32224-9980
Joliet Oncology Hematology Associates, Limited - West
Joliet, Illinois, 60435
Kewanee Hospital
Kewanee, Illinois, 61443
Cancer Center of Kansas - Kingman
Kingman, Kansas, 67068
Southwest Medical Center
Liberal, Kansas, 67901
Bryan LGH Medical Center West
Lincoln, Nebraska, 68502
Cancer Resource Center - Lincoln
Lincoln, Nebraska, 68510
St. Elizabeth Regional Medical Center
Lincoln, Nebraska, 68510
McDonough District Hospital
Macomb, Illinois, 61455
Mercy Cancer Center at Mercy Medical Center - North Iowa
Mason City, Iowa, 50401
Saint Anthony Memorial Health Centers
Michigan City, Indiana, 46360
Virginia Piper Cancer Institute at Abbott-Northwestern Hospital
Minneapolis, Minnesota, 55403
Alegent Health Community Memorial Hospital
Missouri Valley, Iowa, 51555
Cancer Center of Kansas - Newton
Newton, Kansas, 67114
BroMenn Regional Medical Center
Normal, Illinois, 61761
Community Cancer Center
Normal, Illinois, 61761
CCOP - Missouri Valley Cancer Consortium
Omaha, Nebraska, 68106
Immanuel Medical Center
Omaha, Nebraska, 68122
Bergan Mercy Medical Center
Omaha, Nebraska, 68124
Cancer Center at Creighton University Medical Center
Omaha, Nebraska, 68131
Burgess Health Center
Onawa, Iowa, 51040
Community Hospital of Ottawa
Ottawa, Illinois, 61350
Oncology Hematology Associates of Central Illinois - Ottawa
Ottawa, Illinois, 61350
Cancer Center at Ottumwa Regional Health Center
Ottumwa, Iowa, 52501
Midlands Cancer Center at Midlands Community Hospital
Papillion, Nebraska, 68046
Cancer Center of Kansas, P.A. - Parsons
Parsons, Kansas, 67357
Cancer Treatment Center at Pekin Hospital
Pekin, Illinois, 61554
Methodist Medical Center of Illinois
Peoria, Illinois, 61603
Proctor Hospital
Peoria, Illinois, 61614
CCOP - Illinois Oncology Research Association
Peoria, Illinois, 61615
Oncology/Hematology Associates of Central Illinois, P.C.
Peoria, Illinois, 61615
OSF St. Francis Medical Center
Peoria, Illinois, 61637
Illinois Valley Community Hospital
Peru, Illinois, 61354
Pratt Cancer Center of Kansas
Pratt, Kansas, 67124
Perry Memorial Hospital
Princeton, Illinois, 61356
Hubert H. Humphrey Cancer Center at North Memorial Medical Center
Robbinsdale, Minnesota, 55422
Mayo Clinic Cancer Center
Rochester, Minnesota, 55905
Rutherford Hospital
Rutherfordton, North Carolina, 28139
CentraCare Clinic - River Campus
Saint Cloud, Minnesota, 56303
CCOP - Metro-Minnesota
Saint Louis Park, Minnesota, 55416
Park Nicollet Clinic
Saint Louis Park, Minnesota, 55416
United Hospital
Saint Paul, Minnesota, 55102
Cancer Center of Kansas - Salina
Salina, Kansas, 67042
CCOP - Mayo Clinic Scottsdale Oncology Program
Scottsdale, Arizona, 85259
Siouxland Regional Cancer Center
Sioux City, Iowa, 51101-1733
Siouxland Hematology-Oncology Associates
Sioux City, Iowa, 51101
Mercy Medical Center - Sioux City
Sioux City, Iowa, 51104
St. Luke's Regional Medical Center
Sioux City, Iowa, 51104
Sioux Valley Hospital and University of South Dakota Medical Center
Sioux Falls, South Dakota, 57104
Avera McKennan Hospital and University Health Center
Sioux Falls, South Dakota, 57105
Medical X-Ray Center
Sioux Falls, South Dakota, 57105
Gibbs Regional Cancer Center at Spartanburg Regional Medical Center
Spartanburg, South Carolina, 29303
CCOP - Upstate Carolina
Spartanburg, South Carolina, 29304
St. Margaret's Hospital
Spring Valley, Illinois, 61362
Valley Cancer Center
Spring Valley, Illinois, 61362
Geisinger Medical Group
State College, Pennsylvania, 16801
Natalie Warren Bryant Cancer Center at St. Francis Hospital
Tulsa, Oklahoma, 74136
Carle Cancer Center at Carle Foundation Hospital
Urbana, Illinois, 61801
CCOP - Carle Cancer Center
Urbana, Illinois, 61801
Ridgeview Medical Center
Waconia, Minnesota, 55387
Cancer Center of Kansas - Wellington
Wellington, Kansas, 67152
Medical Oncology and Hematology Associates - West Des Moines
West Des Moines, Iowa, 50266
Associates in Womens Health
Wichita, Kansas, 67203
Cancer Center of Kansas, P.A.
Wichita, Kansas, 67208
Cancer Center of Kansas, P.A. - Wichita
Wichita, Kansas, 67214
CCOP - Wichita
Wichita, Kansas, 67214
Via Christi Cancer Center at Via Christi Regional Medical Center
Wichita, Kansas, 67214
Geisinger Wyoming Valley Medical Center
Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania, 18711
Rice Memorial Hospital
Willmar, Minnesota, 56201
Cancer Center of Kansas - Winfield
Winfield, Kansas, 67156
Canada2 sites
Pasqua Hospital
Regina, Saskatchewan, S4T 1A5
Allan Blair Cancer Centre at Pasqua Hospital
Regina, Saskatchewan, S4T 7T1
About this study
Official title: Osteoporosis Prevention in Prostate Cancer Patients Receiving Androgen Ablation Therapy: A Phase III Randomized, Placebo-Controlled, Double-Blind Study
RATIONALE: Preventing bone loss in patients who are undergoing androgen ablation for prostate cancer may decrease the risk of fractures and may help patients live more comfortably. It is not yet known whether calcium is more effective with or without estrogen and/or risedronate in preventing osteoporosis.
PURPOSE: Randomized phase III trial to compare the effectiveness of two forms of calcium with or without estrogen and/or risedronate in preventing osteoporosis in patients with prostate cancer who are receiving androgen ablation therapy.
Read the detailed description
OBJECTIVES:
- Compare the change in bone mineral density in patients with prostate cancer who are receiving androgen-ablation therapy treated with calcium and cholecalciferol with or without conjugated estrogens and with or without risedronate.
- Compare the toxicity of these regimens in these patients.
- Compare the changes in bone markers in patients treated with these regimens.
- Compare the quality of life of patients treated with these regimens.
- Compare hot flashes in patients treated with these regimens.
OUTLINE: This is a randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled, multicenter study. Patients are stratified according to duration of therapy with luteinizing hormone-releasing hormone agonists (no more than 30 days vs 31 to 150 days vs 151 to 365 days vs more than 365 days). Patients are randomized to 1 of 4 treatment arms.
- Arm I: Patients receive oral calcium, oral cholecalciferol, oral risedronate placebo, and oral estrogen placebo daily.
- Arm II: Patients receive oral calcium, oral cholecalciferol, oral risedronate, and oral estrogen placebo daily.
- Arm III: Patients receive oral calcium, oral cholecalciferol, low-dose oral conjugated estrogens, and oral risedronate placebo daily.
- Arm IV: Patients receive oral calcium, oral cholecalciferol, low-dose oral conjugated estrogens, and oral risedronate daily.
Treatment in all arms continues for 2 years.
Quality of life is assessed at baseline, monthly for 6 months, and then at 1 and 2 years.
Bone mineral density is assessed at baseline, 6 months, and 1 and 2 years.
PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 282 patients (70 per treatment arm) will be accrued for this study within 14 months.
- Conditions
- Osteoporosis, Prostate Cancer
- Being tested
- calcium carbonate, cholecalciferol, Estrogen Antagonists, risedronate sodium, placebo
- Keywords
- osteoporosis, stage I prostate cancer, stage IIB prostate cancer, stage IIA prostate cancer, stage III prostate cancer
- Medical subject headings
- Osteoporosis, Prostatic Neoplasms
What participants receive
What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.
calcium carbonateDietary supplement
cholecalciferolDietary supplement
Estrogen AntagonistsDrug
risedronate sodiumDrug
placeboOther
| Study group | Role | What they receive |
|---|---|---|
| Arm I: calcium + cholecalciferol + placebo + estrogen | Active comparator | Patients receive oral calcium, oral cholecalciferol, oral risedronate placebo, and oral estrogen placebo daily.
Treatment in all arms continues for 2 years.
Quality of life is assessed at baseline, monthly for 6 months, and then at 1 and 2 years.
Bone mineral density is assessed at baseline, 6 months, and 1 and 2 years. Receives: Dietary Supplement: calcium carbonate; Dietary Supplement: cholecalciferol; Drug: Estrogen Antagonists; Other: placebo |
| Arm II: calcium + cholecalciferol + risedronate + estrogen | Experimental | Patients receive oral calcium, oral cholecalciferol, oral risedronate, and oral estrogen placebo daily.
Treatment in all arms continues for 2 years.
Quality of life is assessed at baseline, monthly for 6 months, and then at 1 and 2 years.
Bone mineral density is assessed at baseline, 6 months, and 1 and 2 years. Receives: Dietary Supplement: calcium carbonate; Dietary Supplement: cholecalciferol; Drug: Estrogen Antagonists; Drug: risedronate sodium |
| Arm III: calcium + cholecalciferol + placebo + estrogen | Placebo comparator | Patients receive oral calcium, oral cholecalciferol, low-dose oral conjugated estrogens, and oral risedronate placebo daily.
Treatment in all arms continues for 2 years.
Quality of life is assessed at baseline, monthly for 6 months, and then at 1 and 2 years.
Bone mineral density is assessed at baseline, 6 months, and 1 and 2 years. Receives: Dietary Supplement: calcium carbonate; Dietary Supplement: cholecalciferol; Drug: Estrogen Antagonists; Other: placebo |
| Arm IV: calcium + cholecalciferol + risedronate + estrogen | Experimental | Patients receive oral calcium, oral cholecalciferol, low-dose oral conjugated estrogens, and oral risedronate daily.
Treatment in all arms continues for 2 years.
Quality of life is assessed at baseline, monthly for 6 months, and then at 1 and 2 years.
Bone mineral density is assessed at baseline, 6 months, and 1 and 2 years. Receives: Dietary Supplement: calcium carbonate; Dietary Supplement: cholecalciferol; Drug: Estrogen Antagonists; Drug: risedronate sodium |
What is being measured
The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.
Bone mineral density by test at 1 and 2 years
Measured: Up to 2 years
Secondary outcomes (1)
Toxicity questionnaires every 6 months
Measured: 6 months
Timeline
From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.
- First posted27 Jan 2003 (estimated)
- Study startNov 2002
- Primary completionJun 2006
- Study completionJan 2010
Resources
- Official record on ClinicalTrials.govThe registry entry this page is built from, with its full change history.
- Publications (1)Papers the sponsor has linked to this study.
- Other trials for OsteoporosisStudies of the same condition, open and under way.
- More trials run by Alliance for Clinical Trials in OncologyThe sponsor's other registered studies.
- What the trial phases meanHow a treatment moves from first tests in people to approval.
More details
For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.
Study design
- Study type
- Interventional
- Phase
- Phase 3
- Primary purpose
- Supportive care
- Allocation
- Randomised
- Intervention model
- Parallel groups
- Masking
- Double blind
- Who is masked
- Participant, Investigator
- Enrolment
- 71 participants (actual)
Sponsor and investigators
- Lead sponsor
- Alliance for Clinical Trials in Oncology
- Sponsor type
- University, hospital or other
- Collaborators
- National Cancer Institute (NCI)
- Responsible party
- Sponsor
- Investigators
- Charles L. Loprinzi, MD, Study chair, Mayo Clinic
IDs, dates and publications
- ClinicalTrials.gov ID
- NCT00043069
- Sponsor's protocol ID
- NCCTG-N01C8
- Other IDs
- NCI-2012-02482, NCI-P02-0229, CDR0000069502
- Status last verified
- Dec 2016
- First submitted
- 5 Aug 2002
- Last updated
- 7 Dec 2016
- Results posted
- No
- Data monitoring committee
- Yes
Publications
Kearns AE, Northfelt DW, Dueck AC, Atherton PJ, Dakhil SR, Rowland KM Jr, Fuloria J, Flynn PJ, Dentchev T, Loprinzi CL. Osteoporosis prevention in prostate cancer patients receiving androgen ablation therapy: placebo-controlled double-blind study of estradiol and risedronate: N01C8. Support Care Cancer. 2010 Mar;18(3):321-8. doi: 10.1007/s00520-009-0655-x. Epub 2009 May 27.
PubMed 19468757
Study at a glance
From the registry record, last updated by the sponsor on 7 Dec 2016. Recruitment status is as the sponsor reported it: confirm with the study team.
- Official title
- Osteoporosis Prevention in Prostate Cancer Patients Receiving Androgen Ablation Therapy: A Phase III Randomized, Placebo-Controlled, Double-Blind Study
- ClinicalTrials.gov ID
- NCT00043069
- Acronym / sponsor ID
- NCCTG-N01C8
- Conditions
- Osteoporosis, Prostate Cancer
- Keywords
- osteoporosis, stage I prostate cancer, stage IIB prostate cancer, stage IIA prostate cancer, stage III prostate cancer
- Phase
- Phase 3
- Study type
- Interventional
- Recruitment status
- Completed
- Enrolment
- 71 participants (actual)
- Lead sponsor
- Alliance for Clinical Trials in OncologyUniversity, hospital or other
- Collaborators
- National Cancer Institute (NCI)
- Study start
- Nov 2002
- Primary completion
- Jun 2006 (actual)
- Study completion
- Jan 2010 (actual)
- First posted
- 27 Jan 2003 (estimated)
- Results
- Not posted in the source record
Clinical summary
The research question as the sponsor registered it. This describes what the study plans to test, not what it found.
RATIONALE: Preventing bone loss in patients who are undergoing androgen ablation for prostate cancer may decrease the risk of fractures and may help patients live more comfortably. It is not yet known whether calcium is more effective with or without estrogen and/or risedronate in preventing osteoporosis.
PURPOSE: Randomized phase III trial to compare the effectiveness of two forms of calcium with or without estrogen and/or risedronate in preventing osteoporosis in patients with prostate cancer who are receiving androgen ablation therapy.
Detailed description
OBJECTIVES:
- Compare the change in bone mineral density in patients with prostate cancer who are receiving androgen-ablation therapy treated with calcium and cholecalciferol with or without conjugated estrogens and with or without risedronate.
- Compare the toxicity of these regimens in these patients.
- Compare the changes in bone markers in patients treated with these regimens.
- Compare the quality of life of patients treated with these regimens.
- Compare hot flashes in patients treated with these regimens.
OUTLINE: This is a randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled, multicenter study. Patients are stratified according to duration of therapy with luteinizing hormone-releasing hormone agonists (no more than 30 days vs 31 to 150 days vs 151 to 365 days vs more than 365 days). Patients are randomized to 1 of 4 treatment arms.
- Arm I: Patients receive oral calcium, oral cholecalciferol, oral risedronate placebo, and oral estrogen placebo daily.
- Arm II: Patients receive oral calcium, oral cholecalciferol, oral risedronate, and oral estrogen placebo daily.
- Arm III: Patients receive oral calcium, oral cholecalciferol, low-dose oral conjugated estrogens, and oral risedronate placebo daily.
- Arm IV: Patients receive oral calcium, oral cholecalciferol, low-dose oral conjugated estrogens, and oral risedronate daily.
Treatment in all arms continues for 2 years.
Quality of life is assessed at baseline, monthly for 6 months, and then at 1 and 2 years.
Bone mineral density is assessed at baseline, 6 months, and 1 and 2 years.
PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 282 patients (70 per treatment arm) will be accrued for this study within 14 months.
Study design
- Primary purpose
- Supportive care
- Allocation
- Randomised
- Intervention model
- Parallel groups
- Masking
- Double blind (participant, investigator)
- Number of arms
- 4
| Arm | Type | Receives |
|---|---|---|
| Arm I: calcium + cholecalciferol + placebo + estrogen | Active comparator | Dietary Supplement: calcium carbonate, Dietary Supplement: cholecalciferol, Drug: Estrogen Antagonists, Other: placeboPatients receive oral calcium, oral cholecalciferol, oral risedronate placebo, and oral estrogen placebo daily. Treatment in all arms continues for 2 years. Quality of life is assessed at baseline, monthly for 6 months, and then at 1 and 2 years. Bone mineral density is assessed at baseline, 6 months, and 1 and 2 years. |
| Arm II: calcium + cholecalciferol + risedronate + estrogen | Experimental | Dietary Supplement: calcium carbonate, Dietary Supplement: cholecalciferol, Drug: Estrogen Antagonists, Drug: risedronate sodiumPatients receive oral calcium, oral cholecalciferol, oral risedronate, and oral estrogen placebo daily. Treatment in all arms continues for 2 years. Quality of life is assessed at baseline, monthly for 6 months, and then at 1 and 2 years. Bone mineral density is assessed at baseline, 6 months, and 1 and 2 years. |
| Arm III: calcium + cholecalciferol + placebo + estrogen | Placebo comparator | Dietary Supplement: calcium carbonate, Dietary Supplement: cholecalciferol, Drug: Estrogen Antagonists, Other: placeboPatients receive oral calcium, oral cholecalciferol, low-dose oral conjugated estrogens, and oral risedronate placebo daily. Treatment in all arms continues for 2 years. Quality of life is assessed at baseline, monthly for 6 months, and then at 1 and 2 years. Bone mineral density is assessed at baseline, 6 months, and 1 and 2 years. |
| Arm IV: calcium + cholecalciferol + risedronate + estrogen | Experimental | Dietary Supplement: calcium carbonate, Dietary Supplement: cholecalciferol, Drug: Estrogen Antagonists, Drug: risedronate sodiumPatients receive oral calcium, oral cholecalciferol, low-dose oral conjugated estrogens, and oral risedronate daily. Treatment in all arms continues for 2 years. Quality of life is assessed at baseline, monthly for 6 months, and then at 1 and 2 years. Bone mineral density is assessed at baseline, 6 months, and 1 and 2 years. |
Who may qualify
- Ages
- 18 years and older
- Sex
- Male only
- Healthy volunteers
- Not accepted
- Age groups
- Adult, Older adult
Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening; this overview does not establish that a patient qualifies. Full inclusion and exclusion criteria.
Interventions
| Intervention | Type | Arms |
|---|---|---|
| calcium carbonate | Dietary supplement | Arm I: calcium + cholecalciferol + placebo + estrogen, Arm II: calcium + cholecalciferol + risedronate + estrogen, Arm III: calcium + cholecalciferol + placebo + estrogen, Arm IV: calcium + cholecalciferol + risedronate + estrogen |
| cholecalciferol | Dietary supplement | Arm I: calcium + cholecalciferol + placebo + estrogen, Arm II: calcium + cholecalciferol + risedronate + estrogen, Arm III: calcium + cholecalciferol + placebo + estrogen, Arm IV: calcium + cholecalciferol + risedronate + estrogen |
| Estrogen Antagonists | Drug | Arm I: calcium + cholecalciferol + placebo + estrogen, Arm II: calcium + cholecalciferol + risedronate + estrogen, Arm III: calcium + cholecalciferol + placebo + estrogen, Arm IV: calcium + cholecalciferol + risedronate + estrogen |
| risedronate sodium | Drug | Arm II: calcium + cholecalciferol + risedronate + estrogen, Arm IV: calcium + cholecalciferol + risedronate + estrogen |
| placebo | Other | Arm I: calcium + cholecalciferol + placebo + estrogen, Arm III: calcium + cholecalciferol + placebo + estrogen |
Primary outcome
Bone mineral density by test at 1 and 2 years
Time frame: Up to 2 years
1 secondary outcome
Toxicity questionnaires every 6 months
Time frame: 6 months
Results and safety
The study is completed, but results are not available in the source record. That does not mean the treatment did or did not work.
Research links
- Official record on ClinicalTrials.govLast updated by the sponsor 7 Dec 2016.
- Results publication: PubMed 19468757Kearns AE, Northfelt DW, Dueck AC, Atherton PJ, Dakhil SR, Rowland KM Jr, Fuloria J, Flynn PJ, Dentchev T, Loprinzi CL. Osteoporosis prevention in prostate cancer patients receiving androgen ablation therapy: placebo-controlled double-blind study of estradiol and risedronate: N01C8. Support Care Cancer. 2010 Mar;18(3):321-8. doi: 10.1007/s00520-009-0655-x. Epub 2009 May 27.
Related trials for Osteoporosis
RecruitingObservational study
A Clinical Study to Collect Real-wordt Data on Safety and Clinical Performance of the VCFix Spinal System for Treatment of Vertebral Compression Fractures of (Suspected) Osteoporotic Origin.
Vertebra Compression Fracture
Active, not recruitingObservational study
The Impact of Osteosarcopenia on Falls, Kinesiophobia, and Quality of Life in Postmenopausal Women
Osteosarcopenia, Sarcopenia
Active, not recruitingPhase 2
TCM Formula vs. HMB in Pre-Frail Elders: Muscle Strength and Bone Status
Pre-Frailty, Sarcopenia
Not yet recruitingPhase 4
Romosozumab and Denosumab Combination Therapy for Osteoporosis
Postmenopausal Osteoporosis
RecruitingObservational study
Assessment and Comparison of Osteoporosis Risk Factors After Stroke
Stroke, Osteoporosis
Referral and contact
AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals. Contact the study team or a site listed below; they decide who can take part. This study is not recruiting at the moment.
Charles L. Loprinzi, MD study chair
Mayo Clinic
114 sites in 2 countries: see every site and its status.
Questions about this trial
What is this clinical trial studying?
A Phase 3 study testing calcium carbonate, cholecalciferol and Estrogen Antagonists in people with Osteoporosis and Prostate Cancer, run by Alliance for Clinical Trials in Oncology at 114 sites in 2 countries.
The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.
Who may be eligible to take part?
Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.
Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?
The record says: finished, as of the sponsor's last update on 7 Dec 2016. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.
Where is the study taking place?
The record lists 114 sites in United States, Canada. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.
What are the possible benefits and risks?
They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. Some participants in this study may receive a placebo. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.
What does this phase mean?
Phase 3 studies compare the treatment with the current standard treatment or a placebo in a large group, to confirm how well it works and watch for side effects.
Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.
Are results available for this study?
The study is completed, but results are not available in the source record. That does not mean the treatment did or did not work.
How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?
The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.
What does the primary outcome measure?
Bone mineral density by test at 1 and 2 years (time frame: Up to 2 years). It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.
Where can I read the original study information?
On the ClinicalTrials.gov record for NCT00043069, which also lists 1 linked publication.
Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?
No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.
How often is this information updated?
AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 7 Dec 2016.